2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 326 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4446Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #9751 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: just north of Atlanta
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuatoTre View Post
I have a 65" x900f and would need to raise the TV higher from the TV table than what can be done with the original stands/legs. That is, I need to fit my centre speaker (height around 8") so that it does not block the view.

I checked this: https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Universa...ct_top?ie=UTF8
--> But their customer support gave information that the max height from the TV stable is only 4".

Does anybody here have a solution for this? Unfortunately, hanging it to the wall is not possible.

Thank you for any info!
I personally would not use the table stands, you are going to make the tv unstable and any movement may topple it over. Wall mounting is your only option, if you are renting once you leave, patch the holes and paint.
mylan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9752 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 05:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 87
I have a video format question...

I know it’s best to run your cable stb in native resolution to allow the 900F to do the upscaling. I have the Fios Tv One 4K stb and the video format options are 720p, 1080i, 1080p and 2160p. There is no native option. So my question is..if I want the 900F to do the upscaling and allow the X1 Extreme chip to do its thing which video format do I set it to?

I tried switching to all to see but can’t really tell which is best..I just want to know which format to set it to to allow the tv to do the upscaling. I really haven’t heard a straight answer. I guess I can call Verizon or Sony to find out for sure. Appreciate it anyone knows. Thanks!
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9753 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 07:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
I have a video format question...

I know it’s best to run your cable stb in native resolution to allow the 900F to do the upscaling. I have the Fios Tv One 4K stb and the video format options are 720p, 1080i, 1080p and 2160p. There is no native option. So my question is..if I want the 900F to do the upscaling and allow the X1 Extreme chip to do its thing which video format do I set it to?

I tried switching to all to see but can’t really tell which is best..I just want to know which format to set it to to allow the tv to do the upscaling. I really haven’t heard a straight answer. I guess I can call Verizon or Sony to find out for sure. Appreciate it anyone knows. Thanks!
DirecTV just got rid of their native option as well, plenty of problems to work on, but they decide to break something that works well. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

In my opinion, the best solution is to choose the highest resolution that your ‘cable’ box supports, and that is used by the most broadcasters. For DirecTV that’s 1080i. I believe that’s also true for FIOS (but that was a quick Google, so you should confirm). The only caveat would be if you’re a big sports fan and watch a lot of ESPN, they use 720p and fast motion will look better in that.

The next question is, do you actually have any 4K programming? If not you’re done (unless you also want to complain to UVerse that they should give you a native option so you don’t have to compromise). If you do have 4K (DTV has a couple channels I watch), after choosing 1080i or 720p, make sure you still get 2160p when watching them (with DTV even if I choose 1080i, I still get 2160p on 4K channels). Hit the Info or Display button on the Sony Remote to see what it’s receiving.

Hope that made sense and helped

P.S. As I mentioned previously, the native resolution of Comcast / Xfinity is 720p, so that’s the right choice for them, each provider is different.
Bklynblaze likes this.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #9754 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
DirecTV just got rid of their native option as well, plenty of problems to work on, but they decide to break something that works well. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

In my opinion, the best solution is to choose the highest resolution that your ‘cable’ box supports, and that is used by the most broadcasters. For DirecTV that’s 1080i. I believe that’s also true for FIOS (but that was a quick Google, so you should confirm). The only caveat would be if you’re a big sports fan and watch a lot of ESPN, they use 720p and fast motion will look better in that.

The next question is, do you actually have any 4K programming? If not you’re done (unless you also want to complain to UVerse that they should give you a native option so you don’t have to compromise). If you do have 4K (DTV has a couple channels I watch), after choosing 1080i or 720p, make sure you still get 2160p when watching them (with DTV even if I choose 1080i, I still get 2160p on 4K channels). Hit the Info or Display button on the Sony Remote to see what it’s receiving.

Hope that made sense and helped

P.S. As I mentioned previously, the native resolution of Comcast / Xfinity is 720p, so that’s the right choice for them, each provider is different.
Thank you for the response. No I do not have any 4K channels. Fios does have a dedicated 4K channel but it doesn’t broadcast at the moment.

So basically I’m putting it in either 720p or 1080i to have the tv do the upscaling correct? 2160p would only be for 4K broadcasted channels.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9755 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 08:11 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
Thank you for the response. No I do not have any 4K channels. Fios does have a dedicated 4K channel but it doesn’t broadcast at the moment.

