2019 Samsung Q90R Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 169 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 4690Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5041 of 6645 Old 07-13-2019, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,725
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6757 Post(s)
Liked: 6761
Quote:
Originally Posted by egrady View Post
As far back as you sit you really should consider a projector. If an FP won't work in your room the 82Q90 would be an excellent choice. The only issue I've encountered is HDR blooming into scope bars. If a bright object is right next to the bars they'll bleed into same. But, other than that, the Q90 is very hard to beat in screen sizes over 77".

The good news is I've noticed no bleeding with non-HDR images.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vermont99 View Post
I'm thinking of up grading my beloved Pioneer Elite 60" Plasma it's one of the last sets made and every body loves the picture. I have a large fairly dark room and set about 17 ' from the set so I'm thinking of a 82" Q90R or a Q900RB. I guess my question is it worth it and which would be better the 4K or 8K. I'm up in the years so this could possibly be my last set.
From that distance I would probably get a 80R, you are not going to see the picture quality jump from 17'. Almost any TV would look stunning from that distance, you are just to far away from it at 85" or less. As mentioned, will a projector with a 120" screen work, are you in a light controlled room? If so look at JVC........ A JVC and screen will be about the same price as the 82Q80R.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5042 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 08:37 AM
Member
 
vermont99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SW Virginia
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Thanks for the reply's I would love a Projector but my ceiling is too low to mount one with out hitting head. o I'm pretty much stuck with a flat screen and want to get the biggest I can. I was looking at the LG Oled 77" when it first came out then out it on hold until I seen the Samsung 82". I will most likely get the Q90 over the Q900 because as stated form 17' I will not see any difference. Now to figure out where to buy I Live in SW VA maybe Value Electronics I under stand you can have them inspect and calibrate the set prior to shipping I have to check that out.


Thanks

Emovita XMC-1, 2 XPA-1's, XPA-5, Salk Ht3 L/R Salk Center, 2 V1500 Subs, Pioneer Elite 60", KDlinks A400 Media Player, Pioneer Elite DVD, Emovita CD
vermont99 is offline  
post #5043 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 09:38 AM
Member
 
smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 29
I have an Anthem 510 AVR that does not handle 4K via HDMI, and I'm guessing not E-ARC. So, I am trying to figure out how to salvage it for use with my new Q90.

I can connect my sources ( OPPO, Cable Box) directly to the TV and use the TVs apps for streaming. Could also connect ROKU direct and run the cable box through the Anthem. Question then is, how do I get the processed surround and such sound back to the receiver to play thru the 5 speakers?

I have wires in the wall to include an optical cable, but I don't believe the HDMI is internet, which I understand is necessary for E-ARC, right?
does the optical out from the TV carry all the processed sound from the streaming apps?
My Anthem is now used for source switching; audio wise, it feeds a separate amp via pre-outs for the fronts and drives 2 back speakers. Seems I can solve this by buying a Denon x3600H, say, primarily for the sound processing and 4K pass thru, and then plug sources into the new AVR, but I'd rather keep the Anthem.



Any thoughts?
Thx
smile is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5044 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
pabuwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Eastern Time Zone
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 19
What is the recommended configuration for hooking the Q90R and the HW-Q90R together? Is it HDMI sources into the soundbar and then out to the TV?
pabuwal is online now  
post #5045 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 11:34 AM
Member
 
maskgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
So I can get the q90 from either Samsung EPP or Greentoe for the same price. My main concern is return policy.

It seems some on this thread have had bad return experiences w Samsung direct. Greentoe has return guarantee that seems pretty solid.

Any feedback on which direction to take on this?

Thanks!
maskgordon is offline  
post #5046 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 12:03 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Does anyone know if you can fit the one connect box behind the tv if you use the no gap mount?
dailow is offline  
post #5047 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 01:42 PM
Member
 
ionblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
So I can get the q90 from either Samsung EPP or Greentoe for the same price. My main concern is return policy.



It seems some on this thread have had bad return experiences w Samsung direct. Greentoe has return guarantee that seems pretty solid.



Any feedback on which direction to take on this?



