TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 194 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3481Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5791 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 08:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 167
@aaronwt or any one with the Xbox One X,



Is there a certain HDMI input you are using for the X for 4K? I have added this to my arsenal as of last night, and have been messing around since.



Per the One X's settings menu, "Your TV does not support DV/HDR10/ 24Hz playback..." (even though it's checked)...I was running through a switch, (4K Compatible) with a cheaper cable.

Changed out the cable, but left the switch in the mix. No...

Eliminated the switch and ran direct to the Xbox with the MS cable. NO...


HDMI3 ARC is used up for my soundbar.



Wondering why I blew 350 bux on an X yesterday...

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40


Last edited by kevin g.; 03-31-2019 at 09:06 AM.
kevin g. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5792 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 09:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 130
You need to change the hdmi mode to 2.0 under inputs
kevin g. likes this.
Bachelor is offline  
post #5793 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 10:06 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,388
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Yes. All my inputs ar emanually set to HDMI 2.0.

My XB1X is working properly. Even giving DV now.

But the OS9 update has even screwed things with my two 1080P devices. Along with my Roku STreaming Stick+ and Apple TV 4K. Those devices are useless now in my TCL setup since I either can't get HDR10/DV or audio properly. I've reset everything, even checked every device in another setup. Everything works fine without the TCL TV in the mix. But as soon as that is added everything goes to crap. And the only difference is that it was updated to version 9.

I've messaged the roku person referenced earlier in the thread, at the Roku forums. But it wasn't until the weekend. So I wouldn't expect to hear back until later in the week. Hopefully they can downgrade my software. Since that option is not available in the Roku hidden menus any more.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5794 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bachelor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Utah
Posts: 1,147
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes. All my inputs ar emanually set to HDMI 2.0.

My XB1X is working properly. Even giving DV now.

But the OS9 update has even screwed things with my two 1080P devices. Along with my Roku STreaming Stick+ and Apple TV 4K. Those devices are useless now in my TCL setup since I either can't get HDR10/DV or audio properly. I've reset everything, even checked every device in another setup. Everything works fine without the TCL TV in the mix. But as soon as that is added everything goes to crap. And the only difference is that it was updated to version 9.

I've messaged the roku person referenced earlier in the thread, at the Roku forums. But it wasn't until the weekend. So I wouldn't expect to hear back until later in the week. Hopefully they can downgrade my software. Since that option is not available in the Roku hidden menus any more.
Have you tried a factory reset and start over setting up inputs/apps?
Bachelor is offline  
post #5795 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 10:18 AM
Member
 
wavsine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post

I've messaged the roku person referenced earlier in the thread, at the Roku forums. But it wasn't until the weekend. So I wouldn't expect to hear back until later in the week. Hopefully they can downgrade my software. Since that option is not available in the Roku hidden menus any more.
Sorry you are having to go through this. Hopefully Tanner will get back to you this week and send a ping to your set to get you rolled back to 8.x. Make a list of everything that OS9 screwed up on your system and perhaps they will fix it in the next build of OS9.
wavsine is online now  
post #5796 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone else using DV normal ?

Am I the only one not using DV dark?
nathan ocegueda is offline  
post #5797 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 12:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 168
yes, your the only one!

welcome to the forum!

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #5798 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 01:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
dad1153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 58,327
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3074 Post(s)
Liked: 2539
Send a message via Yahoo to dad1153
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan ocegueda View Post
Anyone else using DV normal ?

Am I the only one not using DV dark?
Depends on the movie. Thematically and visually dark stuff like "Halloween" (Carpenter's original, one of the few older titles on UHD Blu-ray encoded in Dolby Vision) looks better in Dark to me, especially at night. Bright and colorful DV movies like "Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle" (a demo-worthy showcase of DV encoding) look better the brighter the screen is, aka Normal or Bright. For most content I watch on my 613 (DV or non-DV) I prefer the Normal setting across the board because, well, vanilla ice cream tastes so good!
Ben23 likes this.
dad1153 is online now  
post #5799 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 02:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kevin g.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,028
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 387 Post(s)
Liked: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bachelor View Post
You need to change the hdmi mode to 2.0 under inputs



Perfect!



Thanks guys...I have had my Shield connected, and have been getting proper 4K since installing. All were set to "Auto". Immediately after changing the settings, and firing up the Xbox, it had recognized that "Advanced Settings" could be applied, and anything played in HDR now showed the symbol. Including Fallout.

