2018 Vizio P-Quantum 65" PQ65 owners thread ** No Price Talk - Page 167 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2147Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4981 of 5394 Old 04-20-2019, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,615
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1184 Post(s)
Liked: 1971
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Williams View Post
I mentioned a bit back about an issue with Superman 4k and DV - the pink screen. I've discovered that DV on Netflix appears to be totally non-functioning - I get a sickly yellow cast screen, although oddly the Netflix menu overlays (titles, etc.) come through clearly.

Anybody having serious Dolby Vision issues like this??
Netflix DV on the Netflix app is fine for me.
hernanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4982 of 5394 Old 04-21-2019, 10:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 845
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 625 Post(s)
Liked: 364
Vizio is planning to replace my TV with a recertified one. Am I getting someone else's reject? Does anyone have experience with such? Thx
meduzadg is offline  
post #4983 of 5394 Old 04-21-2019, 10:57 AM
Senior Member
 
enfuegobuddha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 200
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by enfuegobuddha View Post
It'd be nice if they would offer a calibrated HDR setting that dialed down peak luminance. Give owners the choice at least.
What you are asking already exists. Just change the Active Full Array option to low while watching HDR content.
Good point. I've tried that, but I've found that on Low it's too dim even in a dark room.

Bright shows and movies look good to me in HDR with AFA Medium e.g. Our Planet on Netflix.

But on content with a lot of dark scenes like Russian Doll or Christmas Chronicles the AFA is very distracting.
enfuegobuddha is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4984 of 5394 Old 04-22-2019, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
John Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Netflix DV on the Netflix app is fine for me.
I did some combination of things - which I should have written down - perhaps including Demo Mode, fiddling with presets, soft reset and...it started working perfectly again.

????

It seems as though the DV code module will occasionally hit a bug, misplace its mind and refuse to work as designed. Next time it happens I'll try and keep track of what I did immediately prior to helping it start to work again, and share that here. If anybody else comes up with a cheat code for this issue, I'm all ears!
John Williams is offline  
post #4985 of 5394 Old 04-22-2019, 05:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 5
when in Game Picture mode, is the screen supposed to look sort of flickery?
djxpress is offline  
post #4986 of 5394 Old 04-22-2019, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by djxpress View Post
when in Game Picture mode, is the screen supposed to look sort of flickery?
Yes. You can also shut it off. It's called Clear Action in the More Picture menu.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4987 of 5394 Old 04-23-2019, 08:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Does anyone keep GLL on all of the time? Does it make a huge difference on movies and shows?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4988 of 5394 Old 04-23-2019, 08:53 AM
Senior Member
 
guacamoleparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Does anyone keep GLL on all of the time? Does it make a huge difference on movies and shows?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
I keep game low latency mode on nearly 100% of the time on my Xbox One X. The only time I swap it off is when I put a physical 4K/UHD movie in the drive. For any streaming content of any variety I just leave it on. I have not tried it off/on with the aforementioned physical media, but everything looks great so I have no reason to I guess
guacamoleparty is online now  
post #4989 of 5394 Old 04-23-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by guacamoleparty View Post
I keep game low latency mode on nearly 100% of the time on my Xbox One X. The only time I swap it off is when I put a physical 4K/UHD movie in the drive. For any streaming content of any variety I just leave it on. I have not tried it off/on with the aforementioned physical media, but everything looks great so I have no reason to I guess
Thanks! Yeah, I am wanting to put everything to one input without having to enable/disable GLL and was hoping that it wouldn't affect PQ or Motion too much. I usually shut off the extra processing (Reduce Block Noise ect.) anyway.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4990 of 5394 Old 04-23-2019, 09:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 5
I completely cut the cord after buying this tv. I'm curious if there is a way to do "favorites" from all the different sources? I launch SmartCast and I have a couple Xumo channels I like, a couple Watchfree channels I like, etc. I would be nice if there was a way to favorite a specific channel or app (like Crackle or Vudu) so that what's on each channel would show up on the main SmartCast page when I launch it, instead of having to dig through each specific app and then find what it was that I was watching.
djxpress is offline  
post #4991 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by djxpress View Post
I completely cut the cord after buying this tv. I'm curious if there is a way to do "favorites" from all the different sources? I launch SmartCast and I have a couple Xumo channels I like, a couple Watchfree channels I like, etc. I would be nice if there was a way to favorite a specific channel or app (like Crackle or Vudu) so that what's on each channel would show up on the main SmartCast page when I launch it, instead of having to dig through each specific app and then find what it was that I was watching.
You can organize the app row, but it is up to the service providers to create QOL features within their services
djxpress likes this.
skschatzman is online now  
post #4992 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 03:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Just got the 2.1.7.1 update. Has Dolby Vision always been at 58 for Color (thought it was at 50)? That seems to be stock now. HDR is at 50 stock now (thought it was at 55). I could be wrong though. I definitely am getting DV through Xbox now though I never use my Xbox for streaming (I use an Apple TV). Anyone else know the other changes?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4993 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Just got the 2.1.7.1 update. Has Dolby Vision always been at 58 for Color (thought it was at 50)? That seems to be stock now. HDR is at 50 stock now (thought it was at 55). I could be wrong though. I definitely am getting DV through Xbox now though I never use my Xbox for streaming (I use an Apple TV). Anyone else know the other changes?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
Nice. I'll check when I get home. You must be on the first wave. No firmware notes released yet.

