TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 271 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3997Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8101 of 8158 Old 06-19-2020, 05:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob A (SD)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Both my TCL sets updated the Roku software to v9.3.0 build 4175 yesterday. Only things I noticed were new upper right screen corner prompts (like the 4 way remote function to change OTA channels) and when first restarted having to reload YouTube so that the channel icon would show properly. Other than that I haven't seen anything "new."
aaronwt likes this.

-=[Bob]=-
TCL 65" 65R615, 49" 49S515, 32" L32HDF11TA
My systems
Bob A (SD) is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8102 of 8158 Old 06-24-2020, 11:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob A (SD) View Post
Both my TCL sets updated the Roku software to v9.3.0 build 4175 yesterday. Only things I noticed were new upper right screen corner prompts (like the 4 way remote function to change OTA channels) and when first restarted having to reload YouTube so that the channel icon would show properly. Other than that I haven't seen anything "new."
YouTube app is faster, at least for me.

I just wish Amazon updated it's app because the UI is trash.
MrPolkMan is offline  
post #8103 of 8158 Old 06-25-2020, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrPolkMan View Post
YouTube app is faster, at least for me.

I just wish Amazon updated it's app because the UI is trash.
Strangely enough, the Prime app on the Roku Premiere in my upstairs has updated to a much better UI. Neither of my TCL sets have though.
TxTchRR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8104 of 8158 Old 06-25-2020, 09:09 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Anyone experiencing a 100% backlight picture after system update to 4182?
The picture is pretty much messed up right now. Only way to get back to a regular picture is with a system restart. If I turn off the TV, and turn it back on, the super bright picture is back.
The picture adjustments have no effect either.
Hopefully this gets corrected pretty quickly.

CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #8105 of 8158 Old 06-25-2020, 09:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parkview, IA
Posts: 3,874
Mentioned: 50 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1575 Post(s)
Liked: 2440
Yikes ^ have not experience that
lizrussspike is offline  
post #8106 of 8158 Old 06-25-2020, 10:01 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by lizrussspike View Post
Yikes ^ have not experience that
Yup, someone else posted a similar issue with update 4182, but his is a "P" series: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/166-l...l#post59858562
I guess I'll try to do do a full reset
CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #8107 of 8158 Old 06-26-2020, 12:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 691
Yeah, I had settings weirdness too. Display was locked into that horrible Cool or Normal setting could not change it. Rebooted and it seems to be back to the way I set it.
Matt L is offline  
post #8108 of 8158 Old 06-26-2020, 06:37 AM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
Yeah, I had settings weirdness too. Display was locked into that horrible Cool or Normal setting could not change it. Rebooted and it seems to be back to the way I set it.
On reboot it does go back to working properly, but the weirdness comes back once I turn off and turn back on.
Oh well.
CFC

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #8109 of 8158 Old 06-26-2020, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFC View Post
On reboot it does go back to working properly, but the weirdness comes back once I turn off and turn back on.
Oh well.
CFC
Are you using Fast Boot? I had some weirdness after the update with the screen staying black (not completely though, could make out the home screen with complete darkness). Cleared up when I turned Fast Boot off.
TxTchRR is offline  
post #8110 of 8158 Old 06-26-2020, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
pcpumpkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My settings are all a problem too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TxTchRR View Post
Are you using Fast Boot? I had some weirdness after the update with the screen staying black (not completely though, could make out the home screen with complete darkness). Cleared up when I turned Fast Boot off.
I just bought this 2018 series 6 last week and it had the firmware updated when I first set it up. Most of the time my smoothing settings are stuck and and is stuck on soap opera effect even with it turn off. I thought it was just like that with new tv, but occasionally, my screen will look dimmer and allows me to actually make changes to the smoothing and turning it off makes it actually turn off. I seems random and goes back and forth.

I'm thinking I need to return this TV, but if it has something to do with the firmware, then maybe we can downgrade to one that is stable?
pcpumpkin is offline  
post #8111 of 8158 Old 06-26-2020, 01:47 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxTchRR View Post
Are you using Fast Boot? I had some weirdness after the update with the screen staying black (not completely though, could make out the home screen with complete darkness). Cleared up when I turned Fast Boot off.
Turned off Fast Boot; even unplugged the TV to get it to restart. No go.
It works fine on the first reboot, but if I turn off, it comes back messed up (with or without Fast Boot) when I turn it back on.
I'm holding off on a full reset, but that's probably next.
CFC
CFC is offline  
post #8112 of 8158 Old 06-27-2020, 02:45 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob A (SD)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by CFC View Post
Anyone experiencing a 100% backlight picture after system update to 4182?