Any test files or streaming apps that can showcase DV?

"Once you learn good English...Can't nobody take it away!"

Xbox LIVE Gamertag: KEVIN G 40

kevin g. is offline  
post #5800 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 03:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Devedander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin g. View Post
Perfect!



Thanks guys...I have had my Shield connected, and have been getting proper 4K since installing. All were set to "Auto". Immediately after changing the settings, and firing up the Xbox, it had recognized that "Advanced Settings" could be applied, and anything played in HDR now showed the symbol. Including Fallout.

Any test files or streaming apps that can showcase DV?


There is a dv app and several YouTube videos that do a great job.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Monster Gold Plated Optical Cables: http://monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=1263

Awesome user review: "Unreal quality. Sounded like I upgraded my speakers." :D

Gaming and VR videos: www.youtube.com/user/Devedander
Devedander is offline  
post #5801 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 03:28 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,388
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bachelor View Post
Have you tried a factory reset and start over setting up inputs/apps?
yes I've reset it. If anything though resetting it made things worse.

Sent from my FireHD 10

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5802 of 6755 Old 03-31-2019, 03:30 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,388
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan ocegueda View Post
Anyone else using DV normal ?

Am I the only one not using DV dark?
I'm using DV normal now. DV dark is terrible now with OS9.

Sent from my FireHD 10

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5803 of 6755 Old 04-01-2019, 12:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
rjhseven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Memphis
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 569 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Hit the ok button and it will! Show you the resolution and framerate being received by the TV. Like all TVs, any signal gets upconverted to the native resolution of the screen. So 2160P for UHD TVs. So there is no need to show that info.

Sent from my Nexus 7(16GB) using Tapatalk
It’s fairly obvious that may be quoted but not true resolution

Memphis Tiger Fan-Sports enthusiast
rjhseven is offline  
post #5804 of 6755 Old 04-01-2019, 02:15 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,388
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjhseven View Post
It’s fairly obvious that may be quoted but not true resolution
The TV only knows what it is being sent. No way for it to tell what the original resolution of the content is, from an external device.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5805 of 6755 Old 04-01-2019, 04:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 83
TCL 9.0 firmware seems to have broken HDR.

Trying to watch HDR UHD Hanna on Amazon Prime.
Everything is too dark no matter what settings I use.

Streaming non HDR UHD fixes the problem.

Anybody noticed this problem ?
Thanks
Bachiano is offline  
post #5806 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Hanna

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bachiano View Post
TCL 9.0 firmware seems to have broken HDR.

Trying to watch HDR UHD Hanna on Amazon Prime.
Everything is too dark no matter what settings I use.

Streaming non HDR UHD fixes the problem.

Anybody noticed this problem ?
Thanks
I'm watching Hanna now on Amazon, I'm at episode 6.
I have normal on, and the tv did the rest with the HDR settings. I have natural cinema turned OFF.
I have the setting right above the "natural cinema" (sorry i always forget what it's called) on high (low medium high).
HDR looks fine. There's a scene in episode 5 or 6 when the kids sleep in the woods and they have a fire going. You can definitely see it's HDR.
Overall Hanna does not really do HDR justice. The whole series may just as well be in normal HD. There is not ONE scene where I think "WOW" the HDR in this series is amazing.
Have you watched white Dragon?
quovadis123 is offline  
post #5807 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 05:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
I'm watching Hanna now on Amazon, I'm at episode 6.
I have normal on, and the tv did the rest with the HDR settings. I have natural cinema turned OFF.
I have the setting right above the "natural cinema" (sorry i always forget what it's called) on high (low medium high).
HDR looks fine. There's a scene in episode 5 or 6 when the kids sleep in the woods and they have a fire going. You can definitely see it's HDR.
Overall Hanna does not really do HDR justice. The whole series may just as well be in normal HD. There is not ONE scene where I think "WOW" the HDR in this series is amazing.
Have you watched white Dragon?
Just checked Hanna HDR settings and noticed I had LED Motion Clarity ON.
Turned that OFF and it helped.

But you are right. Hanna HDR is underwhelming.
Seems like they messed up on their HDR implementation.

On the other hand.
I just checked White Dragon and its HDR is stunning.

