2018 Sony XBR 900F owners thread (No Price Talk) - Page 389 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4868Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11641 of 11684 Old 03-26-2020, 07:50 PM
Member
 
kwk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheddarhead View Post
As I stated above, AndroidTV will update through a firmware update the same way all other updates are done. The only way you will know ahead of time of an OS update is by checking online before you accept the update.
Okay, understand now, thanks Cheddar. I guess I use Netflix, Prime video and YouTube apps which all work fine to me. I selected auto-download updates so I'll just wait till it gets downloaded and gives the notification, at which time I'll install it. Of course, if it doesn't show up for a month or 2, I'll probably try doing it with a USB stick. But, so far the tv works fine to me.

KEN Sony 55X900F Pioneer VSX-1326K
kwk1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11642 of 11684 Old 03-27-2020, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Well, the 66555 update just isn't working, through auto-download it never "takes", I've already bored you guys to death with that one... But now, also, trying to download it from Sony it never shows up the right size and fails with a CRC extracting the zip no matter how many times I try downloading it... Anyone else having this problem?
danbfree is offline  
post #11643 of 11684 Old 03-27-2020, 10:56 AM
Advanced Member
 
Shrike645's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cambridge, Ont
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Well, the 66555 update just isn't working, through auto-download it never "takes", I've already bored you guys to death with that one... But now, also, trying to download it from Sony it never shows up the right size and fails with a CRC extracting the zip no matter how many times I try downloading it... Anyone else having this problem?
I had no trouble downloading and extracting the file. I updated my 900F and Z9D with the same file.
Shrike645 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11644 of 11684 Old 03-27-2020, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Coercion Shaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 542
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 331 Post(s)
Liked: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Well, the 66555 update just isn't working, through auto-download it never "takes", I've already bored you guys to death with that one... But now, also, trying to download it from Sony it never shows up the right size and fails with a CRC extracting the zip no matter how many times I try downloading it... Anyone else having this problem?
Have you tried a different browser? Downloading to and extracting to a specific file on the desktop?
ES_Revenge likes this.

Sony XBR-65X900F // Sony HTZ9F Sound Bar & SAZ9R Speakers // Xbox One X & PS4 Pro
Coercion Shaman is offline  
post #11645 of 11684 Old 03-27-2020, 02:32 PM
Newbie
 
Slojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coercion Shaman View Post
Have you tried a different browser? Downloading to and extracting to a specific file on the desktop?
I had the same problem downloading, the file size was to small, I ended up download from Sony Canadian web site worked with no problems.
ES_Revenge and danbfree like this.
Slojoe is offline  
post #11646 of 11684 Old 03-27-2020, 05:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrike645 View Post
I had no trouble downloading and extracting the file. I updated my 900F and Z9D with the same file.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coercion Shaman View Post
Have you tried a different browser? Downloading to and extracting to a specific file on the desktop?
Well, I am a computer guy who works at Intel and know what I'm doing, I don't get it... I've tried 2 different computers, 3 browsers, 3 different ways to extract it and the file size itself never matches what Sony says it should be...
danbfree is offline  
post #11647 of 11684 Old 03-27-2020, 05:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slojoe View Post
I had the same problem downloading, the file size was to small, I ended up download from Sony Canadian web site worked with no problems.
Thanks!!!

Edit: Same result.

Last edited by danbfree; 03-27-2020 at 09:23 PM.
danbfree is offline  
post #11648 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 04:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LeeSoFl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Wellington, FL
Posts: 1,536
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
the file size itself never matches what Sony says it should be...
Just so you know, the size is never the exact number Sony says it should be.

This installed on two TVs just fine:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	62
Size:	6.8 KB
ID:	2702646  
LeeSoFl is offline  
post #11649 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 05:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Also, the Sony TV's like the USB flash device to be FAT32 for firmware...you can have problems or unrecognized file on the TV if your USB device is formatted as exFAT.


Paul

Sony X900F SDR and HDR Calibrations https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57551552
Anderegg is offline  
post #11650 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeSoFl View Post
Just so you know, the size is never the exact number Sony says it should be.

