TCL 65" 6-Series 4K HDR TV First Look & Review - Page 33 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3656Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbeTronic View Post
how are you getting 899.99? best buy shows 999.99.
The post he quoted (from me) has your answer ... 10% off Birthday Coupon
Elodam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:31 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Who or where does it say the TV is at "Intro" price?
AbsentInDespair is offline  
post #963 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral__Ackbar View Post
I just sent TCL and Email but I'll call Best Buy and see if they have another.

And they have no stock so I'll just have to return for a refund if TCL won't help me out.
Oh man, that's the worst! I am sorry they're out of stock! Good luck with TCL!
4BITYETI likes this.
Sven A Blomsterberg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbsentInDespair View Post
Who or where does it say the TV is at "Intro" price?
Here: http://televisions.reviewed.com/cont...ries-tv-review

A few paragraphs down it says "NOTE" and it's written there. Amazon also has it written that it is $999 but normally $1299 ($300 off). That could just be clever marketing on Amazon's part, but I have heard it was just introductory pricing from a few sources so it may be accurate, at least for the 65 inch model.
AbsentInDespair likes this.
Sven A Blomsterberg is offline  
post #965 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you Sven A
AbsentInDespair is offline  
post #966 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Update to my previous post #939 :

I emailed TCL support and they suggested I go through Amazon as a replacement would be faster through them. Per my previous post, Amazon was unable to offer me a replacement due to not having stock (although now in the evening they have about 20 left).

I'm taking the refund. I'm not chancing a long wait for a replacement unit, and after multiple reports of this issue I'm afraid the replacement unit might be worse. I already have to package this thing back up and wait all day for UPS tomorrow. I guess you live and you learn... I'm going to check my local Best Buy(s) for a Sony X900E and buy that instead. If they have the R615 in by then I'll look at them too, but I'm not taking another TV home until I've powered it on and tested it for any screen defects such as this.
Hetfieldjames and 4BITYETI like this.
aarobrai is offline  
post #967 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,012
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1716 Post(s)
Liked: 1043
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarobrai View Post
Update to my previous post #939 :

I emailed TCL support and they suggested I go through Amazon as a replacement would be faster through them. Per my previous post, Amazon was unable to offer me a replacement due to not having stock (although now in the evening they have about 20 left).

I'm taking the refund. I'm not chancing a long wait for a replacement unit, and after multiple reports of this issue I'm afraid the replacement unit might be worse. I already have to package this thing back up and wait all day for UPS tomorrow. I guess you live and you learn... I'm going to check my local Best Buy(s) for a Sony X900E and buy that instead. If they have the R615 in by then I'll look at them too, but I'm not taking another TV home until I've powered it on and tested it for any screen defects such as this.
You will love the 900E trust me. There is nothing not to like. The HDR is really awesome, the black levels are very, very good. The processing and upscaling is excellent. Any questions you can pm me but you'll see at Best buy.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
storey13 and GhaSper_- like this.
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #968 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 25
The 55R617 is showing up as back in stock at Amazon.com:

https://www.amazon.com/TCL-55R617-55.../dp/B079N9HDNQ

Hurry up people!
GhaSper_- likes this.
danbert2000 is offline  
post #969 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 05:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
You will love the 900E trust me. There is nothing not to like. The HDR is really awesome, the black levels are very, very good. The processing and upscaling is excellent. Any questions you can pm me but you'll see at Best buy.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Happy to hear that. The only thing I'm worried about is the X900E could be gone from stores soon as I've seen it on clearance. Might spring for a Roku as well since I enjoyed my experience on the TCL...

Hopefully others have better luck with their TCLs as they arrive. If you get one without any issues I think you're in for a really great TV.
GhaSper_- likes this.
aarobrai is offline  
post #970 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 05:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by aarobrai View Post
Happy to hear that. The only thing I'm worried about is the X900E could be gone from stores soon as I've seen it on clearance. Might spring for a Roku as well since I enjoyed my experience on the TCL...

