2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 165 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4532Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4921 of 10434 Old 12-06-2018, 05:25 PM
Senior Member
 
MordredKLB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofdight View Post
With the Apple TV, when I first turn on YTTV or switch channels the content comes in at like 480P for several minutes before it adjusts to 1080P. When I view it through the internal app, it changes to 1080P within seconds. In both of these instances the device I was using was hard-wired with Ethernet.
This was my exact experience with YoutubeTV on the 4K Apple TV. Oddly, it didn't happen for the first two weeks or so I was subscribed back in September, but then started and never stopped. Not sure if it's an issue with AppleTV or the YTTV app for iOS. Ultimately it convinced me to pick up a Roku on Black Friday which doesn't experience the problem.
MordredKLB is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4922 of 10434 Old 12-06-2018, 06:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofdight View Post
I've had this TV for about a month now, and I love it. There are a few observations I'd like to make though.

I mostly watch Netflix, Hulu, and YoutubeTV. I've tried out viewing both the internal apps and the apps in Apple TV 4K. Overall, it seems like both the quality and clarity are better on the internal apps than on Apple TV, especially YoutubeTV.

With the Apple TV, when I first turn on YTTV or switch channels the content comes in at like 480P for several minutes before it adjusts to 1080P. When I view it through the internal app, it changes to 1080P within seconds. In both of these instances the device I was using was hard-wired with Ethernet.

Also, it may be my imagination but it seems like Hulu and Netflix come through more clearly on the native apps too.

Has anyone else shared my experience with this? At any rate, I am pleasantly surprised at how good the internal apps are.
I found the same thing as you.

I actually returned the Apple TV 4K and am using the internal apps. Like you said, to me the internal apps were sharper. Android is also pleasantly very snappy as well. Very pleased with internal apps and saved $ in the process.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #4923 of 10434 Old 12-06-2018, 06:59 PM
Member
 
xinunix's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by BR4DOKYBrazil View Post
Apparently the best option to get the most out of Xbox One X on our TV is 8-bit with the "Allow YCC 4: 2: 2" option unchecked.

https://www.neogaf.com/threads/ks800...post-253142952

Hmm, unless I am reading it wrong seems that after reading a few additional pages further down in that forum it sounds like the guy that came to that conclusion had a HDMI cable problem that was resulting in black frames for 8-bit 4:4:4 content due to what appeared to be an HDMI bandwidth constraint. Initially he found changing it to force 10-bit 4:2:2 for everything (which consumes less bandwidth) resolved that issue. However then he determined the root problem was his HDMI cable.

In general I have heard that the optimal setting is 8-bit with 4:2:2 checked b/c then 8-bit will transmit in 4:4:4 and HDR will just go up to 12-bit 4:2:2 automatically. This dude explains it in great detail starting around minute 14 or so (but the entire video is worth watching)


Last edited by xinunix; 12-06-2018 at 08:16 PM.
xinunix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4924 of 10434 Old 12-06-2018, 09:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I noticed everything that i watched from shield tv are not as nice looking as if i watch them on the tv android interface (Ie..youtube etc). Looks like no upscaling is happening if i cast the video to my shield tv compare to if i cast it to the 900f chromecast. Anyone notice this? Is there a setting to ensure that my tv does all up scaling no matter of the input source? Thanks.
[email protected] is offline  
post #4925 of 10434 Old 12-06-2018, 10:16 PM
Member
 
wormicide's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Niagara Falls NY
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 30
How does everyone enjoy their 900f’s? I currently have a 65” B6. I’ve narrowed my replacement to a 75” 900f or a 65” z9f. I don’t have any burn in so far but I want to be able to play video games and watch whatever on tv. I don’t mean to clog up your thread thanks in advance
wormicide is offline  
post #4926 of 10434 Old 12-06-2018, 10:34 PM
Member
 
Sentorial's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I'd probably stick with the b6
.
Sentorial is offline  
post #4927 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 03:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by xinunix View Post
Hmm, unless I am reading it wrong seems that after reading a few additional pages further down in that forum it sounds like the guy that came to that conclusion had a HDMI cable problem that was resulting in black frames for 8-bit 4:4:4 content due to what appeared to be an HDMI bandwidth constraint. Initially he found changing it to force 10-bit 4:2:2 for everything (which consumes less bandwidth) resolved that issue. However then he determined the root problem was his HDMI cable.