So it seems the Darkness on Hanna HDR is not a TV issue but a content issue.

Will probably watch Hanna on SDR :-(

Thanks for the help.
Bachiano is offline  
post #5808 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
Bachiano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 677
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 83
Just compared Hanna HDR with Hanna SDR.
Episode 1 - First fight scene on the snow.

In SDR the snow is bright white. As it should be.
In HDR the snow is dull with a green tint. Not good.
Bachiano is offline  
post #5809 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 06:58 AM
Member
 
JR-78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Has anyone used this- or a similar stand- for the 65"?

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01CORQRX0...v_ov_lig_dp_it

Looks good on VESA, weight, overall dimensions...

Oppo UDP-205 | Parasound P6 Preamp | Parasound NewClassic 2250 v.2 Amp
Ascend Acoustics Sierra Towers w/ RAAL tweeters
TCL 65R617
Panasonic VIERA 50" Plasma (retired)
JR-78 is offline  
post #5810 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MrBobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3,819
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by JR-78 View Post
Has anyone used this- or a similar stand- for the 65"?
This mount looks functional but is a bit aesthetically bland to me, but if u like it that's all that matters. There was a vendor which has pages after pages of VESA mounts for the light of me I lost the URL.
JR-78 likes this.
MrBobb is offline  
post #5811 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 07:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Currently, No HDR on Prime.

So I see Amazon Prime is up to its “No HDR” tricks again. This has happened before by the way. Prime programming that was available in HDR now suddenly not giving HDR.

Just last night I watched two 4K UHD/HDR programs on prime, HDR logo popped up no problem. Tonight, nothing is showing up in HDR. As far as I can tell it’s not a 6 series thing because all three of the TCL’s in my sig are affected. Don’t think it’s a roku 9.0thing as prime worked properly across all of my TCL sets since the update. I really think it’s a Prime issue. Netflix, Vudu and MA all work fine for HDR.

Perhaps in a day or so, Prime will be back to normal.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #5812 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob Coxner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 164
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
So I see Amazon Prime is up to its “No HDR” tricks again. This has happened before by the way. Prime programming that was available in HDR now suddenly not giving HDR.

Just last night I watched two 4K UHD/HDR programs on prime, HDR logo popped up no problem. Tonight, nothing is showing up in HDR. As far as I can tell it’s not a 6 series thing because all three of the TCL’s in my sig are affected. Don’t think it’s a roku 9.0thing as prime worked properly across all of my TCL sets since the update. I really think it’s a Prime issue. Netflix, Vudu and MA all work fine for HDR.

Perhaps in a day or so, Prime will be back to normal.
I came here to ask the same question. :-(

I just got a new 55R617 from Amazon and seem to have won the panel lottery. I haven't noticed any problems with regular viewing and I'm not going to do the OCD bit with checking lots of test videos. Once I notice a problem in a test I can't unsee it. As long as regular viewing is problem free I'm a happy camper. I had a TCL 49s405 for a couple of years and thought it was excellent. I happened to finally run some tests and discovered it had fairly bad vignetting that I had never noticed before. Ignorance is bliss. :-)

Now to Amazon. I can't get anything in HDR using the Amazon app. It says 4k UHD at the top of the screen but the program description at the bottom doesn't list HDR and I don't get the HDR popup. However, I tried using my Xbox and I *DO* get HDR as normal on Amazon. So, I'm not sure who is at fault, although I know it's normally Amazon.

Netflix is another issue. Everything I try there is Dolby Vision. I can't seem to find anything that's just HDR. Has Netflix made DV the default or am I missing some option?

DirecTV since 1999
Genie DVR
Bob Coxner is offline  
post #5813 of 6755 Old 04-02-2019, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Coxner View Post
I came here to ask the same question. :-(

I just got a new 55R617 from Amazon and seem to have won the panel lottery. I haven't noticed any problems with regular viewing and I'm not going to do the OCD bit with checking lots of test videos. Once I notice a problem in a test I can't unsee it. As long as regular viewing is problem free I'm a happy camper. I had a TCL 49s405 for a couple of years and thought it was excellent. I happened to finally run some tests and discovered it had fairly bad vignetting that I had never noticed before. Ignorance is bliss. :-)

Now to Amazon. I can't get anything in HDR using the Amazon app. It says 4k UHD at the top of the screen but the program description at the bottom doesn't list HDR and I don't get the HDR popup. However, I tried using my Xbox and I *DO* get HDR as normal on Amazon. So, I'm not sure who is at fault, although I know it's normally Amazon.