Thanks!


I would have gone with Best Buy if I could get them to match the EPP price. I couldn’t though. And I’m still waiting on delivery which “should” be tomorrow.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
ionblue is offline  
post #5048 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 01:42 PM
Senior Member
 
WannaBinHD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 382
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by dailow View Post
Does anyone know if you can fit the one connect box behind the tv if you use the no gap mount?
Everything I have read is that One Connect box is very large. It would not fit behind most any mount, but certainly not the no gap mount.
Loren Kruse. and Terminader like this.
WannaBinHD is offline  
post #5049 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 01:45 PM
Member
 
ionblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by dailow View Post
Does anyone know if you can fit the one connect box behind the tv if you use the no gap mount?

There’s zero chance it fit with no gap mount. I haven’t gotten mine yet (tomorrow allegedly), but based on all I’ve read it would be a bad idea to do that even if you could. It runs hot and needs room for proper air movement. I’ll be getting creative with mine to accommodate.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Terminader likes this.
ionblue is offline  
post #5050 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 01:47 PM
Member
 
maskgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionblue View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
So I can get the q90 from either Samsung EPP or Greentoe for the same price. My main concern is return policy.



It seems some on this thread have had bad return experiences w Samsung direct. Greentoe has return guarantee that seems pretty solid.



Any feedback on which direction to take on this?



Thanks!


I would have gone with Best Buy if I could get them to match the EPP price. I couldn’️t though. And I’️m still waiting on delivery which “should” be tomorrow.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Did you order from Samsung? How long have you been waiting?
maskgordon is offline  
post #5051 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 01:50 PM
Member
 
ionblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 52
2019 Samsung Q90R Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
Did you order from Samsung? How long have you been waiting?


Ordered July 2nd. Scheduled for delivery tomorrow though I haven’t gotten a call to confirm or anything. Not even sure AGS does that.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Last edited by ionblue; 07-14-2019 at 01:58 PM.
ionblue is offline  
post #5052 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 02:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
DD+ Atmos can pass via ARC. TrueHD Atmos requires eARC. Aside from the bluray format the difference is mostly academic.
eARC passes 7.1, Atmos 7.1, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, lossless. ARC can not.
The limited bandwidth allows HDMI ARC to deliver stereo audio and compressed 5.1 surround. It can be pushed to transmit Dolby Atmos streams containing metadata but it requires an extension called Common mode that is not part of the base specification and must be actively supported in both TV (i.e. LG OLED) and receiver. However, bandwidth of standard HDMI ARC is too limited for compressed 7.1 surround and even more so for lossless audio (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). Lip sync correction is also optional under ARC.

7.2.4, AV7702mkII, MM8077, MC205, UDP-203, 82Q90R, Tivo Bolt, Richard Gray 400s, B&W Nautilus, Fathom F113, Harmony Elite
bekindrewind is offline  
post #5053 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionblue View Post
There’s zero chance it fit with no gap mount. I haven’t gotten mine yet (tomorrow allegedly), but based on all I’ve read it would be a bad idea to do that even if you could. It runs hot and needs room for proper air movement. I’ll be getting creative with mine to accommodate.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Thanks, let me know what you end up doing! I'll probably get a tilt mount. My current setup has everything in another room and don't want to tear up the wall to run the one connect cable, so hoping I can mount it behind the tv somehow.
dailow is offline  
post #5054 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 02:36 PM
Member
 
smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by dailow View Post
Thanks, let me know what you end up doing! I'll probably get a tilt mount. My current setup has everything in another room and don't want to tear up the wall to run the one connect cable, so hoping I can mount it behind the tv somehow.

I cut out sheet rock and nestled it between studs. The One Connect is deep, like 5", so took some work.
Terminader likes this.
smile is offline  
post #5055 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 02:38 PM
Member
 
smile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
eARC passes 7.1, Atmos 7.1, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, lossless. ARC can not.
The limited bandwidth allows HDMI ARC to deliver stereo audio and compressed 5.1 surround. It can be pushed to transmit Dolby Atmos streams containing metadata but it requires an extension called Common mode that is not part of the base specification and must be actively supported in both TV (i.e. LG OLED) and receiver. However, bandwidth of standard HDMI ARC is too limited for compressed 7.1 surround and even more so for lossless audio (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). Lip sync correction is also optional under ARC.

