2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 314 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4293Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9391 of 9518 Old 08-23-2019, 06:58 PM
Senior Member
 
cheezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My X900F is connected to an HD Xfinity cable box and the resolution is set to 1080p. Since the tv is 4k UHD isn't it supposed to upscale it to 2160p? I press display on the tv remote but it shows 1080p. Picture setting is set to display enhanced hdmi. How do I change it to output 2160p? Thanks for the help.

After having witnessed the mugging of a snail by a fellow snail, the investigating officer asked the DMP-BD30 what happened to which the BD player replied "I don't remember...it happened so fast."
cheezz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9392 of 9518 Old 08-23-2019, 07:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JackB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 3,763
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1414 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezz View Post
My X900F is connected to an HD Xfinity cable box and the resolution is set to 1080p. Since the tv is 4k UHD isn't it supposed to upscale it to 2160p? I press display on the tv remote but it shows 1080p. Picture setting is set to display enhanced hdmi. How do I change it to output 2160p? Thanks for the help.
That display is about the input reolution, not the output.

Jack
JackB is offline  
post #9393 of 9518 Old 08-23-2019, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
cheezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackB View Post
That display is about the input reolution, not the output.

Is there a way to tell if the tv is indeed displaying 2160p?

After having witnessed the mugging of a snail by a fellow snail, the investigating officer asked the DMP-BD30 what happened to which the BD player replied "I don't remember...it happened so fast."
cheezz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9394 of 9518 Old 08-23-2019, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezz View Post
Is there a way to tell if the tv is indeed displaying 2160p?
That’s the only thing it can display, what you want to know is what it’s being fed (in this case 1080p).

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9395 of 9518 Old 08-23-2019, 09:38 PM
Senior Member
 
cheezz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
That’s the only thing it can display, what you want to know is what it’s being fed (in this case 1080p).

Thanks bmcleod. I understand now.
bmcleod likes this.

After having witnessed the mugging of a snail by a fellow snail, the investigating officer asked the DMP-BD30 what happened to which the BD player replied "I don't remember...it happened so fast."
cheezz is offline  
post #9396 of 9518 Old 08-24-2019, 07:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,352
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6569 Post(s)
Liked: 6568
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezz View Post
Is there a way to tell if the tv is indeed displaying 2160p?
No matter what display devise you have, it has to display at it's native resolution every time.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #9397 of 9518 Old 08-24-2019, 10:21 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezz View Post
My X900F is connected to an HD Xfinity cable box and the resolution is set to 1080p. Since the tv is 4k UHD isn't it supposed to upscale it to 2160p? I press display on the tv remote but it shows 1080p. Picture setting is set to display enhanced hdmi. How do I change it to output 2160p? Thanks for the help.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezz View Post
Is there a way to tell if the tv is indeed displaying 2160p?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
That’s the only thing it can display, what you want to know is what it’s being fed (in this case 1080p).
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheezz View Post
Thanks bmcleod. I understand now.
To take this a little further, generally you want the 900F to upscale the signal from whatever its native resolution is, because one of the prime features of the Sony is its upscaling engine. In this case the Xfinity box’s native resolution is 720p, so if you’re seeing 1080p when you hit info, then the box is upscaling from 720p to 1080p, then the Sony is upscaling from 1080p to 2160p. You might consider checking the Xfinity box settings and set them to 720p, that would let the 900F do all of the upscaling.
[email protected] likes this.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9398 of 9518 Old 08-25-2019, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
FenixDragones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Has anyone noticed that there are judders when watching movies with subtitles in Kodi in Oreo Firmware recently? The native video app also stops displaying subtitles when watching movies through DLNA. I remember when I first updated the Oreo firmware, the native video app could display subtitles but crashed after 30-40 minutes of watching movies through DLNA.

Also, is there any harm to perform factory reset too many times?
FenixDragones is offline  
post #9399 of 9518 Old 08-26-2019, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Connectivity Question

Hi All,
I'm still learning the ropes on all of this AV technology and have a question about connectivity:

My devices are: Sony 900F, Bose Lifestyle 650, Apple 4kTV, and Cox Cable Box (1080p).

What is the best way to hook everything up for maximum audio/video quality?