So basically I’m putting it in either 720p or 1080i to have the tv do the upscaling correct? 2160p would only be for 4K broadcasted channels.
Exactly!

Edit: IF FIOS actually supports 1080i, and not just 720p as does Comcast.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1

Last edited by bmcleod; 10-21-2019 at 08:19 PM.
bmcleod is offline  
post #9756 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 08:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
Exactly!
Thanks again! I put it in 1080i and it actually looks a little sharper than 1080p. I bumped up sharpness to 50 and RC to 80 and MNF looks incredible. Too bad my Jets are awful right now...but hey their new uniforms look good. Lol
bmcleod likes this.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9757 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
KoRn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 238 Post(s)
Liked: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
Based on a rtings side by side comparison I’d roll with the 900F.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Good suggestion. Had no idea how close they are to each other. Really been enjoying our 85" 900F since last year. Fantastic set for price/performance.
KoRn is offline  
post #9758 of 10072 Old 10-21-2019, 11:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 302 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by KoRn View Post
Good suggestion. Had no idea how close they are to each other. Really been enjoying our 85" 900F since last year. Fantastic set for price/performance.


Yup I’ve had the 75” for about 18 months it’s a great set. Subtitles can be challenging with HDR but nothing a simple change of transparency and color doesn’t fix. I’ve watched tons of Directv, 4K HDR movies and played a lot of PS4 Pro and Switch on it.

I’m more surprised with my 55” TCL R615 in the bedroom. It too is fantastic and I’d have given the 75” a shot if it had been out at the time.

Hoping not to need to upgrade again for a long time. 8K is far far off. Not sure why they are even making 8K sets to be honest lol. Just because they feel the need to come up with selling points for newer sets I’d imagine.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
acphydro is online now  
post #9759 of 10072 Old 10-22-2019, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi,

I have an issue with my TV , my kids sometimes open youtube on their ipads and they press the TV icon (play youtube video on anther device) accidentally , and my TV start the youtube app while I'm watching something or even when it is off! I've uninstalled youtube from the TV but still when they press that icon my TV switches on! Is there any way to get this issue fixed? like to block any device from turning the TV on?


Thanks
OMXP is offline  
post #9760 of 10072 Old 10-22-2019, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,770
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6786 Post(s)
Liked: 6785
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
Based on a rtings side by side comparison I’d roll with the 900F.
I would myself, especially for the price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
Wouldn’t Super Bowl Sunday week be an even better time to buy?
There is never a good time to buy, I can not imagine these being around then with the 950G being out, but who knows what Sony is doing.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #9761 of 10072 Old 10-22-2019, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Paul Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: South Pasadena,CA
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Logan View Post
I recently discovered that the Panasonic remotes for the UB820 and UB9000 will intermittently
cause my 49X900F screen to flicker when the tv is off. I have a projector in the same room and do not want the 900F to go on when I am operating the Panasonic’s onto the 285es. I have tried all 6 remote codes on the Panasonic players and the issue still keeps popping up. The 900F seems to go into a dim light mode with the Sony logo off.
Anybody else having this issue and is there a solution???
This issue was fixed by turning off Viera control in the Panasonic menu.
Paul Logan is offline  
post #9762 of 10072 Old 10-23-2019, 03:55 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
Yea you might be right..but then you’d get a great price on the 950G which is a nice little upgrade with the X1 Ultimate chip and better brightness. Win win situation.
Point taken, but I’d say those of us who’ve actually been watching the 900F have the win, 18 months of the most enjoyment I’ve ever had from a television. It’s wise though to keep your budget in mind.
Bklynblaze likes this.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #9763 of 10072 Old 10-23-2019, 03:49 PM
Member
 
roach9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi everyone. Recently returned my two Vizio PX75s because I was not happy with some banding/blooming and overall quality. Ordered a 75" X900F and hoping for the best!
roach9 is offline  
post #9764 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by roach9 View Post
Hi everyone. Recently returned my two Vizio PX75s because I was not happy with some banding/blooming and overall quality. Ordered a 75" X900F and hoping for the best!

