TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3748Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
avshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Well, I got mine around 11am and set it up. Everything looks good so far. Turned it on and went through the set up process. Haven't noticed any dead pixels, lines or other screen irregularities. I haven't had time to really look closely though.

My first impressions are that this is a really nice looking set. I mean, I REALLY love the design and build quality. I wasn't expecting it to be this nice in person. It looks like a premium TV.
avshaman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 06:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 6
OMG LoL, I ordered the 55 inch TCL over the weekend and Best Buy gave me an estimated pickup date of 5/5.

I was shopping at Costco next to my best Buy so I popped in to see if they had any on display. The guy on the floor said they hadn't recieved any yet and nothing was put up and probably wouldn't be displayed for a few months until TCL approves some floor space.

While i was actually IN THE STORE, I received the email saying the TV was ready for pickup. I just checked my email this evening. I could have picked it up while I was there! Guess I have to make another trip tomorrow.
Admiral__Ackbar is offline  
post #753 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecwrvd2 View Post
55 or 65 inch? Mine is in a normal retail box and it's the 55 inch

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
I got the 65 and it is in a brown cardboard box with printing. Not white like other pics show.
Ecwrvd2 likes this.
dcpendarvis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #754 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 07:03 PM
Newbie
 
Brian Trompke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How's this thing looking versus a first Gen lg oled?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Brian Trompke is offline  
post #755 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 07:13 PM
Member
 
talkaboutav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Northern California
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I had what I thought was vertical banding slightly off center to the left, about 4 bands 1" x 12"...but now they are gone. Do panels "break in"? I've used some test screens on the Disney WOW test disk and not only can't I reproduce the problem, but the screen seem stellar in every way. There is a few inches of vignetting on the corners, but otherwise extremely uniform.

Update: I have been able to reproduce. The banding is much more subtle with the picture mode that I'll be using (primary use for movies in a dark room). I feel like I probably won't see this in real use, and it seems within quality bounds that another unit would be a dice roll.
avshaman and gosawx like this.

Last edited by talkaboutav; 04-30-2018 at 07:36 PM. Reason: Follow-up
talkaboutav is offline  
post #756 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 07:27 PM
beq
Member
 
beq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecwrvd2 View Post
Well hooked it up and powered it on and it's destroyed
Oh man, after wrestling with the mounting and everything, my condolences If misery loves company, I just found screen damage on my Surface Book laptop today, trying to look up my warranty status...

Anyways if you haven't already packaged everything back up, could you take a pic of the 2018-model (Amazon) voice remote? Does it look like this? I'm curious about the label under the batteries, as well as a side profile look of the thickness.

For example, the 2017-model TCL voice remote was labelled RC126 / BRC64 (see pic).
GhaSper_- likes this.

Last edited by beq; 04-30-2018 at 07:58 PM.
beq is offline  
post #757 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 08:35 PM
Member
 
rantor49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by etrin View Post
just got mine from fedx.
Its a blank cardboard box...no labels or white like other pics.
it just says 6 series on it.
My 65 inch also came in plain cardboard box. Looks like 55 inchers have the color boxes.
GhaSper_- likes this.
rantor49 is offline  
post #758 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 08:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Artman22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by loser7787 View Post
Confirmed with amazon my TCL is sitting waiting to be picked up for delivery tomorrow!



I will be setting up a PS4 Pro and Xbox One X and testing alot of HDR content. I will post pics of the games running on the TCL after I get everything set up. Possibly with a comparison to my KS8000 to see how the FALD holds up against an edge lit set. STOKED!


Can’t wait to hear what you say since I also own a ks8000. Want to get this TCL for the bedroom.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

PSN: Artman22
Xbox live: Artman22
Artman22 is offline  
post #759 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by beq View Post
Thanks, so the same C7 power plug as TCL's 2017 models.


Except the 75" C Series (C8-Series), I wonder why this has been the only one-off model to use a C17 plug? Is there a technical reason?

Actually, I got the 65r617 and it has the C17 plug, which is apparently different than the 55, which uses c7.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0070.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	976.0 KB
ID:	2397720   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-0072.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	751.0 KB
ID:	2397722  
GhaSper_- likes this.
dcpendarvis is offline  
post #760 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 08:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JewDaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lawrenceville, GA
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 408 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Trompke View Post
How's this thing looking versus a first Gen lg oled?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


I own the 55” first gen LG OLED. Even though the TCL is newer and has 4K with Dolby Vision and HDR, I still prefer my LG. The black levels, off angle viewing and colors just look so much better on an OLED. But think about this for a minute. When this OLED first came out, the asking price was $16,000. Then it dropped to $8,000, then $4,000 and then I got it on sale right before the new one came out for $2,000. The value on the TCL is outstanding. But picture quality, OLED no doubt.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
GhaSper_- likes this.