1) Everything into the Bose and then one HDMI into the TV?

2) Apple TV and Cable Box into the TV and then HDMI via ARC from the TV to Bose?

Thank you for the help!
Pjh3431 is offline  
post #9400 of 9518 Old 08-26-2019, 04:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1981 Post(s)
Liked: 1846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pjh3431 View Post
Hi All,
I'm still learning the ropes on all of this AV technology and have a question about connectivity:

My devices are: Sony 900F, Bose Lifestyle 650, Apple 4kTV, and Cox Cable Box (1080p).

What is the best way to hook everything up for maximum audio/video quality?

1) Everything into the Bose and then one HDMI into the TV?

2) Apple TV and Cable Box into the TV and then HDMI via ARC from the TV to Bose?

Thank you for the help!
It doesn't look like the Bose passes HDR. For consistency, I'd go with #2 (everything into the TV, then one HDMI ARC to the Bose). You won't be able to take advantage of any ATMOS capabilities of the Apple TV 4K though.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9401 of 9518 Old 08-26-2019, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
It doesn't look like the Bose passes HDR. For consistency, I'd go with #2 (everything into the TV, then one HDMI ARC to the Bose). You won't be able to take advantage of any ATMOS capabilities of the Apple TV 4K though.
Thanks for the response! Much appreciated.

So to clearly understand: My options are to sacrifice either HDR or Atmos (based on the limitations of my components)?

Bose doesn't support HDR...and Atmos won't be passed from Apple TV/Sony 900F to Bose?

I don't think the Bose even supports Atmos so in reality I'm probably not giving up anything anyway!

Thanks again!
Pjh3431 is offline  
post #9402 of 9518 Old 08-26-2019, 04:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
It doesn't look like the Bose passes HDR. For consistency, I'd go with #2 (everything into the TV, then one HDMI ARC to the Bose). You won't be able to take advantage of any ATMOS capabilities of the Apple TV 4K though.
Though, now I just saw this on the Bose website:

"11-16-2017 04:13 AM
Re: Lifestyle 650 and HDR Compatibility
Hello everyone,

I have checked for you and I can confirm that the Lifestyle 650 is compatible with HDMI 2.0a, and therefore supports 4K HDR & HDR10. This is a missing information from the website, and will be amended as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
Irina (Moderator)"
Pjh3431 is offline  
post #9403 of 9518 Old 08-26-2019, 04:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1981 Post(s)
Liked: 1846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pjh3431 View Post
Though, now I just saw this on the Bose website:

"11-16-2017 04:13 AM
Re: Lifestyle 650 and HDR Compatibility
Hello everyone,

I have checked for you and I can confirm that the Lifestyle 650 is compatible with HDMI 2.0a, and therefore supports 4K HDR & HDR10. This is a missing information from the website, and will be amended as soon as possible.

Kind regards,
Irina (Moderator)"
She didn't mention Dolby Vision, therefore you'll want to stick with the plan of connecting everything to the TV. And you're right, it doesn't look like the Bose is an ATMOS capable system anyway.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9404 of 9518 Old 08-26-2019, 05:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
She didn't mention Dolby Vision, therefore you'll want to stick with the plan of connecting everything to the TV. And you're right, it doesn't look like the Bose is an ATMOS capable system anyway.
Dolby Vision...well-played, sir.

Thanks again!
Pjh3431 is offline  
post #9405 of 9518 Old 08-27-2019, 04:52 AM
Member
 
listerone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Suburban Boston
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Newbie...Advice Needed

Just bought a 49X900F and a Sony 4K Bluray player.First,when I turn on the TV it tells me that an update is available. I think I recall having seen at least one post here giving a warning about one,or more,updates. Did I understand these posts correctly? Is there reason to be wary of updates?

Also,slightly off topic...the Bluray player's giving a warning that a special cable is required to enjoy the full benefit of 4K. I bought a cable that says "4K" and "1440P" on the package. Did I buy the correct cable?

Many thanks to all who reply!
listerone is offline  
post #9406 of 9518 Old 08-27-2019, 08:56 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 155 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by listerone View Post
Just bought a 49X900F and a Sony 4K Bluray player.First,when I turn on the TV it tells me that an update is available. I think I recall having seen at least one post here giving a warning about one,or more,updates. Did I understand these posts correctly? Is there reason to be wary of updates?