Hopefully others have better luck with their TCLs as they arrive. If you get one without any issues I think you're in for a really great TV.
Contrary to the environment on this website, $999 tvs move at a faster pace than $1499 sets. I don't think you are going to risk Best Buy running out anytime soon. Unless you are strictly talking open box of course.
reaperztoll is offline  
post #971 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 05:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 4
So, the safest bet is having a TV shipped to a Best Buy for pickup or hoping they have one there?
ShadowKingpin is offline  
post #972 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 05:43 PM
Newbie
 
xeonrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Spent the day reading through this thread between work tasks. Definitely still happy with my BB preorder. Thanks for all the info guys. First 4k, looks like a good way to splash. Now to buy a UHD player...
xeonrage is offline  
post #973 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 05:50 PM
Newbie
 
dmotley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by xeonrage View Post
Spent the day reading through this thread between work tasks. Definitely still happy with my BB preorder. Thanks for all the info guys. First 4k, looks like a good way to splash. Now to buy a UHD player...
If I play Blu-ray through ps4 do I need a HD 4K player or will tv upconvert?
dmotley is offline  
post #974 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 06:23 PM
Member
 
sizzler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue 72 View Post
I picked my 55" up in person yesterday from Best Buy. The box was in nearly perfect shape on the outside and I transported it vertically (okay, leaning over a bit) for the 50-mile ride home.



It was running for a couple of hours while I performed the setup and tweaked the settings. After watching a show on Netflix, but before going to bed, I snapped a picture of the screen with Local Contrast set to high (the default) while displaying a solid gray (RGB #818181 ).



Even what little bit of banding there might be in that picture was completely indiscernible to my eye unless I was staring at the gray screen for a long while and concentrating. Here's another with red:



The corners are the darkest, but that didn't even register on my radar while watching regular content. I haven't been able to find any dead pixels yet.
at the risk of sounding really stupid how did you create the solid gray screen?
sizzler is offline  
post #975 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 06:26 PM
Newbie
 
MichaelPineda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What is the best way, to test for screen uniformity also to detect for issues? 1st tv in over 10 yrs so im out of the loop.

Thank you
4BITYETI likes this.
MichaelPineda is offline  
post #976 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 06:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sk373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,474
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 1116
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmotley View Post
If I play Blu-ray through ps4 do I need a HD 4K player or will tv upconvert?
TV will upscale. Tho it doesn’t hurt to get a 4K player for UHD discs!

My humble main system:
Vizio M75-E1; Oppo 203 universal UHD player; Denon 4300H AVR, Dual PSA S1801's; Monitor Audio Silver RX-6 mains, RX center, and RX surrounds; one pair NHT mini Atmos speakers; Home-built HTPC (Xeon E1230, 16gb RAM, Crucial M500 480gb SSD, GeForce 980Ti, Corsair CX600, CoolerMaster mini-ITX case); Roku Premiere+; Amazon 4K Fire TV
sk373 is online now  
post #977 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 06:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
helvetica bold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1675 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Something really interesting popped up in the middle of CNETs C8 review."All three outperformed the LCDs, including the brighter Sony and Samsung, and in fact the TCL was the best HDR performer among the LCDs in a dark room." CNET compared the C8 to the Samsung QN65Q8FN, Sony XBR-65X900F and TCL 65R617
So if I read this correctly according to CNET the TCL had the best HDR in a dark room compared those LCDs.
https://www.cnet.com/products/lg-oled65c8pua/review/2/

Also, new owners of the 6 series, do yourself a favor and watch some Altered Carbon on Netflix. Every episode is Dolby Vision reference worthy.
avshaman and Ricanlegend21 like this.

LG65C9, XBOX ONE X, PS4PRO, APPLE 4K, SONY STRDN1070, TAKE CLASSIC 5.1
helvetica bold is offline  
post #978 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Admiral__Ackbar View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by BatmanNewsChris View Post
In the video when he turns on Game Mode on HDMI 1 it automatically disabled Local Contrast (local dimming). That's why the black levels looked so bad when he compared it to HDMI 2.
That's interesting because I remember That was an issue with the P607. They still have a note on it from rtings.

Update 8/1/2017: Local dimming now works with 'Game mode' enabled, as of software version 7.7.0 (build 4111).

It sounds like local dimming is disabled on game mode for the new 6 series. Maybe they will activate it in the future like they did for the P series. But I would think they would have had this working out of the box.