Can/does the TV optical out carry all those signals?
smile is offline  
post #5056 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
eARC passes 7.1, Atmos 7.1, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, lossless. ARC can not.

The limited bandwidth allows HDMI ARC to deliver stereo audio and compressed 5.1 surround. It can be pushed to transmit Dolby Atmos streams containing metadata but it requires an extension called Common mode that is not part of the base specification and must be actively supported in both TV (i.e. LG OLED) and receiver. However, bandwidth of standard HDMI ARC is too limited for compressed 7.1 surround and even more so for lossless audio (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). Lip sync correction is also optional under ARC.
I understand all of that. I was talking about Atmos specifically, and as I said unless you are listening to Atmos via bluray the difference between ARC and eARC is mostly academic since very few sources handle uncompressed Atmos to begin with.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is offline  
post #5057 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 507 Post(s)
Liked: 343
Quote:
Originally Posted by smile View Post
Can/does the TV optical out carry all those signals?
Unfortunately not.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is offline  
post #5058 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionblue View Post
Ordered July 2nd. Scheduled for delivery tomorrow though I haven’t gotten a call to confirm or anything. Not even sure AGS does that.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Go on the AGS website to finalize delivery timing.

https://scheduledelivery.agsystems.com/#/login
Terminader is offline  
post #5059 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 03:32 PM
Member
 
ionblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Go on the AGS website to finalize delivery timing.

https://scheduledelivery.agsystems.com/#/login


Thanks. Tried it and it says scheduled already and to call to change. So 9-1 tomorrow if they aren’t late!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Terminader likes this.
ionblue is offline  
post #5060 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Terminader's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: California
Posts: 1,982
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 894 Post(s)
Liked: 1646
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionblue View Post
Thanks. Tried it and it says scheduled already and to call to change. So 9-1 tomorrow if they aren’t late!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Good luck. I had two 82" sets delivered to two different locations back in April.

Both were excellent. On time, good quality, nice delivery people. I had to help each one a little since there was only one person and the 82" is big! Each was helpful enough to bring the sets into each house about 50 feet or so at ground level.
Mikejl likes this.
Terminader is offline  
post #5061 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 04:19 PM
Member
 
ionblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminader View Post
Good luck. I had two 82" sets delivered to two different locations back in April.

Both were excellent. On time, good quality, nice delivery people. I had to help each one a little since there was only one person and the 82" is big! Each was helpful enough to bring the sets into each house about 50 feet or so at ground level.


Thanks. Appreciate that! Friendly is always good and usually deserves a tip. I have cash ready!


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Mikejl likes this.
ionblue is offline  
post #5062 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 04:44 PM
Member
 
maskgordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Is anyone using an Onkyo receiver that supports the eArc? I have a 7.2 one now but guess I need to get one that supports eArc since I am getting the q90
maskgordon is offline  
post #5063 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 05:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Lozin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 163
I’m going to be a potential new owner I think. A co-worker friend purchased the 75” Q90R and I was very impressed with it. I was looking hard at the 85” Sony Z9G but I like the look of the Samsung and the no gap & one connect. I'd either get the 82” Q90R or the 85” Q900R both are 2019 models but then I see an 82” Q900R. It's strange that Samsung would have an 82” and an 85” Q900R not sure why but whichever I chose I will mount with the no gap and run the one connect cable in wall and out the bottom behind my component stand under the TV, I'm wondering if Samsung would ever upgrade the one connection box to the newest HDMI format down the road?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Lozin is offline  
post #5064 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 05:33 PM
Senior Member
 
