2018 Vizio P-Quantum 65" PQ65 owners thread ** No Price Talk - Page 16 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2173Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 5606 Old 08-02-2018, 08:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyrouse View Post
What are your video settings on the Xbox?
I show them at the beginning of the video.
Sorry, difficult to zoom in and read them. Did you make sure to turn on the allow HDR color in the tv settings?
mightyrouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 5606 Old 08-02-2018, 08:35 PM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyrouse View Post
Sorry, difficult to zoom in and read them. Did you make sure to turn on the allow HDR color in the tv settings?
Yes. That’s what causes it.
bigmixx is offline  
post #453 of 5606 Old 08-02-2018, 08:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyrouse View Post
Sorry, difficult to zoom in and read them. Did you make sure to turn on the allow HDR color in the tv settings?
Yes. That’s what causes it.
I’ll mess around with some settings and bypass my receiver to see if I can replicate it.

Update: So going through the settings the only thing I can think of is maybe you have 12bit checked under color depth in video fidelity. I wasn’t able to replicate though playing Forza Horizon 3. Maybe try to go back to defaults on the Xbox and do some testing from there. Sorry I couldn’t help. Hope it’s not a bad unit man, that would suck.

Last edited by mightyrouse; 08-02-2018 at 09:08 PM.
mightyrouse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #454 of 5606 Old 08-02-2018, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Well....thought it was working fine but then this started. Same as the P65. Xbox connected directly to the TV on HDMI 3
https://youtu.be/eMD5DcoroWI
On my P65 when switching resolutions and adding hdr with my pc, A grey screen would appear. This was connected to a Pioneer vsx 1131. When I switched inputs on my receiver(not tv) and back again it took care of the issue. For whatever reason I do not have this issue with same receiver coupled with the PQ65.

No issues with an xbox one s on my end.

Last edited by Friendlys; 08-02-2018 at 09:16 PM. Reason: forgot something
Friendlys is offline  
post #455 of 5606 Old 08-02-2018, 09:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 589
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 200
I have included 3 pictures of altered carbon using low, medium and high dimming to show the difference in brightness as well as black bars.


Low dimming bars are black but brightness in small windows is similar to my 2016 p65.

Medium improves brightness but there is slight light leakage into the bars

High again subtlety improves brightness but bars turn grey near highlights
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	low dimming.jpg
Views:	297
Size:	429.1 KB
ID:	2436582   Click image for larger version

Name:	medium dimming.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	500.9 KB
ID:	2436584   Click image for larger version

Name:	high dimming.jpg
Views:	289
Size:	493.1 KB
ID:	2436586  
Friendlys is offline  
post #456 of 5606 Old 08-02-2018, 10:02 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
So I wanted to test the black levels and thought the intro to John Wick 2 was best suited since it's what blew me away when I first got the C6. This PQ did a really solid job. Maybe I need to rewatch on the OLED, but I have to say, the colors definitely have more eye candy on the vizio. Bright objects like headlights or explosions are like nothing I've seen on a TV before. Crystal clean peak whites and intensely vibrant fire. Even the reflection off the Chevelle in John Wick had amazing detail and the city lights just pop right off the paint. Anyway, Here's some stills showing reflections, viewing angles, the banding in the grays, some general unboxing/layout of the inputs, and the video.



Ok so I don't know why the site distorts the photos, but after you click on the thumbnail, click on the picture and it'll open the actual photo. Especially for the color sample photos when looking for the banding.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033576.JPG
Views:	246
Size:	3.08 MB
ID:	2436588   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033574.JPG
Views:	216
Size:	4.56 MB
ID:	2436590   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033575.JPG
Views:	199
Size:	4.71 MB
ID:	2436592   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033569.JPG
Views:	197
Size:	3.73 MB
ID:	2436594   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033558.JPG
Views:	164
Size:	3.81 MB
ID:	2436598  

Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033561.JPG
Views:	156
Size:	4.92 MB
ID:	2436600   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033567.JPG
Views:	186
Size:	4.88 MB
ID:	2436602   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033566.JPG
Views:	153
Size:	4.58 MB
ID:	2436604   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033572.JPG
Views:	196
Size:	4.24 MB
ID:	2436606   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033571.JPG
Views:	170
Size:	3.70 MB
ID:	2436608  

Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033563.JPG
Views:	133
Size:	3.68 MB
ID:	2436610   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033564.JPG
Views:	154
Size:	3.40 MB
ID:	2436612   Click image for larger version

Name:	_1033570.JPG
Views:	155
Size:	4.40 MB
ID:	2436614  
SiGGy, hky4life and divo1979 like this.

