2018 Samsung NU8000 Owners Thread - Page 52 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 148Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1531 of 1559 Old 07-16-2019, 10:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MikeSM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,026
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Hi folks. I have a new NU8000 going into a new home we are about to move in to. This one is for a bedroom that doesn't have an AVR driving it, but has stereo speakers driven by a multichannel amp. The primary content source is an nvidia shiield TV connected by HDMI.

What I am trying to figure out is how to get stereo audio out of the TV that is volume controlled (either by the TV or the shield), and the documentation is pretty unclear on how to do this. The TV doesn't seem to have a stereo audio out, but does have an optical output. I can convert the TOSLINK to stereo analog out, but will that be volume controlled by the TV or the shield? Also, if the TV is playing a 5.1 source, can the audio out be configured just for stereo?

How do folks get plain old stereo out of this TV?

Thanks!
Mike
MikeSM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1532 of 1559 Old 07-20-2019, 12:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSM View Post
Hi folks. I have a new NU8000 going into a new home we are about to move in to. This one is for a bedroom that doesn't have an AVR driving it, but has stereo speakers driven by a multichannel amp. The primary content source is an nvidia shiield TV connected by HDMI.

What I am trying to figure out is how to get stereo audio out of the TV that is volume controlled (either by the TV or the shield), and the documentation is pretty unclear on how to do this. The TV doesn't seem to have a stereo audio out, but does have an optical output. I can convert the TOSLINK to stereo analog out, but will that be volume controlled by the TV or the shield? Also, if the TV is playing a 5.1 source, can the audio out be configured just for stereo?

How do folks get plain old stereo out of this TV?

Thanks!
Mike
What inputs does your multichannel amp have? If it will accept HDMI, the TV has ARC output on HDMI slot 4. You could have the TV send audio via ARC to your amp (I believe you can configure it for stereo or 5.1. Note that ARC will not pass Dolby HD or DTS HD, so it won't be lossless. Alternatively, you could use optical TOSLINK. I think same situation, you can configure it for stereo in the TV audio settings (need to double check this). You may have to do some sync adjustments in case there is a mismatch between video vs audio. If you can configure it via HDMI, you should be able to control the volume using the TV remote if both devices (TV and amp) can work with CEC. See https://www.howtogeek.com/207186/how...hy-you-should/
aaronarchy is offline  
post #1533 of 1559 Old 07-21-2019, 08:03 AM
Member
 
sfsilicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeSM View Post
What I am trying to figure out is how to get stereo audio out of the TV that is volume controlled (either by the TV or the shield), and the documentation is pretty unclear on how to do this. The TV doesn't seem to have a stereo audio out, but does have an optical output. I can convert the TOSLINK to stereo analog out, but will that be volume controlled by the TV or the shield? Also, if the TV is playing a 5.1 source, can the audio out be configured just for stereo?

How do folks get plain old stereo out of this TV?
Is a soundbar an option? I bought a refurb Sony YAS-107 for <$100. 1070 is the same model amd the newer 108 uses the same woofer/tweater w/ rounded corners. I connect using HDMI ARC so I can control it and power on/off using the TV remote. It has virtual dd / dts and is fairly compact.

https://usa.yamaha.com/products/audi...107/index.html.

The product page has pictures that give a good sense of the size. I'm using this with my 43" LG in a bedroom so I wanted something compact and decent bass / volume for watching movies. Any sound bar / avr with ARC will allow the control via the TV volume. I tried out a couple but this was the best I could find without a separate sub woofer. If you need mord base later you can attach a sub analog out on the yamaha.

Last edited by sfsilicon; 07-21-2019 at 08:23 AM.
sfsilicon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1534 of 1559 Old 07-24-2019, 04:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 11
From another thread, a Samsung NU8000 owner noted that through his FIOS cable box he was able to experience Dolby Atmos Mat through DD+. Has anyone experienced this on there sets? From what I know, you can't get Atmos through ARC unless the TV is enabled to have eARC.

Just curious if anyone has been able to pass through Dolby Atmos Mat through ARC. Thanks!
Jedimaster5577 is offline  
post #1535 of 1559 Old 07-31-2019, 03:45 AM
Newbie
 
T Hameed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
Try my settings and see what you think. I am assuming that everyone is turning off the Ambient Light Detection and Power Saving Mode in the General Settings section. In the PICTURE SECTION. Picture Mode - Standard, In the Expert Settings. Backlight - 40, Brightness -2, Contrast -50, Sharpness -15, Color -14, Tint-0, Digital Clean View -Auto, Auto Motion Plus -Auto, Local Dimming -Standard, Contrast Enhancer -High, HDR+Mode -Off, Color Tone - Standard, White Balance and Gamma - leave alone, RGB Only Mode -Off, Color Space Settings -Native. One question I have. It seems to me that the picture is better when I leave HDR MODE is set to Off. I did not expect that but maybe it's just me.
Had just set up the 75NU8000 and found that my Standard picture settings are almost the same as yours. I had Colour and Sharpness a couple of notches lower. Still can see judder watching live sports.
T Hameed is offline  
post #1536 of 1559 Old 08-04-2019, 04:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by T Hameed View Post
Had just set up the 75NU8000 and found that my Standard picture settings are almost the same as yours. I had Colour and Sharpness a couple of notches lower. Still can see judder watching live sports.

