TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 191 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3990Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5701 of 8077 Old 03-22-2019, 05:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,145
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNameIsSam View Post


What type of alert do you have from BB that notified you of the sale?

If it weren't for this site (and your post), I would not have known that the 75R615 had gone on sale. I contacted BB Customer service and barely made the cut off for price matching.
I set up an alert on Slickdeals forum last spring when I was ready to buy the 55" version. Also have a google alert set too.


https://slickdeals.net/f/12946234-tc...si_v2_47835067
Matt L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5702 of 8077 Old 03-22-2019, 05:42 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,838
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9925 Post(s)
Liked: 6560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob67 View Post
So, just in case anyone comes across my earlier post and is in the same predicament, I have resolved my issue with streaming UHD material from my local Plex server. I just bought an Nvidia Shield. That's right. I had to buy a streaming device to stream UHD content to my streaming device.

Because the TCL Roku TV only has a 10/100 NIC and their wireless throughput is not very good, I went with the Shield. This device has a full gig NIC Ethernet port and the Wireless connection crushes the Roku TV.

Moral of the story...if you have a Plex server on your LAN and you want to stream uncompressed UHD content, you need to use an external device.
Like my other devices with only a 100BT Ethernet port, my TCL Roku TV can stream my UHD rips just fine with wireless. Since I can get 130Mb/s throughput over it's wireless AC connection. It's the same with my Roku Ultra and my Sony X800 UHD BD player. I use their wifi connections because of faster speeds than what their Ethernet port provides.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5703 of 8077 Old 03-22-2019, 05:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,145
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 823 Post(s)
Liked: 682
I was more than unhappy with both the PLEX and Emby apps on my TCL. Perhaps it was my fault maybe I did not set it up right, from my research my computer should have been powerful enough to support it, but for whatever reason it was crappy playback - but not due to network limitations. I found for me it would not pass Atmos, and no matter how I tried it transcoded everything regardless of setting. The PLEX forums where less than helpful, lot of attitude over there. So at this point I stream files directly from my NAS to my Samsung 8500 UHD player. My Asus router shows up as a media server and feeds a perfect uncompressed, full Atmos feed that I enjoy. The file display is very minimal and lacking the goodness of PLEX -- BUT IT WORKS!
Matt L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5704 of 8077 Old 03-22-2019, 08:30 PM
Member
 
coneslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
I found for me it would not pass Atmos, and no matter how I tried it transcoded everything regardless of setting.
There is no output on the TV (optical or ARC) capable of carrying TrueHD+Atmos. This is the limitation that eARC is intended to fix.
coneslayer is offline  
post #5705 of 8077 Old 03-23-2019, 06:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Like my other devices with only a 100BT Ethernet port, my TCL Roku TV can stream my UHD rips just fine with wireless. Since I can get 130Mb/s throughput over it's wireless AC connection. It's the same with my Roku Ultra and my Sony X800 UHD BD player. I use their wifi connections because of faster speeds than what their Ethernet port provides.
I wish that was the case for me. Either the TCL doesn't like Netgear Orbi devices or I have a defective set.