Last edited by mightyrouse; 08-02-2018 at 11:04 PM.
mightyrouse is offline  
post #457 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyrouse View Post
I’ll mess around with some settings and bypass my receiver to see if I can replicate it.

Update: So going through the settings the only thing I can think of is maybe you have 12bit checked under color depth in video fidelity. I wasn’t able to replicate though playing Forza Horizon 3. Maybe try to go back to defaults on the Xbox and do some testing from there. Sorry I couldn’t help. Hope it’s not a bad unit man, that would suck.

I had 8 bit checked as it's the default. I'm going to try yet another HDMI cable to see if it makes a difference. This was with a 6 foot monoprice certified cable.
bigmixx is offline  
post #458 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 05:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2823 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
I had 8 bit checked as it's the default. I'm going to try yet another HDMI cable to see if it makes a difference. This was with a 6 foot monoprice certified cable.
Try bypassing your receiver and plug directly into the TV. If issues persist then try a new cable. If bypassing fixes it, then the issue is with your receiver.

Also on the Xbox select allow YCC 4:2:2
Leave it at 8bit. HDR content bypasses this setting.

Last edited by skschatzman; 08-03-2018 at 05:58 AM.
skschatzman is online now  
post #459 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mzupeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 400
His receiver flashing different things in the video makesme think it isn’t the tv. Or maybe an ARC thing.
BIGJOHNB20 likes this.
mzupeman is offline  
post #460 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:08 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Try bypassing your receiver and plug directly into the TV. If issues persist then try a new cable. If bypassing fixes it, then the issue is with your receiver.

Also on the Xbox select allow YCC 4:2:2
Leave it at 8bit. HDR content bypasses this setting.

I am bypassing the receiver. The cable is connected directly to input 3 on the TV. It flashes whether 4.2.2 is checked or not. Tried it both ways. It's always been on 8bit. I'm uploading another video now and will post it in a few.
bigmixx is offline  
post #461 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
kensingtonwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 594
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by the1dynasty View Post
I just added two videos, one straight on, the other off to the right... I also left this comment in the album if anyone skips over that...



Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk


Any chance you could do a video of you panning the camera from head on to almost right to the edge of the tv? The angle in the existing video looks good but I want to see the extreme angles if possible.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
kensingtonwick is offline  
post #462 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:23 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
I am bypassing the receiver. The cable is connected directly to input 3 on the TV. It flashes whether 4.2.2 is checked or not. Tried it both ways. It's always been on 8bit. I'm uploading another video now and will post it in a few.
Here’s another vid I just took. The audio is cutting out as well which is why the receiver is flashing. I am using ARC.
https://youtu.be/tuDqfk3KFE8
bigmixx is offline  
post #463 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2823 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Here’s another vid I just took. The audio is cutting out as well which is why the receiver is flashing. I am using ARC.
https://youtu.be/tuDqfk3KFE8
Yup. Well the last suggestion is to try another HDMI cable. Cables are notorious for causing these types of issues. Just because it is certified premium doesn't mean it isn't defective. I see this all too often.
BIGJOHNB20 likes this.
skschatzman is online now  
post #464 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
leojj25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 640
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 339 Post(s)
Liked: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuffed View Post
It's too bad Vizio hasn't corrected the banding or DSE problems on their top of the line set. And why can't they upscale properly? And the OTA tuner can't pick up channels? What is going on here? OTA is the best source by far for watching the major broadcasters, including all sporting events on FOX, CBS, ABC, and NBC.



The only reasonable conclusion that can be drawn is that Vizio cut manufacturing costs by using inferior panels and a cheaper FALD system because their entire product line for 2018 has been noticeably flawed in several key areas according to all the current and former owners of 2018 Vizio TVs.


Can you even correct DSE & Banding? I thought i: basically minimal which is good or bad which is when you need to try another tv. Every tv has it issues go on every owners thread you’ll see it. The people that have no issues rarely ever post which is why you only hear the bad things. I for one am content with the Vizio upscaling even though Sony does do a better job.
cyberized39 likes this.

Vizio P65-E1 // Sony XBR49X900E
Sony Ht-ST5000 // RCA RTS7015B
Chromcast Ultra // Apple TV 4K
PS4 PRO
leojj25 is offline  
post #465 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:41 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Yup. Well the last suggestion is to try another HDMI cable. Cables are notorious for causing these types of issues. Just because it is certified premium doesn't mean it isn't defective. I see this all too often.

