2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 204 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4349Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6091 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mzupeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrehdr View Post
I contacted Sony customer support and spoke to Joseph from El Salvador who has no clue of what he is doing and keep asking me to repeat my information and a couple of agents in Phillipines. Very bad experience with them. They pretty much saying that slightly dark corners is expected by Sony. I told them that I don’t have that on my 4 years old Samsung and they said that Sony manufactures their products differently LOL. They don’t see it as defect.
It isn’t though. Go with another brand you may get jail bars for uniformity. Sonys routinely are cleaner but do have darker corners, which you wont really notice in most content anyway.
Thanasis Xrisatzas likes this.
mzupeman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6092 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 09:06 AM
Senior Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrehdr View Post
I contacted Sony customer support and spoke to Joseph from El Salvador who has no clue of what he is doing and keep asking me to repeat my information and a couple of agents in Phillipines. Very bad experience with them. They pretty much saying that slightly dark corners is expected by Sony. I told them that I don’t have that on my 4 years old Samsung and they said that Sony manufactures their products differently LOL. They don’t see it as defect.

The Vizio and TCL TVs I have seen with FALD also have dark corners. I consider this normal and it has never bothered me.
dwhitton1 and grey15 like this.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is online now  
post #6093 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 09:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ERuiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 1,438
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 669 Post(s)
Liked: 234
I also have a TCL 55R617 and yes, dark corners. It is a FALD thing, guys and gals.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG OLED-65C7P / Denon AVR-X4300H / Klipsch RP-280F (L/R) / Klipsch RP-450C / Klipsch RP-150M (x4) / Klipsch RP-140SA (Atmos) / HSU VTF-3 MK5 DualDrive / PS4 Pro / Xbox One X / AppleTV 4K / Logitech Harmony Elite
ERuiz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6094 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 09:44 AM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrehdr View Post
I contacted Sony customer support and spoke to Joseph from El Salvador who has no clue of what he is doing and keep asking me to repeat my information and a couple of agents in Phillipines. Very bad experience with them. They pretty much saying that slightly dark corners is expected by Sony. I told them that I don’t have that on my 4 years old Samsung and they said that Sony manufactures their products differently LOL. They don’t see it as defect.
hello its normal all va vertical alignment screen , fald full array local dimming , will have darker corner all manufacturer of this technology have that , go at 8 minutes you will see light diffuser and after that a light reflector for the led at the back of the tv , is this part making darker corner impossible for the light to reflect properly in a corner
your set is perfectly normal , other technology like edge lit dont have that darker corner .
dwhitton1 is offline  
post #6095 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 09:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coercion Shaman View Post
Why are you even looking at this idiot to begin with? Quit giving him views on the counter!!!


Yeah I know, I know. But his name frequently pops up in these forums regarding picture setting and whatnot, users on these forums actually listen to this guy and take his advice. Search x900f settings on YouTube and 5 videos in the first page are his. I just want to get out there this dude is a complete fraud and tries to discredit anything/anyone with a differing opinion.
ocat is offline  
post #6096 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 88
So I don't have a great understanding of "Full Bandwidth." When rtings.com says that this TV only has 2 HDMI 2.0 full bandwidth ports, does that mean that only 2 of them support HDR?

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is online now  
post #6097 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 11:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhyatt5871 View Post
So I don't have a great understanding of "Full Bandwidth." When rtings.com says that this TV only has 2 HDMI 2.0 full bandwidth ports, does that mean that only 2 of them support HDR?
All 4 ports support 11Gbps which supports 4K HDR @24 and 30fps. You will need to enable enhanced if you have any content that demands 18Gbps basically 4K HDR @60fps and 4:4:4 chroma subsampling, meaning for the most part computer gaming. Don't forget if you enable enhanced mode to ensure that you use Premium Certified cables with the Hologram.

