2018 Samsung FALD Q8FN Owners thread - No price talk - Page 103 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1550Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3061 of 3252 Old 05-08-2019, 06:49 PM
Member
 
arsenal009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4K Tech View Post
According to page 144 of the E-Manual, "Press the SELECT button while playing any video, photo, or recorded content. The following buttons appear . . ."

Scroll to the next page (145) of the E-Manual, and the last button description entry on that page is "Picture Off," described as follows: "Plays multimedia content with the screen off." Hopefully that will accomplish what you want to do.

On some previous models (e.g. the JS8500 from the 2015 model year) the Picture Settings menu had a dedicated entry called "Picture Off" which Samsung described as follows: "You can turn off the screen and play only audio through the speakers. To turn the screen back on, press any button other than the Power and Volume buttons." Alas, that dedicated Picture Off option is nowhere to be found for the Q8FN, so the only workaround I've found is the one stated on page 145 of the E-Manual.
I use winamp to play music. I pressed the select button, but none of the options stated on e-manual show up

I have another issue when my PC is connected to my TV. In picture / expert settings, HDR+ option & about half the other options are not selectable & greyed out. Is there a way to change this?

Thanks
arsenal009 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3062 of 3252 Old 05-08-2019, 07:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Picture Off setting and Device Type Icon edits

Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenal009 View Post
I use winamp to play music. I pressed the select button, but none of the options stated on e-manual show up
Page 144 et seq. of the E-Manual is not crystal clear regarding the Picture Off option, but it appears that Samsung is assuming that you are playing music files via a thumb drive or USB hard drive, not from a Windows-based media player such as Winamp. As a test, copy a few mp3 or flac or other supported music files of the type shown in the chart on page 129 of the E-Manual to a USB device, plug it into one of the USB ports, access the device and play one of those files, and as the file is playing, press the SELECT button and click on the Picture Off option (if present) -- see if that turns the screen off while the music file plays (again, simply as a test to confirm that that is the procedure Samsung expects in order to use the Picture Off option). If it works, then that's probably the only method for using the Picture Off option while listening to music.


Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenal009 View Post
I have another issue when my PC is connected to my TV. In picture / expert settings, HDR+ option & about half the other options are not selectable & greyed out. Is there a way to change this?

Thanks
One approach you can try is to edit the "device type" setting from "PC" to something else, such as "Game Console," by picking another icon (in this example, the "Game Console" icon) from the Device Icon list -- this should give you more options than the PC icon does for the Picture Settings menu. The following short video shows how it's done (I've never tried it myself):

arsenal009 likes this.
4K Tech is offline  
post #3063 of 3252 Old 05-08-2019, 08:29 PM
Member
 
dmccusk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 12
65" Q8FN or 65" Q70r

I'm really torn between these. Any thoughts if they were the same price? I'm leaning towards the Q8FN.
woodhead2 likes this.
dmccusk is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3064 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 07:42 AM
Senior Member
 
jag2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Don’t know what I did, but now I am not getting any sound from any of the apps like amazon or Vudu. Onkyo receiver is plugged into arc with everything running through the receiver. Only thing I have directly plugged to the TV is a Phillips Blu-ray player for picture. Any help?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
jag2006 is online now  
post #3065 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 08:20 AM
Member
 
woodhead2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Mn
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmccusk View Post
I'm really torn between these. Any thoughts if they were the same price? I'm leaning towards the Q8FN.
I have the Q8FN coming in a week.
jag2006 likes this.
woodhead2 is offline  
post #3066 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
jag2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by jag2006 View Post
Don’t know what I did, but now I am not getting any sound from any of the apps like amazon or Vudu. Onkyo receiver is plugged into arc with everything running through the receiver. Only thing I have directly plugged to the TV is a Phillips Blu-ray player for picture. Any help?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro


Ok not sure what I did but it’s working now using the TV input...ugh.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
jag2006 is online now  
post #3067 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,903
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6840 Post(s)
Liked: 6837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defcon View Post
According to them this is a display model they had up in store for 1+ year not a customer return. Its just the panel wrapped in plastic with nothing else. I'm not sure if its worth buying or not hence I asked.
That is a great deal, if you are worried you can add an extended warranty, not necessarily a Best Buy warranty, Mack or Square Trade as well.
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #3068 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 12:23 PM
Member
 
arsenal009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmccusk View Post
I'm really torn between these. Any thoughts if they were the same price? I'm leaning towards the Q8FN.
Here is a video that reviews the Q70R and mentions the Q8FN as well:
arsenal009 is offline  
post #3069 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 03:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Number_6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 441
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmccusk View Post
I'm really torn between these. Any thoughts if they were the same price? I'm leaning towards the Q8FN.
I don't have either set, but RTINGS posted their review of the Q70R today (link below) and compared it with the Q8FN.
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/q70-q70r-qled

Quoting from the review: "The Samsung Q8FN has very similar performance to the Samsung Q70R. The Samsung Q8FN has an antireflective filter that provides much better reflection handling in rooms with many light sources. The Samsung Q8FN has a marginally better color gamut and can get a little brighter."

