2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 164 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4515Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4891 of 10346 Old 12-05-2018, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,388
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 1394
Regarding the blooming issue, my 75” exhibits minor blooming and not enough to bother either me or my wife. We never watch in a pitch black room, always some subtle lights at least. I can see it mostly with white lettering on a black background, but still not much. I use local dimming set to Med.

Spoiler!
RickD1225 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4892 of 10346 Old 12-05-2018, 03:39 PM
Member
 
HDTV EAT CASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just picked up a TV got a question about X-Motion Clarity.

ATV 4K hooked up to TV with match frame rate and content:

MotionFlow settings for Custom

Smoothness min

Clarity 1

cineMotion off

So when the ATV 4K is outputting at 24p am I correct that the TV will simply be taking 24p input and inserting black frames..so should be good way to up the motion res and remove judder while preserving the 24p "look" and only lose a bit of peak brightness when it comes to HDR or DV movies?
HDTV EAT CASH is offline  
post #4893 of 10346 Old 12-05-2018, 04:37 PM
Senior Member
 
CarloM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Blooming issue is just like the "rainbow effect" issue on front projectors. It's there. The amount it bother people, their sensitivity to it (or whether people even know what to look for) greatly varies. Hence the hotly contested debate.
CarloM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4894 of 10346 Old 12-05-2018, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Christchurch, New Zealand
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by d4ab9f View Post
It sounds like handshake failure and I suspect that maybe ARC takes away some bandwidth and that could be related to this dolby vision handshake failure.

I wonder if anybody seen something similar.
shouldn't be down to ARC - for a start it uses otherwise un-used lines on the HDMI cable (originally for ethernet over hdmi) so ARC isn't eating any bandwidth, secondly I occasionaly get it with my ATV4K (thru a yamaha a860) even though I have ARC disabled (tv is only used as a display device so no need for ARC, and that also allows me to disable CEC)

whenever I get what you're seeing the fix seems to be to do a full restart on the x900f - after which it will be fine for weeks streaming DV content - which make me suspicious it's nothing to do with cable length/quality and is simply a bug in the Sony firmware which causes the handshake to fail.

I'm living in hope the Oreo firmware update for the Sony will fix it once and for all.
JohnDavisNZ is offline  
post #4895 of 10346 Old 12-05-2018, 09:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ERuiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,592
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 796 Post(s)
Liked: 303


Can someone clear this up for me...

I currently have my ATV 4K set to for both match range and frame rate ON. And I use the ATV 4K exclusively for all my streaming needs. This means that I watch Netflix, Prime Video and also Infuse Pro for my collection of ripped movies via a Plex Server.

With the ATV 4K frame rate match ON, I know that all movies will be sent as 24p to the TV.

Ok, so how do I set the motion settings on the TV?

I currently have motion flow disabled, since according to that diagram from Rtings, all direct 24p sources will be shown properly by the TV and this setting is not needed.

Am I interpreting this correctly?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JVC DLA-NX7 / 125" 2.40:1 Stewart StudioTek 100 / Denon AVR-X4300H / Klipsch RP-280F (L/R) / Klipsch RP-450C / Klipsch RP-150M (x4) / Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos) / HSU VTF-3 MK5 DualDrive / Apple TV 4K / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Logitech Harmony Elite
ERuiz is online now  
post #4896 of 10346 Old 12-05-2018, 11:56 PM
Member
 
MysticalOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERuiz View Post


Can someone clear this up for me...

I currently have my ATV 4K set to for both match range and frame rate ON. And I use the ATV 4K exclusively for all my streaming needs. This means that I watch Netflix, Prime Video and also Infuse Pro for my collection of ripped movies via a Plex Server.

With the ATV 4K frame rate match ON, I know that all movies will be sent as 24p to the TV.

Ok, so how do I set the motion settings on the TV?

I currently have motion flow disabled, since according to that diagram from Rtings, all direct 24p sources will be shown properly by the TV and this setting is not needed.

Am I interpreting this correctly?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
When source i'm using is 24hz, it'll say that when I hit display on tv remote. It'll say 1080/24p instead of just 1080p. this might tell you if you are getting a 24hz signal sent to tv
MysticalOS is offline  
post #4897 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 04:09 AM
Senior Member
 
ht guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Indy
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 206 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coercion Shaman View Post
Only 2 & 3 work at 60Hz. 1 & 4 will run full bandwitdth and HDR but only up to 30Hz.
From a content (non-games) standpoint, is there any 60Hz cntent other than Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk?
ht guy is online now  
post #4898 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 04:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Apparently the best option to get the most out of Xbox One X on our TV is 8-bit with the "Allow YCC 4: 2: 2" option unchecked.

https://www.neogaf.com/threads/ks800...post-253142952

TV: Sony XBR-55X900F / XBR-55X950G
SoundBar: Sony HT-CT390
Consoles: PlayStation 4 Pro / Xbox One X Project Scorpio Edition
BR4DOKYBrazil is offline  
post #4899 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 05:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Coercion Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht guy View Post
From a content (non-games) standpoint, is there any 60Hz cntent other than Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk?