You will likely be happy with the Sony's screen uniformity, but if you were bothered by blooming on the Vizio, I don't know that the Sony is an upgrade. The Vizio P 2018 model that I had last year had an issue where you could see the transitions of the FALD during any type of camera movement. It was annoying. The X900F is better in that regard, because I don't notice the transitions, but I still see blooming, mainly if I'm viewing the TV at an angle. It's still better than the Vizio P that I had though.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is online now  
post #9765 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 07:42 AM
Member
 
Wheat_Thins's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Has anybody successfully flush mounted the 85 inch? If so would you be willing to share what mount you went with and if you're super awesome would you be willing to share a picture of how flush you were able to get it on the wall? Anybody have some good biased lighting solutions they would recommend for the 85 inch as well? If I am going to go through the PIA of flush mounting / tearing apart a wall to install recessed power / video chase boxes I want to try to get it all set up in one go.
Wheat_Thins is offline  
post #9766 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 09:18 AM
Member
 
roach9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhyatt5871 View Post
You will likely be happy with the Sony's screen uniformity, but if you were bothered by blooming on the Vizio, I don't know that the Sony is an upgrade. The Vizio P 2018 model that I had last year had an issue where you could see the transitions of the FALD during any type of camera movement. It was annoying. The X900F is better in that regard, because I don't notice the transitions, but I still see blooming, mainly if I'm viewing the TV at an angle. It's still better than the Vizio P that I had though.

I mean, I watch a lot of hockey, so if I can get away from the jailbars on Vizio, that'd be great.
roach9 is offline  
post #9767 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by roach9 View Post
I mean, I watch a lot of hockey, so if I can get away from the jailbars on Vizio, that'd be great.

Yeah, you'll likely be happy then.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is online now  
post #9768 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,375
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1830 Post(s)
Liked: 1283
Quote:
Originally Posted by roach9 View Post
Hi everyone. Recently returned my two Vizio PX75s because I was not happy with some banding/blooming and overall quality. Ordered a 75" X900F and hoping for the best!
***Hockey is a joy to watch on my Sony 75" 900F. Clear, pristine picture. Great motion handling. You can see the puck clearly. Obviously, the better the source, the better the picture. National broadcasts via "OTA" are outright stunning (much less compression.) I haven't experienced any blooming at all - - but I'm direct, head on to the screen. And, ZERO banding. Banding is the number one killer of picture quality, IMHO, and should be the number one "no buy" consideration for any new TV purchase.

P.S.- maybe it was my Comcast cable signal but last night's World Series game was fuzzy and no where near as clear as other broadcasts. It was cleaner via OTA but still not a very good production.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is online now  
post #9769 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 10:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 648
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 418 Post(s)
Liked: 345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
***Hockey is a joy to watch on my Sony 75" 900F. Clear, pristine picture. Great motion handling. You can see the puck clearly. Obviously, the better the source, the better the picture. National broadcasts via "OTA" are outright stunning (much less compression.) I haven't experienced any blooming at all - - but I'm direct, head on to the screen. And, ZERO banding. Banding is the number one killer of picture quality, IMHO, and should be the number one "no buy" consideration for any new TV purchase.

P.S.- maybe it was my Comcast cable signal but last night's World Series game was fuzzy and no where near as clear as other broadcasts. It was cleaner via OTA but still not a very good production.
IMO Hockey via the NHL.TV app is equivalent to watching OTA, $150 a year for all the out-of-market hockey your heart can desire. Looks great on my 900e.
Ricoflashback likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #9770 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 10:10 AM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post

P.S.- maybe it was my Comcast cable signal but last night's World Series game was fuzzy and no where near as clear as other broadcasts. It was cleaner via OTA but still not a very good production.
Nope not your Comcast..it looks grainy and fuzzy delivered through my Fios tv one also. Fox broadcasts for whatever reason are the worst. ESPN, CBS look phenomenal compared to Fox.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9771 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 11:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
***Maybe it’s all the money that FOX pays Sean Hannity but last night’s picture quality (or lack thereof) was an absolute disgrace and not worthy of a major event like the World Series. Awful and no excuse, IMHO. Maybe sun spots?
I know it looked absolutely terrible. I tried messing with settings and nothing helped. I wish ESPN or CBS bought the rights for the World Series. I hate when my sports teams are on FOX. It amazes me how much sharper and crisper ESPN and CBS is compared to FOX. It’s a disgrace in 2019.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9772 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 11:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: just north of Atlanta
Posts: 1,216
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bklynblaze View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post