Premium HDMI Cable FAQ

I am not aware of any streaming services that support 4K 60fps 4:4:4 as part of the stream. Some do 60fps but not at 4:4:4 chroma subsampling

Chroma Subsampling Wiki article

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #6098 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,529
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6661 Post(s)
Liked: 6644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
The 900F always displays in 4K . So if your AVR doesn't upscale the signal then the TV will.
Correct. The TV has only one resolution, 4K.Any 4K set has no choice but to display what ever resolution you sent to it, to re scale it to 4K.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #6099 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:07 PM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhyatt5871 View Post
So I don't have a great understanding of "Full Bandwidth." When rtings.com says that this TV only has 2 HDMI 2.0 full bandwidth ports, does that mean that only 2 of them support HDR?
no the port 2 and 3 are hdmi 2.0 other ports are 4k hdmi 1.4

dwhitton1 is offline  
post #6100 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
All 4 ports support 11Gbps which supports 4K HDR @24 and 30fps. You will need to enable enhanced if you have any content that demands 18Gbps basically 4K HDR @60fps and 4:4:4 chroma subsampling, meaning for the most part computer gaming. Don't forget if you enable enhanced mode to ensure that you use Premium Certified cables with the Hologram.

Premium HDMI Cable FAQ

I am not aware of any streaming services that support 4K 60fps 4:4:4 as part of the stream. Some do 60fps but not at 4:4:4 chroma subsampling

Chroma Subsampling Wiki article

Thanks for the information. My 65" X900F will arrive tomorrow. I have never owned a Sony TV before, but they seem to get a lot of praise for their motion and upscaling, so I'm pretty excited.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is online now  
post #6101 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhyatt5871 View Post
So I don't have a great understanding of "Full Bandwidth." When rtings.com says that this TV only has 2 HDMI 2.0 full bandwidth ports, does that mean that only 2 of them support HDR?
Yes, only HDMI ports 2&3 support full fat HDMI 2.0 spec. Full Bandwith for 18Gbs HDMI means 4K @60 fps with Deep Color support (required for BT. 2020 color space and therefore, proper HDR 10)

What I don't understand is why is there even a manual option to toggle this - it should automatically be enabled by the display when the incoming signal from a device supports this function or whenever you switch to HDR mode. Other manufacturers like LG have this on all inputs and enable Deep Color by default when the signal requests it. Making this an "extra" step for modern TVs in sub menus is pretty arcane at this point in time.
Cuthalu likes this.
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6102 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,505
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2354 Post(s)
Liked: 923
Am I correct that the 49” will not do 1080p at 120hz - only the larger panels?

My z9 does it perfectly was hoping to use it as a monitor but ran across this in RTINGS

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #6103 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Chicago
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Opala View Post
Yes, only HDMI ports 2&3 support full fat HDMI 2.0 spec. Full Bandwith for 18Gbs HDMI means 4K @60 fps with Deep Color support (required for BT. 2020 color space and therefore, proper HDR 10)

What I don't understand is why is there even a manual option to toggle this - it should automatically be enabled by the display when the incoming signal from a device supports this function or whenever you switch to HDR mode. Other manufacturers like LG have this on all inputs and enable Deep Color by default when the signal requests it. Making this an "extra" step for modern TVs in sub menus is pretty arcane at this point in time.
On my LG I had to manually enable the deep color option. Same on my AVR. I think they leave it disabled for backwards compatibility as some devices don't play nice with it.

Media: LG 88" OLED 8K Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" OLED 4K C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #6104 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
christoofar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 306 Post(s)
Liked: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Larkins View Post
Alright so after playing around with the Sony a bit more, I was using the Greatest Showman in UHD (it outputs in HDR) and flipped live color from off to high. Does anyone know what this actually does, because it literally changed everything I just said about the brightness and even with the gamma turned back from max to 0, it made the picture much brighter. I might take some screenshots because it's really drastic. However my one fear is that it messes with the colors (as the name implies). Does it? Does anyone else use this?