Not that I am aware of. If anyone disputes either of my comments, I'm sure they will let you know, though.
Adamg (Ret-Navy) likes this.
Coercion Shaman is offline  
post #4900 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 06:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Alot of talking about bloomig issue some are bothered some arent iguess the room condition is a key here because in light environments most people willnot notice any thing but in a dark environment thats another story every little thing will be noticable
Hussain Buhamad is offline  
post #4901 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 07:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnDavisNZ View Post
shouldn't be down to ARC - for a start it uses otherwise un-used lines on the HDMI cable (originally for ethernet over hdmi) so ARC isn't eating any bandwidth, secondly I occasionaly get it with my ATV4K (thru a yamaha a860) even though I have ARC disabled (tv is only used as a display device so no need for ARC, and that also allows me to disable CEC)

whenever I get what you're seeing the fix seems to be to do a full restart on the x900f - after which it will be fine for weeks streaming DV content - which make me suspicious it's nothing to do with cable length/quality and is simply a bug in the Sony firmware which causes the handshake to fail.

I'm living in hope the Oreo firmware update for the Sony will fix it once and for all.
Good to know that I'm not the only one with this problem. I'll give it another try and see if TV reboot helps.
I'm not sure OS update goal is to fix handshake process. I suspect this functionality is add-on developed by Sony and could be fixed in any version. As long as Sony acknowledged the issue and somebody is actually working on the fix.
d4ab9f is offline  
post #4902 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 07:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
I've had this TV for about a month now, and I love it. There are a few observations I'd like to make though.

I mostly watch Netflix, Hulu, and YoutubeTV. I've tried out viewing both the internal apps and the apps in Apple TV 4K. Overall, it seems like both the quality and clarity are better on the internal apps than on Apple TV, especially YoutubeTV.

With the Apple TV, when I first turn on YTTV or switch channels the content comes in at like 480P for several minutes before it adjusts to 1080P. When I view it through the internal app, it changes to 1080P within seconds. In both of these instances the device I was using was hard-wired with Ethernet.

Also, it may be my imagination but it seems like Hulu and Netflix come through more clearly on the native apps too.

Has anyone else shared my experience with this? At any rate, I am pleasantly surprised at how good the internal apps are.
_spasm_ and Bklynblaze like this.
knightofdight is offline  
post #4903 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 08:33 AM
Member
 
12gauge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluraycrazy View Post
I have the 65 inch coming this weekend. Does anyone know the length inbetween the legs?
Depends on the position of the legs... about 8" in my case!
12gauge is offline  
post #4904 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,903
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6843 Post(s)
Liked: 6838
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
I can jump in here,

I have a 75” X900F and as x4400h. I can confirm you will receive an Atmos signal via ARC.

I will test tonight if you can do Dobly Vision and ATMOS at the same time. I could of sworn I had ATMOS while watching DV content on Netflix, but I want to double check to be sure. I do know that 7.4.2 sounds amazing with the x4400h 🙂
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD1225 View Post
Regarding the blooming issue, my 75” exhibits minor blooming and not enough to bother either me or my wife. We never watch in a pitch black room, always some subtle lights at least. I can see it mostly with white lettering on a black background, but still not much. I use local dimming set to Med.
Nothing wrong with that.......
Adamg (Ret-Navy) likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #4905 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 09:19 AM
Member
 
KevinMRoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
I can jump in here,

I have a 75” X900F and as x4400h. I can confirm you will receive an Atmos signal via ARC.

I will test tonight if you can do Dobly Vision and ATMOS at the same time. I could of sworn I had ATMOS while watching DV content on Netflix, but I want to double check to be sure. I do know that 7.4.2 sounds amazing with the x4400h 🙂
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD1225 View Post
Regarding the blooming issue, my 75” exhibits minor blooming and not enough to bother either me or my wife. We never watch in a pitch black room, always some subtle lights at least. I can see it mostly with white lettering on a black background, but still not much. I use local dimming set to Med.
Nothing wrong with that.......
I have quite a bit of lighting control in my room, with RGB LED lights in the ceiling/behind tv/cove lighting. I’ve made some preset light scenes to add some bias lighting to the room in general, and I’m enjoying my X900F a lot more now. I hit a button and I get Sci fi theme lighting, or Adventure theme, whatever. It’s enjoyable!