Yeah. I bought 2 new cables when I ordered the TV in the event my existing cables (They work with my Samsungs) didn't work. I've tried all of them. At this point I'm guessing Vizio just isn't for me and I'm only allowed to have Samsung TV's. I'm going to disable ARC on the receiver just to see if that makes a difference.
bigmixx is offline  
post #466 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2823 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Yeah. I bought 2 new cables when I ordered the TV in the event my existing cables (They work with my Samsungs) didn't work. I've tried all of them. At this point I'm guessing Vizio just isn't for me and I'm only allowed to have Samsung TV's. I'm going to disable ARC on the receiver just to see if that makes a difference.
I thought you said you bypassed the receiver...
skschatzman is online now  
post #467 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:57 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
I thought you said you bypassed the receiver...

The cable is running directly from the Xbox into the TV on port 3. I then have a cable running from port 1 on the TV into the "Out" port on the receiver which is of course the ARC port as well.
bigmixx is offline  
post #468 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Yup. Well the last suggestion is to try another HDMI cable. Cables are notorious for causing these types of issues. Just because it is certified premium doesn't mean it isn't defective. I see this all too often.

Yeah. I bought 2 new cables when I ordered the TV in the event my existing cables (They work with my Samsungs) didn't work. I've tried all of them. At this point I'm guessing Vizio just isn't for me and I'm only allowed to have Samsung TV's. I'm going to disable ARC on the receiver just to see if that makes a difference.
Change the audio from Bitstream to PCM and it will fix your audio issues. Had the same issue with my 2016 M and my Onkyo receiver
Matt0305 is offline  
post #469 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2823 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
The cable is running directly from the Xbox into the TV on port 3. I then have a cable running from port 1 on the TV into the "Out" port on the receiver which is of course the ARC port as well.
Got it.
skschatzman is online now  
post #470 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2823 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
The cable is running directly from the Xbox into the TV on port 3. I then have a cable running from port 1 on the TV into the "Out" port on the receiver which is of course the ARC port as well.
If you haven't already, perform a factory reset. If that doesn't work, you may have a defective unit. I would recommend giving it another shot with a replacement. Defects effect all brands. I went through 3 faulty 2016 Samsung KS8000 units before switching to Vizio.
skschatzman is online now  
post #471 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mzupeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,482
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 406 Post(s)
Liked: 400
I still think it’s more an issue with how their setup is. They have a receiver, yet they’re going to the TV first and then to the receiver via ARC?
mzupeman is offline  
post #472 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
If you haven't already, perform a factory reset. If that doesn't work, you may have a defective unit. I would recommend giving it another shot with a replacement. Defects effect all brands. I went through 3 faulty 2016 Samsung KS8000 units before switching to Vizio.
I’ve reset it at least 5 times now. Here’s another one. Cable running direct to the TV. ARC is off and even turned the receiver off as well.

https://youtu.be/G8Sle5zHDPY
bigmixx is offline  
post #473 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:39 AM
Senior Member
 
dolbymandts's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Vancouver / Canada
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by johngettler View Post
This is the best source for good 4K TV demo materials...

http://4kmedia.org/



already got all of them, even those they had to remove
dolbymandts is offline  
post #474 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:40 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 29
HAPPY DAYS!!!!!!! grabbed one from costco's this morning, setting it up as we speak I'm an official owner. Will definitely be following you guy and gals for picture settings and all the good stuff.
leojj25 likes this.
divo1979 is offline  
post #475 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:40 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzupeman View Post
I still think it’s more an issue with how their setup is. They have a receiver, yet they’re going to the TV first and then to the receiver via ARC?

I typically run everything through the receiver which is the way I want it but when I run it through the receiver I don't get video at all. I'm doing it this way to remove the receiver from the equation.
bigmixx is offline  
post #476 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Here’s my personal breakdown on the picture settings.

Backlight-I found anywhere from 25-50 was good depending on the content and ambient light.
Brightness-this had the most dramatic affect on the picture quality. Too low and you lose a lot of detail in the dark, but too high and things start to look washed. I keep it around 40-45
Contrast-50
Color- Again, even a single point will have a big difference. 50 is fairly accurate to my eyes watching content I know as a reference. (I use ESPN and NFL network because I know what team colors should look like). However, I bump it to 51 for movies because I like the highlights and use 52-53 for sports because it makes all the flash on those networks fun. If you like that vivid look but find the stock a bit aggressive, then I’d just bump it to your liking, but anything past 55 was just over saturated, especially red.
Tint-0
Sharpness-depends on your content. I found 10-20 helped without over sharpening.

