Official Sony Master Series Z9F 75/65” Owners Thread (2018/2019) - Page 191 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4326Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5701 of 6181 Old 12-05-2019, 03:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
But only at 85" ($13K), and 98" ($60K). So no new Sony LCD's that we mortals can afford...
IIRC the Z9D was similarly priced yet it qualifies as a flagship. Why does price exclude a TV from being a flagship? Flagship just means it's their top tier, premium product. Just because a person can't afford it does not mean it's not a flagship product. I was merely commenting on the claim that rumors are stating Sony is not going to be producing a flagship LCD. The fact that people can't afford it doesn't make it any less of a flagship product.
p3trol_h3ad likes this.
duc135 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5702 of 6181 Old 12-05-2019, 03:38 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
IIRC the Z9D was similarly priced yet it qualifies as a flagship. Why does price exclude a TV from being a flagship? Flagship just means it's their top tier, premium product. Just because a person can't afford it does not mean it's not a flagship product. I was merely commenting on the claim that rumors are stating Sony is not going to be producing a flagship LCD. The fact that people can't afford it doesn't make it any less of a flagship product.
Noted.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5703 of 6181 Old 12-05-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrref View Post
That's a specialty TV. What I meant was we might not be seeing premium sets like the Z9D or F in the future.
There is also a Z9F that was released earlier this year. I believe Sony positions that as their "flagship" 4K LCD. Whether or not people accept it or not, does not matter. Sony can define it as they see fit. Or are you saying that the "new rumors" are stating nothing after the Z9F and Z9G? I put the quotes on new rumors because I heard these rumors long before the Z9G was released.
duc135 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5704 of 6181 Old 12-05-2019, 04:45 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
There is also a Z9F that was released earlier this year. I believe Sony positions that as their "flagship" 4K LCD. Whether or not people accept it or not, does not matter. Sony can define it as they see fit. Or are you saying that the "new rumors" are stating nothing after the Z9F and Z9G? I put the quotes on new rumors because I heard these rumors long before the Z9G was released.
Well, you are in the Z9F thread, so it's likely we are aware of that model. The Z9F is a 2018 Model, and is indeed a "Master Series" display.

I forgot, what is the point of this discussion?
shoman94, jrref and lucacow like this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5705 of 6181 Old 12-06-2019, 11:29 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,260
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7031 Post(s)
Liked: 7065
Quote:
Originally Posted by duc135 View Post
Well, the Z9G was just released a few months ago so, so much for that rumor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
But only at 85" ($13K), and 98" ($60K). So no new Sony LCD's that we mortals can afford...
Yep, only the 85" and boy is she expensive....... On a funny note, I did get a email from my vendor saying the 65Z9F and 75Z9F are still available...........
shoman94 likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #5706 of 6181 Old 12-06-2019, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,212
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 447
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Well, you are in the Z9F thread, so it's likely we are aware of that model.
LOL! Good point. I read so many threads I often forget which one I'm currently in.
duc135 is offline  
post #5707 of 6181 Old 12-06-2019, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Yep, only the 85" and boy is she expensive....... On a funny note, I did get a email from my vendor saying the 65Z9F and 75Z9F are still available...........
It's an amazing TV still.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
AustinJerry likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #5708 of 6181 Old 12-07-2019, 03:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Hey all was hoping for a bit of help

My dad got the 75 Z9F and whilst everything is mostly good there is a weird thing that happens.

Randomly the tv screen will turn itself off. Audio will still play through (it’s going through his Bose lifestyle system) but the tv display shuts off

I’ve checked and eco mode is off and I can’t see any settings that would turn the display off. Any thoughts?

Also, without going thru the entire thread is there an update on PQ settings - I currently have it on cinema settings for him?

Thanks
Led-zep is offline  
post #5709 of 6181 Old 12-07-2019, 08:20 AM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Led-zep View Post
Hey all was hoping for a bit of help

My dad got the 75 Z9F and whilst everything is mostly good there is a weird thing that happens.

Randomly the tv screen will turn itself off. Audio will still play through (it’s going through his Bose lifestyle system) but the tv display shuts off

I’ve checked and eco mode is off and I can’t see any settings that would turn the display off. Any thoughts?

Also, without going thru the entire thread is there an update on PQ settings - I currently have it on cinema settings for him?

