2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 317 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4517Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9481 of 10366 Old 09-04-2019, 09:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 309
Sony has no plans to add eARC to the X900F (perk of getting the X950G) I have been very happy with my X900F, once i got it calibrated it has been nothing short of awesome.

Packer @ Bears tomorrow night, I can't wait!!



There is "NO" LCD TV on the market at this time that is Perfect, from the Sony Master Series and Samsungs Q-R series down to the TCL, Hisense, Visio, and so forth, whether it's $5000, or $500 they all have advantages and disadvantages to them. Hopefully @ CES 2020 we'll see what mini LED and Dual-Cell tech can achive on a larger scale, and what products will release in 2020 supporting them.

I plan on my X900F holding me over till 2022, but we'll see
naustin likes this.

Sony 75X900F / MediaLight Quad 6500K
Sony X800
Denon X4400H / Outlaw 5000 (5.2.4 Atmos) AIRCOM T9
Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, Klipsch RS-52 II, Klipsch RP-500SA
SVS PB-3000 x2
CaptinCrunch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9482 of 10366 Old 09-04-2019, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
todd1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Does the Sony 900F have a 12v trigger port?

I see I has RS-232C ports but can any of these be used for 12v trigger a device on/off?
todd1010 is offline  
post #9483 of 10366 Old 09-04-2019, 01:41 PM
Member
 
Educated Idiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhyatt5871 View Post
I agree. I have the 65" model and it's a great TV overall, but the blooming can be a bit annoying at times in HDR (SDR is typically not noticeable to me). As PlanetAVS mentioned, bias lighting does help a bit. Overall, I think this TV performs better a bit better in a room with some light. The reflection handling is very good, so I don't mind leaving the lights on most of the time.
I've happily owned the 75" model for several months now and like other have stated, the blooming is one of the weaker areas for this otherwise very strong set. I do not use bias lighting and I like a dark room so it only magnifies the issue I suppose but i have learned to I've with it despite the fact that I have learned to look for it and cannot now "unsee it." I suspect every other person in my family has no knowledge nor issue with it, haha. I find it to be the worst with dark scenes and text that may show (intros, subtitles) but especially when there are bright lights next to the black bars for wide aspect ratio material, it can really bleach out those adjacent black areas. Again, better not looking for it but if you are the type that does, you will definitely notice it. I would say too, that in scenes where it has an overall bright light flooding into a dark scene it really looks like it struggles to keep the dark areas from being affected. Hard for me to describe but almost as if if the lighting was supposed to fall off at a certain point it continues into the adjacent darker areas and sort of lightens the entire picture as a result? Or sometimes it feels as if there is a high contrast scene unfolding, it struggles some to keep the darker areas as dark as they should be and somewhat bleaching the entire scene out some?

If it sounds Like i am being overly negative about this TV, that is certainly not my point. It is just that as many point out, all tvs have flaws and this is one of the areas where the Sony suffers some but it still better or as good as than the majority of other LEDs I would assume. With all these added niceties we certainly can expect some minor issues though such as; kind of wonky but it works mostly ARC implementation, random reboots every so often. Heck the other day I could not get the set to turn on, thought "uh oh" so like most other electronics, when it doubt reboot.unplug. I unplugged it, plugged it back in and all is copacetic. It is hard not to get heart palpitations fro time to time when you spend this much on something but at the end of the day, being calm and doing a little research can usually go a long way.
JBran24 and iMac1310 like this.

Your intolerance will not be tolerated!

Never half-ass two things. Whole-ass one thing.

Last edited by Educated Idiot; 09-04-2019 at 01:44 PM.
Educated Idiot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9484 of 10366 Old 09-04-2019, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,914
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6847 Post(s)
Liked: 6843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adamg (Ret-Navy) View Post
And Taxes (Provincial Sales Tax (PST) of 6% to 15% based on Province, Goods and Services Tax of at least 5% (GST) and Harmonized Sales Tax (HST)), fees on imports and VAT dues. Play a major role in costs of goods. In general an average of 15% added to price of product.
True, very true. With these taxes on your good like the 900F, you do get free health care though right? Any good?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #9485 of 10366 Old 09-04-2019, 04:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 667
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
True, very true. With these taxes on your good like the 900F, you do get free health care though right? Any good?
Don't forget those prices also reflect the generally more stringent consumer protections enjoyed by our friends in Canada.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #9486 of 10366 Old 09-04-2019, 11:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jb007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
My 85” powers down after a period of time, despite it having a signal. The ECO setting is toggled off. Does anyone else have issues with their sets powering off automatically?
jb007 is offline  
post #9487 of 10366 Old 09-05-2019, 04:03 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 438
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd1010 View Post
Does the Sony 900F have a 12v trigger port?