My main concern with Q8FN is that it seems like screen uniformity (banding & DSE) was a problem based on user feedback here. But that may also be the case with the Q70R, as you can see banding in the grayscale test photo in the review posted today.

(Will somebody please just make a TV that has no visible uniformity problems, like my dusty old plasma?)
Number_6 is offline  
post #3070 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
hingerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenal009 View Post
Here is a video that reviews the Q70R and mentions the Q8FN as well: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ebNUxH0qfqE


That guy is a pyscho and not at all a reputable source.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
bodean likes this.

LG 65 B7A
hingerson is offline  
post #3071 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,448
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3815
Quote:
Originally Posted by hingerson View Post
That guy is a pyscho and not at all a reputable source.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


He says he is a professional calibrator that is rich lol , his settings are ridiculous .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #3072 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 04:24 PM
Member
 
arsenal009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4K Tech View Post
One approach you can try is to edit the "device type" setting from "PC" to something else, such as "Game Console," by picking another icon (in this example, the "Game Console" icon) from the Device Icon list -- this should give you more options than the PC icon does for the Picture Settings menu. The following short video shows how it's done (I've never tried it myself):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4_QTlPwJxE
Regarding the audio, that would be too inefficient so I think i'll have to figure smthg else out. It's unfortunate since it was something I could do with my older TV.
As far as changing the device from PC to something else. That worked for me, thanks for the info
arsenal009 is offline  
post #3073 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 04:42 PM
Member
 
arsenal009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by chunon View Post
He says he is a professional calibrator that is rich lol , his settings are ridiculous .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
What settings do you recommend?
Thanks
arsenal009 is offline  
post #3074 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
chunon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cincinnati Ohio
Posts: 11,448
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3860 Post(s)
Liked: 3815
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenal009 View Post
What settings do you recommend?

Thanks


Sorry I don’t have any settings for you was just commenting in general .


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 77C8
LG 55B7A
DirectTV/ ATV4k/Panasonic UB820/Sony Z9F Soundbar
Calman Enthusiast, Lightspace, C6 HDR 2000 I1Pro2
chunon is offline  
post #3075 of 3252 Old 05-09-2019, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,095
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenal009 View Post
What settings do you recommend?

Thanks



Enjoy.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TechoGeek likes this.

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is online now  
post #3076 of 3252 Old 05-10-2019, 12:58 PM
Member
 
woodhead2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Mn
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DinoT View Post
OK...so I decided to give this a shot. I saw that it was all natural and thought that it can't be that good. I think all natural=compromise.

Holy moly. This stuff works. My 82Q8FN had a big palmprint from where my wife grabbed it when she helped me mount it. I could not get that palm print off.
This stuff took it out immediately.

Went through all of my screens. (I have over 20 LCD TVs). It even worked on my projection screen. I ended up doing my computer monitors and laptop screens.
Where do you get this stuff?
woodhead2 is offline  
post #3077 of 3252 Old 05-11-2019, 07:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by arsenal009 View Post
I haven't enabled ambient mode since I don't want to go online & have my TV update.

If I go online to enable ambient mode, will my TV automatically update?

Not unless you put it on 'auto update'.
dreaux is offline  
post #3078 of 3252 Old 05-11-2019, 07:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dreaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 776
Quote:
Originally Posted by hingerson View Post
That guy is a pyscho and not at all a reputable source.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yup, one day he loves Qled and the next he trashes it. Next he says the Q8FN is the best ever and then says LG C8 is better.
Compulsive poster.
hingerson and nasumners like this.
dreaux is offline  
post #3079 of 3252 Old 05-13-2019, 10:35 PM
Member
 
trunks9_us's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I thought I would share my experience from buying a best buy open box q8fn 75in a week ago. I got it for $1780 after taxes. It did not come with a box so i assumed it was a display no information was given about the tv except it was a return. It had 1202 software on it and had only a total of 7500 min on it. I was very suprised by how little usage this tv has received and how amazing it looks for the price i got. No werid issues. I haven't ran and inital banding or dse tests but i also dont see it either. I dont see any bleed thru either unlike my ku6500 has.