yatesd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by maskgordon View Post
Is anyone using an Onkyo receiver that supports the eArc? I have a 7.2 one now but guess I need to get one that supports eArc since I am getting the q90
I am using the Onkyo TX-RX830 with the Q90R. No issues. The Onkyo has eArc support with a firmware update but will need to wait for the eArc update from Samsung to test.
yatesd is offline  
post #5065 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 06:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VA_DaveB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,504
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1459 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lozin View Post
It's strange that Samsung would have an 82” and an 85” Q900R not sure why but whichever I chose I will mount with the no gap and run the one connect cable in wall and out the bottom behind my component stand under the TV, I'm wondering if Samsung would ever upgrade the one connection box to the newest HDMI format down the road?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The QN82Q900RB is the 2019 model while the QN85Q900RA is a first generation 2018 model. The QN82Q900RB has a different remote and one HDMI 2.1 port for 8K video while all the QN85Q900RA ports are HDMI 2.0.
VA_DaveB is offline  
post #5066 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Lozin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 689
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 336 Post(s)
Liked: 163
That’s good to know. It will either be the 82” Q90R or the 82” Q900R then.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Terminader likes this.
Lozin is offline  
post #5067 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
bekindrewind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 335 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
I believe Dolby Atmos needs eARC, as does Lossless.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
DD+ Atmos can pass via ARC. TrueHD Atmos requires eARC. Aside from the bluray format the difference is mostly academic.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
eARC passes 7.1, Atmos 7.1, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, lossless. ARC can not.
The limited bandwidth allows HDMI ARC to deliver stereo audio and compressed 5.1 surround. It can be pushed to transmit Dolby Atmos streams containing metadata but it requires an extension called Common mode that is not part of the base specification and must be actively supported in both TV (i.e. LG OLED) and receiver. However, bandwidth of standard HDMI ARC is too limited for compressed 7.1 surround and even more so for lossless audio (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). Lip sync correction is also optional under ARC.
Quote:
Originally Posted by smile View Post
Can/does the TV optical out carry all those signals?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
I understand all of that. I was talking about Atmos specifically, and as I said unless you are listening to Atmos via bluray the difference between ARC and eARC is mostly academic since very few sources handle uncompressed Atmos to begin with.
In case anyone is following the difference between ARC and eARC (history above), the question was how it relates to Atmos.
Optical is limited to Dolby Digital lossy 5.1. It can not pass Atmos.
ARC can pass Dolby Digital lossy 5.1. (according to the chart below...It can not pass 5.1 or 7.1 lossless.) (Dolby TrueHD Blu-ray Atmos discs are lossless)
eARC can pass all lossy and all lossless formats. Dolby TrueHD 7.1 Atmos, DTS-HD MA and DTSX
For eARC, all links in the chain, the sending unit, receiving unit must be eARC capable. The HDMI cable also needs to be able to pass lossless, any current certified should work.

But wait, then there's this article to add to the confusion:
Firstly, a little background. HDMI Audio Return Channel (ARC) is based on the IEC 60958-1 specification, which is essentially the S/PDIF audio spec. There's two types of ARC in HDMI; Single Mode and Common Mode, but unfortunately we don't get informed as to which type any given product supports.

Single Mode ARC uses a single wire in the HDMI link, with performance limited to around 3Mbps. This enables support for 2.0 LPCM and "lossy" compressed surround formats including Dolby Digital and DTS 5.1, but nothing more. Cable length is a huge factor with Single mode, with reliability typically getting flaky beyond about 7-8m in a passive HDMI cable.

Common Mode ARC is superior, but less common (excusing the pun) in terms of deployment. It's still based on the same S/PDIF spec, but can theoretically support up to around 12Mbps. This is enough to carry 24-bit 192kHz 2-channel audio, or — to the point of this blog — a Dolby format called E-AC-3, which we know better as Dolby Digital Plus. This can also carry Metadata-enhanced Audio Transmission (MAT), being audio objects; aka Atmos.

So existing HDMI ARC can potentially support Dolby Atmos by maxing out the Common mode capability with an MAT stream. But there's a huge catch. Two, actually;

Channel count & resolution — while E-AC-3 can support up to 15.1 channels of audio, it's well beyond the HDMI ARC spec. Even getting 7.1 channels to pass is a stretch, so even if the stream contains object metadata, it will lack the resolution and height speakers.
System support — getting Atmos to work through HDMI ARC requires Common mode support in both the TV and AVR, and a high integrity link in-between. Even then, performance will be marginal.
HDMI 2.1 will change things considerably. It introduces enhanced ARC, or eARC for short, which can support up to twelve times the bandwidth of ARC, supporting up to 32 channels of 24-bit 192kHz audio! That is, eARC will support all of the same audio formats upstream as what we can already get in a downstream HDMI link.

