Issues getting 4k 60hz from mac / 980ti to TCL 65S405 4k tv - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 05-22-2018, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Issues getting 4k 60hz from mac / 980ti to TCL 65S405 4k tv

I needed a 65" 4k tv for other reasons, but I do some video editing, so looking to get most accurate image for editing.
Just updated the old 2008 MacPro with a mac flashed 980ti, and picked up a TCL 65S405 4k tv. Mac is running most updated possible OS for it which is 10.11.6.
Since it's on a mac, though, I don't have Nvidia control panel, and system options gives only 30hz or 24hz output options, and image is way too small (underscanned?) The card has 3 DisplayPorts, and 1 HDMI 2.0 port, and Tv's docs say all of it's 3 HDMI inputs are 2.0 as well, so I'm not seeing anything incapable of 60hz. Fairly sturdy thick looking 6 foot HDMI cable, though I can't speak for it's particular rating.
Image is set at correct UHD resolution, but shrunk and severely letterboxed several inches or more on all sides. Do I need SwitchResX to force overscan and dial in, or is there some way to just get correct pixel mapping without shrinking and then enlarging it?
hoochow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 05-23-2018, 10:14 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Just ordered a new cable. Reviews seemed to agree that the Certified Premium High Speed cable from Monoprice (despite being dirt cheap) succeeds at 4k 60hz 4:4:4 where others fail. It's 28AWG, but reviews (and specs) all seemed worse for the only thicker copper I could find. Anyway, if that's an issue, it should be eliminated soon, and I'm only running 6 feet.


But... assuming it's NOT just a cable issue, generally speaking, how are Mac Nvidia card users dialing in their settings? Is this just a case of needing 3rd party software since we don't have Nvidia's control panel? If so, SwitchResX? Something else?


4k 60 hz aside, I'm not even getting proper 4k 30 hz at the moment due to the scaling issue, but I have no controls for it.
hoochow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
980ti , computer , mac , tcl

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off