More picture
Color temp-Normal for movies/cool for sports/computer for games
Black detail-Low or Off. I liked low on movie mode because I like low for the Xtreme Black Engine pro
Xtreme Black Engine Pro-I hate blooming in my black bars so this was easy for me. Low kept the bars black and I found a dark scene to adjust other options to help bring some detail back out of the shadows. That’s why I chose low on black detail and keep the brightness above 40. Again these are my personal preference for movies and everyday content.
Motion control-I watched a lot of football, golf, and hockey this morning. Firstly, don’t know what I did other than rub it with the microfiber, but DSE was not present and no vignettes in the corners. For motion this tv is phenomenal. The main reason I started looking for other TVs was because of how bad the 900f was with motion handling. I tried the highest setting and trails all over the place. So I was surprised not only that there no trailson this vizio, but when I went into the motion settings, they were all at zero! I love that I have all this playroom if I need it, but I don’t. I left reduce judder on 0 since I haven’t noticed any and motion blur on 0 for movies/3 for sports and clear action ON for sports
Reduce noise-0 on signal and low on block since most of my content comes from steaming. This actually made a pretty solid difference when watching Directv Now.
Game low latency-on for game mode. I can confirm 1080p 120hz works on Xbox. And don’t really care to use the ultra low latency HDMI 5 port since it can’t do HDR. To me I found the latency to be great on this TV and seeing as I use a receiver, the ARC port was just fine. Guessing it should come in about the same as the P series. Probably in the 20-30ms range for 4K HDR game mode.
Film mode-on
Color space-auto
Gamma-2.2
Enhanced viewing angle-OFF. This basically just boosts the colors and contrast. It’s slight, but noticeable. Maybe turn it on in sports when having a party.
mightyrouse is offline  
post #477 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
I’ve reset it at least 5 times now. Here’s another one. Cable running direct to the TV. ARC is off and even turned the receiver off as well.

https://youtu.be/G8Sle5zHDPY
It might be a problem with the HDMI port on the Xbox. If it’s not happening on that port with other content with a similar signal, it’s the Xbox.
mightyrouse is offline  
post #478 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SiGGy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Lenexa, Kansas
Posts: 1,437
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 549 Post(s)
Liked: 438
Quote:
Originally Posted by leojj25 View Post
Can you even correct DSE & Banding? I thought i: basically minimal which is good or bad which is when you need to try another tv. Every tv has it issues go on every owners thread you’ll see it. The people that have no issues rarely ever post which is why you only hear the bad things. I for one am content with the Vizio upscaling even though Sony does do a better job.

DSE no; it's a physical defect


there are two kinds of banding...

1) *COLOR* banding from sources with standard luminance (dynamic range) this being all HD and SD content are limited to only 224 shades to represent the luminance channel. So at most you might have 5 to 10 shades of gray to represent video near "black". There just isn't enough fidelity in normal HD and SD to represent the small changes in near black and or complex images well. Some video processing will actually dither sections to help alleviate this. Now this issue should *NOT* exist with HDR material on a true 12 bit TV (or well simulated) panel; period. Some TV(s) have processing (aka Sony) to detect and attempt to smooth out banding issues; works well actually. This is where having top tier processing does make a difference. Some receivers had some video processors that did this too (Onkyo NR-818 for example).



2) banding ; meaning darker shaded bars (usually vertical) which you can see on full white screens. This is a defect in the screen; nothing will fix this. Really this also part of the DSE look, but DSE is generally described as dirty smudged fingerprints on the screen. This probably shouldn't be called banding... but I see people doing it. And yes, I guess they are dark "bands" on the screen... <shrug>

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	banding.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	5.4 KB
ID:	2436754   Click image for larger version

Name:	screen-banding.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	31.2 KB
ID:	2436756  
leojj25 likes this.

Last edited by SiGGy; 08-03-2018 at 09:05 AM.
SiGGy is offline  
post #479 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyrouse View Post
It might be a problem with the HDMI port on the Xbox. If it’s not happening on that port with other content with a similar signal, it’s the Xbox.

If I had this issue with the 4 different Samsung TVs I own I'd agree with you. It only shows up with Vizio for some reason which at this point is really strange. As long as I don't enable UHD on the Vizio it's fine but that defeats the purpose.

Either way it sucks that's for sure.
bigmixx is offline  
post #480 of 5606 Old 08-03-2018, 09:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 104 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Friendlys View Post
when switching from my pc (RGB 444 color space) on input 1 to anything on smartcast results in multicolored vertical lines running through it.
Does this happen when switching to other inputs or just the SmartCast input? Have you tried your PC on any other HDMI inputs and experienced the same result?
VizioService is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
audio issues , mute speaker , pq65-f1 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off