TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 151 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3485Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4501 of 6761 Old 12-28-2018, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
Makaveli6103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 18
TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review

Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
Is this based on an official TCL press release (link) or web chatter? I'm not doubting you, just wondering where you got this information from.
A simple Google search would have revealed multiple articles.

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.ph...&id=1545805076

https://www.hdtvtest.co.uk/n/Samsung...HDR10-Adoption
Makaveli6103 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4502 of 6761 Old 12-28-2018, 10:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli6103 View Post
I don't need to google search anything when I'm not looking for it. The user posted something and I asked for confirmation. I don't post stuff or make claims without a source link to show where I got the info from.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #4503 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 05:49 AM
Senior Member
 
smdelaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greater Boston, MA
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post
Since TCL is now joining the HDR 10+ alliance, I'm hoping they add to the r615 and r617.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli6103 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
I don't need to google search anything when I'm not looking for it. The user posted something and I asked for confirmation. I don't post stuff or make claims without a source link to show where I got the info from.
@solarrdadd is right to doubt the quoted sources. TCL is not listed as an adopter on the official HDR10+ web site. The images shown...at least in the quoted flatpanelshd.com article...are flawed and inaccurate. They were published by Samsung who also (as seen in the first flatpanelsh image) displayed the ARSTechnica logo in that press release and ARS has explicitly come out to say that “Samsung x Ars Technica” is not happening.

The hdtvtest.co.uk article also appears to refer to the same Samsung press release, but all that release actually says is that
Samsung plans to build a new HDR10+ center in China with TIRT, a national testing and inspection center for the Chinese consumer electronics, in December. The center is designed to help Chinese TV manufacturers, including Hisense, TCL and Konka to access the certification procedure and in turn accelerate the expansion of the HDR10+ ecosystem.
solarrdadd likes this.

"You keep using that word...I do not think it means what you think it means."

-Steve-

TCL 55R617, Denon AVR-X2400H, Philips BDP-7502, Onkyo DX-C390, (2) HEOS 3HS2's,
Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble (FR/FL), MC150 (C), S100 (SR/SL), KLH E-12DB (SW)
smdelaney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4504 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 07:39 AM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by davcole View Post
Since TCL is now joining the HDR 10+ alliance, I'm hoping they add to the r615 and r617.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
"TCL and Hisense have also joined the HDR10+ initiative but it appears to relate only to the Chinese market - at least for now."

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.ph...&id=1545805076
wavsine is offline  
post #4505 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 7,928
Mentioned: 140 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3578 Post(s)
Liked: 2767
My general rule of thumb has always been to have a healthy skepticism for anything I read on a forum or social media unless it's confirmed by multiple reliable sources and to expect others to feel the same about anything I post.
THX1720 likes this.
Dave in Green is offline  
post #4506 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
smdelaney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Greater Boston, MA
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave in Green View Post
My general rule of thumb has always been to have a healthy skepticism for anything I read on a forum or social media unless it's confirmed by multiple reliable sources and to expect others to feel the same about anything I post.
Spot on, @Dave in Green ...
The Flatpanelshd site didn't cite any sources directly but appears to refer to the Samsung press release I quoted in my previous post. It is in Samsung's interest to exagerate HDR10+ participation as it is their standard and they are arguably the the biggest of the Dolby Vision hold outs.

Don't get me.wrong...I'm hopeful that TCL will support HDR10+ and sooner rather than later... anything that makes these format wars invisible to the consumer is a good thing but I'll believe it when I see a related press release directly from TCL.
aaronwt likes this.

"You keep using that word...I do not think it means what you think it means."

-Steve-

TCL 55R617, Denon AVR-X2400H, Philips BDP-7502, Onkyo DX-C390, (2) HEOS 3HS2's,
Cambridge Soundworks Ensemble (FR/FL), MC150 (C), S100 (SR/SL), KLH E-12DB (SW)
smdelaney is offline  
post #4507 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 05:34 PM
Newbie
 
milkyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sent my TCL 55R615 back today. Could not resolve issue with the OTA antenna reception. I had lost 2 main channels and their sub channels, for a total of 8 channels lost, about 1/3 of the total channels. I spent a day working with the antenna trying to improve reception with no luck. Channels we still got looked grainy, even with 5 bars of reception, pixalation on channels with 2 bars. I hooked the old Sony TV back and wam all the channels returned with great picture on a 10 year old TV. I could not adjust any settings to compensate for what we were seeing. TV set was returned, and now back to the old TV. The better half stated that when we were watching movies she thought we had the 3D version without the glasses. I do not know if the tuner had an issue or they just put a crappy tuner in this tv, looking for some feedback.