In general I have heard that the optimal setting is 8-bit with 4:2:2 checked b/c then 8-bit will transmit in 4:4:4 and HDR will just go up to 12-bit 4:2:2 automatically. This dude explains it in great detail starting around minute 14 or so (but the entire video is worth watching)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SHVJYB-Qews

Vincent tested the settings with Bluray and not with games. HDR games are required to be 10bit - 4: 2: 0.
BR4DOKYBrazil is offline  
post #4928 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 04:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
Coercion Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I noticed everything that i watched from shield tv are not as nice looking as if i watch them on the tv android interface (Ie..youtube etc). Looks like no upscaling is happening if i cast the video to my shield tv compare to if i cast it to the 900f chromecast. Anyone notice this? Is there a setting to ensure that my tv does all up scaling no matter of the input source? Thanks.

If your input is 1080p or less, the TV has to upscale it in order to fit the screen. If any input device is set to 4K output, it did the upscale and the TV displays the signal as it is received. There isn't anything more to do.


In short, if you want the TV to do the full upscale, make sure your device is transmitting at the native resolution of the source material.
Coercion Shaman is offline  
post #4929 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 04:59 AM
Member
 
Falonious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: West MI
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by wormicide View Post
How does everyone enjoy their 900f’s? I currently have a 65” B6. I’ve narrowed my replacement to a 75” 900f or a 65” z9f. I don’t have any burn in so far but I want to be able to play video games and watch whatever on tv. I don’t mean to clog up your thread thanks in advance

Just read through this thread.....right? You will find out for yourself.
I personally liked my 930E better (loved that set). The 900F is the replacement Sony sent me after it died and could not be repaired.

All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible.
T. E. Lawrence
.
Falonious is offline  
post #4930 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 05:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
david8613's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: bloomfield nj
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 319 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by KevinMRoach View Post
I have quite a bit of lighting control in my room, with RGB LED lights in the ceiling/behind tv/cove lighting. I’ve made some preset light scenes to add some bias lighting to the room in general, and I’m enjoying my X900F a lot more now. I hit a button and I get Sci fi theme lighting, or Adventure theme, whatever. It’s enjoyable!

I wouldn’t say it’s an excellent dark room performer, but at this price point not much is. To anybody who is bothered by the Blooming, which is subjective, I would suggest spending some cash on RBG bias lighting. It makes for an enjoyable movie experience and eliminates on of the x900f’s only faults


what kind of speakers are you running?
david8613 is offline  
post #4931 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 06:11 AM
Member
 
KChinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Carlisle Ohio
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by CyberSteak View Post
From Sony's site...

https://www.sony-mea.com/en/electron...icles/00166676




TV leans back a little on the Table-Top Stand.

Your BRAVIA TV is designed to be slanted slightly backward in consideration of setting on a low board.

NOTES:

If the TV is set at a low position, your eyes will lower a bit when you sit on a sofa. According to ergonomics, your eyes while sitting are 15 degrees lower than when you are in a usual relaxed state. You will be able to enjoy watching TV programs more comfortably by turning the TV screen a little upward.
If the TV is unstable, the screws that secure the stand to the TV might not be firmly tightened. By tightening all the screws again, the TV will be stable on the TV stand.
So does anyone know what Sony suggests we do to straighten the TV if it is not on a low stand? Mine is on a higher stand, and I think I'd like it to lean back a little less.

