2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 215 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4258Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6421 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 07:44 AM
Member
 
-griffy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 113
Quote:
Resolves a condition where the TV switches from Standby to Semi Standby and switches on any AV Receiver connected via HDMI CEC
Oh thank goodness.
-griffy- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6422 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 07:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjhumphrey View Post
The new 900F firmware is now available for download. The release notes specifically state there are fixes for image dimness, and Dolby Vision quality in the Netflix app. I can't wait to try it out tonight!

https://www.sony.ca/en/electronics/s...loads/00015770
I was checking out this update and when I try to download the System Software Update says I have the latest. But my software version is PKG6.5629.0177NAA while the Sony site says and I quote "If the version number is "PKG6.5830.xxxx" or higher, you already have the most recent software version and updating is not required.

Why does the tv say it's the most recent version? Should I try downloading to a USB and then download directly to the tv?

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
post #6423 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,065
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by HughScot View Post
I was checking out this update and when I try to download the System Software Update says I have the latest. But my software version is PKG6.5629.0177NAA while the Sony site says and I quote "If the version number is "PKG6.5830.xxxx" or higher, you already have the most recent software version and updating is not required.

Why does the tv say it's the most recent version? Should I try downloading to a USB and then download directly to the tv?
The update JUST came out not even 24 hrs ago. It is always available online first, then usually after 3-6 weeks the tv will find it and auto download it. If you want the update TODAY, the only option is to download to USB as noted above. As for the version number, I'm sure its a copy/paste from the pervious update / type o
HughScot likes this.

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6424 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 08:24 AM
Member
 
wrstdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hoping to get my 85' 900F here soon upgrading from a 50" Panny Plasma. I got to see the 85" in a Magnolia yesterday and it was awesome. I know professional calibration will be better but are the settings on rtings.com sufficient? I do plan on going through the thread a bit more, but with 215 pages, is there anything I should be aware of before my purchase?
wrstdude is offline  
post #6425 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Really interested to see if this new update fixes the dim issue. According to the notes it says "prevents screen from becoming dim after software update..." So I wonder if that means after the last software update or what?
Ben Larkins is offline  
post #6426 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1899 Post(s)
Liked: 1556
Quote:
Originally Posted by HughScot View Post
I was checking out this update and when I try to download the System Software Update says I have the latest. But my software version is PKG6.5629.0177NAA while the Sony site says and I quote "If the version number is "PKG6.5830.xxxx" or higher, you already have the most recent software version and updating is not required.

Why does the tv say it's the most recent version? Should I try downloading to a USB and then download directly to the tv?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
The update JUST came out not even 24 hrs ago. It is always available online first, then usually after 3-6 weeks the tv will find it and auto download it. If you want the update TODAY, the only option is to download to USB as noted above. As for the version number, I'm sure its a copy/paste from the pervious update / type o
No typo, the latest version number package is newer than his.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #6427 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 09:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
No typo, the latest version number package is newer than his.
Just installed it - it updates to Android 8 as well so no doubt it's the new one.
mlucas128 is offline  
post #6428 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 09:22 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,227
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6521 Post(s)
Liked: 6497
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrstdude View Post
Hoping to get my 85' 900F here soon upgrading from a 50" Panny Plasma. I got to see the 85" in a Magnolia yesterday and it was awesome. I know professional calibration will be better but are the settings on rtings.com sufficient? I do plan on going through the thread a bit more, but with 215 pages, is there anything I should be aware of before my purchase?
Nice upgrade man I would like to make you aware of the fact that you are jumping into 189% more screen area !! Oh ya !!
wrstdude likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #6429 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 09:31 AM
Member
 
terrspin11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Testpattern View Post
Yes sir. I ended up replacing the HDMI cable from my Sony Bluray to my Yamaha and the cable from the Yamaha to the TV. Problem totally eliminated.


I used a couple of "premium" slim line cables from Monoprice rated for 18ghz. Great cables. Great price.
Awesome, thanks for the update! Yes, i was experiencing the black screen more on the Xfinity 4k box, and realized i had the lower 10gbps cable, so I swapped it out for the 18gbs, and seems so far to be better. My Sony 700 uhd player has the 18gbps cable, but I may swap that for a newer one regardless. I already had the 18gbps going from receiver to x900f, but may swap that for the mono certified. Thank you!

Anthem mrx-720, Sunfire Cinema Grand 400-7, GoldenEar Aon 3 L-R, GoldenEar SuperSat3 Surround, Paradigm Millenia 20 Center, Intimus L6-IC Height, SVS PB-1000 sub, atmos 5.1.4
terrspin11 is offline  
post #6430 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 09:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlucas128 View Post
Just installed it - it updates to Android 8 as well so no doubt it's the new one.
So, does the Android update improve speed/responsiveness? That seems to have been a common complaint for the Android TV platform on Sony TVs.