I wouldn’t say it’s an excellent dark room performer, but at this price point not much is. To anybody who is bothered by the Blooming, which is subjective, I would suggest spending some cash on RBG bias lighting. It makes for an enjoyable movie experience and eliminates on of the x900f’s only faults
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	51E4BD2D-94D1-42AF-872F-D4E1E3F2BAEB_1544113028398.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	55.9 KB
ID:	2492550   Click image for larger version

Name:	D35D8A4F-E991-46C0-BFA5-F94C3D11370B_1544113056213.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	2492552  
KevinMRoach is offline  
post #4906 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 09:25 AM
Member
 
snoopysony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Centre of the Universe. Toronto, Canada
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
I have quite a bit of lighting control in my room, with RGB LED lights in the ceiling/behind tv/cove lighting. I’ve made some preset light scenes to add some bias lighting to the room in general, and I’m enjoying my X900F a lot more now. I hit a button and I get Sci fi theme lighting, or Adventure theme, whatever. It’s enjoyable!

I wouldn’t say it’s an excellent dark room performer, but at this price point not much is. To anybody who is bothered by the Blooming, which is subjective, I would suggest spending some cash on RBG bias lighting. It makes for an enjoyable movie experience and eliminates on of the x900f’s only faults
Now THAT is a nice home theatre setup.
aaronwt likes this.
snoopysony is offline  
post #4907 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
david8613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bloomfield nj
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopysony View Post
Now THAT is a nice home theatre setup.

in deed...
david8613 is offline  
post #4908 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 10:38 AM
Member
 
KevinMRoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by david8613 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopysony View Post
Now THAT is a nice home theatre setup.

in deed...
Thanks!
KevinMRoach is offline  
post #4909 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 10:46 AM
Member
 
-griffy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by ht guy View Post
From a content (non-games) standpoint, is there any 60Hz cntent other than Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk?
The Apple TV 4K menu/screensavers will run at 4K HDR/Dolby Vision 60hz if you have the main video setting set as either of those rather than 4K SDR. There's probably some 60hz HDR stuff on YouTube too?
-griffy- is offline  
post #4910 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 11:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Ramirez View Post
Who ever recommend the setting with xfintity to change to 720p what a diff it has made on my 85 900F thanks
Do you have the 4k X1 box? I followed this advice and when I hit the display button on the TV remote it shows that the pictures are not in 4k, so I switched my box back to the 4k setting.
VTENGR is offline  
post #4911 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
The only way to get lossless ATMOS currently is from a UHD/BD disc, or lossless rips from disc. The Shield has the device capability to pass lossless audio but as I said, none of the streaming services provide that currently. As far as I know, the only lossless audio capabilities that Shield owners are using is to stream their lossless rips, or to stream their lossless music via the Plex app on the Shield.

The Shield does not support Dolby Vision in any way. Not sure if this is something that can or will be updated in the future but I wouldn't hold my breath.

Netflix ATMOS is only available on a limited number of devices, including the internal Netflix app on 2018 Sony Bravia TVs. Even though there are other devices like the Shield that are powerful enough to handle it.

Lots of variables. Welcome to the hobby
I was looking at several titles on the native netflix app to see which are mastered in ATMOS and couldn't find anything other than just standard 5.1. Am I looking in the wrong place?
VTENGR is offline  
post #4912 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2168 Post(s)
Liked: 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTENGR View Post
I was looking at several titles on the native netflix app to see which are mastered in ATMOS and couldn't find anything other than just standard 5.1. Am I looking in the wrong place?
Best way to find them is to search on "ATMOS" with the search tool. ATMOS will be indicated in the program header, along side 4K, Dolby Vision.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #4913 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
kitebuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by VTENGR View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan Ramirez View Post
Who ever recommend the setting with xfintity to change to 720p what a diff it has made on my 85 900F thanks
Do you have the 4k X1 box? I followed this advice and when I hit the display button on the TV remote it shows that the pictures are not in 4k, so I switched my box back to the 4k setting.
I assumed when I hit the display button it shows the incoming signal that is being upscaled.... not the signal that is being displayed. My Android box can stream 4K but I have it set at 1080p - so the display button always shows 1080p. Am I wrong?
kitebuilder is offline  
post #4914 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 666
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 427 Post(s)
Liked: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitebuilder View Post
I assumed when I hit the display button it shows the incoming signal that is being upscaled.... not the signal that is being displayed. My Android box can stream 4K but I have it set at 1080p - so the display button always shows 1080p. Am I wrong?
You are correct the display button shows the incoming resolution as the TV always displays a 4K picture.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #4915 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markm75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 1,909
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The blooming that people mention.. i assume this is the halos you can see, in my case on the 75, mainly around bright titles that are on the screen with a black background? IE: xbox one x.. launch netflix .. the red letters pop up on the screen and around them is some "blooming".. just curious.. i have the full backlighting set to high, they are still there, but seem to only be during title sequences, so not that big of a deal i guess.

