2018 Samsung Q9FN Settings Thread - Page 11 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 116Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #301 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 09:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matsonia View Post
Yeah I did. Everything looked perfect. Gamma was tracking perfect. colour temp, CMS. Watching a few movies though something looked off and everything had a green cast. I decided to check it in HCFR which I always do my manual calibrations with. The correct setting to use in HCFR is none refresh display.

Iv attatched a screenshot from HCFR which you can see lines up with what I was seeing on screen with the green cast to everything. I then ran calman again doing a pre calibration check and it matched up with HCFR when using the LCD LED setting for display type and you can see those match up with the calman autocal calibration results when using LCD LED with the calibrated cal night results. Did a full autocal using the LCD LED setting and no more green cast and everything looks right. Ran it back though HCFR and perfect results there aswell.
Looks like you got your proper base. Incidentally for my i1 Pro 2 Enhanced, LCD (LED) is also the correct mode. Have fun!

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #302 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 11:47 AM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matsonia View Post
Yeah I did. Everything looked perfect. Gamma was tracking perfect. colour temp, CMS. Watching a few movies though something looked off and everything had a green cast. I decided to check it in HCFR which I always do my manual calibrations with. The correct setting to use in HCFR is none refresh display.

Iv attatched a screenshot from HCFR which you can see lines up with what I was seeing on screen with the green cast to everything. I then ran calman again doing a pre calibration check and it matched up with HCFR when using the LCD LED setting for display type and you can see those match up with the calman autocal calibration results when using LCD LED with the calibrated cal night results. Did a full autocal using the LCD LED setting and no more green cast and everything looks right. Ran it back though HCFR and perfect results there aswell.
Thanks. I did take a look at using the LCD LED profile today, but still had a very odd RGB balance. I then noticed that the TV was saying it was using ST.2084 gamma and DCI-P3 colour space, which was not what I was expecting as I'm attempting to do an SDR calibration. I'm using a Fire TV Stick 4K with the Mobile Forge patterns and I think the 4K stick is what's causing the problems for me here. If I use a Fire TV Stick (not the 4K version, do you think I will get the flat RGB ballance?
JayAy is offline  
post #303 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 11:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayAy View Post
Thanks. I did take a look at using the LCD LED profile today, but still had a very odd RGB balance. I then noticed that the TV was saying it was using ST.2084 gamma and DCI-P3 colour space, which was not what I was expecting as I'm attempting to do an SDR calibration. I'm using a Fire TV Stick 4K with the Mobile Forge patterns and I think the 4K stick is what's causing the problems for me here. If I use a Fire TV Stick (not the 4K version, do you think I will get the flat RGB ballance?
You need to get the TV to be in SDR mode somehow. The 4K stick is probably triggering the HDR mode.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #304 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 01:19 PM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
You need to get the TV to be in SDR mode somehow. The 4K stick is probably triggering the HDR mode.
That what I guess is happening, but can't find any settings on the 4K stick. The TV seems to autoswitch, I wonder if I can force the external interface to not accept UHD/HDR?
JayAy is offline  
post #305 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 02:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayAy View Post
That what I guess is happening, but can't find any settings on the 4K stick. The TV seems to autoswitch, I wonder if I can force the external interface to not accept UHD/HDR?
You may have to calibrate without the 4K stick.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #306 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 02:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Matsonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 721
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 480 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Yeah I used the firestick aswell but mine isn't a 4K one. I also contacted calman support to mention about my findings and they said that I should get in touch with xrite to see if they have a quantum dot profile there able to send me.
Matsonia is offline  
post #307 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 05:55 PM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
You may have to calibrate without the 4K stick.
I found a way to get the Fire TV Stick 4K to output SDR. Now much happier with both pre and post calibration RGB Ballance. Next task is to try to improve on the colours a little.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Pre-calibration SDR BT.1886.png
Views:	114
Size:	242.1 KB
ID:	2514326   Click image for larger version

Name:	Post-calibration SDR BT.1886.png
Views:	124
Size:	233.0 KB
ID:	2514328  
JayAy is offline  
post #308 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 06:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayAy View Post
I found a way to get the Fire TV Stick 4K to output SDR. Now much happier with both pre and post calibration RGB Ballance. Next task is to try to improve on the colours a little.
Hmm, that looks a little better

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #309 of 587 Old 01-21-2019, 11:41 PM
Member
 