Weirdly enough I noticed it has 0 effect when outputting in Dolby Vision. Also it only seems to have this effect in the custom setting. When I tried using Cinema Pro, changing back and forth barely had any effect.
https://community.sony.de/t5/how-tos...d/ba-p/2413437

Heart in SoCal - Soul from the Motor City
Sony x65-900F+ShieldTV+ Kodi Leia=>SR6010=>Integra DTA-70.1=>Chane A1.4 x 3 + DCM OW-1s x 2 + 1 x RSL Speedwoofer10 S+ 1 x Sunfire HRS12
christoofar is offline  
post #6105 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Correct. The TV has only one resolution, 4K.Any 4K set has no choice but to display what ever resolution you sent to it, to re scale it to 4K.
It's more accurate to say that the display will always display an incoming signal (unless it is a PC signal w/ native 1:1 mapping enabled) as Fit to Screen - basically stretching the incoming signal (scaling) to fill all the pixels. There are functions on certain displays (like my other LG set) that can map an incoming signal 1:1 to the screen instead of stretching it, so it displays in the native pixel count.
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6106 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
On my LG I had to manually enable the deep color option. Same on my AVR. I think they leave it disabled for backwards compatibility as some devices don't play nice with it.
It may vary by model of course. On my LG OLED, you can manually enable this for each port, but if an incoming signal request deep color for HDR, the display will notify you automatically that it is enabling this on the current HDMI input and make things pretty seamless.
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6107 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 12:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Chicago
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 375 Post(s)
Liked: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Opala View Post
It may vary by model of course. On my LG OLED, you can manually enable this for each port, but if an incoming signal request deep color for HDR, the display will notify you automatically that it is enabling this on the current HDMI input and make things pretty seamless.
It probably said that on mine too then. Initial setup was so long ago... I just know its enabled on the 2 inputs I've used and disabled on the 2 I haven't.

Media: LG 88" OLED 8K Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" OLED 4K C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #6108 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 01:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 598
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 386 Post(s)
Liked: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwhitton1 View Post
no the port 2 and 3 are hdmi 2.0 other ports are 4k hdmi 1.4

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=_93_KNfkP4M
Incorrect, all ports are 4K 2.0b HDMI ports. The difference is Ports 1 and 4 max out at 10.8Gbps, Ports 2 and 3 support up to 18Gbps when enhanced mode is enabled. Some older devices do not like enhanced mode so the default on Sony ports is 10.8., HDMI 2.0 is required for HDR and ports 1 and 4 definitely pass HDR10 from my x800.

18Gbps is only a concern if you have a [email protected] /60fps with 4:4:4 color sampling.

HDMI 2.0 FAQ

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4

Last edited by Cheddarhead; 01-10-2019 at 03:35 PM.
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #6109 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 01:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2038 Post(s)
Liked: 1909
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Opala View Post
It may vary by model of course. On my LG OLED, you can manually enable this for each port, but if an incoming signal request deep color for HDR, the display will notify you automatically that it is enabling this on the current HDMI input and make things pretty seamless.
On my LG C7, I had to enable Deep Color on an input if I wanted to output HDR. It wasn't automatic. Every HDR capable TV that I have seen requires Deep Color/Full UHD Color ( the name varies by manufacturer) to be manually enabled.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #6110 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 01:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
On my LG C7, I had to enable Deep Color on an input if I wanted to output HDR. It wasn't automatic. Every HDR capable TV that I have seen requires Deep Color/Full UHD Color ( the name varies by manufacturer) to be manually enabled.
Maybe in varies by device & content. I just turned off Deep Color on my input and launched Horizon:ZD on the PS4 Pro. The display showed that the game will output 2k HDR instead of 4K HDR because of my settings. I just clicked Ok. When I actually went to enable HDR in the game menu - the TV let me know that it is turning on the Deep Color settings for the input. Upon double checking the Video Signal, it was indeed 4K w/ HDR.
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6111 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 02:06 PM
Member
 
AleStrife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Do you think that with this tv i could see 'motion blur' more evident because it is 4k resolution?
For example,with pes 2019 ps4 pro,when the camera move fast,the motion blur (loss of definition with motion images) is more evident on XF90 despite of my FULLHD sony 2015 entry level w75.
But i think that could happened because the FULLHD tv has a more 'soft' image,not very sharp : 4k image 'not in motion' is muuuch sharp..so probably the difference between motionless image and image in motion is more evident.
Please don't tell me 'set clearness at 1' because BFI with videogames (expecially 60 fps like pes) cause duplication of image in motion (rtings says that and i see with my own eyes too),so i turn off when i play with games.

