2019 TCL 75R615 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 328Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 712 Old 03-24-2019, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I'm deciding between the TCL 6 Series 75" and the Vizio P Series 75". Rtings likes the Vizio more; however, they didn't specifically review the 75". One of the reason they like the Vizio more is because it has better local dimming. I noticed that the TCL 75" has 160 zones compared to the 120 zones of the Vizio 75". Would this mean that the TCL actually has better local dimming in the 75"? Or is there more to local dimming than just the # of zones?
Halfvolley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 712 Old 03-24-2019, 01:57 PM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 114
back again with more question on setting up xbox one x.

i have 48gbps cable going from the xbox to my LG sky9
then same cable going from LG to HDMI 3. Its set to HDMI 2.0

The xbox reports my set is using an older version of Dolby vision there for its grayed out.

Any ideas?

Also, what PQ settings are you all using?

Tanks
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #183 of 712 Old 03-24-2019, 02:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Devedander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,540
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halfvolley View Post
I'm deciding between the TCL 6 Series 75" and the Vizio P Series 75". Rtings likes the Vizio more; however, they didn't specifically review the 75". One of the reason they like the Vizio more is because it has better local dimming. I noticed that the TCL 75" has 160 zones compared to the 120 zones of the Vizio 75". Would this mean that the TCL actually has better local dimming in the 75"? Or is there more to local dimming than just the # of zones?


I haven't seen the 75 but unless they dramatically changed how the local dimmimng works I think it's the worst thing about Vizio p series.

It causes massive blooming and crawling pulsing issues in panning scenes.

It might do well in tests but it's horrible for actual viewing.

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...NYhg8W_uX7ZrcL


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
tackhouse1 likes this.

Monster Gold Plated Optical Cables: http://monstercable.com/productPage.asp?pin=1263

Awesome user review: "Unreal quality. Sounded like I upgraded my speakers." :D

Gaming and VR videos: www.youtube.com/user/Devedander
Devedander is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 712 Old 03-24-2019, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I just got this TV yesterday and am wondering about the "Natural Cinema" option that's in the manual for it online. Does this TV have it? I don't see this option anywhere no matter the source or picture mode. TCL support is going to get back to me but mentioned that "Action Clarity" may have replaced it.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
saiyin00 is online now  
post #185 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 12:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Well after a few days with this tv I notice a lot of judder. Anyone else have this I've tried every setting there is color and picture quality is great I don't notice this with my 6 series 55 inch it has nice smooth motion the 75 it's kinda like everything is having a stroke shakey picture it's better with netflix i dont know kinda driving me nuts spent all day with the tv today trying different things still this shaky judder remains is it just me will I get used to it or is it the tv any thoughts thanks

(Update)
Exchanged tcl 75 for another tcl 75 problem solved like night and day issue was the tv
woodhead2 likes this.

Last edited by jack0426; 03-25-2019 at 05:08 PM. Reason: Hmmm
jack0426 is offline  
post #186 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 11:13 AM
Member
 
novice_01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by saiyin00 View Post
I just got this TV yesterday and am wondering about the "Natural Cinema" option that's in the manual for it online. Does this TV have it? I don't see this option anywhere no matter the source or picture mode. TCL support is going to get back to me but mentioned that "Action Clarity" may have replaced it.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
Did you buy BB version, cause I have and it doesn’t have natural cinema mode
novice_01 is offline  
post #187 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 11:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Isn't motion issues inherent to 60Hz panels, which is why most have moved on to 120Hz panels? Or am I way on this?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #188 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 11:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by novice_01 View Post
Did you buy BB version, cause I have and it doesn’t have natural cinema mode
Yes I bought it at Best Buy.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk
saiyin00 is online now  
post #189 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 02:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 4
2019 TCL 75R615 Owners Thread

Is this TV flawless? Looking at Best Buy’s websites, all reviews are 5 stars. Granted, it is 13 reviews, but it seems like this TV is flawless base on BB reviews only.