Michael2907's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 0
That means that you had to do a complete run to get correct values?
Michael2907 is offline  
post #310 of 587 Old 01-22-2019, 07:44 AM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael2907 View Post
That means that you had to do a complete run to get correct values?
Hi Michael, If that question is aimed at me then, yes, but using auotcal only at this point, so it's not a huge amount of hard work. The RGB balance/grey levels are handled very well with the autocal here, but not so happy with the colour handling so will start to play manually with that to see if I can do a better job - let's see...
JayAy is offline  
post #311 of 587 Old 01-28-2019, 12:55 AM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarleyUK View Post
No - I only did 30% and 80% two step. I didn't do the full calibration due to the differences in sample slides and what the TV is expecting.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DVS will be adding the necessary grey scale slides for the Samsung 2018 Q9 auto calibration in Calman with the next update.
FarleyUK likes this.
JayAy is offline  
post #312 of 587 Old 01-29-2019, 02:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
In the custom color space of the user menu there is the option of choosing the saturation point for the calibration, but it's greyed out (at 100%). Does anyone know how to change that?
pcavallino is offline  
post #313 of 587 Old 01-29-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcavallino View Post
In the custom color space of the user menu there is the option of choosing the saturation point for the calibration, but it's greyed out (at 100%). Does anyone know how to change that?
AFAIK you can only change both saturation and luminance points with calibration software like CalMAN.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #314 of 587 Old 02-02-2019, 04:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,077
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Anyone have a good explanation of “Auto Motion” setting? Seems there is varying setting people set this to. Looking for a setting for sports that doesn’t have soap opera effect. Custom 0,0 is what I’m seeing for that, but also 3,1. Not sure the difference. Thanks

Room 1 Samsung Q8FN 75" TV || Denon X2400H Receiver || Triad InWall/4 Satellites || Triad InRoom Silver/4 Satellites || Triad OmniSub 12
Room 2 Sony X900F 65" TV  || Sony HT-X9000F sound bar
Xbox Live : BoDEAN
bodean is offline  
post #315 of 587 Old 02-02-2019, 05:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Try 10/5
hamad138 is offline  
post #316 of 587 Old 02-03-2019, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Latest DVS HDR calibration sets have been released that include updated greyscale point checks for the q9.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FarleyUK is offline  
post #317 of 587 Old 02-04-2019, 12:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarleyUK View Post
Latest DVS HDR calibration sets have been released that include updated greyscale point checks for the q9.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Found it, thanks

Last edited by pcavallino; 02-04-2019 at 12:46 AM.
pcavallino is offline  
post #318 of 587 Old 02-12-2019, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsul
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Here's a simple question I haven't been able to find the answer to. I have a DirecTV DVR and 2 Blu-Ray players connected to my Marantz SR-7012; then, out of the AVR I have one HDMI cable running to my Q9FN, to HDMI input #1 .

Is it possible for me to have different picture settings for each of my 3 sources, even though they all use the same input on the TV? At first I didn't think so, but I have been able to input different settings for each device, and select "Apply Picture Settings For This Source Only", and when I switch devices, the settings change accordingly.

But, other times, this doesn't work, and when I switch devices, the settings from the previous source are retained. I wouldn't think this would work at all, since I am using the same input on the TV for everything. Is there a way to make this work reliably, or not?

Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
Samsung Q9FN(65"), Marantz SR-7012, Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 3, Pioneer LX-500, Def Tech BP2000,
CS9040, SR9080, SVS PB-13 Ultra, PSB Imagine XA, Panamax M5300
Mike25690 is offline  
post #319 of 587 Old 02-12-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
I don't use such a setup but I believe it detects different devices over the same input. Have you tried it? It's the best way to know .

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #320 of 587 Old 02-12-2019, 03:49 PM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsul
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnotherDude View Post
I don't use such a setup but I believe it detects different devices over the same input. Have you tried it? It's the best way to know .
Yes, it has worked occasionally for me, but not all the time. That's why I'm curious. Sometimes the settings change when I change sources, other times not.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
Samsung Q9FN(65"), Marantz SR-7012, Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 3, Pioneer LX-500, Def Tech BP2000,
CS9040, SR9080, SVS PB-13 Ultra, PSB Imagine XA, Panamax M5300
Mike25690 is offline  
post #321 of 587 Old 02-14-2019, 05:38 AM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike25690 View Post
Here's a simple question I haven't been able to find the answer to. I have a DirecTV DVR and 2 Blu-Ray players connected to my Marantz SR-7012; then, out of the AVR I have one HDMI cable running to my Q9FN, to HDMI input #1 .



Is it possible for me to have different picture settings for each of my 3 sources, even though they all use the same input on the TV? At first I didn't think so, but I have been able to input different settings for each device, and select "Apply Picture Settings For This Source Only", and when I switch devices, the settings change accordingly.



