2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 301 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4250Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9001 of 9373 Old 07-03-2019, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 934
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich 63 View Post
Just an fyi. I was at bestbuy in Canada today. Both sales people I spoke to said that the 850 is going to be discontinued at the end of this year and that this week they were informed the 900 will be manufactured through next year. It was the number one selling screen last year and to date this year its exceeding last year's units sold.
Not sure I like this news. I have a 900F but was looking to get another in the fall and this means they might not drop in price to make room for a new model. I can still hope for a great black Friday price.
Shrike645 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9002 of 9373 Old 07-03-2019, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1871 Post(s)
Liked: 1515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post
Not sure I like this news. I have a 900F but was looking to get another in the fall and this means they might not drop in price to make room for a new model. I can still hope for a great black Friday price.
I would take anything a Best Buy sales rep says with a LARGE grain of salt
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9003 of 9373 Old 07-03-2019, 03:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,811
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post
Not sure I like this news. I have a 900F but was looking to get another in the fall and this means they might not drop in price to make room for a new model. I can still hope for a great black Friday price.
The 85x900f I purchased last week at Bestbuy had just been pulled down the display wall. The implication was the 900f was phase out. Doesn't mean stock won't be available for sometime but display space is expensive.
gtgray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9004 of 9373 Old 07-03-2019, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gtgray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 3,811
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I have a Denon x4200w. If I connect the the TV via ARC and change the volume with the Sony remote I get the message, "This app is set for surround. Use the TV remote to adjust the volume". The TV remote does change volume on the receiver, but it is kind of sluggish. Am I missing a setting somewhere. HDMI CEC is enabled.

Never mind it seems related to Silicondust's HDHOMERUN software and only occurs in their app and Live Channels using their tuners.
gtgray is offline  
post #9005 of 9373 Old 07-03-2019, 10:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,190
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6495 Post(s)
Liked: 6475
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkaizer View Post
I just purchased this TV (65") and discovered the dark corners which is really annoying my viewing experience.

I heard its a problem with FALD technology.
I have only seen that talked about in the 900F Sony thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkaizer View Post
the screen is used in a showroom for 3000 hours. i purchased it for 1300 USD which i think is a good deal.

i turned on the tv today and to my surprise, the dark corners are less feasible.

strange
Don't fight it
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #9006 of 9373 Old 07-03-2019, 11:26 PM
Member
 
Alkaizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
I have only seen that talked about in the 900F Sony thread

Don't fight it
its in 950g too. but with less effect. if you concentrate in the corner for the screen you will notice it:

Alkaizer is offline  
post #9007 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 06:00 AM
DrA
Advanced Member
 
DrA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Firmware update to v6.6520 is now officially ready for US since July 1st. It said it resolves an issue where the WiFi connection fails after updating the TV software. So people who reported that problem on this Forum were not crazy after all. Did you guys with other problems, like Harmony remote not working, resolved the problems?
Any problems after this latest update?
I am still on v6.65210 which made the UI screen dim. DV is still dimmer than Dolby Vision on my uncalibrated Sony 930 E and needs maximum gamma on 900F. Standard dynamic range and overall picture is excellent on this TV, therefore I am afraid to do this update for now in case it ruins my regular TV watching too.
I also advice to do factory reset if you encounter any problems after any upgrade. My dim UI interface problem got better after Factory reset even though it is time consuming.

Improvise, adapt to the environment, Darwin, **** happens, I Ching.

Last edited by DrA; 07-04-2019 at 06:29 AM.
DrA is offline  
post #9008 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrA View Post
Firmware update to v6.6520 is now officially ready for US since July 1st. It said it resolves an issue where the WiFi connection fails after updating the TV software. So people who reported that problem on this Forum were not crazy. Did you guys with other problems, like Harmony remote not working, resolved the problems? Any problems after latest update?
I am still on v6.65210 which made the UI screen dim. DV is still dimmer than Dolby Vision on my uncalibrated Sony 930 E and needs maximum gamma on 900F. Standard dynamic range is excellent therefore I am afraid to do this update in case it ruins the regular TV watching.
I also advice to do factory reset if you encounter any problems after any upgrade. My dim UI interface problem got better after Factory reset which is time consuming.
6.6520 did not resolve the Harmony / Picture Mode problem. The Home Screen menus look brighter to me, though I’m not sure what others were actually referring to. I did a factory reset after installing 6.6510, but not after 6.6520 as I didn’t notice any change the first time. I’m still very happy with the picture, I just wish Sony would fix the Remote problem.
DrA likes this.