Thanks
Under Screen Saver I see only several settings, the Screen Saver type, the When to Start setting, and the Put Device to Sleep setting. Under When to Start, I see various values from 5 min to 2 hrs, but not an option of Never. So it is not obvious to me how to completely disable the screensaver. My settings are “Backdrop”, and 2 hrs, but I don’t recall my display actually ever going into screensaver mode. Put device to sleep is set to “Never”.

Also, under Power, my settings are Power Saving Off, Idle TV standby is 24 hrs, and Auto shut-off is disabled.

If you have similar settings, I don’t know why the display would be turning off.

As for Picture Mode, either Cinema or Custom would be a good selection. Personally, I turn off all of the automated picture enhancement settings like Light Sensor, Auto Picture mode, Black Adjust, Advanced Contrast Enhancer, etc. I use gamma of -2, and Sharpness of 50. Motionflow should be set according to your preferences, depending on your perception of motion artifacts. I have CineMotion set to Auto. I also use the Advance Color Temp settings, but these settings will vary from one display to the next, so sharing these settings probably would not be useful. If you want to get the best picture quality, you could consider having it professionally calibrated, or use software and a meter to do the calibration yourself.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5710 of 6181 Old 12-07-2019, 10:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
calambert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Anyone else receive a significant software update yesterday? I got one for my 65" and it included some display changes. The action menu now pops up across the bottom of the screen. There is also a pop-up indicating which HDMI input is being used when you turn the display on or switch between inputs. I think the action menu is a bit quicker and more intuitive to use now.

Edit: I've been away from the forum for some time. Guess I should have read the previous pages first.
shoman94 likes this.

Sony Master Series XBR-65Z9F, Sony ST-5000 7.1 Channel Soundbar, Sony UBP-X800 UHD Blu-ray Player

Last edited by calambert; 12-07-2019 at 11:02 AM.
calambert is offline  
post #5711 of 6181 Old 12-07-2019, 09:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Under Screen Saver I see only several settings, the Screen Saver type, the When to Start setting, and the Put Device to Sleep setting. Under When to Start, I see various values from 5 min to 2 hrs, but not an option of Never. So it is not obvious to me how to completely disable the screensaver. My settings are “Backdrop”, and 2 hrs, but I don’t recall my display actually ever going into screensaver mode. Put device to sleep is set to “Never”.

Also, under Power, my settings are Power Saving Off, Idle TV standby is 24 hrs, and Auto shut-off is disabled.

If you have similar settings, I don’t know why the display would be turning off.

As for Picture Mode, either Cinema or Custom would be a good selection. Personally, I turn off all of the automated picture enhancement settings like Light Sensor, Auto Picture mode, Black Adjust, Advanced Contrast Enhancer, etc. I use gamma of -2, and Sharpness of 50. Motionflow should be set according to your preferences, depending on your perception of motion artifacts. I have CineMotion set to Auto. I also use the Advance Color Temp settings, but these settings will vary from one display to the next, so sharing these settings probably would not be useful. If you want to get the best picture quality, you could consider having it professionally calibrated, or use software and a meter to do the calibration yourself.

Thanks mate that’s good advice I will take a look when I go to my folks place next time!
AustinJerry likes this.
Led-zep is offline  
post #5712 of 6181 Old 12-09-2019, 07:28 PM
Senior Member
 
burts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjm817 View Post
Hello Z9F owners. I dont have one, but have a 950G and updated today. Not sure if this will apply to Z9F but if it does, I'm posting what I did in the 950G thread.

WARNING!!
I installed the Dec update via USB today. I was surprised to see the prompts to enable Samba Interactive TV. As a previous Z9D owner, that was always part of the setup. It was well known that Samba TV was a resource hog and would kill the TV performance and you never enabled it.

I have never seen a prompt for Samba on the 950 until this update, When you see the prompt for Samba DO NOT ALLOW it to be enabled. You cant disable it later.

In addition, go to settings->apps->system apps and find Samba services manager. Force stop and disable it.


i enabled it and put it on my ipad, I then read your post and forced stop and disable so its disabled heh?
burts is offline  
post #5713 of 6181 Old 12-10-2019, 06:21 PM
Member
 
Megalodon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Loving the new firmware update w/ Airplay, but...

The new firmware takes my 75" z9f up a notch for sure... but QQ for you owners that have done this:


Re. Airplay functionality. This is a great add on, and I have been testing it all day, streaming iTunes content from my iPhone, but the one deficiency I noticed is that while I get all the Dolby Vision greatness, I no longer get the ATMOS part of the stream. I just get Dolby Digital. Is that how it is supposed to work?