Keep auto motion plus on but turn everything down to zero. Should help with the judder.
Moto_919 is offline  
post #1537 of 1559 Old 08-05-2019, 10:15 PM
Member
 
seanmwaple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I came home today and noticed this just now. More than likely my 2 yr old threw something that hit the TV.... what are my options here? Is this fixable? Expensive?

seanmwaple is offline  
post #1538 of 1559 Old 08-07-2019, 03:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 17
1270.6 firmware released earlier this morning but can't find any notes on what the update does??? Just scroll down halfway to see the download link. I don't connect my TV to the network so I'm not sure if it's available that way as well yet.

https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N55NU8000FXZC/
handheldpictures is offline  
post #1539 of 1559 Old 08-09-2019, 01:46 PM
Member
 
Tygeezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by handheldpictures View Post
1270.6 firmware released earlier this morning but can't find any notes on what the update does??? Just scroll down halfway to see the download link. I don't connect my TV to the network so I'm not sure if it's available that way as well yet.

https://www.samsung.com/ca/support/m...N55NU8000FXZC/
I saw that yesterday too. The update wasn't available over the air when I tried to update.
Tygeezy is offline  
post #1540 of 1559 Old 08-09-2019, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2,345
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 802 Post(s)
Liked: 1914
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanmwaple View Post
I came home today and noticed this just now. More than likely my 2 yr old threw something that hit the TV.... what are my options here? Is this fixable? Expensive?
If it's a recent purchase with a credit card, check if your credit card has purchase protection. It may cover purchases that are lost, stolen, or damaged.

Good luck.

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #1541 of 1559 Old 08-10-2019, 12:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tygeezy View Post
I saw that yesterday too. The update wasn't available over the air when I tried to update.
I decided to take a chance and did the update via a usb stick. I can't comment on apps since I don't use the one's on the TV, but it appears there's a slight increase in brightness and contrast without washing things out. So in my opinion, that's a good thing.
I'll report back if I notice anything else worth mentioning.
handheldpictures is offline  
post #1542 of 1559 Old 08-22-2019, 01:35 PM
Member
 
Holmes108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
1270 just auto installed on my set. There was a prompt where I could click "details" but I didn't get to the remote fast enough and it disappeared. Don't know if there would have been anything useful if I had managed to click it.

Sent from my SM-N920W8 using Tapatalk
Holmes108 is offline  
post #1543 of 1559 Old 08-23-2019, 02:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Yep, 1270 install OTA on my US model too.
almostinsane is offline  
post #1544 of 1559 Old 08-28-2019, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Looks like 1270 added Apple Airplay to the settings menu.

almostinsane is offline  
post #1545 of 1559 Old 09-05-2019, 09:45 AM
Member
 
diononiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 36
I just purchased the 82 inch NU8000 and am having difficulty with white backgrounds. The picture appears "washed out" with white backgrounds (especially indoors). Are there any recommended settings to address this?


Coming from a 4 year old Sony 75XBR750 I was hoping for an improvement in picture quality not a step down.


Any guidance would be much appreciated.


Thanks again

Mcintosh C2500, MC302, MC8207
B&W 804D3, HTM2D3
Marantz 7702 mkII
Oppo 203, Sony UBP-X800
Sony XBR85X900F living room, LG OLED65E7P (Bedroom), Sunbrite 46 Pro series (outside)
diononiz is offline  
post #1546 of 1559 Old 09-06-2019, 05:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by diononiz View Post
I just purchased the 82 inch NU8000 and am having difficulty with white backgrounds. The picture appears "washed out" with white backgrounds (especially indoors).
What settings do you currently have?
Diocletian is offline  
post #1547 of 1559 Old 09-08-2019, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post
Looks like 1270 added Apple Airplay to the settings menu.


I have the same version and do not have this in my settings menu. wtf?
adamRS is offline  
post #1548 of 1559 Old 09-09-2019, 10:44 AM
Member
 
diononiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diocletian View Post
What settings do you currently have?

I turned the HDR plus mode off and mounted it on the wall. The TV seems to look a bit better.



The challenge I have is that we have a 65 inch LG OLED in the bedroom and my wife is comparing this TV to it.


Scenes with a white background (esp HGTV) still seem a bit "washed out:"


I tried the rtings.com settings but they didn't help much. The other issue is my TV is in a room that is bright during the day.


Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Mcintosh C2500, MC302, MC8207
B&W 804D3, HTM2D3
Marantz 7702 mkII
Oppo 203, Sony UBP-X800
Sony XBR85X900F living room, LG OLED65E7P (Bedroom), Sunbrite 46 Pro series (outside)
diononiz is offline  
post #1549 of 1559 Old 10-16-2019, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone in this thread having problem with WiFi connection constantly dropping despite setting correct Static IP/DNS server and also having excellent Wifi signal?
Matush is offline  
post #1550 of 1559 Old 10-16-2019, 07:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jnnt29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Lower Delaware
Posts: 1,099
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matush View Post
Anyone in this thread having problem with WiFi connection constantly dropping despite setting correct Static IP/DNS server and also having excellent Wifi signal?
I do as well. I just connected a Roku and called it a day.