HT: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> XPA-7G3> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS & SVS SB-4000 (7.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9009 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 06:50 AM
DrA
Advanced Member
 
DrA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
6.6520 did not resolve the Harmony / Picture Mode problem. The Home Screen menus look brighter to me, though I’m not sure what others were actually referring to. I did a factory reset after installing 6.6510, but not after 6.6520 as I didn’t notice any change the first time. I’m still very happy with the picture, I just wish Sony would fix the Remote problem.
I hope so too. Some people don't get that these kind of firmware problems really affect the consumer. Dim DV picture made me to install blinds and Wifi problems forced me to pay my electrician to install an Ethernet wire.

Improvise, adapt to the environment, Darwin, **** happens, I Ching.
DrA is offline  
post #9010 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 06:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,116
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Manually installed via usb stick. Followed by factory reset. Everything went smooth. Been waiting for the update months. Got tired of waiting.
DrA likes this.
KoRn is offline  
post #9011 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 06:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrA View Post
I hope so too. Some people don't get that these kind of firmware problems really affect the consumer. Dim DV picture made me to install blinds and Wifi problems forced me to pay my electrician to install an Ethernet wire.
A wifi extender with ethernet ports is an alternative to running a cable from your router, definitely cheaper than paying an electrician. I use an older cisco extender to get ethernet to my AV rack.
DrA likes this.
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #9012 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 09:43 PM
DrA
Advanced Member
 
DrA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
A wifi extender with ethernet ports is an alternative to running a cable from your router, definitely cheaper than paying an electrician. I use an older cisco extender to get ethernet to my AV rack.
Anyone installed bias LED lighting? What do you think about active, responsive bias led? I don't think I am going to use active features a lot but it would be nice to have that option in case I get used to it.

Improvise, adapt to the environment, Darwin, **** happens, I Ching.
DrA is offline  
post #9013 of 9373 Old 07-04-2019, 10:11 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Picture Mode & Firmware

Sorry to keep on this, but here’s a recap of the Picture Mode status as I can figure it.

FW ???? (Summer 2018) Yes, PM worked (reported here, I confirmed)
FW 6.562x (09/2018) Yes, PM worked! (I confirmed)
FW 6.5635 (??/2018) Yes, PM worked! (reported here)
FW 6.5830 (01/2019) ?? PM (didn’t see any mentions)
FW 6.5850 (04/2019) No PM (reported here)
FW 6.6510 (05/2019) No PM (reported here, I confirmed)
FW 6.6520 (07/2019) No PM (reported here, I confirmed)

If anyone has any more details on versions I missed, and especially if you know Picture Mode worked or not. I’m collecting information to pass on when I update my case with Sony. Other models with this firmware welcome too, like 900E. As expected (and probably appropriate), Logitech punted it back to Sony.

Thanks.
fgsouza likes this.

HT: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> XPA-7G3> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS & SVS SB-4000 (7.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1

Last edited by bmcleod; 07-06-2019 at 05:31 PM. Reason: Added 6.635
bmcleod is offline  
post #9014 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 09:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Firmware update to v6.6520 07-02-2019
Benefits and improvements from the latest update
Resolves an issue where the WiFi® connection fails after updating the TV software to Android™ 8.0 Oreo

Thats the only update with this new FW eh?

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #9015 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
silly question... I have a x900f - 75in...
where are you seeing the FW version? everything I see pertains to the android OS 8.0.0....

I did click check for new version and it found it, thus installing now. just curious though on where to see the v6.6520?
JesterJeff69 is offline  
post #9016 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 09:49 AM
DrA
Advanced Member
 
DrA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 138 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
6.6520 did not resolve the Harmony / Picture Mode problem. The Home Screen menus look brighter to me, though I’m not sure what others were actually referring to. I did a factory reset after installing 6.6510, but not after 6.6520 as I didn’t notice any change the first time. I’m still very happy with the picture, I just wish Sony would fix the Remote problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJeff69 View Post
silly question... I have a x900f - 75in...
where are you seeing the FW version? everything I see pertains to the android OS 8.0.0....

I did click check for new version and it found it, thus installing now. just curious though on where to see the v6.6520?
Press Help on the lower left corner of your TV remote.