Can you test HDR banding and YouTube 2160p60fps content for stuttering?

Edit: just got home. Downloading the new firmware update 2.1.7.1 now. I will post my thoughts after testing.

2nd Edit: Native 2160p60fps content is still stuttering.

The info bar at the top no longer infiltrates the TV when playing HDR content. Now a logo appears in the top right corner. This is a welcomed fix.

HDR and DV default color are at 50, before and after factory reset.

Watching The Highwaymen on Netflix looks amazing. Too early to tell, but there may have been improvements to HDR banding.

Last edited by skschatzman; 04-24-2019 at 06:36 PM.
skschatzman is online now  
post #4994 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 06:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Nice. I'll check when I get home. You must be on the first wave. No firmware notes released yet.

Can you test HDR banding and YouTube 2160p60fps content for stuttering?

Edit: just got home. Downloading the new firmware update 2.1.7.1 now. I will post my thoughts after testing.

2nd Edit: Native 2160p60fps content is still stuttering.

The info bar at the top no longer infiltrates the TV when playing HDR content. Now a logo appears in the top right corner. This is a welcomed fix.

HDR and DV default color are at 50, before and after factory reset.

Watching The Highwaymen on Netflix looks amazing. Too early to tell, but there may have been improvements to HDR banding.
That's very odd.....my HDR defaults to 50 and my DV defaults to 58. I even did a Reset Picture Mode.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4995 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
That's very odd.....my HDR defaults to 50 and my DV defaults to 58. I even did a Reset Picture Mode.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
Did you factory reset?
skschatzman is online now  
post #4996 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Did you factory reset?
I didn't. Maybe that's why.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4997 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
guacamoleparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by beardontwalk123 View Post
Just got the 2.1.7.1 update. Has Dolby Vision always been at 58 for Color (thought it was at 50)? That seems to be stock now. HDR is at 50 stock now (thought it was at 55). I could be wrong though. I definitely am getting DV through Xbox now though I never use my Xbox for streaming (I use an Apple TV). Anyone else know the other changes?

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
I had the exact same thing occur. Received the update, then went to my xbox to check everything out - had all green checks (exciting), pop'd open netflix and saw that the Color was set to 58. I just turned the console off and factory reset the tv (like i do after every firmware update). It reset it to 50 after that. The only interesting adjustment I noticed.

Oh one other quirk I've seen - I cant seem to rediscover the TV with the SmartCast app. Maybe its waiting for an update to see the new firmware? Anyway, if I see/notice anything else will report back. I havent tried Airplay but I believe that requires a beta iOS.
guacamoleparty is online now  
post #4998 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Did you factory reset?
Quote:
Originally Posted by guacamoleparty View Post
I had the exact same thing occur. Received the update, then went to my xbox to check everything out - had all green checks (exciting), pop'd open netflix and saw that the Color was set to 58. I just turned the console off and factory reset the tv (like i do after every firmware update). It reset it to 50 after that. The only interesting adjustment I noticed.

