2018 Samsung FALD Q8FN Owners thread - No price talk - Page 60 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1547Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1771 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 06:05 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry999 View Post
Dealer says mine is on the Thursday truck.
cool let me know what you think once you set it up
SUperEd007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1772 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 06:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Keabrown79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Can anyone comment to the accuracy of having a panel made by samsung version FA002 or FA003 actually being better than a panel A002 not made by samsung, or is this just rumor?
Keabrown79 is offline  
post #1773 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 07:52 AM
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Miami
Posts: 517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 385 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
Can anyone comment to the accuracy of having a panel made by samsung version FA002 or FA003 actually being better than a panel A002 not made by samsung, or is this just rumor?
well i know all 75 panels are AA01
Keabrown79 likes this.
SUperEd007 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1774 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 08:19 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,390
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6587 Post(s)
Liked: 6586
Quote:
Originally Posted by VA_DaveB View Post
But not for big retailers like Best Buy, Costco and Amazon where most will buy their TVs. With the horrible QC on even high-end TVs, ease of returns is a big priority. Especially for those in this forum who are afflicted by all those display OCDs.
Absolutely, you have to do what you are comfortable with. Great news is these issues people talk about on the forums are rare. Buying at street price will save you thousands in some cases. If these issues on products where so high, Amazon for example does not play games, they would pull the product and not sell it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
Just placed my order for my 65 inch q8fn... I made sure that best buy selected a unit that was a version FA003... that's a genuine samsung produced screen correct? With my q7fn I had some terrible clouding this is this something that will be addressed by this being FLAD? I don't want another repeat of this sort of screen...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
Can anyone comment to the accuracy of having a panel made by samsung version FA002 or FA003 actually being better than a panel A002 not made by samsung, or is this just rumor?
Rumor, why? You would need to test 5 panels of each version because there is something called unit variation. No one has done this test......Facts are facts.
Keabrown79 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1775 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Keabrown79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Absolutely, you have to do what you are comfortable with. Great news is these issues people talk about on the forums are rare. Buying at street price will save you thousands in some cases. If these issues on products where so high, Amazon for example does not play games, they would pull the product and not sell it.



Rumor, why? You would need to test 5 panels of each version because there is something called unit variation. No one has done this test......Facts are facts.

Awesome thanks... it's something I've seen talked about I wonder if there is any truth to the "these models are Samsung models" bit of it... but I remember seeing this same convo when I bought my KS8000
Keabrown79 is offline  
post #1776 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodean View Post

2. Is there a way to save multiple sets of settings? I haven’t found a way to have more than 1 set of setting saved, so what am I missing? For example, can I have a set for my daily TV SDR watching during the day, then have a set done for night and/or HDR content viewing?
It seems that if you have your TV calibrated by a pro, it opens up 2 CAL settings that one can use. No other users in here use or have a desire to use more than one settings (between SDR and HDR content)?

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #1777 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 02:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 866
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 649 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jniaai24 View Post
As soon as you or someone gets the update I would love to see what findings on changes you or anyone can come across.
After loading the new software I noticed more blooming all around and light bleeds into black bars. Did not notice this before the update. Will continue to test.... Could just be my set. I was not happy with this one's FALD system from the beginning.
meduzadg is online now  
post #1778 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 04:22 PM
Member
 
bry999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I do not see a separate Forum for HDMI cables so I will post here.

I ordered new 10' and 15' HDMI "Certified Premium" cables from Monoprice. The 10' cables are much skinnier than the 15' and just say "Premium" vs "Certified Premium". I am not sure if the labels mean anything but the thickness difference is very apparent. Anybody else notice this sort of thing? Thanks.
bry999 is offline  
post #1779 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 04:27 PM
Advanced Member
 
TrendSetterX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry999 View Post
I do not see a separate Forum for HDMI cables so I will post here.



I ordered new 10' and 15' HDMI "Certified Premium" cables from Monoprice. The 10' cables are much skinnier than the 15' and just say "Premium" vs "Certified Premium". I am not sure if the labels mean anything but the thickness difference is very apparent. Anybody else notice this sort of thing? Thanks.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?168

Theater: Sony 75x940E | Yamaha 3060 | DirecTv HR54 | ATV4K | MP 4K HDBaseT Extender | SVS PC2000 sub | 5.1 surround
Networking: ASUS RT-AC68U (wireless disabled) | Ubiquiti AmpliFi HD Mesh Wireless with wired back-hauls
Automation & Lighting: Control4 & Lutron Homeworks Interactive
TrendSetterX is offline  
post #1780 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 04:28 PM
Member
 