Family Room: Sony XBR75X940C, Denon AVR-3312CI, DirecTv HR-44, Sony PS4, Sony BDP-S590, Monster Power HTS 3600 MKII, Def Tech BP 2002 towers, Def Tech CS-8080HD center channel, Def Tech UIW RCS II Reference In Ceiling Surrounds - Game Room: Sony XBR55850C, Sony KDL-46HX850 (on Golden Tee Live Home Edition) Arachnid Galaxy 3 Dart Machine - Bedroom: Sony KDL-55W900A - Living Room: Sony KDS-R60XBR1 - Patio: Def Tech AW6500

Last edited by KChinn; 12-07-2018 at 06:35 AM.
KChinn is offline  
post #4932 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 07:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,389
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 308 Post(s)
Liked: 1397
My stand is 24” high. We sit 9.5 ft away from the 75” 900F and never noticed the slight angle. Our eyes wind up almost exactly in the middle of the screen when seated. I think the only way it gets noticed is from the side view of the TV, which in our case is never, fue to the hutch on the stand.

Spoiler!
RickD1225 is offline  
post #4933 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:09 AM
Member
 
MikeTV69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I have the 85 900F and sit about 13-14 feet away. The slight tilt hasn't been an issue at all this way.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
MikeTV69 is offline  
post #4934 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by MordredKLB View Post
This was my exact experience with YoutubeTV on the 4K Apple TV. Oddly, it didn't happen for the first two weeks or so I was subscribed back in September, but then started and never stopped. Not sure if it's an issue with AppleTV or the YTTV app for iOS. Ultimately it convinced me to pick up a Roku on Black Friday which doesn't experience the problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
I found the same thing as you.

I actually returned the Apple TV 4K and am using the internal apps. Like you said, to me the internal apps were sharper. Android is also pleasantly very snappy as well. Very pleased with internal apps and saved $ in the process.

Apparently, YTTV recently said there are known issues with Apple TV performance, and a fix is in the works. Interesting -- regardless, I will probably stick with native apps. I doubt I can return the ATV because I bought it over a month ago, from Ebay. Anyway, it's nice for if I want to do airplay from my Ipad.

Last edited by knightofdight; 12-07-2018 at 08:28 AM.
knightofdight is offline  
post #4935 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Guibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
I'm about 9 feet away from a 65" and I'm using the stand and there is a tilt in the back like in the diagram and it has not created any issues. Picture looks great. I have reclined sofa so even if I reclined all the way, picture looks great.
RonF likes this.
Guibs is offline  
post #4936 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Does anyone else have issues casting to your TV? I tried casting from my laptop in another room to my TV, and it took a while before it could establish a signal and then it dropped it after a few minutes. My TV uses ethernet and my laptop uses wifi.
knightofdight is offline  
post #4937 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:50 AM
Member
 
CyberSteak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by KChinn View Post
So does anyone know what Sony suggests we do to straighten the TV if it is not on a low stand? Mine is on a higher stand, and I think I'd like it to lean back a little less.
I bought new feet.

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

aaronwt and christoofar like this.

Last edited by CyberSteak; 12-07-2018 at 08:54 AM.
CyberSteak is offline  
post #4938 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:53 AM
Member
 
KChinn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New Carlisle Ohio
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 30
OK. Yeah now that people mention it, I think it is the side view of it leaning back that I dislike. I actually walk into the room where the TV is from the side of it and that is really when it bothers me... I have been to busy to watch it much, but I haven't noticed a problem while watching it.

Family Room: Sony XBR75X940C, Denon AVR-3312CI, DirecTv HR-44, Sony PS4, Sony BDP-S590, Monster Power HTS 3600 MKII, Def Tech BP 2002 towers, Def Tech CS-8080HD center channel, Def Tech UIW RCS II Reference In Ceiling Surrounds - Game Room: Sony XBR55850C, Sony KDL-46HX850 (on Golden Tee Live Home Edition) Arachnid Galaxy 3 Dart Machine - Bedroom: Sony KDL-55W900A - Living Room: Sony KDS-R60XBR1 - Patio: Def Tech AW6500
KChinn is offline  
post #4939 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,949
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6862 Post(s)
Liked: 6863
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitebuilder View Post
I assumed when I hit the display button it shows the incoming signal that is being upscaled.... not the signal that is being displayed. My Android box can stream 4K but I have it set at 1080p - so the display button always shows 1080p. Am I wrong?
Correct but when you send a 1080P signal do not expect to see a 4K picture quality. It has to be filmed and transferred in 4K to see a true 4K picture at its best....
christoofar likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4940 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 09:11 AM
Member
 
