TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 127 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3800Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3781 of 7502 Old 09-27-2018, 07:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinesix View Post
No, firmware for the bright menus... the rest of the issues dont exist on my set to a complainable degree.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Got it got it. I couldn’t care less about bright menus. Just want the hockey to look like one piece of ice. The 6 on display at Best Buy looks horrible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sheldon2es is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3782 of 7502 Old 09-27-2018, 07:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheldon2es View Post
Got it got it. I couldn’t care less about bright menus. Just want the hockey to look like one piece of ice. The 6 on display at Best Buy looks horrible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Looked like crap at my local BB too, purposely dimmed and ignored, they wanted to talk me into something else. BB is simply a flea market for manufacturers paying for square footage.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
ez1dog likes this.
inlinesix is offline  
post #3783 of 7502 Old 09-27-2018, 07:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by inlinesix View Post
Looked like crap at my local BB too, purposely dimmed and ignored, they wanted to talk me into something else. BB is simply a flea market for manufacturers paying for square footage.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Yeah I always love getting the kid who’s actually a nerd about the TV. Not the guy who wants to read you stats off of his off-brand iPad.

“Yeah this one here is 4k”

Oh, thanks buddy, I wouldn’t have never guessed.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
sheldon2es is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3784 of 7502 Old 09-28-2018, 09:25 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,205
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9505 Post(s)
Liked: 6206
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoatLocker View Post
Did you get the Roku remote with a headphone jack? If so, does it work?
I got the $20 one. The Roku® Voice Remote. The $30 one has the headphone jack. The Roku® Enhanced Voice Remote. This is not a feature I have ever used in the past with my other Roku remotes that has the voice jack..

https://www.roku.com/accessories

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3785 of 7502 Old 09-28-2018, 09:31 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,205
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9505 Post(s)
Liked: 6206
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheldon2es View Post
100% agree on the OLED. Worth 2-3 LED TVs combined? Nope. I’m not even close to broke I just can’t mentally justify that for myself haha.

Hockey is most of what I watch all fall so that’s been a major concern..

TBH I have barely kept up over the past months. I followed the threads for the first two months the tv came out every couple hours checking. Now I just get caught up once a week or so because I got so disappointed with the initial results people were having.

We really think its firmware? I guess I never gathered that. I thought it was crappy LEDs either hardware quality/consistency or alignment. Firmware will really fix all the banding and unevenness?

The Sony (900f I think) also was super pretty at the store the other day. They had an open box for like $400 off. Almost snagged it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And the 900F has had issues too. Just read the 900F thread. Heck any TV has issues. You can read any of the TV threads here and people have issues.

I will say that my 6 series has more DSE than my 2015 Sony has. But fortunately it is rarely noticeable with my TV/movie watching and gaming. But if I watched a lot of hockey then I would have an issue with the amount of DSE my TV has. But I rarely do so I have no plans on exchanging my set.
The DSE my screen has is fine with football though.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3786 of 7502 Old 09-28-2018, 11:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
methos75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Posts: 1,749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Anyone playing Forza Horizon 4 this weekend care to share their game settings for HDR, I just cannot seem to get it to look right.
methos75 is offline  
post #3787 of 7502 Old 09-29-2018, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by methos75 View Post
Anyone playing Forza Horizon 4 this weekend care to share their game settings for HDR, I just cannot seem to get it to look right.
try these looks pretty good to me...also depends on what tv hdr setting you're using. i use hdr bright then adjusted the game settings
Bamaboi89 is offline  
post #3788 of 7502 Old 09-29-2018, 03:19 PM
Member
 
outbackpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have my 55R615 connected to a Yamaha receiver. I have and OTA antenna on HDMI 1(ARC). When I go into the ROKU menu and go into a channel the receiver changes to AV4. Is there anyway to just have all audio go through HDMI?

I'm asking because sometimes when I power on the set to HDMI 1 it flips to AV4 and I have to either use the Yamaha remote to change the receiver to HDMI 1 or enter the Roku menu and then reenter the HDMI from there.
outbackpaul is offline  
post #3789 of 7502 Old 09-29-2018, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
smdelaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greater Boston, MA
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 157
BJs Club finally has the 55" 6 series in its stores but the model # is 55R613. Does anyone know what is different about this vs the 55R615 or 55R617?

"You keep using that word...I do not think it means what you think it means."