I’m waiting for my third 75-inch P Series. So my interest in the 75-inch 6 Series is increasing if I keep having to exchange the VIZIO.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
CrzyP is offline  
post #190 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrzyP View Post
Is this TV flawless? Looking at Best Buy’s websites, all reviews are 5 stars. Granted, it is 13 reviews, but it seems like this TV is flawless base on BB reviews only.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't think any TV or TV technology is flawless but it might be just good enough for you.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #191 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 03:26 PM
Member
 
smolakian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrzyP View Post
Is this TV flawless? Looking at Best Buy’s websites, all reviews are 5 stars. Granted, it is 13 reviews, but it seems like this TV is flawless base on BB reviews only.

I’m waiting for my third 75-inch P Series. So my interest in the 75-inch 6 Series is increasing if I keep having to exchange the VIZIO.
That's an impossible standard. But I can give you my opinion based on having the TV for 3 days...

I am upgrading from my trusty old Panasonic P55ST50 plasma, which I loved. (from the last year they made plasmas) I never considered buying a 4k TV before because whenever I would go over to friend's houses and see their LCD TVs, I was totally turned off...mostly due to the black levels, soap opera effect and ****ty motion. I eventually realized that my TV was way too small, and OLED prices started dropping, so I decided to take the plunge. After some back-and-forth I decided, that with my room size, a 75" was necessary and wrote off OLED. (No way I was gonna spend $4K+ on a TV )

So I went to Best Buy and saw the 6 series in person. Their demo setup for it was piss poor. But even based on the Samsung and higher-end demos, which looked very good, I wasn't expecting a HUGE step-up...and honestly, I was prepared for some trade-offs compared to my trusty old plasma. Well, once I got the TV home and started up The Umbrella Academy on Netflix in Dolby Vision, I was completely blown away! I'm not an expert and I don't have tons to compare to, but the picture quality is excellent. Watching dark scenes is almost a completely different experience with HDR! And the experience of being in a dark room with a "fade-to-black" that actually plunges you into complete darkness...awesome!

So, first impressions are very good! I'm not a huge TV nerd, so haven't run a bunch of tests or done the whole OCD-thing that a lot of people here do with their new sets. But I am pretty sensitive to motion problems and various types of IQ issues. So far, there hasn't been anything that made me second guess my purchase. To be honest, the picture looks just as good as the OLEDs that I was previously shopping for. Perhaps you'd be able to tell in a side by side test...but it's definitely not enough to warrant an extra $2K+!

I know the smaller 6-Series are notorious for the "panel lottery". So one would hope that TCL has upped their QC game in the past year. And this thing is so ****ing huge and unwieldy that I dread having to waste a day of my life taking it down and exchanging it. So I'm avoiding digging too hard to see something I "can't unsee" and just enjoy my TV. I'll post an update if I do run across anything and will be curious to hear what other peoples experiences with this new model are.
dad1153, novice_01, sk373 and 2 others like this.
smolakian is offline  
post #192 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 03:57 PM
Member
 
DeadmanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Absolutely love it! Still need to mount it on the wall... But at this point I love it
DeadmanX is offline  
post #193 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 04:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 7,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 25759
Quote:
Originally Posted by smolakian View Post
So I'm avoiding digging too hard to see something I "can't unsee" and just enjoy my TV. I'll post an update if I do run across anything and will be curious to hear what other peoples experiences with this new model are.
IMO, a wise decision

Regards, Ken (Retired)
7.1.2) Denon 4520CI; Aircom T-8, Samsung 55H8000; OPPO 203; 6x SVS Ultra BS,
Ultra Center; FH 2xPolk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nak RE-1, CR7A, BD F7500, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is online now  
post #194 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt2026 View Post
IMO, a wise decision


Agreed! Sadly, I didn’t even have to do tests to see the jail bars and DSE on my second P75. My first P75 set had minimal DSE, which I could live with.
CrzyP is offline  
post #195 of 712 Old 03-25-2019, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt2026's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 7,018
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 908 Post(s)
Liked: 25759
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrzyP View Post
Agreed! Sadly, I didn’t even have to do tests to see the jail bars and DSE on my second P75. My first P75 set had minimal DSE, which I could live with.
That's a bummer Hope you end up with a better one next time