I see I has RS-232C ports but can any of these be used for 12v trigger a device on/off?
It doesn’t have a 12V Trigger port, and I doubt RS-232 can be used for a 12V trigger, though an on/off should certainly be part of the protocol.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9488 of 10366 Old 09-05-2019, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mjpearce023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 2,567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb007 View Post
My 85” powers down after a period of time, despite it having a signal. The ECO setting is toggled off. Does anyone else have issues with their sets powering off automatically?
I haven't had any issues. I was working from home yesterday and it was on for at least 10 hours
mjpearce023 is offline  
post #9489 of 10366 Old 09-05-2019, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 875 Post(s)
Liked: 2057
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb007 View Post
My 85” powers down after a period of time, despite it having a signal. The ECO setting is toggled off. Does anyone else have issues with their sets powering off automatically?
See if this helps.

https://www.sony.com/electronics/sup...icles/00032613

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9490 of 10366 Old 09-06-2019, 01:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Consumer protection and free health care? Stop listening to the rhetoric.
Not even close.
Now let's get back to tv's?
Nicktx27 likes this.

Last edited by Rich 63; 09-09-2019 at 06:50 AM.
Rich 63 is offline  
post #9491 of 10366 Old 09-06-2019, 11:52 PM
Member
 
tjsuominen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptinCrunch View Post
Sony has no plans to add eARC to the X900F (perk of getting the X950G) I have been very happy with my X900F, once i got it calibrated it has been nothing short of awesome.
Where does this "no eARC to X900F" pops-up?

//T
tjsuominen is offline  
post #9492 of 10366 Old 09-07-2019, 09:39 AM
Member
 
rob50312's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Greater Toronto Canada,Mississauga
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there a way to get the OTA program guide back for channels that changed frequencies during the recent repack? Any channel that moved a month ago now has no info displayed while the channels that stayed put have full guide info.Full auto program rescan does nothing.This full guide comes from the Tvs internet connection thru some service.
rob50312 is offline  
post #9493 of 10366 Old 09-08-2019, 09:29 PM
Member
 
smahoney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up a 75" 900F and set it up this past weekend. Im using the built-in 'smart tv' apps and so far the tv has been great for watching Netflix. My daughter also watched a show on the PBS kids app and a movie on the freeform app with no issues. I installed ESPN and Foxsports and immediately had trouble with stuttering. To the point where I was unable to watch. I'm still on the out-of-the box settings. Is there something in the settings to help or should I plan to use a firestick for watching sports apps? When I first set the tv up I did install the latest update. I don't mind the ui but it has been slow at times. I cut my cable years ago and plan to keep it that way. Hoping there's a solution to these apps.
smahoney1 is offline  
post #9494 of 10366 Old 09-09-2019, 05:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
lastplace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Va. Beach, VA
Posts: 587
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 44
^The ESPN app stutters on my Roku^

I love this HD stuff!
lastplace is offline  
post #9495 of 10366 Old 09-09-2019, 01:41 PM
Member
 
BassLake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312 View Post
Is there a way to get the OTA program guide back for channels that changed frequencies during the recent repack? Any channel that moved a month ago now has no info displayed while the channels that stayed put have full guide info.Full auto program rescan does nothing.This full guide comes from the Tvs internet connection thru some service.
Bad news it seems.
https://ap.community.sony.com/s/ques...language=en_US
BassLake is offline  
post #9496 of 10366 Old 09-09-2019, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjm817's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,462
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by BassLake View Post
Bummer. I have same issue with Z9D. Half of my channels have no information.
sjm817 is offline  
post #9497 of 10366 Old 09-09-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 20
So I screwed something up and hope you guys can help. I did a full reset of the TV because I couldn't figure out a sound issue I was having (it ended up being unrelated to the TV-so annoyed I didn't realize it sooner).

I've got it all back up how I had it except for one big difference

It used to be when I turned on the tv, the SONY logo would pop up for a second and the TV would come on quickly.

Now, though, I see the SONY Logo, then the android logo, then a bunch of android animation crap and then eventually the TV comes on. It takes forever.

It seemed to me like a power thing but under Settings, then Power, I have ECO set to "Off". The options are "Off, High, Low".

If that isn't the case...does anyone know why it's acting this way?
GrantMeThePower is offline  
post #9498 of 10366 Old 09-10-2019, 09:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 15
What your describing sounds like it's rebooting each time.
This article might help.

https://www.sony.ca/en/electronics/support/articles/00159487
Rich
Rich 63 is offline  
post #9499 of 10366 Old 09-10-2019, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 293 Post(s)
Liked: 88
I really like newly designed remote for the 950G. Does anyone know if it would work with the 900F?
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9500 of 10366 Old 09-10-2019, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,496
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 535 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
I really like newly designed remote for the 950G. Does anyone know if it would work with the 900F?
It should, unless there's some "trick function" that's new to the G.