My workaround for now is just to keep playing my iTunes library via my AppleTV 4K, where I get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos.


Hopefully one of you out there can tell me a setting I need to tweak



Jason
Megalodon is offline  
post #5714 of 6181 Old 12-10-2019, 06:40 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalodon View Post
The new firmware takes my 75" z9f up a notch for sure... but QQ for you owners that have done this:


Re. Airplay functionality. This is a great add on, and I have been testing it all day, streaming iTunes content from my iPhone, but the one deficiency I noticed is that while I get all the Dolby Vision greatness, I no longer get the ATMOS part of the stream. I just get Dolby Digital. Is that how it is supposed to work?


My workaround for now is just to keep playing my iTunes library via my AppleTV 4K, where I get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos.


Hopefully one of you out there can tell me a setting I need to tweak



Jason
What is the downside of continuing to use the AppleTV 4K? Or should I say, what is the advantage of using AirPlay to the TV? I have an ATV 4K anD would never think of using the TV’s AirPlay functionality. Perhaps I am missing something?
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5715 of 6181 Old 12-10-2019, 06:58 PM
Member
 
Megalodon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
What is the downside of continuing to use the AppleTV 4K? Or should I say, what is the advantage of using AirPlay to the TV? I have an ATV 4K anD would never think of using the TV’s AirPlay functionality. Perhaps I am missing something?

Good call out. The answer is zero downside, but more a nice to have the option/convenience factor. There are sometimes situations where I have phone in hand up at the kitchen island, and dont feel like switching inputs, or going to find the AppleTV remote down in the living room. #firstworldproblems


I wonder why they would just not pass thru the ATMOS part though?


Jason
Megalodon is offline  
post #5716 of 6181 Old 12-11-2019, 12:10 PM
Senior Member
 
JoelArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Has anyone in the EU gotten the firmware update? or has Sony forgot that we exist -_-

Sony ZF9 75" (Owned: Sony KDL-W55905A, Samsung Q9FN 65" & Q900 75") | PC > TV > miniDSP 2x4 HD > XTZ EDGE A2-300 > SVS Ultra Towers + XTZ 10.17 EDGE.
JoelArt is online now  
post #5717 of 6181 Old 12-11-2019, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelArt View Post
Has anyone in the EU gotten the firmware update? or has Sony forgot that we exist -_-
Did you check the support site?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #5718 of 6181 Old 12-11-2019, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Megalodon View Post
The new firmware takes my 75" z9f up a notch for sure... but QQ for you owners that have done this:


Re. Airplay functionality. This is a great add on, and I have been testing it all day, streaming iTunes content from my iPhone, but the one deficiency I noticed is that while I get all the Dolby Vision greatness, I no longer get the ATMOS part of the stream. I just get Dolby Digital. Is that how it is supposed to work?


My workaround for now is just to keep playing my iTunes library via my AppleTV 4K, where I get BOTH Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos.


Hopefully one of you out there can tell me a setting I need to tweak



Jason
As far as I know, airplay only does Dolby digital and not Dolby Digital+ which is needed for Atmos.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Megalodon likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #5719 of 6181 Old 12-11-2019, 10:54 PM
Senior Member
 
JoelArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Did you check the support site?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Yes, but my country's version haven't made the firmware available yet. There is info that it will be rolled out the coming weeks~months. I don't know if I dare use the US version. And Sony site checks the IP and forces me to the EU support pages.

Sony ZF9 75" (Owned: Sony KDL-W55905A, Samsung Q9FN 65" & Q900 75") | PC > TV > miniDSP 2x4 HD > XTZ EDGE A2-300 > SVS Ultra Towers + XTZ 10.17 EDGE.
JoelArt is online now  
post #5720 of 6181 Old 12-12-2019, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelArt View Post
Yes, but my country's version haven't made the firmware available yet. There is info that it will be rolled out the coming weeks~months. I don't know if I dare use the US version. And Sony site checks the IP and forces me to the EU support pages.
https://www.flatpanelshd.com/focus.p...&id=1575352656


Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #5721 of 6181 Old 12-12-2019, 07:44 PM
Senior Member
 
JoelArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
https://www.flatpanelshd.com/focus.p...&id=1575352656


Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Tnx, it has yet to show up on my TV, hopefully sometime soon though.
shoman94 likes this.