But, other times, this doesn't work, and when I switch devices, the settings from the previous source are retained. I wouldn't think this would work at all, since I am using the same input on the TV for everything. Is there a way to make this work reliably, or not?



Thanks for any help anyone can provide.


I don't think so - I've never been able to do this, anyway..!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FarleyUK is offline  
post #322 of 587 Old 02-14-2019, 06:13 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 4,524
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike25690 View Post
Is it possible for me to have different picture settings for each of my 3 sources, even though they all use the same input on the TV?
Some settings can differ by format, but others can't. I have only a few relevant observations. One place I need different settings for a single device is for DirecTV, which is what I watch most frequently, and which comes to me in either 2k or 4k and either SDR or HDR. Similarly for streamed Amazon Prime, Netflix, and Youtube. The user settings that I find need to differ are Sharpness, Gamma, Color Tone, Mode. All except Mode can have different settings for a single device -- you play a video in the format you need to adjust for and bring up the settings menu while the video is playing to make a settings change. For Mode, I use HDR+, which I think looks good for all the formats.

I am not talking here about distinguishing devices which are all connected through a single AVR. I have taken my AVR out of the loop, because I just couldn't get it to work with this TV.

Greg Lee

Last edited by GregLee; 02-14-2019 at 06:34 AM.
GregLee is offline  
post #323 of 587 Old 02-14-2019, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsul
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by GregLee View Post
Some settings can differ by format, but others can't. I have only a few relevant observations. One place I need different settings for a single device is for DirecTV, which is what I watch most frequently, and which comes to me in either 2k or 4k and either SDR or HDR. Similarly for streamed Amazon Prime, Netflix, and Youtube. The user settings that I find need to differ are Sharpness, Gamma, Color Tone, Mode. All except Mode can have different settings for a single device -- you play a video in the format you need to adjust for and bring up the settings menu while the video is playing to make a settings change. For Mode, I use HDR+, which I think looks good for all the formats.

I am not talking here about distinguishing devices which are all connected through a single AVR. I have taken my AVR out of the loop, because I just couldn't get it to work with this TV.
Thanks for the response. I am also having problems with the way I have currently connected everything. My DirecTV DVR, my 4K player (Pioneer UDP LX-500) and an older Oppo Blu-ray player are connected to various HDMI inputs on the Marantz SR-7012, and the HDMI out from the AVR then goes to a single HDMI input (#1) on the Samsung One-Connect box. DirecTV works fine, but the disc players are hit and miss.

I'm having problems getting the proper HDR color; sometimes I get it, sometimes not. I have experienced this with the same settings, and after changing them; I've tried turning HDR off on one or more devices, which seems to sometimes work, and I've also experimented with various HDMI control settings on all of the devices, but I can't seem to get the right combination.

Would it be better to connect all of these devices to separate TV inputs, and then the TV optical out to the AVR? Or is there something else I'm missing? Thanks for any help anyone can provide.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
Samsung Q9FN(65"), Marantz SR-7012, Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 3, Pioneer LX-500, Def Tech BP2000,
CS9040, SR9080, SVS PB-13 Ultra, PSB Imagine XA, Panamax M5300
Mike25690 is offline  
post #324 of 587 Old 02-14-2019, 11:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike25690's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calumet, Michigan, in the U.P.'s Keweenaw Peninsul
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike25690 View Post
Thanks for the response. I am also having problems with the way I have currently connected everything. My DirecTV DVR, my 4K player (Pioneer UDP LX-500) and an older Oppo Blu-ray player are connected to various HDMI inputs on the Marantz SR-7012, and the HDMI out from the AVR then goes to a single HDMI input (#1) on the Samsung One-Connect box. DirecTV works fine, but the disc players are hit and miss.

I'm having problems getting the proper HDR color; sometimes I get it, sometimes not. I have experienced this with the same settings, and after changing them; I've tried turning HDR off on one or more devices, which seems to sometimes work, and I've also experimented with various HDMI control settings on all of the devices, but I can't seem to get the right combination.

Would it be better to connect all of these devices to separate TV inputs, and then the TV optical out to the AVR? Or is there something else I'm missing? Thanks for any help anyone can provide.
This HDR problem (or at least I think that's what it is) is strange. I've disconnected some things, and am now just running a DirecTV DVR, Samsung Q9FN, and a Pioneer UHD player (UDP LX-500) with my Marantz SR-7012.