bry999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrendSetterX View Post
Thanks! I found the other thread after I posted. Apparently the thick cable is needed due to the longer run.
bry999 is offline  
post #1781 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 07:36 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I just bit the bullet over the weekend and decided to purchase the 75" Q8FN. I would have 'loved' to waited it out for the 85" size, but I know for a fact that it would've been outside of my budget of $4k for the TV. Considering I'm upgrading from an 11 year old 42" Plasma... I'm looking forward to having this delivered and mounted. It was a difficult decision, choosing from all the TVs. When you are purchasing something that replaces such an old set, everything you look at looks better, lol. Good problem to have, I suppose
Keithian likes this.
JunkieJZ is offline  
post #1782 of 3212 Old 07-25-2018, 08:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by JunkieJZ View Post
I just bit the bullet over the weekend and decided to purchase the 75" Q8FN. I would have 'loved' to waited it out for the 85" size, but I know for a fact that it would've been outside of my budget of $4k for the TV. Considering I'm upgrading from an 11 year old 42" Plasma... I'm looking forward to having this delivered and mounted. It was a difficult decision, choosing from all the TVs. When you are purchasing something that replaces such an old set, everything you look at looks better, lol. Good problem to have, I suppose
Congrats on your purchase. Hope you love it.
Keithian is offline  
post #1783 of 3212 Old 07-26-2018, 12:08 AM
Senior Member
 
SpeedracerII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Abt is advertising the 82" version of the Q8. Out of my price range. Obviously targeting the 85" Sony.

https://www.abt.com/product/125489/S...Q8FNBFXZA.html

I mocked up an 82" screen in our living room and spent some time at Fry's this evening looking at the Q6 vice Q8. My wife really likes the 82" size and I have to admit it probably is not too big for the living room. Still hesitating.
SpeedracerII is offline  
post #1784 of 3212 Old 07-26-2018, 12:20 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,764
Mentioned: 256 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12625 Post(s)
Liked: 11841
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedracerII View Post
Abt is advertising the 82" version of the Q8. Out of my price range. Obviously targeting the 85" Sony.

https://www.abt.com/product/125489/S...Q8FNBFXZA.html

I mocked up an 82" screen in our living room and spent some time at Fry's this evening looking at the Q6 vice Q8. My wife really likes the 82" size and I have to admit it probably is not too big for the living room. Still hesitating.


I love how competition has forced Samsung to not price large tvs in the stratosphere.
ray0414 is online now  
post #1785 of 3212 Old 07-26-2018, 04:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpeedracerII View Post
Abt is advertising the 82" version of the Q8. Out of my price range. Obviously targeting the 85" Sony.

I mocked up an 82" screen in our living room and spent some time at Fry's this evening looking at the Q6 vice Q8. My wife really likes the 82" size and I have to admit it probably is not too big for the living room. Still hesitating.
We mocked up 85" when we were looking, as the X850F was also in our price range. Originally, my wife felt that 65" was a good size, but after seeing it on the wall in tape form... she quickly agreed that 75" was appropriate (we have a large room/space). Still happy with the 75" range, but I feel you about the size. I know why companies don't make more panels in this size... but oh, how I would love a Q7 82".
JunkieJZ is offline  
post #1786 of 3212 Old 07-26-2018, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Still havent gotten the update. While I wait does anyone else who has the update have any real noticable differences in performance eg. dimming algorithm changes or input lag?
Jniaai24 is offline  
post #1787 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Dimming is a bit more aggressive. Ive noticed more halos around text on dark screens. Seems they are trying to shut off larger portions of thw screen. Good blacks but still not inky.
esosa17237 is offline  
post #1788 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 12:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I was just visited by a samsung technican to check on some lines i was seeing and he blurted out that only the q9 is full array. He said the q8 is lit from the bottom with 40 software dimmable zones and that its not a fald. I told him it is a fald amd that samsung advertises it as so. He said " oh i see they wrote that there ". He continued to tell me it wasnt a real fald tv and that it was lit from the bottom. He said issues im seeing is due to it not being a fald tv. I own a 65" q8. Weird visit
esosa17237 is offline  
post #1789 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 02:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,764
Mentioned: 256 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12625 Post(s)
Liked: 11841
Quote:
Originally Posted by esosa17237 View Post
I was just visited by a samsung technican to check on some lines i was seeing and he blurted out that only the q9 is full array. He said the q8 is lit from the bottom with 40 software dimmable zones and that its not a fald. I told him it is a fald amd that samsung advertises it as so. He said " oh i see they wrote that there ". He continued to tell me it wasnt a real fald tv and that it was lit from the bottom. He said issues im seeing is due to it not being a fald tv. I own a 65" q8. Weird visit

He's probably thinking of the 2017 Q8. It says in the service menu that it is direct lit.
ray0414 is online now  
post #1790 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by esosa17237 View Post
I was just visited by a samsung technican to check on some lines i was seeing and he blurted out that only the q9 is full array. He said the q8 is lit from the bottom with 40 software dimmable zones and that its not a fald. I told him it is a fald amd that samsung advertises it as so. He said " oh i see they wrote that there ". He continued to tell me it wasnt a real fald tv and that it was lit from the bottom. He said issues im seeing is due to it not being a fald tv. I own a 65" q8. Weird visit

He's probably thinking of the 2017 Q8. It says in the service menu that it is direct lit.
Im not sure. He knew the q9 had 480 zones.
esosa17237 is offline  
post #1791 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 03:44 PM
Member
 
FrostByteLXV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
The Q8 is only FALD in the US, maybe that's what he was thinking