Also,slightly off topic...the Bluray player's giving a warning that a special cable is required to enjoy the full benefit of 4K. I bought a cable that says "4K" and "1440P" on the package. Did I buy the correct cable?

Many thanks to all who reply!
The only reason I might not update is due to a remote command they’ve removed, usually accessed from Harmony remotes. That said I’ve resigned myself to losing the command and don’t think it’s worth missing features and fixes from updated firmware (other opinions may vary).

As far as cables go get “Premium Certified”, look for this certificate on the box (I use Monoprice Ultra Thin). The 900F’s resolution is 2160p.

Edit: Picture link isn’t working, here’s a link to a good cable that’s inexpensive (you can see the certificate there too).
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24187
listerone likes this.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1

Last edited by bmcleod; 08-27-2019 at 09:06 AM.
bmcleod is offline  
post #9407 of 9518 Old 08-27-2019, 01:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1981 Post(s)
Liked: 1846
Quote:
Originally Posted by listerone View Post
Just bought a 49X900F and a Sony 4K Bluray player.First,when I turn on the TV it tells me that an update is available. I think I recall having seen at least one post here giving a warning about one,or more,updates. Did I understand these posts correctly? Is there reason to be wary of updates?

Also,slightly off topic...the Bluray player's giving a warning that a special cable is required to enjoy the full benefit of 4K. I bought a cable that says "4K" and "1440P" on the package. Did I buy the correct cable?

Many thanks to all who reply!

Just to add, you could try the cable you own and see if it is properly passing HDR for the time being. If you're having any problems, then definitely get the certified cable that bmcleod is recommending.
listerone and bmcleod like this.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9408 of 9518 Old 08-27-2019, 06:54 PM
Member
 
listerone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Suburban Boston
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
As far as cables go get “Premium Certified”, look for this certificate on the box (I use Monoprice Ultra Thin). The 900F’s resolution is 2160p.
Well,I downloaded the update(s) and then fired up my newly acquired stuff....and dropped in my new Saving Private Ryan 4K Edition."Display" in the upper right reads 3840x2160 4K and the picture quality is substantially,almost dramatically,better than my Bluray edition. So now I'm assuming that all is well...settings,cable,etc.

I can't wait for my next acquisition...Goodfellas!

Many thanks to you and Planet AVS!
bmcleod likes this.
listerone is offline  
post #9409 of 9518 Old 08-28-2019, 06:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
For the past few days when I wake up the wireless on my tv won’t work. It’ll say something like WiFi isn’t available. I can’t even reconnect normally. I have to reset the tv by holding in the power button in the remote and it will let me reconnect again. And then it’ll be good for the rest of the day! But what’s going on?
themaxfischer is offline  
post #9410 of 9518 Old 08-28-2019, 07:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1981 Post(s)
Liked: 1846
Quote:
Originally Posted by themaxfischer View Post
For the past few days when I wake up the wireless on my tv won’t work. It’ll say something like WiFi isn’t available. I can’t even reconnect normally. I have to reset the tv by holding in the power button in the remote and it will let me reconnect again. And then it’ll be good for the rest of the day! But what’s going on?
Try a power reset of both the TV and your modem, at the same time.
NTC likes this.
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #9411 of 9518 Old 08-28-2019, 12:47 PM
Member
 
lyubohar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Try using a 2.4Ghz network and not the 5Ghz one. This TV has known problems with 5Ghz networks.

__________________________________________________
Yamaha RX-V685 (in 5.1)
DALI Zensor 7, DALI Sub E-12, DALI Zensor 1, DALI Zensor Vokal
Sony KD-65XF9005
PS4 Pro
lyubohar is online now  
post #9412 of 9518 Old 08-28-2019, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by lyubohar View Post
Try using a 2.4Ghz network and not the 5Ghz one. This TV has known problems with 5Ghz networks.
I think that’s the issue. It actually didn’t do it this morning and it’s when I was using the 2.4 ghz network
themaxfischer is offline  
post #9413 of 9518 Old 08-28-2019, 03:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 348 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by themaxfischer View Post
For the past few days when I wake up the wireless on my tv won’t work. It’ll say something like WiFi isn’t available. I can’t even reconnect normally. I have to reset the tv by holding in the power button in the remote and it will let me reconnect again. And then it’ll be good for the rest of the day! But what’s going on?
I have the same issue with both 2.4 and 5 networks, the fastest way I've found to reconnect to whichever one I am not currently using. Much quicker than a power cycle.
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #9414 of 9518 Old 08-28-2019, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pjh3431 View Post
Dolby Vision...well-played, sir.