TCL-55R615, Yamaha 1080 soundbar using ARC. ONKYO HT-R560 limited use
milkyeye is offline  
post #4508 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 05:40 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,391
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5730
I've never even checked the tuner in my TCL. If I remember correctly it has a way to buffer a tuner if you hook up flash drive to it. But I just can't watch live TV and be exposed to all the commercials.
DavidK442 and srkmish like this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #4509 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 06:17 PM
Newbie
 
milkyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I never tried the thumbdrive, pause live tv thing. I need the tuner to work, no cable tv here, just streaming/internet. I lost one of the major networks hooking this tv up, switch back to the old tv, and its back again. Don't watch live tv much but need it for everyone in the house

TCL-55R615, Yamaha 1080 soundbar using ARC. ONKYO HT-R560 limited use
milkyeye is offline  
post #4510 of 6761 Old 12-29-2018, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
ppasteur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Denver, Co
Posts: 652
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 179 Post(s)
Liked: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkyeye View Post
Sent my TCL 55R615 back today. Could not resolve issue with the OTA antenna reception. I had lost 2 main channels and their sub channels, for a total of 8 channels lost, about 1/3 of the total channels. I spent a day working with the antenna trying to improve reception with no luck. Channels we still got looked grainy, even with 5 bars of reception, pixalation on channels with 2 bars. I hooked the old Sony TV back and wam all the channels returned with great picture on a 10 year old TV. I could not adjust any settings to compensate for what we were seeing. TV set was returned, and now back to the old TV. The better half stated that when we were watching movies she thought we had the 3D version without the glasses. I do not know if the tuner had an issue or they just put a crappy tuner in this tv, looking for some feedback.
I know it is not helpful, but I get all of the channels on the 55R617 that I do on all of the other 8 tuners I have in my system.
I do have external antennas and an optimized distribution system... but the signal levels on the TCL looking at the internal meter looks comparable. Sorry you had the problem! The TV does do a good job of upconverting from crap TV to 4k too.
ppasteur is offline  
post #4511 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 12:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,405
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2365 Post(s)
Liked: 1941
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkyeye View Post
Sent my TCL 55R615 back today. Could not resolve issue with the OTA antenna reception. I had lost 2 main channels and their sub channels, for a total of 8 channels lost, about 1/3 of the total channels. I spent a day working with the antenna trying to improve reception with no luck. Channels we still got looked grainy, even with 5 bars of reception, pixalation on channels with 2 bars. I hooked the old Sony TV back and wam all the channels returned with great picture on a 10 year old TV. I could not adjust any settings to compensate for what we were seeing. TV set was returned, and now back to the old TV. The better half stated that when we were watching movies she thought we had the 3D version without the glasses. I do not know if the tuner had an issue or they just put a crappy tuner in this tv, looking for some feedback.
I had that issue also, losing channels. Your issue had nothing to do with the antenna or even the tuner - the solution to get your lost channels back is to have the TV start from scratch scanning for the channels. You may have to repeat the process till you get the channels you want.

You may want to look into something like the HDHomeRun if you're having trouble with reception from the built-in tuner.

Also, the downside to a 4K panel is everything not in UHD gets upscaled which is asking a lot of your sub channels.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)

Last edited by venus933; 12-30-2018 at 12:15 AM.
venus933 is offline  
post #4512 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 12:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
venus933's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,405
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2365 Post(s)
Liked: 1941
Is there any truth that the 65" model has less issues with uniformity and DSE than the 55" model? Has quality control improved where these models are less prone to these issues?

Earlier in the the year I had the 55R615 but returned it for such issues.