Display: Samsung 75Q8FN f/w 1270.6
Sound: Samsung HW-N650 soundbar + SWA-8500S surround speakers
Console: Microsoft Xbox One X OS 10.0.18362.6065
FrostByteLXV is offline  
post #1792 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,405
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2365 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by esosa17237 View Post
I was just visited by a samsung technican to check on some lines i was seeing and he blurted out that only the q9 is full array. He said the q8 is lit from the bottom with 40 software dimmable zones and that its not a fald. I told him it is a fald amd that samsung advertises it as so. He said " oh i see they wrote that there ". He continued to tell me it wasnt a real fald tv and that it was lit from the bottom. He said issues im seeing is due to it not being a fald tv. I own a 65" q8. Weird visit
I would have thrown the technician out of my house for uttering such stupidity.
Jagged78 likes this.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #1793 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
I would have thrown the technician out of my house for uttering such stupidity.
I mean maybe he thought it was a 2017 model?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
Qik311 is offline  
post #1794 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 04:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,405
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2365 Post(s)
Liked: 1942
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keabrown79 View Post
I'd greatly appreciate it... it's the last piece to the puzzle.. if it's low i'm gonna go vizio p series and save money for micro led
Instead of being fixated on the zone count perhaps you should consider how well the dimming algorithm works in that some find it very difficult to believe the Q8FN has only 40 zones.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #1795 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 06:30 PM
Member
 
bry999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
75" Q8 wall mounted today. Using Rtings settings. Watching Spiderman Homecoming in 4K. Stunning Picture!
venus933 and FrostByteLXV like this.
bry999 is offline  
post #1796 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 06:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 977 Post(s)
Liked: 709
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry999 View Post
75" Q8 wall mounted today. Using Rtings settings. Watching Spiderman Homecoming in 4K. Stunning Picture!
Congrats on your purchase
Keithian is offline  
post #1797 of 3212 Old 07-27-2018, 07:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by esosa17237 View Post
I was just visited by a samsung technican to check on some lines i was seeing and he blurted out that only the q9 is full array. He said the q8 is lit from the bottom with 40 software dimmable zones and that its not a fald. I told him it is a fald amd that samsung advertises it as so. He said " oh i see they wrote that there ". He continued to tell me it wasnt a real fald tv and that it was lit from the bottom. He said issues im seeing is due to it not being a fald tv. I own a 65" q8. Weird visit
I would have thrown the technician out of my house for uttering such stupidity.
Hahahaha it made me not respect anything else he had to say. He contacted his supervisor who looked online and said it was fald. He told me issues were because it was NOT a fald tv and when he found it was a fald he blamed it on tv upscaline and creating artifacts. I literally have streaks on left side of screen but was told tv is within spec because lines dont show in test images and only dark scenes. Looks like tires.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180723_130653_1532745257873.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	3.52 MB
ID:	2433816   Click image for larger version

Name:	20180727_135251_1532746661296.jpg
Views:	138
Size:	3.60 MB
ID:	2433824  
esosa17237 is offline  
post #1798 of 3212 Old 07-28-2018, 02:29 AM
Member
 
drhjean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by bry999 View Post
75" Q8 wall mounted today. Using Rtings settings. Watching Spiderman Homecoming in 4K. Stunning Picture!
I would love to know what wall mount you're using and how you like it.
drhjean is offline  
post #1799 of 3212 Old 07-28-2018, 07:43 AM
Member
 
bry999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wilmington, NC
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by drhjean View Post
I would love to know what wall mount you're using and how you like it.
I am using the Sanus VLT6. I chose it primarily because it can "scissor" away from the wall to access the plugs or for large tilts. I did not want to have to take it off the wall to change a cable. Sanus height finder was right on although I did double check the numbers. If had any complaint it would be the plate is only 30" long so it will only cover 2 standard studs (16"). I have a stud right in the center of my wall so I ended up using 4 lags to studs and 2 drywall toggle bolts for additional support. Easy to install although getting is exactly level is hard with lags. It does come with 1" adjustments for final leveling.
bry999 is offline  
post #1800 of 3212 Old 07-28-2018, 08:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
player002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6,242
Mentioned: 197 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3934 Post(s)
Liked: 2943
Quote:
Originally Posted by esosa17237 View Post
Dimming is a bit more aggressive. Ive noticed more halos around text on dark screens. Seems they are trying to shut off larger portions of thw screen. Good blacks but still not inky.
I found it actually improved. Standard works really well now blacks are better more of screen is dimmed. High is a little better, still some areas have light. I had to get bias light for this TV Q9 is much much better. Black screen all the time very close to oled. Q8 nope more inline with 900F. Daytime or small light in the room and blacks are very deep looking though.

My set up
LG 65B7 | Samsung KS8000 |Sony 55XBR 930D |Samsung 55Q7 Samsung 60F8500 |LG Oled 55C8
LG Oled 65C8 |Samsung 65 Q9FNSamsung 55 Q8FN | Sony 65 900F |Samsung 65 NU8000
Onkyo TX-NR545 + Dolby Atmos Speakers |Xbox One X |Ps4 Pro |PS VR |Oculus Rift
AMD Ryzen 1700 + Vega 64 + Mining Rigs Samsung Galaxy S8
player002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off