Last edited by AleStrife; 01-10-2019 at 02:10 PM.
AleStrife is offline  
post #6112 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7he_Doctor View Post
or am I just expecting too much?
Yep. That's it
Dimon.Zorg is online now  
post #6113 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 04:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2038 Post(s)
Liked: 1909
Quote:
Originally Posted by spear View Post
Yes, you should adjust Brightness to Max and XDR to High (or whatever looks good), since it fails to do it automatically. Unfortunately, these settings will be saved *and* affect SDR settings, so I believe some people work around it by just using a different picture mode (eg. Cinema Home) for YouTube HDR so there's just one setting to switch back and forth.
Rtngs is reporting that the Youtube app has been updated and now supports HDR. I can't test this out at the moment as my 900F is disconnected while I build a flat panel prep for a wallmount. Can someone test this and confirm that brightness automatically goes to max when an HDR video is played? Hopefully it works and there is no need to keep a separate custom picture mode for Youtube HDR.


From Rtngs:
Update 01/09/2019: YouTube app version 2.04.05 has added HDR support, seperate from the Android Oreo update.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #6114 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 04:38 PM
Member
 
itsjustmeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Got my 65 inch 900F the other day and I love it. I do have a quick question about the IR blaster though. I’m a little confused about its purpose. When it’s connected, does this mean that I can actually block the IR sensor in front of the tv with a center speaker and it will still see commands from the remote or does the tv sensor have to always be unobstructed? Also, why is there 2 IR sensors with the blaster?
itsjustmeee is offline  
post #6115 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 04:46 PM
Member
 
KRUZNBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Rtngs is reporting that the Youtube app has been updated and now supports HDR. I can't test this out at the moment as my 900F is disconnected while I build a flat panel prep for a wallmount. Can someone test this and confirm that brightness automatically goes to max when an HDR video is played? Hopefully it works and there is no need to keep a separate custom picture mode for Youtube HDR.





From Rtngs:

Update 01/09/2019: YouTube app version 2.04.05 has added HDR support, seperate from the Android Oreo update.
It doesn't go to full brightness for me. I confirmed I have that version.

Sent from my Moto G (5) Plus using Tapatalk
KRUZNBY is offline  
post #6116 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 04:52 PM
Senior Member
 
spear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Rtngs is reporting that the Youtube app has been updated and now supports HDR. I can't test this out at the moment as my 900F is disconnected while I build a flat panel prep for a wallmount. Can someone test this and confirm that brightness automatically goes to max when an HDR video is played? Hopefully it works and there is no need to keep a separate custom picture mode for Youtube HDR.

From Rtngs:
Update 01/09/2019: YouTube app version 2.04.05 has added HDR support, seperate from the Android Oreo update.
There is no change from our previous discussion because version 2.04.05 is what we've been using for some time now. It is the version that allows you to even play HDR videos in the first place (brightness bug and all) -- prior to this version, you couldn't even play HDR videos. RTings is just late with their reporting (well, they only retested because of feedback in their discussion area).
spear is offline  
post #6117 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 05:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anything Wrong with my panel after this test?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwhitton1 View Post
could be anything doing it yes i have in some content from my android box , you need to make a dse uniformity test first , local dimming off brightness 1 , on a black screen video , after local dimming on , rgbw video , brightness 35 after those 2 little step you will have your answer . if you still see those line your screen is defective . https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JeQuelXsUYA try it on this video , did the black video was ok at 1 brightness and local dimming off , if yes your are ok for black uniformity , keep in mind the black are not perfect , look rtings.com for 900f . if you still see banding in color your screen is defective . look page 184 the white of my set is not perfect kind of brighter spot at right , i can see a line going from to bottom about 4 inch wide that are brighter , a line in the left to bottom 1 mm wide , but in movie and other content i dont see it , no screen are perfect . the important is that you dont see it in movie , game etc etc , for banding i can only see a little those kind of brighter line in hockey about 25% of time when the camera is panning fast , or in menu some time , and i am a freak for that, my wife dont see it. i was owning oled and plasma before .
Should I return this TV? I have till Saturday 12th.