I still have the remote from my original 25XBR and the keys still work my Z9D and 900F.

ETA: You'll never get me to admit to this but back in the 70's I worked on Good Morning America. They had recently changed the monitors on the set (the ones where the host would speak to a remote guest) to the Sony Profeel. I worked in the control room, but had a chance during "air" to go onto the studio floor, with the remote of my then Sony television. While David Hartman (host) was talking to a guest in Washington, I turned the television Hartman was looking at, off. Sick humor on my part, and certainly something I could have been fired for. Oh, I'm on my pension now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	profeel.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	61.4 KB
ID:	2613862   Click image for larger version

Name:	before profeel.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	145.7 KB
ID:	2613864   Click image for larger version

Name:	the victim.png
Views:	57
Size:	410.3 KB
ID:	2613866  

Last edited by LeeSoFl; 09-10-2019 at 06:22 PM.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #9501 of 10366 Old 09-11-2019, 12:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsuominen View Post
Where does this "no eARC to X900F" pops-up?

//T
Thought the 900F already had eARC? Or I'm probably referring to my HT-Z9F
Lewis Rivera is offline  
post #9502 of 10366 Old 09-11-2019, 01:49 AM
Member
 
tjsuominen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewis Rivera View Post
Thought the 900F already had eARC? Or I'm probably referring to my HT-Z9F
It's technically possible (via firmware update) for the X900F, but so far SONY only supports eARC for their "Master" series... Unfortunately.

I haven't even yet got the 8.0 update via OTA...
tjsuominen is offline  
post #9503 of 10366 Old 09-11-2019, 09:59 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob50312 View Post
Is there a way to get the OTA program guide back for channels that changed frequencies during the recent repack? Any channel that moved a month ago now has no info displayed while the channels that stayed put have full guide info.Full auto program rescan does nothing.This full guide comes from the Tvs internet connection thru some service.
That happened to me also. Your program info should come back, but after rescan, it took about 2 months or more before my program info came back for the channels that changed frequency.
Rtex67 is offline  
post #9504 of 10366 Old 09-12-2019, 10:10 AM
Member
 
smahoney1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it make sense that during the weekday the built-in ESPN app is not stuttering but at night it's awful? What is the preferred option for watching these apps; Firestick 4k, built-in apps, other? Netflix and some of the built-in kids apps do not have this problem. Thanks again for the help. Trying to make the most of the new tv.

Last edited by smahoney1; 09-12-2019 at 10:15 AM.
smahoney1 is offline  
post #9505 of 10366 Old 09-12-2019, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,133
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1823 Post(s)
Liked: 1167
Quote:
Originally Posted by smahoney1 View Post
Does it make sense that during the weekday the built-in ESPN app is not stuttering but at night it's awful? What is the preferred option for watching these apps; Firestick 4k, built-in apps, other? Netflix and some of the built-in kids apps do not have this problem. Thanks again for the help. Trying to make the most of the new tv.
Watching "live" programming is problematic via built in Apps or Streamers, especially sports where large audiences tune in. Movie streams or Sports "replays" are not usually subject to stuttering IMHO.
naustin is offline  
post #9506 of 10366 Old 09-12-2019, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 875 Post(s)
Liked: 2057
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjsuominen View Post
It's technically possible (via firmware update) for the X900F, but so far SONY only supports eARC for their "Master" series... Unfortunately.
I haven't even yet got the 8.0 update via OTA...
And X950G.

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #9507 of 10366 Old 09-12-2019, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: DFW
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Watching "live" programming is problematic via built in Apps or Streamers, especially sports where large audiences tune in. Movie streams or Sports "replays" are not usually subject to stuttering IMHO.
Very true. I tried out SlingTV about three years ago but had to drop it. Most of the time it was great and it was miles cheaper than my Dish Network service. However, football games were unwatchable. Constant buffering made for a miserable experience.
iMac1310 is offline  
post #9508 of 10366 Old 09-12-2019, 07:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMac1310 View Post
Very true. I tried out SlingTV about three years ago but had to drop it. Most of the time it was great and it was miles cheaper than my Dish Network service. However, football games were unwatchable. Constant buffering made for a miserable experience.


Live sports on YouTube TV has been great for me thus far.
bodean likes this.
leafybean is offline  
post #9509 of 10366 Old 09-14-2019, 01:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I installed the latest version (v6.6520) and haven't fixed auto picture mode yet in game mode? Whenever I play a game in hdr, when i turn it off it returns to previously set image mode...
prodigy1904 is offline  
post #9510 of 10366 Old 09-14-2019, 03:31 PM
Senior Member
 
flyinrazrback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ft. Smith AR
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 60
What is the best slim wall mount for the 85" 900F or 950?
flyinrazrback is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off