Can someone confirm that local dimming doesn't work in game mode.
I just got my 55 yesterday and didn’t notice this at first... but my Xbox One X wouldn’t let me have local contrast on with game mode enabled on HDMI 1. I could, however, use both simultaneously on HDMI 2 and 3. Maybe it’s something they can update in the future? Was it like this in last years P series? IN LOVE with mine btw...
avshaman likes this.
B_Millz is offline  
post #979 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Can anyone confirm the ethernet port is a gig port and not 10/100? Thanks!
MrZoops is offline  
post #980 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 08:17 PM
Member
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Finally did a uniformity test on mine. Out of the box, no settings changed. Feel pretty good about it, slight band on the right side but nothing too bad.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20180502_215101_1525317457767.jpg
Views:	1172
Size:	2.63 MB
ID:	2398378  
avshaman and GhaSper_- like this.
silver5liter is offline  
post #981 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 09:30 PM
Member
 
silver5liter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Does TCL release patch notes? My tv just got update software version 8.0.2 build 4133.
silver5liter is offline  
post #982 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 09:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 5,918
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 549
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoops View Post
Can anyone confirm the ethernet port is a gig port and not 10/100? Thanks!
It appears to 10/100. Not sure what the issue would be with that. Streaming services require 1/4 of that at most, I fed mine a 4K file over my network and there were zero issues.
4BITYETI likes this.
Matt L is offline  
post #983 of 7113 Old 05-02-2018, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt L View Post
It appears to 10/100. Not sure what the issue would be with that. Streaming services require 1/4 of that at most, I fed mine a 4K file over my network and there were zero issues.
lol My thoughts each time I've seen that question asked in this thread. Excuse my ignorance, but why would someone need a Gb connection to a TV?
avshaman and 4BITYETI like this.
James2020 is offline  
post #984 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 04:45 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by James2020 View Post
lol My thoughts each time I've seen that question asked in this thread. Excuse my ignorance, but why would someone need a Gb connection to a TV?
Well that sucks. I stream huge 4k files from plex. Like 70mbps. Wonder if that is going to be an issue.
MrZoops is offline  
post #985 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 05:58 AM
Member
 
dzl13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: OKC
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrZoops View Post
Well that sucks. I stream huge 4k files from plex. Like 70mbps. Wonder if that is going to be an issue.
I streamed The Last Jedi 4K 29.8 Mbps wireless last night with no issue at all via Plex. As a side note, it queued up the film and loaded in about 4 seconds. (300 Mbps max service at the house).
SuperFist likes this.
dzl13 is offline  
post #986 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 06:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
12B4A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: CR Iowa
Posts: 1,075
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 615 Post(s)
Liked: 529
Any kill-o-watt style measurements? It seems like these TCL's burn more power than comparable FALD panels but it's hard to be certain when trying to pull that info from specs and backsolving from the energy guide.

I also can't seem to find any contrast numbers that hold the backlight constant for the measurement. Did I miss that somewhere?

Life is Lambertian
12B4A is online now  
post #987 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 06:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12B4A View Post
Any kill-o-watt style measurements? It seems like these TCL's burn more power than comparable FALD panels but it's hard to be certain when trying to pull that info from specs and backsolving from the energy guide.

I also can't seem to find any contrast numbers that hold the backlight constant for the measurement. Did I miss that somewhere?
$32/year and $45/year, for the 55" and 65", respectively
Ricanlegend21 likes this.
James2020 is offline  
post #988 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 06:33 AM
Member
 
bcatwilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Picture Quality Difference between 55" and 65"?

So, other than the obvious increase in screen size will the dimming zones going from 96 in the 55" to 120 in the 65" impact picture quality? Or does it even out somewhat due to the larger screen size? I am somewhat torn between the two and wasn't sure if I could expect any actual quality differences.
GhaSper_- likes this.

Last edited by bcatwilly; 05-03-2018 at 06:39 AM.
bcatwilly is offline  
post #989 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 06:39 AM
Newbie
 
bosox455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I"m looking to get a new 55" 4k TV. My main concern is a great picture for sports and I am torn between the 55" X900E and the 55" R617/615. Is the motion handling/sports viewing that much better on the Sony to overcome the ~$350 price difference? or does the R617/615 handle sports just fine?

Note: other than sports, I watch mostly Netflix streaming and blu-ray. Not a gamer at all.
bosox455 is offline  
post #990 of 7113 Old 05-03-2018, 06:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcatwilly View Post
So, other than the obvious increase in screen size will the dimming zones going from 96 in the 55" to 120 in the 65" impact picture quality? Or does it even out somewhat due to the larger screen size? I am somewhat torn between the two and wasn't sure if I could expect any actual quality differences.
The 55" actually has less screen area per LED backlight, which is preferable, but the difference is minute and likely inconsequential. From all accounts, the PQ should be the same.
EJSLP likes this.
James2020 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
6-series , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off