2019 Samsung Q90R Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 144 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4291Likes

post #4291 of 5737 Old 05-27-2019, 11:52 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
As of this weekend I'm a proud owner of a 75Q90R. My first new TV in 10 years, so I'm far from an expert. I've been casually following this topic for weeks, thanks for all the info. This is an amazing viewing experience and of course there are always some points that don't work quit the way you expected/hoped. I'll have to dive into those in more detail or just have to learn to live with it.

But there is one thing I noticed that threw me off quit a bit. The anti-reflective filter works like a charm for light directly in front of the TV. But it seems to have a major drawback in my viewing situation. In the day I have a bright room, with the TV+couch directly next to a big glass sliding door towards our small garden to the right of the TV. However, at the end of the day, when the sun is low and behind some buildings, there apparently is a rather big contrast between our darker fence and the lighter blue sky. An I suspect due to the filter on the TV, or maybe it is the viewing angle layer, this contrast is picked up from all horizontal viewing angles. Even when I sit between the TV and the garden, it seems the filter still reflects some light back to me. This results in a brighter smear which is pretty noticeable in darker scenes. See pictures. The only way counteract this is to close the curtains (or stand up which makes the vertical angle such that the sky is no longer reflected). And closing the curtain I rather not do during the day just to watch TV. In fact that is one of the reasons I went with QLED instead of Oled. I might have to think about wall-mounting it and tilting it slightly downwards. Anyone else experience this?

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rEwtEk4.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	652.9 KB