This installed on two TVs just fine:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
Also, the Sony TV's like the USB flash device to be FAT32 for firmware...you can have problems or unrecognized file on the TV if your USB device is formatted as exFAT.


Paul
Man, thanks for the tips guys, but the file errors out extracting every time, no matter if I try to extract to same folder on hard drive first or extract directly to the thumb drive, which is eXFAT, no matter if I try Windows native extraction or through 7-Zip... so weird that it won't take through the TV or the downloaded file but oh well, I guess I'll just wait for the next one, if there is one, LOL.
danbfree is offline  
post #11651 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,711
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7294 Post(s)
Liked: 7328
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmcleod View Post
It does seem surprising in this day of continuing model replacements, but when you have a winner (and demand), why not keep it going. I can say that I’ve never been happier with a TV purchase, and your great service in getting it to me. (for the record I guess I’m closer to 20 months of ownership)
I would think this model is coming to an end, but as this time it is the best TV for the cash, 950G is a close second I feel...
d-rail34 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #11652 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Man, thanks for the tips guys, but the file errors out extracting every time, no matter if I try to extract to same folder on hard drive first or extract directly to the thumb drive, which is eXFAT, no matter if I try Windows native extraction or through 7-Zip... so weird that it won't take through the TV or the downloaded file but oh well, I guess I'll just wait for the next one, if there is one, LOL.
Can you try to extract using another computer, or try Winzip or 7zip or 3rd party unzipping programs?

I can try to send it unzipped to my gdrive if gdrive allows unzipped packages?

Paul

Sony X900F SDR and HDR Calibrations https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57551552
Anderegg is offline  
post #11653 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 11:28 AM
Member
 
lakersfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Exclamation

Hey everyone I desperately need help! I have a 75-inch X900F connected to a Marantz SR5012 receiver. The ARC stopped working yesterday out of nowhere. I didn't change any settings. All other inputs on the receiver (Xbox and PS) work normally, so I'm guessing the problem stems from the TV. Sound is working through regular TV speakers, but when I turn on the receiver now and change the input to TV Sound, I see the pop up message on the TV "switching audio to external speakers" then nothing, no sound. Anyone else have this issue?
lakersfreak is offline  
post #11654 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 12:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
Also, the Sony TV's like the USB flash device to be FAT32 for firmware...you can have problems or unrecognized file on the TV if your USB device is formatted as exFAT.


Paul
Thanks for the file but I had read this post too fast and formatted as ExFAT instead, sigh.. time to reformat and try again, lol.

Edit: it worked! Thanks to the extracted file it worked over USB... It definitely took a lot longer, when updating from download it would start rebooting about 2/3rd of the way through the progress bar, from USB, it copies the files first, then when updating it goes through the complete progress bar then reboots more often and the final way you know it worked is you get that "Checking for updates" message and it came back updated! Thanks a lot for the assist!

Last edited by danbfree; 03-28-2020 at 12:48 PM.
danbfree is offline  
post #11655 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 12:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2349 Post(s)
Liked: 2271
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Hey everyone I desperately need help! I have a 75-inch X900F connected to a Marantz SR5012 receiver. The ARC stopped working yesterday out of nowhere. I didn't change any settings. All other inputs on the receiver (Xbox and PS) work normally, so I'm guessing the problem stems from the TV. Sound is working through regular TV speakers, but when I turn on the receiver now and change the input to TV Sound, I see the pop up message on the TV "switching audio to external speakers" then nothing, no sound. Anyone else have this issue?
Try a hard power reset (unplug the TV for 3 minutes). If that doesn't work, then do the same for the AVR.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #11656 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Anderegg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 901
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 361
How old is your firmware? There was a firmware a few back that BROKE (Sony admitted to as much) the ARC function, and I had that problem where it was hit and miss whether I could get ARC, constant rebooting,heck, even swapping HDMI cabled resolved the issue for a day or so. You might have that evil firmware. Figure out the firmware version before going so far as to factory rest the TV.