Regards, Ken (Retired)
7.1.2) Denon 4520CI; Aircom T-8, Samsung 55H8000; OPPO 203; 6x SVS Ultra BS,
Ultra Center; FH 2xPolk; Rythmik F12; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD (x2)
2.1 Ch.) Nak RE-1, CR7A, BD F7500, Denon 300F/Ortofon 2M Bronze;
ADS L1290(x2); PINNACLE BABYBOOMER SUB, PANAMAX MR4300
Matt2026 is online now  
post #196 of 712 Old 03-27-2019, 12:03 PM
Member
 
DeadmanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I went with the echogear wall mount , should be good enough for us! I will take some pics once it's mounted

https://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B07G9QF6VJ
DeadmanX is offline  
post #197 of 712 Old 03-28-2019, 08:53 AM
Member
 
DeadmanX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wall mount combined with tv made for a great combo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_6239_1553788358024.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	186.0 KB
ID:	2545394  
Matt2026 likes this.
DeadmanX is offline  
post #198 of 712 Old 03-28-2019, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
toomanytvstosee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 494
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 114
hey there. thought I would post this again. Is our set and DV with the xbox one x broken or a known issue?
I am using 48gbps cables and the dv on the xbox1x says the tv is using an older version.

Thank you
toomanytvstosee is offline  
post #199 of 712 Old 03-28-2019, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Tv was delivered this morning. My wife helped me unbox it and get the legs put on it. I have a wall mount coming but wanted to test out the tv in the meantime. It barely fits on the stand i spent all day yesterday putting together. More than half of the guide holes hadnt been drilled so i had to do it myself...

Anyway, so far so good. Picture is nice. No noticeable imperfections and im not gonna search real hard. I was annoyed that TCL tapes the edges of the screen. Made me really nervous while pulling the strips off.

How do you change the picture settings of the tv when using apps? The tv wont let you do anything unless you have an input hooked up. Im assuming that hdmi 1 is the default picture? On another note, my wife thinks the tv is too big... so we will see if she lets me keep it or not lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190328_122109_1553800908774.jpg
Views:	545
Size:	2.49 MB
ID:	2545460  
dad1153 and sk373 like this.
Deputy Moonman is offline  
post #200 of 712 Old 03-28-2019, 08:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,320
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 345 Post(s)
Liked: 115
When I click on your image there is nothing there.
woodhead2 likes this.
Jim McC is online now  
post #201 of 712 Old 03-29-2019, 03:07 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
PUNKem 733's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 68 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
When I click on your image there is nothing there.

Right click open link in new tab. Always works when the pics don't want to load.
Smigro likes this.
PUNKem 733 is online now  
post #202 of 712 Old 03-29-2019, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 991
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 268
My TV also arrived yesterday. So far everything is looking good. It updated to 9.0 right away, so It's going to take me a bit of time to determine what if anything is different than my 55 inch. The 55 just got 9.0 when I was on the road back from NY, so I'm not all that familiar with it yet. I did notice that the name ROKU TV is on the right side, while it's on the left on the 55 inch. Also, my Yamaha sound bar is not playing using the optical connection. It worked perfectly with the 55 inch. So, I'm unsure if that's a firmware glitch or something else. When I get a little time I will move it back to the 55 inch to see what happens.

I used this mount https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and I have an enhanced voice remote on the way from Roku.

EDIT: Found that the optical cable was was not seeded properly. All is good now.
Deputy Moonman likes this.

Last edited by rockaway1836; 03-29-2019 at 05:39 AM.
rockaway1836 is offline  
post #203 of 712 Old 03-29-2019, 06:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
Ben23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 532
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deputy Moonman View Post
Tv was delivered this morning. My wife helped me unbox it and get the legs put on it. I have a wall mount coming but wanted to test out the tv in the meantime. It barely fits on the stand i spent all day yesterday putting together. More than half of the guide holes hadnt been drilled so i had to do it myself...