LG 65B8 - Primary
LG 55EG9100 - Bedroom
Sonos Playbase
MS Xbox One S (using strictly as a disk player)
venus933 is offline  
post #4513 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 08:48 AM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
Is there any truth that the 65" model has less issues with uniformity and DSE than the 55" model? Has quality control improved where these models are less prone to these issues?

Earlier in the the year I had the 55R615 but returned it for such issues.
All I can offer is anecdotal observation. If you look at the Best Buy website feedback on the TCL 6 series, there are far fewer complaints of banding/DSE on the 65" model. When I look at the 55" display model in the BB showrooms, I can see bands on demo video at 3 different stores. All the 65" models looked clean.

So unscientifically, I would say you are more likely to get a good panel on the first try with the 65".
venus933 and srkmish like this.

Last edited by wavsine; 12-30-2018 at 09:24 AM.
wavsine is offline  
post #4514 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I'm sure it has been discussed here before but I just tried bias lighting and my god I swear my 55R617 looks like an OLED now! I got this one for $20 (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...qh_dp_hza?th=1) and I couldn't recommend it more. I got the large and put it around the top and sides of the TV (If your TV is mounted you might want the XL and put it all the way around).

Seriously give it a try. With HDR/Dolby Vision movies the black bars weren't quite good enough as you have to turn the backlight up and there was serious blooming in certain scenes. I just watched Infinity War in a pitch black room other than the bias lighting and even in dark scenes I have to stare at those bars as hard as I can to see them even a little bit. With regular blu-rays I literally can't see them. Plus black levels/blooming on the whole picture is way better. On top of that because the blacks actually look black the rest of the picture pops a bit more.

I was skeptical but even only using it for one day I know I will never go back. Like seriously I was considering saving for an OLED and although I think I will eventually get one it isn't even something I'm gonna think about for a few years because of this lighting.

Last edited by alurry; 12-30-2018 at 12:28 PM.
alurry is offline  
post #4515 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by alurry View Post
I'm sure it has been discussed here before but I just tried bias lighting and my god I swear my 55R617 looks like an OLED now! I got this one for $20 (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...qh_dp_hza?th=1) and I couldn't recommend it more. I got the large and put it around the top and sides of the TV (If your TV is mounted you might want the XL and put it all the way around).



Seriously give it a try. With HDR/Dolby Vision movies the black bars weren't quite good enough as you have to turn the backlight up and there was serious blooming in certain scenes. I just watched Infinity War in a pitch black room other than the bias lighting and even in dark scenes I have to stare at those bars as hard as I can to see them even a little bit. With regular blu-rays I literally can't see them. Plus black levels/blooming on the whole picture is way better. On top of that because the blacks actually look black the rest of the picture pops a bit more.



I was skeptical but even only using it for one day I know I will never go back. Like seriously I was considering saving for an OLED and although I think I will eventually get one it isn't even something I'm gonna think about for a few years because of this lighting.
Yea, the black levels on this TV are amazing. I've owned 2 OLEDs and 2 of the TCLs and they hold their own in black level performance....probably the best value 4k TVs pound for pound in performance

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
aaronwt and srkmish like this.
tbass2k is offline  
post #4516 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 09:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 37
It seems that the Google Play app on this TV doesn't support 4K. I found a 4K version of Close Encounters on iTunes, and was trying to find a way to play it in 4K, as my Apple TV is the forth generation model. I've got all my movies linked via Movies Anywhere, but the Google Play app wasn't playing the 4K titles I have properly. Anyone have any ideas? I don't really want to buy an Apple TV 4K right at the moment just to play this one title.
Bill Wolfer is offline  
post #4517 of 6761 Old 12-30-2018, 11:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
Yea, the black levels on this TV are amazing. I've owned 2 OLEDs and 2 of the TCLs and they hold their own in black level performance....probably the best value 4k TVs pound for pound in performance

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
I find the 55” of this compares nicely to my 75” 900F. I probably wouldn’t have been disappointed had they offered this in a 75” size. I would’ve tried it for sure.

I’ve got a Samsung HW-M550 soundbar coming tomorrow for the TCL in my bedroom and am looking forward to checking it out and hopefully don’t run into any issues with it.
acphydro is offline  
post #4518 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 04:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbz06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,420
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 929 Post(s)
Liked: 779
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
I find the 55” of this compares nicely to my 75” 900F. I probably wouldn’t have been disappointed had they offered this in a 75” size. I would’ve tried it for sure.