My set up: Samsung UN82nu8000 LED TV, Marantz SR7012, Emotiva XPA3, Sony UBP-X800
Roku 4k Premier, Panamax MR4000, 2 Marantz MA-500U, Klipsch KLF10 (L/R),
RC62II (center), R-1650-W (surrounds), RB81II (Rear Surrounds),
Monoprice 6.5" in ceiling speaker (top front/rear), Two Klipsch R-10SW subwoofer
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/show....php?t=1227096
jnnt29 is online now  
post #1551 of 1559 Old 10-17-2019, 08:14 PM
Member
 
MiamiBourne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have issues with this TV not turning on their Apple 4k TV? It used to work but now it asks if I want to turn on the Apple TV and when I press for it to turn it on nothing happens. I have to get the Apple TV remote to turn it on. Not sure if it's an issue with the TV or the Apple TV
MiamiBourne is online now  
post #1552 of 1559 Old 11-02-2019, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 17
New Firmware update 1282.3

Just noticed this update on the Korean website. I previously downloaded the 1270.6 update for my NU8000 from the site onto a USB stick and had no issues with getting it to update properly here in Canada. The TV still has the Xbox One X FreeSync reboot issue though where the set will suddenly turn off and then back on while playing and the only way to correct that is to disable FreeSync.
Once again though, I haven't seen any notes on 1282.3 so will hold off until I hear more feedback as 1270.6 has been good overall. Here's the link for anyone that's interested though.

https://www.samsung.com/sec/support/...N55NU8000FXKR/
handheldpictures is offline  
post #1553 of 1559 Old 11-02-2019, 01:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 450
This may have been discussed before but no matter how I adjust the different settings I cannot get HDR mode to do anything but make the picture worse.
andy sullivan is offline  
post #1554 of 1559 Old 11-02-2019, 04:42 PM
Member
 
Horace Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by andy sullivan View Post
This may have been discussed before but no matter how I adjust the different settings I cannot get HDR mode to do anything but make the picture worse.
HDR+mode is just a 5th picture mode setting. It has nothing to do with hdr. It is a sdr setting. For best hdr results set picture mode to movie. HDR will automatically be detected when viewing a hdr source.
Horace Clark is offline  
post #1555 of 1559 Old 11-02-2019, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andy sullivan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: sun city west AZ
Posts: 4,382
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 965 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Horace Clark View Post
HDR+mode is just a 5th picture mode setting. It has nothing to do with hdr. It is a sdr setting. For best hdr results set picture mode to movie. HDR will automatically be detected when viewing a hdr source.
Thank you. I had no idea. If it has nothing to do with HDR why did they include those letters and the put a + after them?
andy sullivan is offline  
post #1556 of 1559 Old 11-06-2019, 08:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
VRR/Freesync/Nvidia?

Hello! Nvidia just turned on VRR/Freesync over HDMI with their latest driver update.
Has anyone gotten it to work with the NU8000? I have a the 55" version on FW 1270.
G-Sync detects and enables from the Nvidia Control Panel when I set the TV to Ultimate but not Basic, and I'm getting loss of signal / blanking (I think that's what it's called) regardless of the game. This happens at 1080, 1440 and 4k. I'm using an HDMI 2.1 cable.
I have no experience with freesync or G-Sync other than this. Any advice?
Reverb256 is offline  
post #1557 of 1559 Old 11-07-2019, 07:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reverb256 View Post
Hello! Nvidia just turned on VRR/Freesync over HDMI with their latest driver update.
Has anyone gotten it to work with the NU8000? I have a the 55" version on FW 1270.
G-Sync detects and enables from the Nvidia Control Panel when I set the TV to Ultimate but not Basic, and I'm getting loss of signal / blanking (I think that's what it's called) regardless of the game. This happens at 1080, 1440 and 4k. I'm using an HDMI 2.1 cable.
I have no experience with freesync or G-Sync other than this. Any advice?
Hi, what GPU are you using?
I cannot see anything with my 1070ti. Thanks
neroneuk is offline  
post #1558 of 1559 Old 11-07-2019, 01:19 PM
Member
 
MiamiBourne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MiamiBourne View Post
Anyone have issues with this TV not turning on their Apple 4k TV? It used to work but now it asks if I want to turn on the Apple TV and when I press for it to turn it on nothing happens. I have to get the Apple TV remote to turn it on. Not sure if it's an issue with the TV or the Apple TV
Seems like this issue may be related to the latest TV OS killing CEC. No one else?

Also it seem the TV remote is not working properly. It will turn on/off the TV but the home button does nothing and I can't switch inputs. I guess I have to check the software version when I get home.
MiamiBourne is online now  
post #1559 of 1559 Old 11-13-2019, 09:26 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone else missing the Airplay option on their TV? I'm on the latest firmware, but it's not in the settings menu.
adamRS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off