The only thing i was curious to ask about is my service menu where it shows mrt option it has resolution & gives the option to go to 8k. Has a done done this? I am curious to know what it would do.
trunks9_us is offline  
post #3080 of 3252 Old 05-14-2019, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Service Menu 8k resolution "option"

Quote:
Originally Posted by trunks9_us View Post
The only thing i was curious to ask about is my service menu where it shows mrt option it has resolution & gives the option to go to 8k. Has a done done this? I am curious to know what it would do.
It's a 4k TV, so you won't be getting 8k resolution no matter what. Who knows what that setting does if you should engage it (brick the TV perhaps?), but that 8k entry is also present in the service menu for the Q6FN, as shown in the following video at the 1:25 time stamp:

4K Tech is offline  
post #3081 of 3252 Old 05-15-2019, 07:01 AM
Member
 
woodhead2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Mn
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Getting my Tv delivered tonight. Between 8 and 11 pm!! WTF? Anyway, anyone have any HDR settings they want to share?
woodhead2 is offline  
post #3082 of 3252 Old 05-15-2019, 12:44 PM
Senior Member
 
hingerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Earlier in this thread I saw an individual post that he got burn in on his Q8FN? And he had a video linked but it was really compressed so I couldn't tell. How could that even be possible with LED LCD


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 65 B7A
hingerson is offline  
post #3083 of 3252 Old 05-15-2019, 01:27 PM
Member
 
Detonation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by trunks9_us View Post
I thought I would share my experience from buying a best buy open box q8fn 75in a week ago. I got it for $1780 after taxes. It did not come with a box so i assumed it was a display no information was given about the tv except it was a return. It had 1202 software on it and had only a total of 7500 min on it. I was very suprised by how little usage this tv has received and how amazing it looks for the price i got. No werid issues. I haven't ran and inital banding or dse tests but i also dont see it either. I dont see any bleed thru either unlike my ku6500 has.

The only thing i was curious to ask about is my service menu where it shows mrt option it has resolution & gives the option to go to 8k. Has a done done this? I am curious to know what it would do.
Where in the service menu is the power on time? Looked briefly but couldn't find it. Got an open box 75Q8FN as well (for $1250!) so I'm curious.
Detonation is offline  
post #3084 of 3252 Old 05-15-2019, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 509
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 263 Post(s)
Liked: 249
Panel display time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Detonation View Post
Where in the service menu is the power on time? Looked briefly but couldn't find it. Got an open box 75Q8FN as well (for $1250!) so I'm curious.
Here's your answer (from the Q9FN owner's thread):

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57737942
4K Tech is offline  
post #3085 of 3252 Old 05-16-2019, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
hingerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I'm thinking of putting this on a mount and I'm curious as I haven't had a Samsung TV before this one, it came with those black inserts for the mount holes in the back? Most or any TV I've seen doesn't have those what purpose do they serve?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 65 B7A
hingerson is offline  
post #3086 of 3252 Old 05-17-2019, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Viscious82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Looks like update 1251 added Apple airplay and iTunes support. Has anyone tried those features?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Viscious82 is offline  
post #3087 of 3252 Old 05-17-2019, 07:16 AM
Senior Member
 
hingerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viscious82 View Post
Looks like update 1251 added Apple airplay and iTunes support. Has anyone tried those features?

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk


I didn't notice that I'm gonna have to check it out when I get home if so I hope it works well


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Viscious82 likes this.

LG 65 B7A
hingerson is offline  
post #3088 of 3252 Old 05-17-2019, 07:28 AM
Senior Member
 
Viscious82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by hingerson View Post
I didn't notice that I'm gonna have to check it out when I get home if so I hope it works well


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I didn't either. There are airplay settings in the general or external device settings of the tv. Also saw an ad for iTunes on the tv. I have a US spec tv.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Viscious82 is offline  
post #3089 of 3252 Old 05-19-2019, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Samsung qe75q8dn I just bought this TV how do I now know when viewing hdr as when I view Netflix it just says movie in settings. On my oled lights up hdr top corner any help thanks from UK but same TV as fn.
Petrol dave is offline  
post #3090 of 3252 Old 05-19-2019, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
hingerson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Petrol dave View Post
Samsung qe75q8dn I just bought this TV how do I now know when viewing hdr as when I view Netflix it just says movie in settings. On my oled lights up hdr top corner any help thanks from UK but same TV as fn.


Samsung does it kinda weird I also have an OLED and it pops up but with the Q8 you have to click the home button and then click the input your currently watching and it will show in the top corner if it's uhd and HDR


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

LG 65 B7A
hingerson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off