P.S.- maybe it was my Comcast cable signal but last night's World Series game was fuzzy and no where near as clear as other broadcasts. It was cleaner via OTA but still not a very good production.
Nope not your Comcast..it looks grainy and fuzzy delivered through my Fios tv one also. Fox broadcasts for whatever reason are the worst. ESPN, CBS look phenomenal compared to Fox.
Fox still broadcasts in 720P from what I've read, CBS broadcasts at 1080i, not sure about ESPN.
mylan is offline  
post #9773 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 12:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Bklynblaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by mylan View Post
Fox still broadcasts in 720P from what I've read, CBS broadcasts at 1080i, not sure about ESPN.
ESPN also broadcasts in 720p therefore proving the fact that there is a lot more into creating a quality image other than resolution.
Bklynblaze is offline  
post #9774 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 04:40 PM
Member
 
bawaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuatoTre View Post
I have a 65" x900f and would need to raise the TV higher from the TV table than what can be done with the original stands/legs. That is, I need to fit my centre speaker (height around 8") so that it does not block the view.

I checked this: https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Universa...ct_top?ie=UTF8
--> But their customer support gave information that the max height from the TV stable is only 4".

Does anybody here have a solution for this? Unfortunately, hanging it to the wall is not possible.

Thank you for any info!

Maybe one of these or something similar would work?



Sony XBR-55X900F | Xfinity Cable Box | Nvidia Shield TV | Roku 3 | Oppo DV-980H | Sony PS3
bawaji is offline  
post #9775 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 04:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by RuatoTre View Post
I have a 65" x900f and would need to raise the TV higher from the TV table than what can be done with the original stands/legs. That is, I need to fit my centre speaker (height around 8") so that it does not block the view.

I checked this: https://www.amazon.com/VIVO-Universa...ct_top?ie=UTF8
--> But their customer support gave information that the max height from the TV stable is only 4".

Does anybody here have a solution for this? Unfortunately, hanging it to the wall is not possible.

Thank you for any info!
How about this stand?

https://www.amazon.com/Universal-Tab...956946&sr=8-10

Make sure you have safety straps on your TV.
acefr is offline  
post #9776 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,086
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 414 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Been a while since we have had a FW update....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #9777 of 10072 Old 10-24-2019, 09:15 PM
Senior Member
 
kinghappy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any suggestions for 9 and 11 ch AVR that work well with this TV?
kinghappy is offline  
post #9778 of 10072 Old 10-25-2019, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
CaptinCrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 946
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
***Maybe it’s all the money that FOX pays Sean Hannity but last night’s picture quality (or lack thereof) was an absolute disgrace and not worthy of a major event like the World Series. Awful and no excuse, IMHO. Maybe sun spots?
It's time for the FCC to mandate 1080p as the standard broadcast resolution for all major networks. Time to move out from the dark ages of 720p and 1080i from 15 yrs ago.
bjfoien likes this.

Sony 75X900F / MediaLight Quad 6500K
Sony X800
Denon X4400H / Outlaw 5000 (5.2.4 Atmos) AIRCOM T9
Klipsch RF-82 II, Klipsch RC-62 II, Klipsch RS-52 II, Klipsch RP-500SA
SVS PB-3000 x2
CaptinCrunch is offline  
post #9779 of 10072 Old 10-25-2019, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptinCrunch View Post
It's time for the FCC to mandate 1080p as the standard broadcast resolution for all major networks. Time to move out from the dark ages of 720p and 1080i from 15 yrs ago.

This would help so much. I'm not even asking for 4K. If we could just get 1080p, broadcasts would look so much better.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is online now  
post #9780 of 10072 Old 10-25-2019, 08:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 898
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 46
So does Dolby Vison work correctly or not on the 900F? Is it still way to dark and does it affect just apps, bluray, both or neither? Trying to decide between the 900 and 950 and since the 900 is cheaper and possibly has slightly better blacks and contrast I lean toward the 900 but if it has issues with DV?
Craigslue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off