Just checked and my system updated to build 4182 on the 24th. No issues noted.






As a side note that I figure most will say is an antenna issue, my Series 6 65", connected to an outdoor yagi, recently found a number of new channels (33.x series). They are 480i and not much visually but the shows are not found elsewhere so it's a "plus."


Upstairs my Series 5 49" , with a "high end" indoor antenna that works very well, also found them and reports content in the channel line up view but if I select any of them to watch I get zip bars, no signal, and no program data along the lower horizontal edge.


What confuses me is that the tuner found these channels when doing an OTA channel search, the set reports the show schedules, but when you try to view one NADA. Why can it find them on search but not display them to watch? Duh


And no, they were in fact broadcasting as a check on my downstairs 65" confirmed.

-=[Bob]=-
TCL 65" 65R615, 49" 49S515, 32" L32HDF11TA
My systems

Last edited by Bob A (SD); 06-27-2020 at 03:17 PM.
Bob A (SD) is offline  
post #8113 of 8158 Old 06-27-2020, 03:53 PM
CFC
Advanced Member
 
CFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob A (SD) View Post
Just checked and my system updated to build 4182 on the 24th. No issues noted.
Though it makes no sense to me, this morning everything is working as it should.
There was no overnight update, nor did I do anything beyond what I'd already done - reboot, unplug, turned off Fast Start...
I'm confused, but glad it's working fine. I am a little paranoid that the problem will show up again randomly though
We'll see

CFC
aaronwt likes this.

Signature goes here
CFC is offline  
post #8114 of 8158 Old 06-29-2020, 06:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I, too, have had problems with picture since my 65R615 updated firmware to the 4182 build. It updated automatically on 6/25/2020, on 6/28 I noticed the screen was way brighter than normal and the"soap opera effect" was really bad.
I usually having Action Smoothing off and Natural Cinema on to avoid that, and according to the settings menu that was still the case, but the screen was not reflecting those settings. Changing the picture settings in the TV and the advanced settings in the Roku app did nothing to alter the image at all. It's like it was locked in some default mode.
After several restarts eventually the screen suddenly was fixed, but the next day, today, it was happening again. I reset the TV audio/picture settings, from the factory reset menu, but I think I'm going to have to try a full factory reset of everything, became the problem keeps returning. Changing input or turning the TV off and on causes the problem to return.
GrillMouster is offline  
post #8115 of 8158 Old 06-30-2020, 12:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 691
I've been having CEC weirdness, not sure where the problem lies. II have the screwed up TiVo Stream 4K and a Harmony Hub. I''ll be watching something and the system will turn off randomly. Pulled the Tivo out of the equation and it still happened, modified the CEC setting on the TCL and I will see if that solves the issue. Wondering if it's a spurious signal that the Harmony Hub is picking up.
Matt L is offline  
post #8116 of 8158 Old 06-30-2020, 03:54 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,988
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10005 Post(s)
Liked: 6667
I noticed mine updated a couple of days ago. Now the onscreen display shows the audio format being received.
solarrdadd likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #8117 of 8158 Old 06-30-2020, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
solarrdadd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 916
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 477 Post(s)
Liked: 334
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I noticed mine updated a couple of days ago. Now the onscreen display shows the audio format being received.
question sending video to the tv from my receiver, why does it show PCM when my HDMI isn't (or shouldn't ) be sending audio out via HDMI?

TCL-65R615, 55P605 DV/HDR10 & 49S405 HDR10, Philips BDP7501, BPD7502 UHD Players
Oppo BDP-105D, 105, 93, Marantz AV7702MKII, NR1607. Xbox One S
Emotiva XSP-1, XPA5,UPA2, UPA200 & Mini X Amps, ATV4K 32gb
Speakers, Polk SDA-2, Monitor 10A & 5A, Axiom M80,
VP180, QS8, M2, QS4, ATMOS 7.1.4 & 5.1.2 NYGiants!
solarrdadd is offline  
post #8118 of 8158 Old 06-30-2020, 07:20 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,988
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10005 Post(s)
Liked: 6667
Quote:
Originally Posted by solarrdadd View Post
question sending video to the tv from my receiver, why does it show PCM when my HDMI isn't (or shouldn't ) be sending audio out via HDMI?
Mine shows the same thing. But then in my Sony Setup it will also show an audio format too, in the same situation.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #8119 of 8158 Old 07-02-2020, 10:07 AM
Senior Member
 
Bob A (SD)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Second request for comments:




My Series 6 65", connected to an outdoor yagi, recently found a number of new channels (33.x series). They are 480i and not much visually but the shows are not found elsewhere so it's a "plus."