-Steve-

TCL 55R617, Denon AVR-X2400H, Philips BDP-7502, Onkyo DX-C390, (2) HEOS 3HS2's,
Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble (FR/FL), MC150 (C), S100 (SR/SL), KLH E-12DB (SW)
smdelaney is online now  
post #3790 of 7502 Old 09-29-2018, 06:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by smdelaney View Post
BJs Club finally has the 55" 6 series in its stores but the model # is 55R613. Does anyone know what is different about this vs the 55R615 or 55R617?
I don't think it should have much of a difference. I know the 617 model comes with an enhanced remote compared to the 615. From what I can see the 613 model is just the name given to the warehouse models like BJs.
samoth84 is offline  
post #3791 of 7502 Old 09-29-2018, 10:35 PM
Senior Member
 
WRXpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I will say that my 6 series has more DSE than my 2015 Sony has. But fortunately it is rarely noticeable with my TV/movie watching and gaming. But if I watched a lot of hockey then I would have an issue with the amount of DSE my TV has. But I rarely do so I have no plans on exchanging my set.
The DSE my screen has is fine with football though.
Was looking at both the 65" and 55" R615 models in my local BB tonight.

Even in torch mode, I was pleasantly surprised. No visible DSE, no visible vertical banding. Slight corner vignetting was visible, but that was it. May have been hand picked display units, but I get the impression that BB isn't killing themselves to push these either.

The 'horrible' viewing angles didn't seem so bad in person either.
WRXpilot is online now  
post #3792 of 7502 Old 09-29-2018, 11:53 PM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXpilot View Post
Was looking at both the 65" and 55" R615 models in my local BB tonight.

Even in torch mode, I was pleasantly surprised. No visible DSE, no visible vertical banding. Slight corner vignetting was visible, but that was it. May have been hand picked display units, but I get the impression that BB isn't killing themselves to push these either.

The 'horrible' viewing angles didn't seem so bad in person either.
Absent a gray slide, you really need panning shots to make most DSE show up but I was able to see the bands on the 55" store display units at 3 different Best Buy stores running demo video. It was not evident on the three 65" store display models I viewed but again, the stock video had no panning shots. I have come to believe that the 65" panels may have better QC than the 55". If you look at the feedback comments on the BB website, there are numerous banding reports for the 55" but none (or few) on the 65" This is anecdotal but I believe it is harder to find a good 55" panel.

This is my first 55" panel. TCL agreed to replacement. Best Buy is coming to pick it up and bring a new one. The "severe band" is really more of a FALD light bleed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	55R615.jpg
Views:	122
Size:	32.5 KB
ID:	2462094  

Last edited by wavsine; 09-30-2018 at 12:04 AM.
wavsine is offline  
post #3793 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Where are you guys downloading the test screens?

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is offline  
post #3794 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 09:15 AM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
Where are you guys downloading the test screens?
https://www.rtings.com/images/test-m...Uniformity.png
kevin g. likes this.
wavsine is offline  
post #3795 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,765
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1167 Post(s)
Liked: 942
It's pretty normal on these TV's. If they had perfect uniformity they would cost twice as much. TCL chose to make compromises somewhere, and it's the panel. Not really a QC issue. If you go looking for it with test patterns, you're going to find issues especially if you consider panel variations. I also think more people buy the 55" at this price point but both 55/66 get made in the same way.

Sony XBR-77A9G / Panasonic DP-UB9000 / Marantz SR7011 / Def Tech 9060 Series
pbz06 is online now  
post #3796 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 10:49 AM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbz06 View Post
Not really a QC issue.
If its not a QC issue, then why are there some 55" panels that have no banding? I am not expecting perfection, just "decent" as rtings described the 55R617 that they reviewed.

Almost all LCD panels have some DSE if you go looking for it. But if the DSE is distracting while viewing regular content, that is unacceptable.
wavsine is offline  
post #3797 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Pres2play's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 3,000
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 877 Post(s)
Liked: 393
Bump..

Last edited by Pres2play; 09-30-2018 at 03:09 PM.
Pres2play is offline  
post #3798 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 03:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,205
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9505 Post(s)
Liked: 6206
Quote:
Originally Posted by methos75 View Post
Anyone playing Forza Horizon 4 this weekend care to share their game settings for HDR, I just cannot seem to get it to look right.
I use the same settings as everything else in HDR10. Only I enable Game mode. Horizon 4 looks superb on the 6 series.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 09-30-2018 at 03:08 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #3799 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 03:06 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,205
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9505 Post(s)
Liked: 6206
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbz06 View Post
It's pretty normal on these TV's. If they had perfect uniformity they would cost twice as much. TCL chose to make compromises somewhere, and it's the panel. Not really a QC issue. If you go looking for it with test patterns, you're going to find issues especially if you consider panel variations. I also think more people buy the 55" at this price point but both 55/66 get made in the same way.
Even the sets costing two, three, and four times as much dont have perfect uniformity. That is rare for it to be perfect with an LCD TV. I've seen issues with every LCd UHDTV I've looked at over the last three years.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3800 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 03:16 PM
Member
 
outbackpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gib6717 View Post
What's the best way to clean these screens?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk
I've cleaned mine three times with glass cleaner and paper towels and still have a film showing on the screen.
outbackpaul is offline  
post #3801 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 03:22 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,205
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9505 Post(s)
Liked: 6206
That reminds me I need to clean mine. I got some fingerprints on it when I installed it.