Can I ask how you are verifying that you have 130Mbps on the TCL set? The only speedtest or network test options I have found are Netflix and Youtube. And, those are testing Internet speeds, not LAN speeds. Netflix caps around 25 - 27Mbps, for instance.
Rob67 is offline  
post #5706 of 8077 Old 03-23-2019, 06:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
I was more than unhappy with both the PLEX and Emby apps on my TCL. Perhaps it was my fault maybe I did not set it up right, from my research my computer should have been powerful enough to support it, but for whatever reason it was crappy playback - but not due to network limitations. I found for me it would not pass Atmos, and no matter how I tried it transcoded everything regardless of setting. The PLEX forums where less than helpful, lot of attitude over there. So at this point I stream files directly from my NAS to my Samsung 8500 UHD player. My Asus router shows up as a media server and feeds a perfect uncompressed, full Atmos feed that I enjoy. The file display is very minimal and lacking the goodness of PLEX -- BUT IT WORKS!
Quote:
Originally Posted by coneslayer View Post
There is no output on the TV (optical or ARC) capable of carrying TrueHD+Atmos. This is the limitation that eARC is intended to fix.
Aside from the full gigabit Ethernet port, this is also why I am getting the Nvidia Shield. It offers TueHD+Atmos pass-through via HDMI. Really have no option for HD audio from the streaming apps on the TV itself.
Rob67 is offline  
post #5707 of 8077 Old 03-23-2019, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 3,938
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2444 Post(s)
Liked: 3238
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob67 View Post
Aside from the full gigabit Ethernet port, this is also why I am getting the Nvidia Shield. It offers TueHD+Atmos pass-through via HDMI. Really have no option for HD audio from the streaming apps on the TV itself.
The Shield is True HD capable but it will have the same lossy restrictions as the TCL internal streaming apps. True HD will only come into play for your lossless files
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #5708 of 8077 Old 03-23-2019, 07:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
The Shield is True HD capable but it will have the same lossy restrictions as the TCL internal streaming apps. True HD will only come into play for your lossless files
Correct. As I am trying to pass lossless audio through my local Plex server, using the TCL Roku Plex app introduces this limitation because of the current generation of ARC.
Rob67 is offline  
post #5709 of 8077 Old 03-24-2019, 05:49 AM
Member
 
woodhead2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Mn
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thinking about ordering this TV from Amazon. Is it still hit and miss with the panels? Or have they got it fixed.
woodhead2 is online now  
post #5710 of 8077 Old 03-24-2019, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 62,541
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3404 Post(s)
Liked: 3160
Send a message via Yahoo to dad1153
^^^ The bigger the size of the TCL Series 6 model the less appears to be a problem with the panels (not a scientific fact, just what can be read through the AVS grapevine), and the 65" seems like the sweet spot (performance/price/reliability-wise) between the 55" and 75". Just order your 65" TCL from a store (online or M&B) with a good return policy and you'll have some peace of mind in the unlikely-but-who-knows chance you get a bad panel.
woodhead2 likes this.
dad1153 is offline  
post #5711 of 8077 Old 03-24-2019, 07:29 AM
Member
 
woodhead2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Northern Mn
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by dad1153 View Post
^^^ The bigger the size of the TCL Series 6 model the less appears to be a problem with the panels (not a scientific fact, just what can be read through the AVS grapevine), and the 65" seems like the sweet spot (performance/price/reliability-wise) between the 55" and 75". Just order your 65" TCL from a store (online or M&B) with a good return policy and you'll have some peace of mind in the unlikely-but-who-knows chance you get a bad panel.
Thank you
woodhead2 is online now  
post #5712 of 8077 Old 03-24-2019, 11:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob67 View Post
Either the TCL doesn't like Netgear Orbi devices or I have a defective set.

Can I ask how you are verifying that you have 130Mbps on the TCL set?

Does the Orbi app not have a built in speed test? With Google Wifi, you can test your internet speed and the speed for each device connected to your network.



Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Really? You didn't notice any atmos effects. I noticed them in a bunch of the scenes I watched earlier this week from Black panther. They were the same in the digital version as well as the disc version.
Hmm, I thought I replied but apparently not.

They were there but not "Wow! It really sounds like something is above you." Essentially, not very noticeable at all.

(IMO) If you wanted to show off Atmos effects to someone who had never experienced Atmos, Black Panther, would be a horrible choice.

TV: TCL 75R615
Reciever: Onkyo TX-NR787 running in a 5.4.4 configuration
Speakers: Polk T Series
Subwoofers: Dual SVS PB12-NSD and dual SVS PB-1000.
Gaming Systems: PlayStation 4 Pro and Nintendo Switch.
TheNameIsSam is offline  
post #5713 of 8077 Old 03-24-2019, 02:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNameIsSam View Post
Does the Orbi app not have a built in speed test? With Google Wifi, you can test your internet speed and the speed for each device connected to your network.
In AP mode, the Orbi system UI is very underwhelming. I think it may include that capability if you are using it as your main router. For me, I am using the Verizon FiOS Quantam router as my main ingress point and the Orbi devices are in AP mode for wireless.
Rob67 is offline  
post #5714 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 06:19 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,838
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9925 Post(s)
Liked: 6560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob67 View Post
I wish that was the case for me. Either the TCL doesn't like Netgear Orbi devices or I have a defective set.