In summary, a basic, lower resolution form of Dolby Atmos may work through existing HDMI ARC, but it is highly system and link dependent. This is why we tend to generalise that ARC doesn't support Atmos, as it's out of spec and can't be relied upon. If you are designing this capability into systems, sticking with proven product combinations and short connectivity can give your systems an edge until eARC comes along and opens up our options.


This chart should help clear things up?
Click image for larger version

Name:	hdmiarcguide-5l.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	2590814
Terminader likes this.

7.2.4, AV7702mkII, MM8077, MC205, UDP-203, 82Q90R, Tivo Bolt, Richard Gray 400s, B&W Nautilus, Fathom F113, Harmony Elite

Last edited by bekindrewind; 07-14-2019 at 08:25 PM.
bekindrewind is offline  
post #5068 of 6645 Old 07-14-2019, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bekindrewind View Post
eARC passes 7.1, Atmos 7.1, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA, lossless. ARC can not.

The limited bandwidth allows HDMI ARC to deliver stereo audio and compressed 5.1 surround. It can be pushed to transmit Dolby Atmos streams containing metadata but it requires an extension called Common mode that is not part of the base specification and must be actively supported in both TV (i.e. LG OLED) and receiver. However, bandwidth of standard HDMI ARC is too limited for compressed 7.1 surround and even more so for lossless audio (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD MA). Lip sync correction is also optional under ARC.
I understand all of that. I was talking about Atmos specifically, and as I said unless you are listening to Atmos via bluray the difference between ARC and eARC is mostly academic since very few sources handle uncompressed Atmos to begin with.
very important to us gamers (xbox specifically). Many games are true hd atmos or 7.1 pcm encoded.

We have 2 options right now

1. Run xbox to avr (i have 7.1.4 atmos) and get proper sound, but lose out on allm (not dealbreaker) and (not huge right now but would be nice to use) and lose option to run [email protected]



2. Run to tv 1st and get the tv 1st and gain those advantages, but limited to compressed 5.1 dd and upmix into avr
Mike Wheaton is offline  
post #5069 of 6645 Old 07-15-2019, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ted99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,996
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 982 Post(s)
Liked: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by ionblue View Post
There’s zero chance it fit with no gap mount. I haven’t gotten mine yet (tomorrow allegedly), but based on all I’ve read it would be a bad idea to do that even if you could. It runs hot and needs room for proper air movement. I’ll be getting creative with mine to accommodate.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Would you please post the size of the one connect box when you get it? I'm going to put it on a small shelf behind the set which will sit on it's stand on a console and I'd like to prefabricate the shelf prior to the set's arrival. Seems like it's better to have it in free air, rather than in the console (if I want to avoid a fan) because of the heat.

JVC RS600 Chad-callibrated, 120" 1.3g in Batcave HT, Denon X8500 Polk LSiM703 fronts,
RTi-12 rears, LSiM 706 center, Monitor 40 Heights, Monitor 60 FW, FXiA4 Bi-pole sides,
LSiC CH, Infinity 6" VOG. 4X 12" subs w/mini DSP on sub 1 and nearfield 18" from sub 2.
Ted99 is offline  
post #5070 of 6645 Old 07-15-2019, 08:25 AM
Member
 
ionblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted99 View Post
Would you please post the size of the one connect box when you get it? I'm going to put it on a small shelf behind the set which will sit on it's stand on a console and I'd like to prefabricate the shelf prior to the set's arrival. Seems like it's better to have it in free air, rather than in the console (if I want to avoid a fan) because of the heat.

Got these from Crutchfield.

One Connect Box dimensions: 15-3/8"W x 2-11/16"H x 7-5/8"D



Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
ionblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off