Upstairs my Series 5 49" , with a "high end" indoor antenna that works very well, also found them and reports content in the channel line up view but if I select any of them to watch I get zip bars, no signal, and no program data along the lower horizontal edge.


What confuses me is that the tuner found these channels when doing an OTA channel search, the set reports the show schedules, but when you try to view one NADA. Why can it find them on search but not display them to watch? Duh


And no, they were in fact broadcasting as a check on my downstairs 65" confirmed.

-=[Bob]=-
TCL 65" 65R615, 49" 49S515, 32" L32HDF11TA
My systems
Bob A (SD) is offline  
post #8120 of 8158 Old 07-03-2020, 04:48 PM
Member
 
DaveGill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 88
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrillMouster View Post
I, too, have had problems with picture since my 65R615 updated firmware to the 4182 build. It updated automatically on 6/25/2020, on 6/28 I noticed the screen was way brighter than normal and the"soap opera effect" was really bad.
I usually having Action Smoothing off and Natural Cinema on to avoid that, and according to the settings menu that was still the case, but the screen was not reflecting those settings. Changing the picture settings in the TV and the advanced settings in the Roku app did nothing to alter the image at all. It's like it was locked in some default mode.
After several restarts eventually the screen suddenly was fixed, but the next day, today, it was happening again. I reset the TV audio/picture settings, from the factory reset menu, but I think I'm going to have to try a full factory reset of everything, became the problem keeps returning. Changing input or turning the TV off and on causes the problem to return.
This is my exact problem. The action smoothing is obviously on, but I’ve always had it turned off and the menu setting shows it off. I did a factory reset and it didn’t fix it. It’s terrible - someone really borked this update.
DaveGill is offline  
post #8121 of 8158 Old 07-04-2020, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Anyone found a solution for the picture settings changes since the firmware update? I have the retina burning brightness issue that does not respond to any settings adjustments. If I restart the TV my settings and response to changes return. But after kids play games on it the next day the brighter settings return and stay until another restart. Any ideas?
AndyN is offline  
post #8122 of 8158 Old 07-04-2020, 01:16 PM
Member
 
xplizit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post
Anyone found a solution for the picture settings changes since the firmware update? I have the retina burning brightness issue that does not respond to any settings adjustments. If I restart the TV my settings and response to changes return. But after kids play games on it the next day the brighter settings return and stay until another restart. Any ideas?
I had the same issue after updating. I got it to go away by turning off the feature on the Xbox that tells the tv to turn on and off. While that setting was on, my tv did the super torch mode every single time the tv switched inputs or was rebooted. Only way to get it normal was to unplug the tv and plug it back in when Xbox was on. Then it would go back to normal. Did some poking around and turned off the xbox's tv power controls and haven't had it happen 1 time since. Seems like some weird CEC issue. I do have the Xbox hooked to an Onkyo receiver first, so I'm not sure if that's causing some handshaking issues or not. Haven't tried to bypass and try the feature again. But it's fixed now so I'm not pressing my luck. Lol.

TLDR; Try turning off any possible 3rd party CEC control.
xplizit is offline  
post #8123 of 8158 Old 07-04-2020, 05:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by xplizit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post
Anyone found a solution for the picture settings changes since the firmware update? I have the retina burning brightness issue that does not respond to any settings adjustments. If I restart the TV my settings and response to changes return. But after kids play games on it the next day the brighter settings return and stay until another restart. Any ideas?

I had the same issue after updating. I got it to go away by turning off the feature on the Xbox that tells the tv to turn on and off. While that setting was on, my tv did the super torch mode every single time the tv switched inputs or was rebooted. Only way to get it normal was to unplug the tv and plug it back in when Xbox was on. Then it would go back to normal. Did some poking around and turned off the xbox's tv power controls and haven't had it happen 1 time since. Seems like some weird CEC issue. I do have the Xbox hooked to an Onkyo receiver first, so I'm not sure if that's causing some handshaking issues or not. Haven't tried to bypass and try the feature again. But it's fixed now so I'm not pressing my luck. Lol.