JewDaddy is offline  
post #761 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 09:00 PM
Senior Member
 
avshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantor49 View Post
My 65 inch also came in plain cardboard box. Looks like 55 inchers have the color boxes.
My 55R617 came in a brown box too.

I've noticed there are also two variations of the TV. One with the Roku TV logo on the left side, like mine, and one where it's on the right side.
avshaman is offline  
post #762 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 09:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr Bigins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecwrvd2 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by VisionxOrb View Post
2 seconds with any kind of grinder can fix that issue.
It works if you invert the feet. I made a mistake with the above post.

The grinder won't fix my other issue though...



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
I think it's hillarious that you plugged it in. 🍺

My local Best Buy has the 55" for $600 by order. Now if they'd only put the 65" on first week special(like the 55").
Mr Bigins is offline  
post #763 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
jpep13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecwrvd2 View Post
Well hooked it up and powered it on and it's destroyed

Sent from my SM-T827V using Tapatalk
so how did the screen crack? was a loose panel or small crack to shatter this?
GhaSper_- likes this.
jpep13 is offline  
post #764 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 09:54 PM
Member
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Got mine tonight from best buy and it's beautiful. The dse is so much better than my p series. Like either they did a good job on trying to make it better or I hit the lottery.
avshaman and GhaSper_- like this.
silver5liter is offline  
post #765 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 09:58 PM
Member
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Picture for good measure
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180430_225816_1525147117194.jpg
Views:	1251
Size:	1.26 MB
ID:	2397730  
avshaman and GhaSper_- like this.
silver5liter is offline  
post #766 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 09:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artman22 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by loser7787 View Post
Confirmed with amazon my TCL is sitting waiting to be picked up for delivery tomorrow!



I will be setting up a PS4 Pro and Xbox One X and testing alot of HDR content. I will post pics of the games running on the TCL after I get everything set up. Possibly with a comparison to my KS8000 to see how the FALD holds up against an edge lit set. STOKED!


Can’t wait to hear what you say since I also own a ks8000. Want to get this TCL for the bedroom.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I second this! I also have a KS8000. The TCL will be going in the basement. My TCL should be here Friday. Definitely let us know what you think. Especially when it comes to gaming
SRVisGod24 is offline  
post #767 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 10:12 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 32
So, a little off-topic, but with regards to the 43" 5-Series I bought. Turns out the edge-bleed and clouding I see on the right side of the screen is because the right side of the screen is bent (thought the frame was bent upward but that was incorrect). Checked it out tonight in a dark room, looked at from the left side looking to the right and I can see it. Nearly freaked out. Going to have to bring it back to Best Buy (for a return or an exchange), still within their 15-day return policy. This has me pretty p*ssed though.
JessieBristol is offline  
post #768 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 10:41 PM
Senior Member
 
nxtiak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone successfully set up Harmony Hub remote with the TCL with IP Control?
My Harmony Hub can't find it can only do IR commands, but it fins my Sharp Roku TV and TCL S series Roku TV.
nxtiak is offline  
post #769 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 11:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Bamaboi89 is offline  
post #770 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 11:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaboi89 View Post
I was literally just going to post this lol 🙂

Can anyone confirm Joelster’s findings on the HDMI 2 vs. HDMI 1? Is there a difference between using these ports? I have a soundbar I plan on plugging in to HDMI 3. Will I still get solid input lag on HDMI 2, etc.? Thanks all.
GhaSper_- and Bamaboi89 like this.
Sven A Blomsterberg is offline  
post #771 of 7354 Old 04-30-2018, 11:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Maryland
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven A Blomsterberg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaboi89 View Post
I was literally just going to post this lol 🙂

Can anyone confirm Joelster’s findings on the HDMI 2 vs. HDMI 1? Is there a difference between using these ports? I have a soundbar I plan on plugging in to HDMI 3. Will I still get solid input lag on HDMI 2, etc.? Thanks all.
I haven't watched the video yet. But there's been at least one person on here who said HDMI 3 had the lowest input lag. But of course, HDMI 3 is the ARC input
GhaSper_- likes this.
SRVisGod24 is offline  
post #772 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 12:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRVisGod24 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven A Blomsterberg View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaboi89 View Post
I was literally just going to post this lol 🙂

