2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 388 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4864Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11611 of 11664 Old 03-25-2020, 08:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Anyone else having the software update show as available after checking even after it was already done? At first I thought there was an emergency did or something, but now no matter how many times I do it, it's still available.. what build version should we be on?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11612 of 11664 Old 03-25-2020, 09:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
anyone else having the software update show as available after checking even after it was already done? At first i thought there was an emergency did or something, but now no matter how many times i do it, it's still available.. What build version should we be on?

Sent from my oneplus a6013 using tapatalk
6.6555
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #11613 of 11664 Old 03-25-2020, 09:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
6.6555
Crap, I'm stuck on 665201 even after a hard reset and trying again...

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11614 of 11664 Old 03-25-2020, 11:00 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Crap, I'm stuck on 665201 even after a hard reset and trying again...

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Yeah it was weird as instead of having a button to click such as Select to restart TV and install it wanted me to power it off to kick off the installation. Had to go in there twice as it disappeared on me too.
Lewis Rivera is offline  
post #11615 of 11664 Old 03-25-2020, 11:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lewis Rivera View Post
Yeah it was weird as instead of having a button to click such as Select to restart TV and install it wanted me to power it off to kick off the installation. Had to go in there twice as it disappeared on me too.
Yeah, I've seen it say it's already downloaded after trying the first time and to select power off and then I confirm I want to install, it takes like 10 minutes or whatever, but every time after it's still on 665201 and the new software is still offered. I've tried it about 6 times including two hard resets and skipping setup completely to do it before anything is changed at all but apparently fails every time. This is a very late for this model 11/19 made unit too, very strange! And this is after I did it last night and assumed it had taken fine it offered on is own again today...I really don't get it, a TV this mature should have updates that work right by now.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11616 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 04:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ricoflashback's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,510
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1914 Post(s)
Liked: 1344
***Regarding any Sony firmware updates - - I just wait to get prompted by my TV. No rush. No wine before its time.
astrohip likes this.

Home Theater Setup
SONY 75X900F & 49X900E, BenQ W1080ST, Denon X5200 & Emotiva XPA-3
AudioSource 100VS, OPPO 103 & Samsung K8500, 9.1.4 Setup - Speakers - Studio 60's,
V.2 (FL/FR), CC-690 (C), V.5, ADP 590 V.5 (SS), MilleniaOne 2.0 (BS) - Velodyne 810 Sub,
Cornered Audio (FH/RH), Definitive Technology (Front Wides)
Ricoflashback is offline  
post #11617 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 08:24 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
***Regarding any Sony firmware updates - - I just wait to get prompted by my TV. No rush. No wine before its time.
In the almost two years I’ve owned the 85x900F, no matter how long I’ve waited, my TV has never said a FW update was available and been able to perform an over the wire update. I’ve always had to download and do a USB update. I can only guess my relatively slow rural internet connection might have something to do with it. Now that I think about it, I’ve never done Oreo.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #11618 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,670
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7272 Post(s)
Liked: 7302
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
In the almost two years I’ve owned the 85x900F
LOL, and they are still being made and available today, who would have thought....lol
bmcleod and danbfree like this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #11619 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
LOL, and they are still being made and available today, who would have thought....lol
It does seem surprising in this day of continuing model replacements, but when you have a winner (and demand), why not keep it going. I can say that I’ve never been happier with a TV purchase, and your great service in getting it to me. (for the record I guess I’m closer to 20 months of ownership)
danbfree likes this.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #11620 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricoflashback View Post
***Regarding any Sony firmware updates - - I just wait to get prompted by my TV. No rush. No wine before its time.
Exactly, in my case it's offering the update but no matter how many times I try it, even after a factory reset and skipping setup it goes through the whole process but never "takes"... I'm wondering if that's going to be a problem going forward, as even though I have an external device I'm trying to get the integrated Android TV at least running as well as possible for TV timer and YouTube, for it's HDR support my external device doesn't have... Sorry if I'm spamming this, I'm just hoping someone has some thoughts or ideas on this one... It's a brand new TV that took the last update just fine, but stuck on build 665201 now..