merhow89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofdight View Post
Does anyone else have issues casting to your TV? I tried casting from my laptop in another room to my TV, and it took a while before it could establish a signal and then it dropped it after a few minutes. My TV uses ethernet and my laptop uses wifi.

I tried to cast my phone to it. Didn't work - Roku also has the ability to cast so i tried that too - oddly enuf, it worked on one of the two 4K Ultras we have, unfortunately it didn't work on the one connected to the 900F.
Only trying this due to the fact that i simply cannot get a web browser loaded that is even remotely functional. Going to try the phone again this weekend. I will also try the laptop as well. Will let you know if it works.
merhow89 is offline  
post #4941 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 09:38 AM
Member
 
HunterKen7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
You are correct the display button shows the incoming resolution as the TV always displays a 4K picture.
Interesting. So, if I have non 4K content where I want the TV to do the up-scale processing, I should make sure any external streaming device I use isn't set to 4K output? Because in that case, the streaming device would have done the up-scaling and the TV would just be showing the 4K signal from the device?

If I use TV internal apps, then it is a sure fire way to know that the TV will be doing all processing no matter the media?
HunterKen7 is offline  
post #4942 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 10:02 AM
Newbie
 
kitebuilder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofdight View Post
Does anyone else have issues casting to your TV? I tried casting from my laptop in another room to my TV, and it took a while before it could establish a signal and then it dropped it after a few minutes. My TV uses ethernet and my laptop uses wifi.
Yes. I found that it works better to leave my old Chromecast plugged into hdmi1 and use it as I did before. <sigh>. Just like I found my external R99 4k Android player with kodi to work better than the internal apps. I love this TV but I really wish I could have bought it cheaper without all the "smartness"

Last edited by kitebuilder; 12-07-2018 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Format, spelling
kitebuilder is offline  
post #4943 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 10:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Coercion Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 232
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterKen7 View Post
Interesting. So, if I have non 4K content where I want the TV to do the up-scale processing, I should make sure any external streaming device I use isn't set to 4K output? Because in that case, the streaming device would have done the up-scaling and the TV would just be showing the 4K signal from the device?

If I use TV internal apps, then it is a sure fire way to know that the TV will be doing all processing no matter the media?

Make sure the streaming device is sending the native signal. Some (like the Xfinity X1) upscale to 1080p (as the content is either 720p or 1080i on Xfinity) and then send that to be upscaled to 4K resulting in two separate upscales. Unfortunately, the X1 box no longer offers the choice of 'Native'. Same can be true on any device.


The internal apps use the source signal as it is sent (720p, 1080i, 1080p, 4K) and then upscales as necessary.
Coercion Shaman is offline  
post #4944 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by knightofdight View Post
Apparently, YTTV recently said there are known issues with Apple TV performance, and a fix is in the works. Interesting -- regardless, I will probably stick with native apps. I doubt I can return the ATV because I bought it over a month ago, from Ebay. Anyway, it's nice for if I want to do airplay from my Ipad.
There’s an app you can download to airplay iPhone or iPad. You don’t need Apple TV. You can still sell it on eBay and recoup some if not all your money for it.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #4945 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by kitebuilder View Post
Yes. I found that it works better to leave my old Chromecast plugged into hdmi1 and use it as I did before. <sigh>. Just like I found my external R99 4k Android player with kodi to work better than the internal apps. I love this TV but I really wish I could have bought cheaper without all the "smartness"
I don't have any problems with the native apps, just using built-in Chromecast. I can't ever establish a connection to it.
knightofdight is offline  
post #4946 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ERuiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,605
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 811 Post(s)
Liked: 310