Can I ask how you are verifying that you have 130Mbps on the TCL set? The only speedtest or network test options I have found are Netflix and Youtube. And, those are testing Internet speeds, not LAN speeds. Netflix caps around 25 - 27Mbps, for instance.
I use the jellyfish tests. Each je!lyfish video has a speciifc bitrate. All the way up to over 200Mbps. They have always been an excellent indicator of the bitrates that streaming devices are capable of streaming over a network. Or from local storage.

Plus I also have some other, longer videos with average bitrates exceeding 100Mbps. Those are also a great way to see how a device will stream over wireless. They can't be played over a 100mbps wired connection without buffering. If the device can play those over WiFi without buffering, then the device will definitely have no issues streaming my UHD BD rips over Wi-Fi.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 03-25-2019 at 06:27 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #5715 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 11:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Rob67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I use the jellyfish tests. Each je!lyfish video has a speciifc bitrate. All the way up to over 200Mbps. They have always been an excellent indicator of the bitrates that streaming devices are capable of streaming over a network. Or from local storage.

Plus I also have some other, longer videos with average bitrates exceeding 100Mbps. Those are also a great way to see how a device will stream over wireless. They can't be played over a 100mbps wired connection without buffering. If the device can play those over WiFi without buffering, then the device will definitely have no issues streaming my UHD BD rips over Wi-Fi.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
Thank you! Just looked those up and I will definitely be adding them to my testing toolset. I had been using a UHD movie that consistently buffers on the 10/100 NIC. If I stream it via the Plex app, I can go to the server and see the streaming throughput in real time. That is how I learned that the 5GHz network was bombing out at around 45Mbps for me.

These will make it easier to test.
Rob67 is offline  
post #5716 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
shesha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 53
So there's a few more days left in this quarter, and still no firmware update for DV.
shesha is offline  
post #5717 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 11:59 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,838
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9925 Post(s)
Liked: 6560
I still haven't received the 9.x OS.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5718 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 114
hey there. is there a setting thread for this set or a general consensus as to the best setting to use for this set?
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #5719 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
shesha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by toomanytvstosee View Post
hey there. is there a setting thread for this set or a general consensus as to the best setting to use for this set?
I personally found the Rtings settings to be the best, of course I also made a few minor tweaks to suit my likes, such as using HDR Normal instead of dark which they suggest. You must include the tweaks only found in the APP too though, such as disabling DNR that was important.
shesha is offline  
post #5720 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 03:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I still haven't received the 9.x OS.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shesha View Post
So there's a few more days left in this quarter, and still no firmware update for DV.
Tonight, all 3 of my TCL's listed in my sig got the 9.0 OS update and all are working fine.

I am not sure if the DV is wrapped up in the 9.0 update or not as I haven't turned on my Xbox Oneto see if it is or if it's a separate standalone update for DV for the Xbox One or not. We still have a couple of days to go before the crying can start so let's give TCL the additional six days before the beatings. I'm still gonna be right there with you if it isn't released before the first day of April.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #5721 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 03:29 PM
Senior Member
 
shesha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
Tonight, all 3 of my TCL's listed in my sig got the 9.0 OS update and all are working fine.

I am not sure if the DV is wrapped up in the 9.0 update or not as I haven't turned on my Xbox Oneto see if it is or if it's a separate standalone update for DV for the Xbox One or not. We still have a couple of days to go before the crying can start so let's give TCL the additional six days before the beatings. I'm still gonna be right there with you if it isn't released before the first day of April.