My TF+TR Atmos Setup
Tech, the Universe, and Everything:  http://tech-stew.com
Just Plane Crazy: http://flight-stew.com
markm75 is offline  
post #4916 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by david8613 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopysony View Post
Now THAT is a nice home theatre setup.

in deed...
Thanks!
Hey man I’m just curious what picture settings are you using? Btw that set up is nuts 👌
tcru02 is offline  
post #4917 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
I have quite a bit of lighting control in my room, with RGB LED lights in the ceiling/behind tv/cove lighting. I’ve made some preset light scenes to add some bias lighting to the room in general, and I’m enjoying my X900F a lot more now. I hit a button and I get Sci fi theme lighting, or Adventure theme, whatever. It’s enjoyable!

I wouldn’t say it’s an excellent dark room performer, but at this price point not much is. To anybody who is bothered by the Blooming, which is subjective, I would suggest spending some cash on RBG bias lighting. It makes for an enjoyable movie experience and eliminates on of the x900f’s only faults
What a room! I am so jealous. I imagine it to be warm and cosy in there with a slight smell of popcorn... lol.
Steve Kaye is offline  
post #4918 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 04:36 PM
Member
 
KevinMRoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcru02 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by david8613 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopysony View Post
Now THAT is a nice home theatre setup.

in deed...
Thanks!
Hey man I’m just curious what picture settings are you using? Btw that set up is nuts 👌
Right now here is what I have, but I’m still tweaking. I watched Annialation on Netflix today in Dobly Vision with a bit of Bias lighting. I was really impressed.

Picture Mode: Dobly Vision(Greyed out)
Brightness: Max(turned it down to about 40 after a bit)
Contrast 90
Gamma: -1
Black Level: 50
Black adjust: off
Adv contrast enhancer: off
Auto local dimming: High
X-tended Dynamic Range: low(sometimes I put this to high/medium, depending on content)
Color: 56
Color temperature: Expert 1
Live color: off
Sharpness: 50
Reality creation: off
Random noise reduction: off
Digital noise reduction: low(only for Netflix or digital video)
Smooth graduation: low(I turn this off for UHD Blu Rays)
Motion flow: custom
Smoothness: 2
Clearness: 1
Cinemotion: High


So far I enjoy these settings. Non DV HDR content I have it set similar, on Cinema Pro with lower brightness.

SDR content I turn the brightness up but otherwise I’m sticking to the same settings. For now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Kaye View Post

What a room! I am so jealous. I imagine it to be warm and cosy in there with a slight smell of popcorn... lol.
Thanks! Yup it usually has that smell haha
KevinMRoach is offline  
post #4919 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,745
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2188 Post(s)
Liked: 2325
Any owners here come from the 2016 Vizio P50? I am looking at the 49" for my bedroom. I am expecting the Sony to have much better HDR output. However, how is the blooming on the 49"? Anyone know the zone count? The current P50 has excellent backlight control.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
post #4920 of 10346 Old 12-06-2018, 05:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,379
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1834 Post(s)
Liked: 1284
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
I have quite a bit of lighting control in my room, with RGB LED lights in the ceiling/behind tv/cove lighting. I’ve made some preset light scenes to add some bias lighting to the room in general, and I’m enjoying my X900F a lot more now. I hit a button and I get Sci fi theme lighting, or Adventure theme, whatever. It’s enjoyable!

I wouldn’t say it’s an excellent dark room performer, but at this price point not much is. To anybody who is bothered by the Blooming, which is subjective, I would suggest spending some cash on RBG bias lighting. It makes for an enjoyable movie experience and eliminates on of the x900f’s only faults
Wow - absolutely gorgeous room! Looks like a private table dance area at a high end strip club. You know, the ones I read about with a fifty dollar cover charge.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off