Thanks again!
on X900F DV is not good anyway or any HDR mode, the TV dim down everything, HD picture from TV channels are lot better, it is opposite of HDR definition on SONY as compared to my SMASUNG and LG OLED.
johnfusco likes this.

SONY XBR75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEM: SM 55
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Panamax MR4300
Harmony Elite Remote:Philips Hue Ambient Lights
iserum is offline  
post #9415 of 9518 Old 08-29-2019, 06:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
on X900F DV is not good anyway or any HDR mode, the TV dim down everything, HD picture from TV channels are lot better, it is opposite of HDR definition on SONY as compared to my SMASUNG and LG OLED.
What Samsung TV do you have? Outside of OLED, I haven’t seem many TVs that can sustain proper brightness when switching to HDR.
Pjh3431 is offline  
post #9416 of 9518 Old 08-29-2019, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Samsung 65JS9000, even though it is edgelit it is much brighter with hdr content. X900F is great with SDR but as soon as HDR or DV is activated it dims down a lot. There are no HDR day mode as on X950G series and tv from other manufacturers. X900F is not good in bright rooms at all in any HDR format.

SONY XBR75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEM: SM 55
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Panamax MR4300
Harmony Elite Remote:Philips Hue Ambient Lights
iserum is offline  
post #9417 of 9518 Old 08-29-2019, 07:50 AM
Member
 
-griffy-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Who do we bug about getting filmmaker mode on Sony TV's?
-griffy- is offline  
post #9418 of 9518 Old 08-29-2019, 08:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post
Samsung 65JS9000, even though it is edgelit it is much brighter with hdr content. X900F is great with SDR but as soon as HDR or DV is activated it dims down a lot. There are no HDR day mode as on X950G series and tv from other manufacturers. X900F is not good in bright rooms at all in any HDR format.
Interesting....Rtings.com gave the Sony 900f a better HDR score. I have the Samsung NU8000 which definitely struggles with HDR (I never use it).

The 950G X-Wide Angle view is an unnecessary compromise in contrast for me.

To each his own, but a mode to critically view HDR in a bright room seems counterintuitive to me? Fortunately, I have some light control in the room so I’m hoping it’s not an issue.
[email protected] likes this.
Pjh3431 is offline  
post #9419 of 9518 Old 08-29-2019, 09:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: MI
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 102
900f is FALD set not sure about your Samsung I am very positive it is not FALD. I am questioning the DV and HDR implementation on this particular tv, it is not what everyone one else is doing the tv is fully capable of brightness but it won’t do it in HDR mode. People who want to use it in bright room will be disappointed. You can try the PQ is better when you turn off HDR.

SONY XBR75X900F: Oppo UDP-203: DirecTv 4K: ATV4K
Marantz SR6013: Aircom T8: Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Definitive Tech. BP9060, CS 9060 HD: Mythos GEM: SM 55
Subwoofer Paradigm X12: Panamax MR4300
Harmony Elite Remote:Philips Hue Ambient Lights
iserum is offline  
post #9420 of 9518 Old 08-29-2019, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,335
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1790 Post(s)
Liked: 1267
***Here's a question for you ... 4K/HDR is just o.k. on my Sony 900F & Sony 900E TV's. Dolby Vision on my 900F is an absolute joke. A total fraud IMHO.

But - some 4K/HDR "You Tube" clips are absolutely out of this world. Very bright, very colorful, very sharp with exceptional, "nats-ass" detail. Is bandwidth the main factor on why there are no movies or any content, for that matter, that I've seen that compares to a properly 4K captured and mastered video on "You Tube?"
[email protected] likes this.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off