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11621 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 11:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
It does seem surprising in this day of continuing model replacements, but when you have a winner (and demand), why not keep it going. I can say that I’ve never been happier with a TV purchase, and your great service in getting it to me. (for the record I guess I’m closer to 20 months of ownership)
I mean, they were still making this early '18 model as of at least November '19, when mine was made... The only other TV like this is the '18 TCL 6 series, Costco only got them about 6 months ago in a new 613 model number that is identical to the original 617, just with their uniformity better, lol.. But crazy how the X900F now can be had for 60% off the original price with still excellent upper mid performance for 2020! I guess both TCL and Sony decided to keep producing their ultra popular model to meet demand but then started falling off to the point where both can be found still so cheap at a great value.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11622 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 12:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
it goes through the whole process but never "takes"... I'm wondering if that's going to be a problem going forward.
I think you've seen the last of the updates for the Z9D and F series.
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #11623 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 01:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodgjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 184
If my TV was made in 10/2019 and came with 8.0 Oreo, and I've turned off auto updates, I don't have any problems with my remote, and it's unlikely we'll get 9.0 Pie, do I even need to bother with the whole update thing? Everything works well right now and I don't want to chance that, or bricking it during the COVID-19 isolation.
hodgjy is offline  
post #11624 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 3,354
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1969 Post(s)
Liked: 1304
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Exactly, in my case it's offering the update but no matter how many times I try it, even after a factory reset and skipping setup it goes through the whole process but never "takes"... I'm wondering if that's going to be a problem going forward, as even though I have an external device I'm trying to get the integrated Android TV at least running as well as possible for TV timer and YouTube, for it's HDR support my external device doesn't have... Sorry if I'm spamming this, I'm just hoping someone has some thoughts or ideas on this one... It's a brand new TV that took the last update just fine, but stuck on build 665201 now..

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
@bmcleod Do you per chance have something connected to your USB port? I seem to remember reading somewhere that this can cause problems. I could be thinking of another piece of equipment but just an idea.
naustin is online now  
post #11625 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by hodgjy View Post
If my TV was made in 10/2019 and came with 8.0 Oreo, and I've turned off auto updates, I don't have any problems with my remote, and it's unlikely we'll get 9.0 Pie, do I even need to bother with the whole update thing? Everything works well right now and I don't want to chance that, or bricking it during the COVID-19 isolation.
Did you update last week at least? The Oreo was really buggy when it first came out, and even I have seen where the system bogs and doesn't respond in only a week if owning, so I think it's a matter of when not if and I'm not gonna settle for broken software if I don't have to... Not sure the point of turning off upgrades, maybe you don't know how these are fail safe? If they don't "take" it just defaults back to the previous. Especially on 2 year old model they aren't gonna brick it, heh.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
hodgjy likes this.
danbfree is offline  
post #11626 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
I think you've seen the last of the updates for the Z9D and F series.
As in continue to have probs going forward because I can't get this update to install, the system is so buggy and laggy and even reboots sometimes as it is now..

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11627 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 01:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
hodgjy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Did you update last week at least? The Oreo was really buggy when it first came out, and even I have seen where the system bogs and doesn't respond in only a week if owning, so I think it's a matter of when not if and I'm not gonna settle for broken software if I don't have to... Not sure the point of turning off upgrades, maybe you don't know how these are fail safe? If they don't "take" it just defaults back to the previous. Especially on 2 year old model they aren't gonna brick it, heh.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
I haven't updated anything since the day I bought it.
hodgjy is offline  
post #11628 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
@bmcleod Do you per chance have something connected to your USB port? I seem to remember reading somewhere that this can cause problems. I could be thinking of another piece of equipment but just an idea.
No, nothing connected to USB when trying to do the across the wire update, though I am using a wired Ethernet connection and not WiFi. My regular connections are HDMI 3, TOSLink out, Coax/OTA in, and Ethernet. Of course I do plug in a USB flash drive to do the actual update when the wire fails. Maybe the next time an update comes out I’ll disconnect the Ethernet and try WiFi, not likely to help, but something to try, though USB is easy enough.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #11629 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
@bmcleod Do you per chance have something connected to your USB port? I seem to remember reading somewhere that this can cause problems. I could be thinking of another piece of equipment but just an idea.
Whoa, I power my OTA antenna off one of the 2.0 ports, so I just disconnected and am trying it again now... aaand same thing .. sigh.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11630 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
No, nothing connected to USB when trying to do the across the wire update, though I am using a wired Ethernet connection and not WiFi. My regular connections are HDMI 3, TOSLink out, Coax/OTA in, and Ethernet. Of course I do plug in a USB flash drive to do the actual update when the wire fails. Maybe the next time an update comes out I’ll disconnect the Ethernet and try WiFi, not likely to help, but something to try, though USB is easy enough.
What were your symptoms of it failing over the internet? Mine send to go through fine, reboots everything, no warning but then still shows an update is available and stuck on the previous version..