Also, when I had the firmware ARC issues, I would keep seeing Bravia Sync menu screen be empty of devices, like it would just unpair from everything on the chain.

Paul

Sony X900F SDR and HDR Calibrations https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57551552
Anderegg is offline  
post #11657 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 03:10 PM
Member
 
lakersfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Hey everyone I desperately need help! I have a 75-inch X900F connected to a Marantz SR5012 receiver. The ARC stopped working yesterday out of nowhere. I didn't change any settings. All other inputs on the receiver (Xbox and PS) work normally, so I'm guessing the problem stems from the TV. Sound is working through regular TV speakers, but when I turn on the receiver now and change the input to TV Sound, I see the pop up message on the TV "switching audio to external speakers" then nothing, no sound. Anyone else have this issue?
Try a hard power reset (unplug the TV for 3 minutes). If that doesn't work, then do the same for the AVR.
I unplugged HDMI cables and the tv and receiver power for over 30 minutes. Still same.
lakersfreak is offline  
post #11658 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 03:17 PM
Member
 
lakersfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderegg View Post
How old is your firmware? There was a firmware a few back that BROKE (Sony admitted to as much) the ARC function, and I had that problem where it was hit and miss whether I could get ARC, constant rebooting,heck, even swapping HDMI cabled resolved the issue for a day or so. You might have that evil firmware. Figure out the firmware version before going so far as to factory rest the TV.

Also, when I had the firmware ARC issues, I would keep seeing Bravia Sync menu screen be empty of devices, like it would just unpair from everything on the chain.

Paul
Firmware? Where can I check that? Under "about" I have Version 8.0.0 and Kernel Version 3.10.79
lakersfreak is offline  
post #11659 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 05:05 PM
Senior Member
 
bmcleod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: California Gold Country
Posts: 468
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Firmware? Where can I check that? Under "about" I have Version 8.0.0 and Kernel Version 3.10.79
Hit the ‘Help’ button on the remote, it should be 6.something

HT: Emotiva RMC-1> XPA-7G3/PA-1> B&W 805S, HTM3S, SCMS, HTM4S & SVS SB-4000 (7.2.2) | Sony XBR-85X900F
2C: Emotiva RMC-1> VTL MB-450> Magnepan 20.1R
Sources: Oppo UDP-203, DirecTV HS17/C61K, AppleTV4K, Mac mini, Thorens TD-295 IV w/ Grado Sonata > Emotiva XPS-1
bmcleod is offline  
post #11660 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 05:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
danbfree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 833 Post(s)
Liked: 376
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Firmware? Where can I check that? Under "about" I have Version 8.0.0 and Kernel Version 3.10.79
Look at the bottom under Build.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
danbfree is offline  
post #11661 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 05:19 PM
Member
 
lakersfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by danbfree View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Firmware? Where can I check that? Under "about" I have Version 8.0.0 and Kernel Version 3.10.79
Look at the bottom under Build.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk
Ok its 665551....how can you update this? And if nothing else works should I dona factory reset?
lakersfreak is offline  
post #11662 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 06:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austin TX USA
Posts: 3,695
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2349 Post(s)
Liked: 2271
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Ok its 665551....how can you update this? And if nothing else works should I dona factory reset?
That's the latest firmware version, which you probably had updated in the last few days. I'd try the factory reset. Factory resets will often fix firmware update issues.
PlanetAVS is offline  
post #11663 of 11684 Old 03-28-2020, 08:06 PM
Member
 
lakersfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Ok its 665551....how can you update this? And if nothing else works should I dona factory reset?
That's the latest firmware version, which you probably had updated in the last few days. I'd try the factory reset. Factory resets will often fix firmware update issues.
I just did a factory reset and still same issue. Now I'm thinking its my Marantz receiver.
lakersfreak is offline  
post #11664 of 11684 Old 03-30-2020, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Hey everyone I desperately need help! I have a 75-inch X900F connected to a Marantz SR5012 receiver. The ARC stopped working yesterday out of nowhere. I didn't change any settings. All other inputs on the receiver (Xbox and PS) work normally, so I'm guessing the problem stems from the TV. Sound is working through regular TV speakers, but when I turn on the receiver now and change the input to TV Sound, I see the pop up message on the TV "switching audio to external speakers" then nothing, no sound. Anyone else have this issue?
Try switching the avr off then on again after the tv is up and running.. The update might have changed the order everything goes on.
Rich 63 is offline  
post #11665 of 11684 Old 04-01-2020, 12:11 PM
Member
 
kwk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The tv prompted me that an update was available. I installed it and everything works as expected, no issues.