TLDR; Try turning off any possible 3rd party CEC control.
Thank you. Found the setting on the Xbox and turned it off. We’ll see how it goes. Much appreciated.
AndyN is offline  
post #8124 of 8158 Old 07-05-2020, 10:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 691
Any instructions on how to roll back firmware?.
Matt L is offline  
post #8125 of 8158 Old 07-06-2020, 08:25 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,988
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10005 Post(s)
Liked: 6667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
Any instructions on how to roll back firmware?.
Contact Roku support on the ROku Forums.
That is what I had to do one time when an update screwed things up for me. And they rolled it back for me. Then once a fix came they released the firmware update hold for my set.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #8126 of 8158 Old 07-06-2020, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Bob A (SD)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 55
WHOA!


Just found that in addition to all my OTA channels in channel program display, NOW the entire Roku channel line up with programming has been added too.

I like!

Only hiccup is that the channel return button on my Roku voice remote is FUBAR with this change. Still with the update I reported effective on my sets 24 June.

-=[Bob]=-
TCL 65" 65R615, 49" 49S515, 32" L32HDF11TA
My systems

Last edited by Bob A (SD); 07-06-2020 at 05:53 PM.
Bob A (SD) is offline  
post #8127 of 8158 Old 07-06-2020, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AndyN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Posts: 1,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by xplizit View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyN View Post
Anyone found a solution for the picture settings changes since the firmware update? I have the retina burning brightness issue that does not respond to any settings adjustments. If I restart the TV my settings and response to changes return. But after kids play games on it the next day the brighter settings return and stay until another restart. Any ideas?

I had the same issue after updating. I got it to go away by turning off the feature on the Xbox that tells the tv to turn on and off. While that setting was on, my tv did the super torch mode every single time the tv switched inputs or was rebooted. Only way to get it normal was to unplug the tv and plug it back in when Xbox was on. Then it would go back to normal. Did some poking around and turned off the xbox's tv power controls and haven't had it happen 1 time since. Seems like some weird CEC issue. I do have the Xbox hooked to an Onkyo receiver first, so I'm not sure if that's causing some handshaking issues or not. Haven't tried to bypass and try the feature again. But it's fixed now so I'm not pressing my luck. Lol.

TLDR; Try turning off any possible 3rd party CEC control.
Thank you. Found the setting on the Xbox and turned it off. We’ll see how it goes. Much appreciated.
Unfortunately despite turning off the Xbox’s power on thing, turning off the FireTV CEC control thing, and all HDMI control options I still get retina burning backlight upon start up every time. Restarting helps but once the TV is powered down it returns. Sigh. Very annoying.
AndyN is offline  
post #8128 of 8158 Old 07-07-2020, 01:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Contact Roku support on the ROku Forums.
That is what I had to do one time when an update screwed things up for me. And they rolled it back for me. Then once a fix came they released the firmware update hold for my set.

Not happy. Heard back from TCL today they want me to do a hard reset, not going to happen. I spent hours calibrating the set, and while I can write down all the settings, I do not want to re enter all that info. I know I'm not the only one having issues with the firmware, this is the first time TCL released a messed up firmware update, they need to do better.
Matt L is offline  
post #8129 of 8158 Old 07-07-2020, 04:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
Not happy. Heard back from TCL today they want me to do a hard reset, not going to happen. I spent hours calibrating the set, and while I can write down all the settings, I do not want to re enter all that info. I know I'm not the only one having issues with the firmware, this is the first time TCL released a messed up firmware update, they need to do better.
Had the same problem you're having, twice. First time I was able to roll back firmware to 9.2 which fixed it for a while, then the TV auto updated and the problem came back. The day it came back I unplugged the TV for several hours before going out for the day and when I came back and plugged it back in all the picture settings problems disappeared and it has been fine since. Not saying it's a guaranteed fix but would't hurt to try.
cemetery55 is offline  
post #8130 of 8158 Old 07-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The problem with the TV ignoring my settings and doing it's own thing (high brightness, action smoothing, etc.) went away for a day or two, then returned. I finally did a factory reset this past weekend, which was annoying, but that seems to have fixed it for good.
GrillMouster is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off