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11631 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
What were your symptoms of it failing over the internet? Mine send to go through fine, reboots everything, no warning but then still shows an update is available and stuck on the previous version..

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Failed is probably the wrong word, it never recognizes that an update is available and thinks it’s up to date. I’ve waited days, even weeks for it to offer the update, once I was away for the winter and one came out about half way through, it still said it was current. I should probably update to Oreo and see if that makes any difference (I don’t use any of the internal apps otherwise), but USB allows me to do it on my schedule.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #11632 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
In the almost two years I’ve owned the 85x900F, no matter how long I’ve waited, my TV has never said a FW update was available and been able to perform an over the wire update. I’ve always had to download and do a USB update. I can only guess my relatively slow rural internet connection might have something to do with it. Now that I think about it, I’ve never done Oreo.
Oreo is the name of the Android version, not the firmware version. Android was updated to Oreo several firmwares ago.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #11633 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 04:25 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Oreo is the name of the Android version, not the firmware version. Android was updated to Oreo several firmwares ago.
I understand that, while I’ve been keeping my firmware up to date, I’ve never bothered to update the OS, it could change the way the firmware is updated, or possibly do a better job at it.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #11634 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 04:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
I understand that, while I’ve been keeping my firmware up to date, I’ve never bothered to update the OS, it could change the way the firmware is updated, or at least do a better job at it.
They are the same thing on this TV.
Shrike645 is offline  
post #11635 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post
They are the same thing on this TV.
No they aren’t, the OS allows the various Smart TV apps to have a platform, as well as USB, network, and the GUI (much more). The firmware allows the underlying hardware to operate more efficiently, or possibly with new features, they are not the same.

Edit: The firmware is at version 6.6555, the OS is at version 8.x (aka Oreo).

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1

Last edited by bmcleod; 03-26-2020 at 04:36 PM.
bmcleod is offline  
post #11636 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 05:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
No they aren’t, the OS allows the various Smart TV apps to have a platform, as well as USB, network, and the GUI (much more). The firmware allows the underlying hardware to operate more efficiently, or possibly with new features, they are not the same.

Edit: The firmware is at version 6.6555, the OS is at version 8.x (aka Oreo).

I suspect that @Shrike645 meant that the OS update is delivered as a firmware revision. You don't do an OS update, you do a firmware update that will include an updated OS.
danbfree likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #11637 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 05:25 PM
Member
 
kwk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Got my set a few weeks ago (Nov. 19 build). Under version it says 8.0.0. Software says 6.6520. Shows up to date. How do you do an O.S. update? I understand the firmware rolls out in waves so not expecting it to show up right away. But the Android O.S. I'm not sure how to update it.

KEN Sony 55X900F Pioneer VSX-1326K
kwk1 is offline  
post #11638 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwk1 View Post
Got my set a few weeks ago (Nov. 19 build). Under version it says 8.0.0. Software says 6.6520. Shows up to date. How do you do an O.S. update? I understand the firmware rolls out in waves so not expecting it to show up right away. But the Android O.S. I'm not sure how to update it.

As I stated above, AndroidTV will update through a firmware update the same way all other updates are done. The only way you will know ahead of time of an OS update is by checking online before you accept the update.
kwk1 likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is offline  
post #11639 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 05:53 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
I suspect that @Shrike645 meant that the OS update is delivered as a firmware revision. You don't do an OS update, you do a firmware update that will include an updated OS.
Ah, got it, thanks for the clarification. That probably means my OS has been updated, as I mentioned I don’t use the GUI much.

Edit: Just checked and yes, I’m on Oreo.

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1

Last edited by bmcleod; 03-26-2020 at 06:06 PM.
bmcleod is offline  
post #11640 of 11664 Old 03-26-2020, 07:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,680
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2346 Post(s)
Liked: 2251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
I suspect that @Shrike645 meant that the OS update is delivered as a firmware revision. You don't do an OS update, you do a firmware update that will include an updated OS.
Correct. An earlier firmware version had the Android Oreo update included.
PlanetAVS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off