Improvise, adapt to the environment, Darwin, **** happens, I Ching.
DrA is offline  
post #9017 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by JesterJeff69 View Post
silly question... I have a x900f - 75in...
where are you seeing the FW version? everything I see pertains to the android OS 8.0.0....

I did click check for new version and it found it, thus installing now. just curious though on where to see the v6.6520?
https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...loads/00016214

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #9018 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 10:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrA View Post
Press Help on the lower left corner of your TV remote.
Look at that.. didn't know that button was there.. .LOL

ok...
pkg6.6520.0252NAA
DrA likes this.
JesterJeff69 is offline  
post #9019 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
Firmware update to v6.6520 07-02-2019
Benefits and improvements from the latest update
Resolves an issue where the WiFi® connection fails after updating the TV software to Android™ 8.0 Oreo

Thats the only update with this new FW eh?
The Home screen also looks brighter to me, but that could be because I reset my TV about a week before and may have slightly different settings, and it was the first time I looked at Home since then.

HT: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> XPA-7G3> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS & SVS SB-4000 (7.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9020 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1871 Post(s)
Liked: 1515
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post
Firmware update to v6.6520 07-02-2019
Benefits and improvements from the latest update
Resolves an issue where the WiFi® connection fails after updating the TV software to Android™ 8.0 Oreo

Thats the only update with this new FW eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
The Home screen also looks brighter to me, but that could be because I reset my TV about a week before and may have slightly different settings, and it was the first time I looked at Home since then.
It wasn't in the firmware notes but this version restores the home screen and menu brightness back to the original level. It was dimmed on the previous version.
bmcleod likes this.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9021 of 9373 Old 07-05-2019, 11:04 PM
Member
 
mooch49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I've had this TV since it came out and have mostly been satisfied with it. However, there is this one issue that I have come to accept but never asked why it happens. No matter the source, as soon as the TV activates HDR/DV, it'll be very bright. But then it dims slightly within a few seconds. I have no idea why. I don't believe it's firmware related, as it's been happening ever since I bought the TV in April 2018. Does anyone else experience this and if so is it normal. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
mooch49 is offline  
post #9022 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 12:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1871 Post(s)
Liked: 1515
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooch49 View Post
I've had this TV since it came out and have mostly been satisfied with it. However, there is this one issue that I have come to accept but never asked why it happens. No matter the source, as soon as the TV activates HDR/DV, it'll be very bright. But then it dims slightly within a few seconds. I have no idea why. I don't believe it's firmware related, as it's been happening ever since I bought the TV in April 2018. Does anyone else experience this and if so is it normal. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Dolby Vision was only added as a firmware update in late May 2018. Have you tried a factory reset?
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9023 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 05:57 AM
Member
 
mooch49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Dolby Vision was only added as a firmware update in late May 2018. Have you tried a factory reset?
I did a factory reset a few weeks back, mostly because of the firmware that caused menus to be very dim. I'm going to try to post a video that shows what I'm talking about.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
mooch49 is offline  
post #9024 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 07:02 AM
Member
 
sonyva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Picked up a 49X900F at Bestbuy with the July 4th sale. Great picture.

I connected to WiFi and it did an auto update when I set it up. So I guess - don't connect to WiFi when setting up. The remote doesn't power on my Verizon Fios set top box. So I guess I have that bug.

Did not look at the firmware level, but will. I guess it is the latest (with issues).

Decided on the 900F over the 800G base on discussion here, plus I like the back of the 900F - more flat back, power cord on TV (with brick), and the higher mounting screws. Not sure if the 800G with it low position VESA would work on my Pole based stand

Figured I better get the 49" now before discontinued. But the date on the inner small tab when you open the top of the box had a date of 5-23-2019 on it - so I assume it was the date it was packed.
sonyva is offline  
post #9025 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 09:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
PannyMann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 188 Post(s)
Liked: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich 63 View Post
Just an fyi. I was at bestbuy in Canada today. Both sales people I spoke to said that the 850 is going to be discontinued at the end of this year and that this week they were informed the 900 will be manufactured through next year. It was the number one selling screen last year and to date this year its exceeding last year's units sold.
Hmm, perhaps this is why I'm seeing Sony 850s for the first time in my local Costco.
Never saw a Sony TV of any kind there before.