I use screen cleaner I always got from the calibrator when I used to have my HD sets professionally calibrated. I have so many bottles of them and have been using them for years. I guess they are still good since it's been working on my Sony UHDTV.


Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3802 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 04:39 PM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by outbackpaul View Post
I've cleaned mine three times with glass cleaner and paper towels and still have a film showing on the screen.
Don't ever use paper towels to clean the screen! They are abrasive to plastic.
aaronwt and Matt2026 like this.
wavsine is offline  
post #3803 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 06:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1836 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavsine View Post
Don't ever use paper towels to clean the screen! They are abrasive to plastic.
Yes agree, use a microfiber cloth. That's what I use. Never, ever use Windex or any cleaner like that. I know most people know but doesn't hurt to mention it.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Matt2026 likes this.
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #3804 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 06:08 PM
Member
 
outbackpaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Yes agree, use a microfiber cloth. That's what I use. Never, ever use Windex or any cleaner like that. I know most people know but doesn't hurt to mention it.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavsine View Post
Don't ever use paper towels to clean the screen! They are abrasive to plastic.
I guess I'll change. I've been using glass cleaner and paper towels for 10 years and never had a scratch or any other problem. I guess since this one is so thin I'll change.
outbackpaul is offline  
post #3805 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 06:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,209
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1836 Post(s)
Liked: 1129
Quote:
Originally Posted by outbackpaul View Post
I guess I'll change. I've been using glass cleaner and paper towels for 10 years and never had a scratch or any other problem. I guess since this one is so thin I'll change.
Yeah my mom has a lower end, run of the mill LG LCD and the cleaning lady used Windex and there are horrible streaks on the screen now.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #3806 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Which HDR setting is the best? I'm leaning towards Dark HDR because Normal HDR looks a bit oversaturated to me.
Karspankey is offline  
post #3807 of 7502 Old 09-30-2018, 08:04 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,205
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9505 Post(s)
Liked: 6206
Quote:
Originally Posted by Karspankey View Post
Which HDR setting is the best? I'm leaning towards Dark HDR because Normal HDR looks a bit oversaturated to me.
Dark HDR is what I use in a light controlled environment..

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #3808 of 7502 Old 10-01-2018, 05:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Dark HDR is what I use in a light controlled environment..
Ok, thanks!
Karspankey is offline  
post #3809 of 7502 Old 10-01-2018, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8,504
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3879 Post(s)
Liked: 3062
Quote:
Originally Posted by outbackpaul View Post
I guess I'll change. I've been using glass cleaner and paper towels for 10 years and never had a scratch or any other problem. I guess since this one is so thin I'll change.
You may not see obvious large scratches from using abrasive materials like paper towels but you are definitely creating micro scratches that will have a cumulative effect over time. The screen degradation can happen so slowly that you wouldn't notice a week-to-week or even month-to-month change. But if you use paper towels over many months and years the screen will definitely be degraded from new.
outbackpaul likes this.
Dave in Green is offline  
post #3810 of 7502 Old 10-01-2018, 08:37 AM
Senior Member
 
WRXpilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavsine View Post
Absent a gray slide, you really need panning shots to make most DSE show up but I was able to see the bands on the 55" store display units at 3 different Best Buy stores running demo video. It was not evident on the three 65" store display models I viewed but again, the stock video had no panning shots. I have come to believe that the 65" panels may have better QC than the 55". If you look at the feedback comments on the BB website, there are numerous banding reports for the 55" but none (or few) on the 65" This is anecdotal but I believe it is harder to find a good 55" panel.
Yeah, don't get me wrong - I'm not intending to deny that a fraction of these sets have significant banding issues. I can clearly see the non-uniformity in your attached picture, for example, and the many others posted in here and elsewhere on the internet.


I just didn't see it personally in the two TVs I've been able to see in person. Nor did I see it in the Vizio P series I was looking at while at the same store. I'm starting to come to the conclusion that I'm not terribly sensitive to DSE and banding. After the pictures online, I was expecting to be able to clearly see it in any content with a uniform white background. I guess it really is a panel lottery, and that's basically that.
WRXpilot is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off