Netflix is another issue. Everything I try there is Dolby Vision. I can't seem to find anything that's just HDR. Has Netflix made DV the default or am I missing some option?

The Amazon app made for your Xbox is not the same amazon app made for your roku OS.

Almost everything on Netflix is DV. If you had a non DV tv it would display those DV shows as HDR. Nothing is wrong with Netflix.

This Amazon issue has happened before, lasted about a week or so then HDR was restored. Same thing happened with Netflix for a short period of time.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
post #5814 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 04:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
quovadis123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 217 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The only way I can watch a show on netflix or prime is to have action smoothing on high.
If action smoothing is set to OFF and natural cinema is ON. There's a slight trembling or flickering that annoys me.
I'm actually wondering if this tv is not defective.
The problem with action smoothing on high (and natural cinema OFF) is that we have the soap opera effect.

Watched the last episode of hanna last night and it was not in HDR...the buildings inside were in bright orange color during the fight scenes, but no HDR.
Tonight I'm going to put white dragon on again to see if that has changed.
quovadis123 is offline  
post #5815 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 11:14 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,388
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
I watched the Hanna series this weekend and HDR10 was fine with it then. Now I'm watching Netflix and Santa Clarita. DV has been fine with that.

But I'm still unable to use several devices properly with my TCL. I've been exchanging messages with the roku person on the Roku forums. But so far we haven't gotten to the point of them rolling back the OS yet.

Sent from my Galaxy S10

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5816 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob Coxner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 372
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 164
HDR is back on Amazon. For now. :-)

DirecTV since 1999
Genie DVR
Bob Coxner is offline  
post #5817 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 01:31 PM
Newbie
 
k818mn1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I bought a 65R617 last week and have been setting up the picture. Out of the box I was rather disappointed tbh, but I eventually found bachelors calibration settings in this thread, which make it look good for me. Thanks Bachelor.

I am currently not using the Roku apps, I already have a Shield TV that I use for streaming, hooked up to the TV HDMI3 via a Denon AVR. My question is, would there be any benefit to using the builtin Roku to stream Neflix and Amazon video vs the Shield TV?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
k818mn1 is offline  
post #5818 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 01:35 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,388
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8952 Post(s)
Liked: 5728
Quote:
Originally Posted by k818mn1 View Post
Hi, I bought a 65R617 last week and have been setting up the picture. Out of the box I was rather disappointed tbh, but I eventually found bachelors calibration settings in this thread, which make it look good for me. Thanks Bachelor.

I am currently not using the Roku apps, I already have a Shield TV that I use for streaming, hooked up to the TV HDMI3 via a Denon AVR. My question is, would there be any benefit to using the builtin Roku to stream Neflix and Amazon video vs the Shield TV?

Sent from my SM-G960U1 using Tapatalk
Yes. For Dolby Vision HDR. The internal ROku apps have access to DOlby Vision. Like from Vudu, Netflix, Amazon etc. The Shield TV only does HDR10. And as long as your receiver works with DD+ over the ARC, you will get the same 7.1 DD+ and lossy Atmos audio from the internal apps.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--70TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #5819 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Devedander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,538
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by quovadis123 View Post
The only way I can watch a show on netflix or prime is to have action smoothing on high.

If action smoothing is set to OFF and natural cinema is ON. There's a slight trembling or flickering that annoys me.

I'm actually wondering if this tv is not defective.

The problem with action smoothing on high (and natural cinema OFF) is that we have the soap opera effect.



Watched the last episode of hanna last night and it was not in HDR...the buildings inside were in bright orange color during the fight scenes, but no HDR.

Tonight I'm going to put white dragon on again to see if that has changed.


I find at every level the action smoothing results in terrible image artifacts like macro blocking and tearing.

I haven't really been able to tell the difference between natural Cinema on and off...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Monster Gold Plated Optical Cables: http://monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=1263

Awesome user review: "Unreal quality. Sounded like I upgraded my speakers." :D

Gaming and VR videos: www.youtube.com/user/Devedander
Devedander is offline  
post #5820 of 6755 Old 04-03-2019, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 168
HDR/DV have been restored on Amazon Prime.

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off