Does anyone have notes to what the firmware is for?
shesha is offline  
post #5722 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 03:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by shesha View Post
Does anyone have notes to what the firmware is for?
it was for the update to ROKU OS 9.0 according to Roku, here are the improvements under 9.0

i do suspect the Xbox DV update is coming from TCL and not from ROKU probably under a separate update, but, i'm not sure.

i'll try to turn on my HT setup with the 6 series and my Xbox tonight to see if TCL bundled the DV update in there with the 9.0 update.

Roku doesn't mention anything about DV.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #5723 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 04:57 PM
Member
 
khcoach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 72
ok got home and checked for update and the firmware 9.XX or whatever was available. Downloaded and installed, fired up the XboneX and it said your TV has a few new features (something like that) would you like to enable? Yup. So now it shows Dolby Vision enabled and it also now has Low Latency mode, meaning it will turn on "Game mode" on the TV when you start up a game. Just started up a game to test (non HDR and not time to test out DV yet as I'm watching a hockey game and between periods).


Closed out of the game and it turned off Game mode. I'll test out DV later with Netflix.
PlanetAVS likes this.
khcoach is offline  
post #5724 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
shesha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 399
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 53
9.0 just came through for me and Xbox now says it supports DV!!!!!!
shesha is offline  
post #5725 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 06:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
PlanetAVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: TX, USA
Posts: 3,938
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2444 Post(s)
Liked: 3238
Updated my P605 to Roku 9.0 tonight as well. Note that I had to initiate a 2nd system update after the firmware update, in order to update about 8 apps including Directv Now and the Roku channel.

I don't have an XB1X to test for DV
PlanetAVS is online now  
post #5726 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 07:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 332
well, the update to 9.0 and DV for xbox didn't come without issue. before the update i could watch certain programs on netflix with the xbox one with no problem, just HDR, but now, i get them in DV, but, they don't display properly, here are the titles i tried that i noticed didn't display properly:

Cloverfield Paradox DV
Love Death & Robots DV (mostly animated)
Next Gen DV (animated)
Godzilla P1,2 & 3 DV (animated)
Blame DV (animated)
Ballad of Buster Scruggs DV

here is a shot from Cloverfield Paradox DV, click to enlarge.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7170.JPG
Views:	39
Size:	241.3 KB
ID:	2544354

it shrinks down into the upper left hand corner of the screen, the same is true with the other titles listed. sorry about the crappy phone picture, but, you get the idea.

despite how it looks, it shows perfectly in that tiny "window" and it's the entire movie. it has only happened with the titles listed. don't know why either, but it does. for all other DV programming on netflix, via xbox one, they display properly.

i also noticed that everything on netflix that says Ultra HD 4K now is shown in DV despite the netflix banner saying Ultra HD 4K and there isn't anything wrong with it's appearance or it's aspect ratio unlike the titles mentioned above.

i also noticed all my games played fine on the xbox, i did notice it now automatically switches the tv to "game mode" when playing games and it didn't do that before the update to 9.0

when watching netflix via the 6 series direct (Roku OS) all the above mentioned titles show properly.

wondering how other users of this tv and the xbox one is and if it's similar to mine. i really watch netflix on my xbox, but, until the netflix app at large gets the ATMOS update for all systems, it's the only way for me to get ATMOS audio via the xbox. so, i do watch some things on netflix via xbox one for that reason.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!

Last edited by solarrdadd; 03-25-2019 at 07:22 PM.
solarrdadd is offline  
post #5727 of 8077 Old 03-25-2019, 10:22 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,838
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9925 Post(s)
Liked: 6560
Yes I got the 9 is update too. And it is most definitely a change for the worse. If the person having issues with Black panther being too dark was on 9.0, then that is the reason. With the 9 oS things completely changed. I used to have a great looking picture, now it looks like crap with the same settings I had before.

I haven't looked at any hdr10 content yet, just DV. It also looks like Bright DV and Normal DV reversed from how it was before. Before the colors looked great with dark and bright while Normal looked funky. Now bright looks funky and normal looks light bright used to. Plus Dark DV is extremely dark now. Which was not the case before.

I guess I'm going to need to do a complete reset with the TV to see if that helps?