Anyone use this stand? The tilt on my 85" is driving me crazy. My tv stand is 16" tall and I feel we are watching the TV at an angle. Not straight in as it should be.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JVC DLA-NX7 / 125" 2.40:1 Stewart StudioTek 100 / Denon AVR-X4300H / Klipsch RP-280F (L/R) / Klipsch RP-450C / Klipsch RP-150M (x4) / Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos) / HSU VTF-3 MK5 DualDrive / Apple TV 4K / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Logitech Harmony Elite
ERuiz is offline  
post #4947 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 11:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,385
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1838 Post(s)
Liked: 1287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Correct but when you send a 1080P signal do not expect to see a 4K picture quality. It has to be filmed and transferred in 4K to see a true 4K picture at its best....

***Some of the best picture quality I have seen is a full 1080P signal that is upscaled by the Sony 900F. (Netflix, Amazon, OTA)

In fact, I prefer 1080P over many "4K/HDR/Dolby Vision" content on many streaming sites as it is a far clearer and more pristine picture than 4K/HDR/Dolby Vision. How can that be possible you say? Crap implementation of 4K and/or interpretation by Sony processing (Dolby Vision). Fake 4K sources (not natively filmed in 4K). As I've said before - - the best 4K/HDR I have ever seen is via a short "You Tube" clip. But alas - - I've never seen anything close to that content from any source for regular programming.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #4948 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Guibs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal, Qc, Canada
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
***Some of the best picture quality I have seen is a full 1080P signal that is upscaled by the Sony 900F. (Netflix, Amazon, OTA)

In fact, I prefer 1080P over many "4K/HDR/Dolby Vision" content on many streaming sites as it is a far clearer and more pristine picture than 4K/HDR/Dolby Vision. How can that be possible you say? Crap implementation of 4K and/or interpretation by Sony processing (Dolby Vision). Fake 4K sources (not natively filmed in 4K). As I've said before - - the best 4K/HDR I have ever seen is via a short "You Tube" clip. But alas - - I've never seen anything close to that content from any source for regular programming.
Yeah, 1080p content looks great on this TV. In fact, I recently upgraded my netflix subscription to get 4K and HDR but since HDR and dolby vision tend to produce a bit more blooming, I'm considering switching my subscription back to just HD since it looked great to me. More test to be done for sure but the upscaling from quality 1080p content on this TV is great and save 5$/month in the process.
Guibs is offline  
post #4949 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
APC's are very good but a little on the costly side. I switched to CyberPower and have been very pleased.



[quote=Cheddarhead;57191664]Depends on what you call cheap, but I picked up a couple of these for my daughter's TVs. Won't give much runtime during a power outage but will provide a decent buffer against transient sags AKA brownouts.



Personally I prefer these for the extra capacity need for my toys. Higher capacity to allow me to plug in my TV/DVR/HD Bluray/AVR all at the same time.
mhecht13 is offline  
post #4950 of 10434 Old 12-07-2018, 02:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
Ngerstman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: N.J.
Posts: 804
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 434 Post(s)
Liked: 211
Hello all. I am a proud owner of a 75 inch 900f and very happy with the panel. I also own an lg e6 which got stupidly positive reviews when it came out in 2016. I have some issues with blotching of blacks in dark scenes, never been sure if it’s the panel or cable system compression. Motion issues st times as well. Anyway I was over on the oled forum and visited the lg c8 thread and noticed some complaints about the latest generation panel. So hopped into a conversation and just mentioned that I recently made the decision to buy the 900f as opposed to the oled due to value as well as still not trusting processing on lg oled. Got jumped all over and effectively asked to leave, very sensitive people! I’ve been using the forum since buying a Pioneer Elite plasma back in 2007 and using it to research other panels I’ve purchased. I must say that most 900f people seem to be thrilled with the product, very few unhappy customers on this thread, which is pretty impressive since this is the place we come to vent! Happy to be a member here. Regards. Ned.
RonF and Adamg (Ret-Navy) like this.
Ngerstman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off