I think, therefore I am single.
PannyMann is offline  
post #9026 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: DFW
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by PannyMann View Post
Hmm, perhaps this is why I'm seeing Sony 850s for the first time in my local Costco.
Never saw a Sony TV of any kind there before.
The Costco near me has had the 850 on display for the past 4 or 5 months. Outside of the 850 and maybe one other model, Sony TV's have a very small presence for some reason at all of the Costco that I have visited.
iMac1310 is offline  
post #9027 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 01:39 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooch49 View Post
I've had this TV since it came out and have mostly been satisfied with it. However, there is this one issue that I have come to accept but never asked why it happens. No matter the source, as soon as the TV activates HDR/DV, it'll be very bright. But then it dims slightly within a few seconds. I have no idea why. I don't believe it's firmware related, as it's been happening ever since I bought the TV in April 2018. Does anyone else experience this and if so is it normal. Thanks.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
Is your light sensor on? That could cause a change in brightness, if your room is dark, it could get darker.
PlanetAVS likes this.

HT: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> XPA-7G3> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS & SVS SB-4000 (7.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9028 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 03:29 PM
Member
 
mooch49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Thanks for the suggestions. All power saving settings are off. It seems to happen more at night and when I'm playing a game on my computer. HDR is not very optimized on Windows anyway. That could be the reason. I haven't touched my PS4 Pro in awhile. I'll check to see if it happens there. I don't have a 4K player, but hdr seems okay when streaming. Maybe some 900f sets are just brighter than others. I still love the TV. It was just odd how brightness would dim ever so slightly when HDR engages. Hopefully it's more a Windows problem then the TV.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
mooch49 is offline  
post #9029 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 04:24 PM
Member
 
sonyva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Sorry to keep on this, but here’s a recap of the Picture Mode status as I can figure it.

FW ???? (Summer 2018) Yes, PM worked (reported here, I confirmed)
FW 6.562x (09/2018) Yes, PM worked! (I confirmed)
FW 6.5830 (01/2019) ?? PM (didn’t see any mentions)
FW 6.5850 (04/2019) No PM (reported here)
FW 6.6510 (05/2019) No PM (reported here, I confirmed)
FW 6.6520 (07/2019) No PM (reported here, I confirmed)

If anyone has any more details on versions I missed, and especially if you know Picture Mode worked or not. I’m collecting information to pass on when I update my case with Sony. Other models with this firmware welcome too, like 900E. As expected (and probably appropriate), Logitech punted it back to Sony.

Thanks.
My new 49X900F (purchased on July 5, 2019.

TV (rear label) Made in Mexico
June, 2019

Box manufactured May 23, 2019.

(so obviously still being manufactured 2018 model in mid-2019)

FW 6.5635.0180 Picture Mode Works

Only item I see now is that Verizon FIOS set top box doesn't power off.
But can use Sony's remote to change channels, volume, and other functions.

So for a TV made in June, 2019, they installed a FW version between 9/2018 and 1/2019.

I have now disabled auto update. But it did a check when I did the initial setup and appears to have done an update, and the level above is what I have. I assume it checked but did not update - the update sequence lasted only about 30 seconds.

Last edited by sonyva; 07-06-2019 at 04:28 PM.
sonyva is offline  
post #9030 of 9373 Old 07-06-2019, 05:10 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by mooch49 View Post
Thanks for the suggestions. All power saving settings are off. It seems to happen more at night and when I'm playing a game on my computer. HDR is not very optimized on Windows anyway. That could be the reason. I haven't touched my PS4 Pro in awhile. I'll check to see if it happens there. I don't have a 4K player, but hdr seems okay when streaming. Maybe some 900f sets are just brighter than others. I still love the TV. It was just odd how brightness would dim ever so slightly when HDR engages. Hopefully it's more a Windows problem then the TV.
Just to make sure we’re talking about the same thing the “Light Sensor” I mentioned is not under or related to Power Saving. The Light Sensor switch is under Picture Adjustments, when On the picture will automatically adjust based on ambient light in the room, when Off it won’t take that into account. Go to Picture Adjustments for the input you’re using and see if it’s On, if so turn it off and see if that affects your HDR issue (I bet that’s it).
Primestar31 likes this.

HT: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> XPA-7G3> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS & SVS SB-4000 (7.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva XMC-1G2v3> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1

Last edited by bmcleod; 07-06-2019 at 07:16 PM.
bmcleod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off