Sony ZF9 75" (Owned: Sony KDL-W55905A, Samsung Q9FN 65" & Q900 75") | PC > TV > miniDSP 2x4 HD > XTZ EDGE A2-300 > SVS Ultra Towers + XTZ 10.17 EDGE.
JoelArt is online now  
post #5722 of 6181 Old 12-14-2019, 09:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
I didn't realize they pulled the updates of for all the TVs.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #5723 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 06:56 AM
Senior Member
 
JoelArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
I didn't realize they pulled the updates of for all the TVs.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
What do you mean?

Sony ZF9 75" (Owned: Sony KDL-W55905A, Samsung Q9FN 65" & Q900 75") | PC > TV > miniDSP 2x4 HD > XTZ EDGE A2-300 > SVS Ultra Towers + XTZ 10.17 EDGE.
JoelArt is online now  
post #5724 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 7,586
Mentioned: 215 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5324 Post(s)
Liked: 3684
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelArt View Post
What do you mean?
The update is not available for download any longer on all the 2018 and 2019 TVs from what I can see.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is online now  
post #5725 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 02:17 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The update is not available for download any longer on all the 2018 and 2019 TVs from what I can see.
Interesting, I see this as well. FYI, I still have the file on a thumb drive...
shoman94 likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5726 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 03:25 PM
Senior Member
 
JoelArt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
The update is not available for download any longer on all the 2018 and 2019 TVs from what I can see.
It's likely that there are some problematic buggs that need to be dealt with before releasing a new update.

Sony ZF9 75" (Owned: Sony KDL-W55905A, Samsung Q9FN 65" & Q900 75") | PC > TV > miniDSP 2x4 HD > XTZ EDGE A2-300 > SVS Ultra Towers + XTZ 10.17 EDGE.
JoelArt is online now  
post #5727 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 03:32 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoelArt View Post
It's likely that there are some problematic buggs that need to be dealt with before releasing a new update.
Perhaps. I have not noticed any issues so far.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5728 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 04:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Perhaps. I have not noticed any issues so far.
So I did the update here in Australia and have found the following problem.


I usually have my brightness set up quite high at level 30. Now when I go to the Netflix App through the menu as soon as I click the App it drops down to level 5. When I went back to the Free to Air TV viewing it would go back to 30.


So I fiddled around and my only solution was to up the Brightness to 30 when I was watching Netflix. However, last night after watching a long movie on Netflix and then going back to FTA it dropped the Brightness back to 5 for my FTA viewing. Aggghhhhhhh.



To say this is annoying is an understatement.
hot_dots is offline  
post #5729 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 04:17 PM
** Man of Leisure **
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 21,489
Mentioned: 426 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11791 Post(s)
Liked: 6994
Quote:
Originally Posted by hot_dots View Post
So I did the update here in Australia and have found the following problem.


I usually have my brightness set up quite high at level 30. Now when I go to the Netflix App through the menu as soon as I click the App it drops down to level 5. When I went back to the Free to Air TV viewing it would go back to 30.


So I fiddled around and my only solution was to up the Brightness to 30 when I was watching Netflix. However, last night after watching a long movie on Netflix and then going back to FTA it dropped the Brightness back to 5 for my FTA viewing. Aggghhhhhhh.



To say this is annoying is an understatement.
Well, unless your model is different than mine, when you launch Netflix content, the display switches to "Netflix Calibrated Mode", which is a separate picture mode with its own unique settings. If you see the display in this picture mode, simply adjust the brightness and it will be set properly next time it enters Netflix Calibrated Mode. Let us know if this resolves your issue.

Edit: I just ran a test and confirmed that Netflix Calibrated Mode has its own settings.

Last edited by AustinJerry; 12-15-2019 at 04:29 PM.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #5730 of 6181 Old 12-15-2019, 04:32 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Well, unless your model is different than mine, when you launch Netflix content, the display switches to "Netflix Calibrated Mode", which is a separate picture mode with its own unique settings. If you see the display in this picture mode, simply adjust the brightness and it will be set properly next time it enters Netflix Calibrated Mode. Let us know if this resolves your issue.

Edit: I just ran a test and confirmed that Netflix Calibrated Mode has its own settings.
I'll have a look at this, but to be honest I am not sure this is the problem as I never used the Netflix Calibrated Mode, so unless it turned it on as part of the update which would be weird as it did not change any of my other settings. Also it dropped my Brightness right down on FTA after watching Netflix and I don't use the Auto Brightness setting.
hot_dots is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off