KEN Sony 55X900F Pioneer VSX-1326K
kwk1 is offline  
post #11666 of 11684 Old 04-01-2020, 01:11 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakersfreak View Post
Hey everyone I desperately need help! I have a 75-inch X900F connected to a Marantz SR5012 receiver. The ARC stopped working yesterday out of nowhere. I didn't change any settings. All other inputs on the receiver (Xbox and PS) work normally, so I'm guessing the problem stems from the TV. Sound is working through regular TV speakers, but when I turn on the receiver now and change the input to TV Sound, I see the pop up message on the TV "switching audio to external speakers" then nothing, no sound. Anyone else have this issue?
Interesting, I haven't had that exact problem, but I've been having sound issues since the update as well. My receiver seems to only recognize DD+ on certain things and not others all of a sudden. Even within one app, like Google Play Movies some movies will automatically kick on DD+ and some will stay at PCM stereo. Played some movies via USB, the default player will work with DD+ but it will stop the movie after about a half hour and I have to restart the TV to get it going again. I downloaded VLC and while the movie kept going, it will only play it in PCM stereo. Something is really messed up, I wish I hadn't of updated.
Tyler Curry is offline  
post #11667 of 11684 Old 04-01-2020, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RickD1225's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 326 Post(s)
Liked: 2046
I' e never done a update on my 900F since CEC/ARC work perfectly and I don't use the on board apps very often.
ES_Revenge and seggers like this.

Spoiler!
RickD1225 is offline  
post #11668 of 11684 Old 04-01-2020, 11:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 511 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickD1225 View Post
I' e never done a update on my 900F since CEC/ARC work perfectly and I don't use the on board apps very often.
Yep, like the old saying, "If it ain't broke..."!

Seriously I think the worst part about CE device updates is that there's absolutely no way to go back unless you have access to technician tools and software which 99% of people do not (even if you can create the hardware which is usually "jigs" for RS232 or JTAG interface, the software is unpossible to get most of the time).



I mean on computer devices the worst thing that can happen is bricking which is very uncommon these days unless you were tinkering with such matters as cross-flashing or flashing 3rd party/aftermarket firmware and even then there's often still ways to recover. But going back/forth between firmware on computer-industry stuff is usually piece of cake.

I don't get why CE devices have to be a "one-way street" when it comes to fw updates, but it has pretty much always been like that. Update breaks something? Well too bad for you now you are screwed and if they never release another update to fix it, sometimes you end up having to replace the whole thing over some mess up they created
RickD1225 likes this.
ES_Revenge is online now  
post #11669 of 11684 Old 04-02-2020, 09:41 AM
Member
 
itsjustmeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I’m a bit confused as to how to update. I’ve never had an issue before this one. When I go to “Help” on the remote and software update, It tells me that it will install the next time I turn my tv off. So I turn off the tv and after a few seconds I see the google wheels spinning and the tv restarts but without updating. Am I doing something wrong?
itsjustmeee is offline  
post #11670 of 11684 Old 04-02-2020, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Jeff5347's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Ok so I'm running into a problem and I can not for the life of me get it figured out. I'm trying to sign into vudu. I have both a Vudu and a Walmart account and neither one will sign in. I KNOW I'm putting in the correct info but they both come up with unable to log in. Anyone run into this? Any fix? This is driving me bonkers

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Jeff5347 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
brightness , contrast , hdr , Sony , wifi , x900f , x900f appletv dolbyvision

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off