Oh one other quirk I've seen - I cant seem to rediscover the TV with the SmartCast app. Maybe its waiting for an update to see the new firmware? Anyway, if I see/notice anything else will report back. I havent tried Airplay but I believe that requires a beta iOS.
Just did a reset and Color at 50 across the board....that is weird how that works. Oh, well.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #4999 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
The info bar at the top no longer infiltrates the TV when playing HDR content. Now a logo appears in the top right corner. This is a welcomed fix.
I just updated to the 2.1.7.1 today as well. I still get the info box across the top 1/4 of the screen showing Dolby Vision, not the logo on the top right corner?
djxpress is offline  
post #5000 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by djxpress View Post
I just updated to the 2.1.7.1 today as well. I still get the info box across the top 1/4 of the screen showing Dolby Vision, not the logo on the top right corner?
Maybe factory reset. It looks like some have experienced other glitches after the update and factory resetting seems to have fixed it.
skschatzman is online now  
post #5001 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:38 PM
Senior Member
 
guacamoleparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by djxpress View Post
I just updated to the 2.1.7.1 today as well. I still get the info box across the top 1/4 of the screen showing Dolby Vision, not the logo on the top right corner?
I think this may just be for native apps. I noticed the HDR10 logo while briefly using the Youtube app - no 1/4 screen drop down.

Firing up the Netflix app on the Xbox is interesting. The logo/screen flickers a few times before dropping you into the profile select screen. The color looks a bit warm in the UI / interface, but watching content is still great. Our Planet looks stunning and correctly color graded to my eyes.
guacamoleparty is online now  
post #5002 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by guacamoleparty View Post
I think this may just be for native apps. I noticed the HDR10 logo while briefly using the Youtube app - no 1/4 screen drop down.

Firing up the Netflix app on the Xbox is interesting. The logo/screen flickers a few times before dropping you into the profile select screen. The color looks a bit warm in the UI / interface, but watching content is still great. Our Planet looks stunning and correctly color graded to my eyes.
Are you saying you just see the HDR10 logo briefly or only after you press the "info" button?
djxpress is offline  
post #5003 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 5
OK..soft reset...now I see the little Dolby Vision logo on the top right corner.
djxpress is offline  
post #5004 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:45 PM
Senior Member
 
guacamoleparty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 119 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by djxpress View Post
Are you saying you just see the HDR10 logo briefly or only after you press the "info" button?
It shows up briefly, but if you push the info button it shows you the 1/4 screen drop down thing.
guacamoleparty is online now  
post #5005 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by guacamoleparty View Post
It shows up briefly, but if you push the info button it shows you the 1/4 screen drop down thing.
Correct. The info bar wasn't removed. The change was just to prevent it from showing up automatically when HDR content is loaded.
guacamoleparty likes this.
skschatzman is online now  
post #5006 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 07:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
beardontwalk123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Clear Lake, IA
Posts: 2,002
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1532 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Correct. The info bar wasn't removed. The change was just to prevent it from showing up automatically when HDR content is loaded.
Yes, a positive change. I wish we could see a changelog though.

Sent from my SM-G973U using Tapatalk
beardontwalk123 is online now  
post #5007 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 08:24 PM
Senior Member
 
John Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 445
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has not shown up for me yet. Is there a list of new features & fixes in this version somewhere?
John Williams is offline  
post #5008 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,407
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2573 Post(s)
Liked: 1540
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Williams View Post
Has not shown up for me yet. Is there a list of new features & fixes in this version somewhere?
No
skschatzman is online now  
post #5009 of 5394 Old 04-24-2019, 10:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Mine got the update a couple days ago. Seems like subtile improvements. A big welcome update was the cast version. It will now play 4k through play movies.

Still flickers the backlight in planet Earth 2 into, streaming or Xbox blueray.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
xmoox is offline  
post #5010 of 5394 Old 04-25-2019, 05:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,615
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1184 Post(s)
Liked: 1971
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Nice. I'll check when I get home. You must be on the first wave. No firmware notes released yet.

Can you test HDR banding and YouTube 2160p60fps content for stuttering?

Edit: just got home. Downloading the new firmware update 2.1.7.1 now. I will post my thoughts after testing.

2nd Edit: Native 2160p60fps content is still stuttering.

The info bar at the top no longer infiltrates the TV when playing HDR content. Now a logo appears in the top right corner. This is a welcomed fix.

HDR and DV default color are at 50, before and after factory reset.

Watching The Highwaymen on Netflix looks amazing. Too early to tell, but there may have been improvements to HDR banding.
Checked for updates, was told I'm up to date with 1.1.17.1. Will get it in due time.
hernanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
audio issues , mute speaker , pq65-f1 , Vizio

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off