Can anyone confirm Joelster’s findings on the HDMI 2 vs. HDMI 1? Is there a difference between using these ports? I have a soundbar I plan on plugging in to HDMI 3. Will I still get solid input lag on HDMI 2, etc.? Thanks all.
I haven't watched the video yet. But there's been at least one person on here who said HDMI 3 had the lowest input lag. But of course, HDMI 3 is the ARC input
I was going to say, isn’t that a bit counter intuitive to have HDMI 3 be the lowest input lag if that also happens to be how I control the sound for everything through the soundbar 😐...
GhaSper_- likes this.
Sven A Blomsterberg is offline  
post #773 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 12:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sven A Blomsterberg View Post
I was literally just going to post this lol 🙂

Can anyone confirm Joelster’s findings on the HDMI 2 vs. HDMI 1? Is there a difference between using these ports? I have a soundbar I plan on plugging in to HDMI 3. Will I still get solid input lag on HDMI 2, etc.? Thanks all.
In the video when he turns on Game Mode on HDMI 1 it automatically disabled Local Contrast (local dimming). That's why the black levels looked so bad when he compared it to HDMI 2.
beerninja and GhaSper_- like this.
BatmanNewsChris is offline  
post #774 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 01:41 AM
Senior Member
 
avshaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver5liter View Post
Got mine tonight from best buy and it's beautiful. The dse is so much better than my p series. Like either they did a good job on trying to make it better or I hit the lottery.
That's how I feel about mine. I watched quite of few hours of a variety of content on mine this evening and I'm very impressed with the uniformity. It's defintely better than any LCD I've ever owned. I feel like I either got really lucky or they have made major improvements to the uniformity this year. The uniformity is actually noticeably better than my Panasonic VT60 plasma.
GhaSper_- and sk373 like this.
avshaman is offline  
post #775 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 01:53 AM
Member
 
mdog73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 32
This seems like a great set to start out with 4k. I'm going to wait for some full reviews before I pull the trigger though.
GhaSper_- likes this.
mdog73 is offline  
post #776 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 03:08 AM
beq
Member
 
beq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dcpendarvis View Post
Actually, I got the 65r617 and it has the C17 plug, which is apparently different than the 55, which uses c7.

Interesting thanks, with the 2017 C Series only the 75" used C17 plug. The 65" and 55" used C7 plug (I bought all three sizes), as well as the P and Series I assumed?

Then again I'd also thought only the 75" had the glossier screen in 2017, but avshaman had found (at least) the 65" S405 also had that screen.


Anyways could anyone with an Amazon purchase take a look at their voice remote?
Ecwrvd2 likes this.
beq is offline  
post #777 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 03:59 AM
Member
 
Ecwrvd2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by beq View Post
Interesting thanks, with the 2017 C Series only the 75" used C17 plug. The 65" and 55" used C7 plug (I bought all three sizes), as well as the P and Series I assumed?

Then again I'd also thought only the 75" had the glossier screen in 2017, but avshaman had found (at least) the 65" S405 also had that screen.


Anyways could anyone with an Amazon purchase take a look at their voice remote?
Sorry man I was tired and passed out last night. Long day. Here's the picture of the remote:



Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
GhaSper_-, Ricanlegend21 and beq like this.

Sony 900F, KS8000, P607
Ecwrvd2 is offline  
post #778 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 04:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OnlookerDelay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 1,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatmanNewsChris View Post
In the video when he turns on Game Mode on HDMI 1 it automatically disabled Local Contrast (local dimming). That's why the black levels looked so bad when he compared it to HDMI 2.

Is it possible to go in and manually override the disabled local dimming on HDMI 1?

"If the amount of views was how we judged the quality of a thread, then all we would have is a bunch of trolling fanboy threads."... Kysersose
OnlookerDelay is offline  
post #779 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 06:19 AM
Member
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by avshaman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver5liter View Post
Got mine tonight from best buy and it's beautiful. The dse is so much better than my p series. Like either they did a good job on trying to make it better or I hit the lottery.
That's how I feel about mine. I watched quite of few hours of a variety of content on mine this evening and I'm very impressed with the uniformity. It's defintely better than any LCD I've ever owned. I feel like I either got really lucky or they have made major improvements to the uniformity this year. The uniformity is actually noticeably better than my Panasonic VT60 plasma.
I am an insanely picky person. I can't really find anything wrong with this tv outside if slight darker corners which is normal. Everything about it outside of the roku interface seems better than my p series or the vizio m i had last year.
silver5liter is offline  
post #780 of 7354 Old 05-01-2018, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Mark Henninger
 
imagic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 16,094
Mentioned: 442 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9171 Post(s)
Liked: 16170
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver5liter View Post
I am an insanely picky person. I can't really find anything wrong with this tv outside if slight darker corners which is normal. Everything about it outside of the roku interface seems better than my p series or the vizio m i had last year.
Yep, don't really need excuses for this TV, it's performances just plain good, but what does it mean for the value proposition of competing options!

Mark Henninger
Editor, AVS Forum
imagic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off