ALso, any other fixes you noticed? Does it soften the blooming issues, or correct the brightness for DV HDR?
Kamran Jahadi is offline  
post #6431 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 09:59 AM
Senior Member
 
xenokai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlucas128 View Post
Just installed it - it updates to Android 8 as well so no doubt it's the new one.
Nice. I don't use my tv online so I'm gonna wait it out and see if any issues arise, maybe update later.
xenokai is offline  
post #6432 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwhitton1 View Post
hello you are right i try the p75f1 and is brighter , even my hisense r6 is brighter , try gama to max , and adv contrast to max in dv is your only option . if you are on netflix you can downgrade to regular hd .
I would never increase gamma to max to try to compensate for anything - this is not how any calibration works. The internal apps are simply broken. Downgrading Netflix to standard HD for a fix? How is this acceptable? I guess you can call all of this a "workaround" but how desperate does one have to be on holding on to this panel with such limitations?
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6433 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 10:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AleStrife View Post
With Motionflow imput lag is 81 ms,for gaming is not 'fantastic'.
Yes it is higher - playing Red Dead Remption 2 next to an LG Oled it was barely noticeable yet the motion was fantastic and worth the sacrifice. This may be different for very faced paced shooters/fighters of course.
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6434 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Refer to this attached image for blooming
Kris Opala is offline  
post #6435 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 11:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1899 Post(s)
Liked: 1556
Did the update. I don't notice any difference in Netflix DV but then again I didn't think it was a problem before. I compared the internal Netflix DV app with the ATV4K Netflix app and they are comparable. I also checked to see if Youtube HDR is being properly handled and unfortunately it still isn't.

The main difference is in the home screen. Not sure if the ability to configure has changed but it's laid out better IMO. It mirrors the Nvidia Shield home screen for those who are familiar, which is to be expected. Android 8.0 is now in place.

Let me know if you want me to check anything else.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sony 900f homescreen on android 8.0.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	577.6 KB
ID:	2514570  
mhyatt5871 likes this.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #6436 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 11:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Opala View Post
Refer to this attached image for blooming
There's no local dimming active on that screen. Not representative of blooming.
CaptinCrunch and bodean like this.
Shrike645 is online now  
post #6437 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 11:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Did the update. I don't notice any difference in Netflix DV but then again I didn't think it was a problem before. I compared the internal Netflix DV app with the ATV4K Netflix app and they are comparable. I also checked to see if Youtube HDR is being properly handled and unfortunately it still isn't.



The main difference is in the home screen. Not sure if the ability to configure has changed but it's laid out better IMO. It mirrors the Nvidia Shield home screen for those who are familiar, which is to be expected. Android 8.0 is now in place.



Let me know if you want me to check anything else.
How about speed of response? Any improvement in general? (I know that's subjective)

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
TexaClone is offline  
post #6438 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 11:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexaClone View Post
How about speed of response? Any improvement in general? (I know that's subjective)

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
I think to answer the speed of response it might be best to wait a while. Most users have stated that they reboot on a regular basis to keep the OS responsive. Having just done an install might be best to wait a week and see what the response is like.
Shrike645 is online now  
post #6439 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 11:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1899 Post(s)
Liked: 1556
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post
I think to answer the speed of response it might be best to wait a while. Most users have stated that they reboot on a regular basis to keep the OS responsive. Having just done an install might be best to wait a week and see what the response is like.
It seems about the same to me. The TV reboots a couple of times during the update, therefore I'd say this is as good as it gets.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #6440 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 12:02 PM
Member
 
defter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excellent news about update !, but i a have a concern, i have a 55x905f ( from chile ) and the compatible models to this update is x900f ( i know that sometimes refers to a base model, but is better to be sure about this ) .

Someone can help me with this, please, my usb drive is ready to update, just i need a confirmation por this.

Thanks !

PD: Another thing, upgrading from usb drive (in a download version from web site ) , don't should not be affect the warranty ? .

Last edited by defter; 01-22-2019 at 12:07 PM.
defter is offline  
post #6441 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 12:51 PM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrstdude View Post
Hoping to get my 85' 900F here soon upgrading from a 50" Panny Plasma. I got to see the 85" in a Magnolia yesterday and it was awesome. I know professional calibration will be better but are the settings on rtings.com sufficient? I do plan on going through the thread a bit more, but with 215 pages, is there anything I should be aware of before my purchase?
hello i still own a 50 panasonic plasma , i move out of oled and samsung plasma for the 900f as main set , you will need bias lightening , see page 184 i have a post on it , a part of that its a ok set . not plasma and not oled black .
wrstdude likes this.
dwhitton1 is offline  
post #6442 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,978
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1899 Post(s)
Liked: 1556
Quote:
Originally Posted by defter View Post
Excellent news about update !, but i a have a concern, i have a 55x905f ( from chile ) and the compatible models to this update is x900f ( i know that sometimes refers to a base model, but is better to be sure about this ) .

Someone can help me with this, please, my usb drive is ready to update, just i need a confirmation por this.

Thanks !