I’ve got a Samsung HW-M550 soundbar coming tomorrow for the TCL in my bedroom and am looking forward to checking it out and hopefully don’t run into any issues with it.
I have the ms650 soundbar with the 55" TCL 615 and it's worked great via ARC and HDMI (I use internal apps). Make sure you enable within TV the HDMI settings for communication (forgot what it's called in the menu) an in Audio settings manually select Dolby Digital to be safe so the soundbar can down convert to 3.1. I think DTS is only 2.0.

Also, I set up the wifi and samsung app on my phone to update firmware. With the soundbar, I use the Cinema/movie preset.

Sony XBR-65Z9D / Oppo UDP-203 / Marantz SR7011 / Def Tech 9060 Series
pbz06 is online now  
post #4519 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 02:16 PM
Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Now that the NFL season is nearly over, how has this TV been for watching football? I don't watch a ton of sports, but I do like to watch football now and then.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is offline  
post #4520 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 03:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by mhyatt5871 View Post
Now that the NFL season is nearly over, how has this TV been for watching football? I don't watch a ton of sports, but I do like to watch football now and then.
I watched a good amount of football on my 55” throughout the past few months and I have no complaints. My primary usage is NFL and Directv.
acphydro is offline  
post #4521 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 03:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 291 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbz06 View Post
I have the ms650 soundbar with the 55" TCL 615 and it's worked great via ARC and HDMI (I use internal apps). Make sure you enable within TV the HDMI settings for communication (forgot what it's called in the menu) an in Audio settings manually select Dolby Digital to be safe so the soundbar can down convert to 3.1. I think DTS is only 2.0.

Also, I set up the wifi and samsung app on my phone to update firmware. With the soundbar, I use the Cinema/movie preset.
I haven’t decided if I’m going to do ARC or Optical yet. I don’t really care though as it’s just to upgrade the TV speakers. I got the unit for $140 and found the expansion surround speakers for $50. Will be a huge upgrade over TV speakers. I’ll probably give ARC a go. Thanks.
mhyatt5871 likes this.
acphydro is offline  
post #4522 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 03:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 169
I've never had any issues with the quality of the tv for watching football other than the crappy season my peoples had and I'm glad the regular season is over!

The. Tv has been nothing short of great in every respect.

TCL wish list:

When using the streaming apps, there is no way for the tv to tell what resolution it's getting from the app. It can of course tell HDR/DV. Example, watching Pluto, I can't tell the resolution the app is sending to me. Netflix has some tv with 4k only, but how can I've sure I'm getting 4k and is it 60/24fps. When I'm using the hdmi inputs, I can see that info with a push of a button. I can see most of that info when on one of my tv's I check the OTA channel I can get that info. So a way to tell what resolution apps are actually giving is my one thing on my wish list. Other than that, with my 3 TCL tv's, I am nothing but happy.
tubers and mhyatt5871 like this.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #4523 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 03:10 PM
Member
 
mhyatt5871's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by acphydro View Post
I watched a good amount of football on my 55” throughout the past few months and I have no complaints. My primary usage is NFL and Directv.
Good to hear. I also use Directv. I currently have the Samsung Q6FN, and I'm not impressed at all. During HDR content, you can see light bleeding from the bottom. Dark scenes get pretty washed out. I expected a lot more from the QLED line. Of course, this is a budget QLED, but still... Anyway, I'm looking into exchanging it for the TCL.
srkmish likes this.

Sony X900F
Xbox One X
PS4 Pro
mhyatt5871 is offline  
post #4524 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
milkyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by venus933 View Post
I had that issue also, losing channels. Your issue had nothing to do with the antenna or even the tuner - the solution to get your lost channels back is to have the TV start from scratch scanning for the channels. You may have to repeat the process till you get the channels you want.

You may want to look into something like the HDHomeRun if you're having trouble with reception from the built-in tuner.

Also, the downside to a 4K panel is everything not in UHD gets upscaled which is asking a lot of your sub channels.