I have HDR set to auto in the UHD player; I have turned off all of the HDMI control stuff in the AVR, since I control everything with a Harmony Elite. I also have the HDR turned on for the HDMI input I'm using on the TV. But, if I switch activities, shut everything off, etc.; sometimes when I start playing a disc, the color is washed out. I can then switch off HDR for the TV input, and sometimes the color will be restored; other times it will wash out further.

I'm sure that this is due to an incorrect HDMI setting somewhere, but I've tried lots of combinations, and I can't get the color to be correct all the time; sometimes it's great, sometimes it has some level of de-saturation and is darker. (This color shift only occurs with UHD discs; DirecTV is fine, which leads me to think it's an HDR/HDMI problem.)

I've been working on this for a couple of days now, with no solution; I would really appreciate any suggestions; thanks.

"I will drag you, kicking and screaming if I have to, into the modern world!" -- Peter the Great
Samsung Q9FN(65"), Marantz SR-7012, Emotiva XPA-3 Gen 3, Pioneer LX-500, Def Tech BP2000,
CS9040, SR9080, SVS PB-13 Ultra, PSB Imagine XA, Panamax M5300
Mike25690 is offline  
post #325 of 587 Old 02-14-2019, 11:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
I don'tr have those problems, but I have audio only going to my preamp from DirecTV and OPPO BD, and video straight from the devices to the TV, no video from the preamp to the TV or audio from the TV to the preamp.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
post #326 of 587 Old 02-14-2019, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
GregLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Waimanalo HI
Posts: 4,524
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1101 Post(s)
Liked: 386
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike25690 View Post
Would it be better to connect all of these devices to separate TV inputs, and then the TV optical out to the AVR?
Yes, I think so. There might be a problem with some advanced audio formats not being available using optical. Your DirecTV video and audio settings could also make a difference.

Greg Lee
GregLee is offline  
post #327 of 587 Old 03-05-2019, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
mombasa123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 150 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarleyUK View Post
It's pretty simple - just find and download a HDR test pattern generator (I believe I use the DVS HDR10 patterns). Put them on a USB drive, insert the usb drive into the one connect box.

In Calman, run the Samsung hdr work flow. Set the source to manual and ensure that the option for prompting for slide changes is selected (think it's the the first checkbox in the source tab, top right).

You can use AutoCal with hdr movie mode calibration - only thing I didn't do was multi point greyscale (as Samsung use weird percentages, not the normal 5% intervals) and the cms for colour - I'm not confident the slides I used for the cms calibration were the right ones.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Doesn't AutoCal with manual selection take a v long time? I have the DVS disk too and just waiting for Home version to come out (Spectracal CS said it will support Samsung AutoCal).

I also have Ted's disk for SDR but looking at pattern generators (like RPi) & Autocal for the initial calibration and then fine tune manually.

Complete novice at this btw.

Thanks
mombasa123 is offline  
post #328 of 587 Old 03-26-2019, 06:20 AM
Member
 
JayAy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasa123 View Post
Doesn't AutoCal with manual selection take a v long time? I have the DVS disk too and just waiting for Home version to come out (Spectracal CS said it will support Samsung AutoCal).

Well it's slower than with automatic patern selection, but it's still not that time consumming.
mombasa123 likes this.
JayAy is offline  
post #329 of 587 Old 03-31-2019, 04:34 AM
Senior Member
 
FarleyUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Can anyone help....?

Trying to use AutoCal to calibrate HDR mode, with the tools from DVS. However, it seems their greyscale codes for the 2018 Samsung TVs don't match - my AutoCal is asking for the 49.7% greyscale slide, and that doesn't exist in the DVS deck.

Anyone else encounter this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
FarleyUK is offline  
post #330 of 587 Old 03-31-2019, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
AnotherDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,453
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1026 Post(s)
Liked: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by FarleyUK View Post
Can anyone help....?

Trying to use AutoCal to calibrate HDR mode, with the tools from DVS. However, it seems their greyscale codes for the 2018 Samsung TVs don't match - my AutoCal is asking for the 49.7% greyscale slide, and that doesn't exist in the DVS deck.

Anyone else encounter this?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Neither SDR nor HDR greyscale calibration levels are standard whole number 5 point increment levels. The HDR levels are the weirdest.

---------------------------------------
Samsung 75Q9FN, OPPO UDP-205, Radiance 2143
Win 10 Pro x64 1903
HT Enthusiast Extended Custom WF v19.3.0 - 7/5/2019
HT Enthusiast Essentials Custom WF v1.2.0 - 7/5/2019
AnotherDude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off