PD: Another thing, upgrading from usb drive (in a download version from web site ) , don't should not be affect the warranty ? .
The update is valid for models in Chile, although the 905F is not listed in the applicable models on the update link. Chile is listed as one of the countries that the update is intended for though.
https://www.sony.ca/en/electronics/s...loads/00015770

I don't know definitively but updating manually shouldn't impact your warranty. Sony recommends letting the TV auto update on its own, presumably to reduce the risk of user error.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #6443 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 01:29 PM
Member
 
defter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
The update is valid for models in Chile, although the 905F is not listed in the applicable models on the update link. Chile is listed as one of the countries that the update is intended for though.
https://www.sony.ca/en/electronics/s...loads/00015770

I don't know definitively but updating manually shouldn't impact your warranty. Sony recommends letting the TV auto update on its own, presumably to reduce the risk of user error.
Thanks , i am gonna try in a minutes !
defter is offline  
post #6444 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 01:37 PM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris Opala View Post
I would never increase gamma to max to try to compensate for anything - this is not how any calibration works. The internal apps are simply broken. Downgrading Netflix to standard HD for a fix? How is this acceptable? I guess you can call all of this a "workaround" but how desperate does one have to be on holding on to this panel with such limitations?
i did not like dolby vision too dim , i prefer the 900f over plasma and oled for the main raison of burn in , now i have peace of mind i can forget static objet on screen . samsung q8 too expensive and on what i saw samsung dse and banding could be worst .
my main plasma 58 inch retention , right conner news logo , oled b6 burn in , youtube logo play bar and yellow button short cut right conner , now those thing are behind me , plasma around 50000 hours super good the burn happen the first year little one , oled 4500 hours bad .

Last edited by dwhitton1; 01-22-2019 at 01:42 PM.
dwhitton1 is offline  
post #6445 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just updated and it is the new Oreo OS (v8.0). So far so good after having to reboot once, will keep updated.
Lewis Rivera is offline  
post #6446 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 02:12 PM
Member
 
toneroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone directly cross shop or compare this to the LG OLED B8/C8?

I just bought this for the bedroom a few days ago and saw that I just missed a deal for a c8 which would have only been $100 more (I have another 3 weeks to return)
Cross shopped this with the NU8000 and TCL 6 before settling on the Sony.
I watch in a pitch black room mostly and the Sony is a bit bright at times but love the upscaler!
Don't really like the remote and system menu is just a bit slower than others.
Will the android OS slow down over time etc?
I have an old Sony google TV in the kitchen and the only smart features that still work are basically Netflix and Pandora.

I do have a B7 downstairs and it seems like the bars are much darker but we never watch it in pitch darkness and actually don't watch too often with a baby running around.

Just wanted to know your thoughts as the deal is gone but I can still get a B8 for around 200-300 more.


Thanks!
toneroni is offline  
post #6447 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 02:41 PM
Member
 
dwhitton1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by toneroni View Post
Anyone directly cross shop or compare this to the LG OLED B8/C8?

I just bought this for the bedroom a few days ago and saw that I just missed a deal for a c8 which would have only been $100 more (I have another 3 weeks to return)
Cross shopped this with the NU8000 and TCL 6 before settling on the Sony.
I watch in a pitch black room mostly and the Sony is a bit bright at times but love the upscaler!
Don't really like the remote and system menu is just a bit slower than others.
Will the android OS slow down over time etc?
I have an old Sony google TV in the kitchen and the only smart features that still work are basically Netflix and Pandora.

I do have a B7 downstairs and it seems like the bars are much darker but we never watch it in pitch darkness and actually don't watch too often with a baby running around.

Just wanted to know your thoughts as the deal is gone but I can still get a B8 for around 200-300 more.


Thanks!
if you like oled only 200 more and you dont use it to much . oled is better .

upscaling over a b6 sony is better , depend of your usage mainly movie cable streaming sony . movie from dvd dolby vision netflix oled is better .
dwhitton1 is offline  
post #6448 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 04:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Just got home and fired up the tv and voila! A new update was available! I didn’t have to manually do it. Can’t wait to see if Netflix Dolby vision is better.
EyeWasAbducted is offline  
post #6449 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 04:59 PM
Member
 
defter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't update manually, put the file into a usb drive ( pendrive 16gb ntfs and fat32 ) also a external hdd and nothing, tv show me a error message "tv cannot update from this usb drive " ( something like that ).

Can't see what is the problem here (maybe exfat? ) , my usb drive has 16gb .
defter is offline  
post #6450 of 9393 Old 01-22-2019, 05:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by defter View Post
I can't update manually, put the file into a usb drive ( pendrive 16gb ntfs and fat32 ) also a external hdd and nothing, tv show me a error message "tv cannot update from this usb drive " ( something like that ).

Can't see what is the problem here (maybe exfat? ) , my usb drive has 16gb .
Did you unzip it? You want the file with the name:

sony_dtv0FA60A0AA0AA_00004300_16058301000205.pkg

in the root directory of your USB drive. I did that and the TV immediately started the update when I plugged it in.
mlucas128 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off