Did that, rescanned multiple times from scratch, with the same result. The fact is with the antenna in the same position, switching from the the New TCL tv I lost channels. Hooking the old tv back up the channels would be restored. Either the tuner for this tv is supar, or there was something wrong with it. I agree with with your last statement about upscaling subchannels, unfortunately, I was having issues with main news channels broadcast in 1080, when the old tv would display it fine.

I liked the roku interface, the casting of photos and videos from my phone, and the ARC function to the soundbar.

TCL-55R615, Yamaha 1080 soundbar using ARC. ONKYO HT-R560 limited use
milkyeye is offline  
post #4525 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 05:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
Yea, the black levels on this TV are amazing. I've owned 2 OLEDs and 2 of the TCLs and they hold their own in black level performance....probably the best value 4k TVs pound for pound in performance

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

Great black levels until a light source comes on the screen then you get blooming up the yin-yang... if it was just on the black bars I could live with it but when you get blooming on screen, that is a deal breaker.
fiberoptic2018 is offline  
post #4526 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 05:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by alurry View Post
I'm sure it has been discussed here before but I just tried bias lighting and my god I swear my 55R617 looks like an OLED now! I got this one for $20 (https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...qh_dp_hza?th=1) and I couldn't recommend it more. I got the large and put it around the top and sides of the TV (If your TV is mounted you might want the XL and put it all the way around).

Seriously give it a try. With HDR/Dolby Vision movies the black bars weren't quite good enough as you have to turn the backlight up and there was serious blooming in certain scenes. I just watched Infinity War in a pitch black room other than the bias lighting and even in dark scenes I have to stare at those bars as hard as I can to see them even a little bit. With regular blu-rays I literally can't see them. Plus black levels/blooming on the whole picture is way better. On top of that because the blacks actually look black the rest of the picture pops a bit more.

I was skeptical but even only using it for one day I know I will never go back. Like seriously I was considering saving for an OLED and although I think I will eventually get one it isn't even something I'm gonna think about for a few years because of this lighting.

Have any before and after pics or video? Does it handle blooming on the middle of the screen too or just the black bars?
fiberoptic2018 is offline  
post #4527 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tbass2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Alabama
Posts: 1,294
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by fiberoptic2018 View Post
Great black levels until a light source comes on the screen then you get blooming up the yin-yang... if it was just on the black bars I could live with it but when you get blooming on screen, that is a deal breaker.
I'm not experiencing blooming, what settings are you using? Have you calibrated your TV? Are you experiencing this with sdr and hdr?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
tbass2k is offline  
post #4528 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 07:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbass2k View Post
I'm not experiencing blooming, what settings are you using? Have you calibrated your TV? Are you experiencing this with sdr and hdr?

Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk

I see it on all Youtube videos, when you hover the mouse over the screen on a dark imaged video on full screen the title on top left and the clock and arrow on the top right and the bottom video time bar all have a distracting white glow. Now that is only for a few seconds because those "annotations" go away when you are not moving the mouse, but it shows how bad the blooming is.


Same on HDR and sdr dark scenes on bluray using a Sony X700. They go away when the backlight and brightness are lowered but you lose the inky blacks.


I adjusted and went through all the TV settings and the gamma on the Roku app using bluray and HDR source material and other images on a USB stick.


One that stuck out was First Blood 4K disc when Rambo is in a cave with the only light source is a flame, inky blacks but a white glowing all around him. It is not that long of a scene but it really ruins the experience. Then I'm stopping the movie and going through all the settings.
fiberoptic2018 is offline  
post #4529 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 07:15 PM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by milkyeye View Post
Either the tuner for this tv is supar, or there was something wrong with it.
The tuner in my 55R615 is excellent. I am pulling in channels that my LG HDTV could not get.
wavsine is offline  
post #4530 of 6761 Old 12-31-2018, 07:20 PM
Newbie
 
milkyeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wavsine View Post
The tuner in my 55R615 is excellent. I am pulling in channels that my LG HDTV could not get.

Then, there was something wrong with the TV I purchased, and I needed to send it back.

TCL-55R615, Yamaha 1080 soundbar using ARC. ONKYO HT-R560 limited use
milkyeye is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off