Anyway, so far so good. Picture is nice. No noticeable imperfections and im not gonna search real hard. I was annoyed that TCL tapes the edges of the screen. Made me really nervous while pulling the strips off.

How do you change the picture settings of the tv when using apps? The tv wont let you do anything unless you have an input hooked up. Im assuming that hdmi 1 is the default picture? On another note, my wife thinks the tv is too big... so we will see if she lets me keep it or not lol.
Just a suggestion: black out curtains!
Matt2026 likes this.
Ben23 is offline  
post #204 of 712 Old 03-29-2019, 10:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben23 View Post
Just a suggestion: black out curtains!
Part of that is on me. I took that picture from the worst angle possible. Basically looking directly into the reflection of one of the windows. Black out curtains are definitely a good idea though
Actually, I'm more interested in bias lighting for nighttime viewing. Is luminoodle still considered a good product?
Deputy Moonman is offline  
post #205 of 712 Old 03-29-2019, 09:35 PM
Member
 
smith10210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Anyone using an xbox1x with there tcl? Im running my shield tv and xbox1x into the shockwafe 9.2 and out arc. The issue is if I'm using the Xbox in game mode and switch to the shield tv I have to shut game mode off and visa versa when I switch to the Xbox. Im curious if this is a normal issue when using arc and a sound bar. I was hoping the tv woule sence the xbox and switch to game mode automatically.
smith10210 is offline  
post #206 of 712 Old 03-31-2019, 02:54 PM
Member
 
tackhouse1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Got mine today, like others it sitting on its feet for now until I can get it mounted. Coming from a TCL 6 Series 55", I'm super happy with the TV so far, same great picture as before, just much more immersive.

My wife also thinks it's way too big 😁
sk373 likes this.
tackhouse1 is offline  
post #207 of 712 Old 03-31-2019, 03:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 3,074
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1750 Post(s)
Liked: 1064
Hey guys familiar with TCL. What is 8 bit panel +FRC mean? Does that mean anything picture quality wise?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Hetfieldjames is online now  
post #208 of 712 Old 03-31-2019, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
frustrated

Hi everyone

So im on my second tcl 75 first one had motion problems and started shutting itself off returned it now the second one i am still seeing this stutter judder thing its every channel every input every source im not a sensitive type person normally i buy a tv and watch it for 5 years i just sold my 75 in 6 year old samsung im regretting it now i wanted 4k didnt see this issue on it and i dont see it on my 55 inch tcl r6 . ive tried every setting on the tv that iexists and internet tweaks etc i only stream i have gig svc and get over 100 meg down on my devices so i dont know if its me or these tvs are underpowered processor or what is anyone else having motion issues i have 4 days left to return i dont really want to spend another 1200 bucks for a sony or samsung 120hz model to find out motion is still an issue im really wanting to love this tv my 55 is fine. frustrated at this point ive never had these issues with any tv usually just buy them and watch them its been an awful 8 days not been able to enjoy the tvs at all been non stop messing with them im not ocd either. any thoughts thanks.
jack0426 is offline  
post #209 of 712 Old 03-31-2019, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
girdnerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tahlequah, OK
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would any of you owners please comment on how well the 75 up-scales?


While I am buying new movies in at least Blu-ray, I still have an extensive DVD library that I am not going to spend the money on replacing. As far as games, I'm sure the PS4 will look fine, but we also like to break out the legacy video game consoles once in a while, and some of those only have composite outputs. Same with 4k internet, but how well do regular cell phone YouTube videos look. And what about cable or satellite?


BB always has a 4k demo on and I can never get the salesman to show me anything else, but in real life 90% of our viewing is not 4k, so this is important IMO.



Thanks,
girdnerg is offline  
post #210 of 712 Old 03-31-2019, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hetfieldjames View Post
Hey guys familiar with TCL. What is 8 bit panel +FRC mean? Does that mean anything picture quality wise?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
hi
(FRC) frame rate control is a method for achieving higher color quality in low color resolution display panels if that helps means it is not a true 10 bit.
jack0426 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off