Thanks - I tried the following:

With brightness set to 1 and Auto Local Dim to off and tested black uniformity and I did not see the weird artifacts on the screen. I then turned my tv brightness to 35 with Local Dimming to On (Medium) I then ran DSE RGB Monitor Test and I took the following pictures of the result.

I don't see the same artifacts that were presented on the settings menu. If you look at the one attached pic (Image#142) I retook a pic of just the plain screen where the settings menu is in HOME and you can see those artifacts from viewing angle. No flash was used. Shows like weird artifact gradient waves or lines.

If anyone that's familiar with what this RGB test should show - Do you think I have a bad panel based on these attached pics?
Should I return this unit as I have till Saturday.

Appreciate the help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0142.jpg
Views:	111
Size:	1.07 MB
ID:	2509018   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0139.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	386.2 KB
ID:	2509020   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0140.jpg
Views:	78
Size:	248.7 KB
ID:	2509022   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0138.jpg
Views:	72
Size:	411.7 KB
ID:	2509024   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0137.jpg
Views:	73
Size:	363.7 KB
ID:	2509026  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0136.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	284.0 KB
ID:	2509028   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0141.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	335.5 KB
ID:	2509030  
StMichaels is offline  
post #6118 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 05:47 PM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by StMichaels View Post
Should I return this TV? I have till Saturday 12th.


Thanks - I tried the following:

With brightness set to 1 and Auto Local Dim to off and tested black uniformity and I did not see the weird artifacts on the screen. I then turned my tv brightness to 35 with Local Dimming to On (Medium) I then ran DSE RGB Monitor Test and I took the following pictures of the result.

I don't see the same artifacts that were presented on the settings menu. If you look at the one attached pic (Image#142) I retook a pic of just the plain screen where the settings menu is in HOME and you can see those artifacts from viewing angle. No flash was used. Shows like weird artifact gradient waves or lines.

If anyone that's familiar with what this RGB test should show - Do you think I have a bad panel based on these attached pics?
Should I return this unit as I have till Saturday.

Appreciate the help!
did the kind of big circle in color picture , bright spot are visible in person or only on the cam picture .

if you dont have visible banding or dse in content is the important thing .

rgb test would show banding and dse if present .

for the menu banding , its that only there at angle , if you look strait to the tv did the banding still there ,

i give you a example my samsung h7150 in 55 inch , depending of the serial number will have either a samsung screen or a sharp screen , in mine is a sharp the screen are not the same in all tv of the same model , even the manufacturing batch will have different behavior , dont know about sony , but the 75 i have is manufacture november 2018 and dont have this ,

try to go see one in best buy , ask for the remote ...

Last edited by dwhitton1; 01-10-2019 at 06:03 PM.
dwhitton1 is offline  
post #6119 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 06:23 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Wow what a diff in picture when i finally turned off upconversion on my marantz 6011. Picture is so clear letting the tv upconvert great group thanks all
Naters33 is offline  
post #6120 of 9710 Old 01-10-2019, 06:37 PM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
quick question somebody know where sony is sourcing their panel. i kow the 75 inch should be in a gen 10 plan , so the 75 probably sharp panel , but other size like 55 , 65 , in gen 7 or 8 plan they have a fewer gen 10 plan , than 7 or 8 .


https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List..._manufacturers
dwhitton1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off