Edit: and another issue I have is that DV is not working from my ATV4K any more. Although it's still working from my Firetv 4K. And I see it's now working from my XB1X.
No idea what's going on with the ATV4K and the TCL, but before it worked flawlessly together. But now it is screwed up. I can't even get the ATV4K to automatically switch to hdr10. It just stays in SDR with match range on. I've already rebooted both of them several times with the same results.

So far with my 6 Series TCL, OS9 seems like a hundred steps backwards.
Sent from my FireHD 10 using Tapatalk

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 03-26-2019 at 08:09 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #5728 of 8077 Old 03-26-2019, 07:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 903
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 332
you would think in this day and age that these things are tested over and over again with all the popular devices connected to them as well as the target device (the tv itself) to ensure everything is good. i have to gather that didn't occur. shouldn't see these things happening after an OS update. somewhat fix one thing, break 4 other things that were working fine.

hopefully, they will get a patch out soon once all the complaints come in and i'm sure there will be plenty, some of which are in my previous post.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #5729 of 8077 Old 03-26-2019, 07:30 AM
Member
 
JR-78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
First post, but I have been coming here for years and years.

I read the "best 65" gaming TV under $1000" review and the more general "TCL 65″ 6-Series 4K HDR Roku TV with Dolby Vision" review. Both were great reviews. So I'm wondering if this is the TV for me?

Right now I have a Panasonic VIERA TC-P50U50 50" Plasma from 2012. I dialed in the picture quality settings using a blend of online recommendations plus the test patterns from the Disney World of Wonder Blu-ray. I love the picture quality on the Panasonic, but I would like to try 4k and I would also like to jump up to a bigger screen!

Some things about me-

-I am a huge movie fan and have about 300 Blu-rays. Will they look good on the TCL?
-I have an Oppo UDP-205 4K Ultra HD player. My main source of 4k will be 4k UltraHD discs.
-I watch a lot of sci-fi and film noir so black levels are important to me.
-My room is darkish during the day, but I really love to watch movies at night, in total darkness.
-My couch is dead center on the TV so I will always be viewing straight on.
-We don't watch sports at all.
-Streaming will only be 1080 unless I upgrade my internet service.
-Right now I only have a Nintendo Switch, but with a 4k TV coming my way I could see myself grabbing a PS4 or Xbox One X at some point in the future.
-I have a gift card to use, so I will be ordering the TV from Amazon.

So is the TCL a good match for me? I keep re-reading the reviews and it seems like a great blend of price and performance.

Thanks!

Oppo UDP-205 | Parasound P6 Preamp | Parasound NewClassic 2250 v.2 Amp
Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers w/ RAAL tweeters
TCL 65R617
Panasonic VIERA 50" Plasma (retired)
JR-78 is offline  
post #5730 of 8077 Old 03-26-2019, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
i also noticed all my games played fine on the xbox, i did notice it now automatically switches the tv to "game mode" when playing games and it didn't do that before the update to 9.0
I hope it does this with my PS4 Pro as well. I'll sometimes forget about Game Mode until I notice the Lag Input immediately when I get into a game. Usually end up dying by the time I switch to game mode. lol

I want to say my 65R615 used to do this when I had my PS4 Pro plugged in directly into it (instead of my AVR) but I can't be certain.


I'm looking forward to "Automatic Volume Leveling" feature. The kids use a Roku Express+ and will sometimes stream cartoons with commercials. Wow, those are always super loud!


Quote:
Originally Posted by JR-78 View Post
So is the TCL a good match for me? I keep re-reading the reviews and it seems like a great blend of price and performance.

Thanks!
Check out post #191 . They just recently upgraded to a TCL 6 Series from a Plasma.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post57803394
JR-78 likes this.

TV: TCL 75R615
Reciever: Onkyo TX-NR787 running in a 5.4.4 configuration
Speakers: Polk T Series
Subwoofers: Dual SVS PB12-NSD and dual SVS PB-1000.
Gaming Systems: PlayStation 4 Pro and Nintendo Switch.

Last edited by TheNameIsSam; 03-26-2019 at 08:39 AM.
TheNameIsSam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off