2019 Samsung Q90R Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 256 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7651 of 8116 Old 02-07-2020, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Colmino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
I beg to differ, as the differences I see are the same as I see if I stay at 60Hz and switch output from 4:4:4 to 4:2:2.
Rather than begging to differ, take a photo. It will be easier to highlight which colors are and aren't being affected.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
That pattern clearly shows that 4:4:4 stops working at 24Hz.
And it continues working on the TVs I have available to me, as my previous 24 Hz photo serves to reveal.
Colmino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7652 of 8116 Old 02-07-2020, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colmino View Post
Standard. Using any of the other three causes "Game Enhancer"-style artifacting to appear, as in this video
Assuming you really mean Standard Picture Mode and not Standard Color Tone, such that the other three are Movie, Natural and Dynamic, then I'm very skeptical that you're still in PC mode.
thoth is offline  
post #7653 of 8116 Old 02-07-2020, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Colmino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
In a later post you said: "Crosshatch dithering occurs at all times when the TV is not specifically in PC mode and displaying a refresh rate other than 23/24/25/50."

Perhaps I can't parse that second sentence correctly.
It's the reason why I underscored "and". To rephrase, crosshatch dithering happens when either you're outside PC mode or are using 23/24/25/50 Hz.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
I've looked at the image in PC mode at 60Hz, and it's fine. I can't properly use it at 23/24/25/50Hz, since as I've said, 4:4:4 chroma doesn't work then.
That is an interesting and unexpected conundrum. Strong evidence that screen size is dictating some important differences. To be 100% certain, it'd be helpful to see a photo of Nvidia Control Panel->Change Resolution alongside JoelArt's chroma subsample test image.
Colmino is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7654 of 8116 Old 02-07-2020, 07:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Colmino's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 819
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
Assuming you really mean Standard Picture Mode and not Standard Color Tone, such that the other three are Movie, Natural and Dynamic, then I'm very skeptical that you're still in PC mode.
It is what it is. I can always make another video to illustrate.
Colmino is offline  
post #7655 of 8116 Old 02-07-2020, 07:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colmino View Post
And on a 55" Q70R, 55" Q90R and 65" Q90R, it doesn't. I feel like we may be making some progress. Do you have a photo?
As you've made a service menu modification, I'd be interested to hear results from some other 65" owner. I'm not in a position to take acceptable photos.
thoth is offline  
post #7656 of 8116 Old 02-07-2020, 08:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmbgator View Post
Thanks. I’m going to try as well. What happens when you change your input on the AVR to another source, let’s say an Apple TV? Does it mess up the auto on and off?

Update: As I suspected resetting the TV and having it discover the Denon as any other source besides a Playstation or Xbox causes Auto Game Mode to be greyed out in the menus and hence unavailable. Manually editing the source to Game Console has no effect.


Rereading your question I realized you may have been asking something different. As long as the receiver has been initially discovered as a Playstation or Xbox (and you don't edit the source info) it doesn't matter if you change sources on the receiver. I can toggle between inputs at will and Game Mode works as expected when one of the consoles is active.


I hope that made sense lol.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is offline  
post #7657 of 8116 Old 02-08-2020, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
the5rivers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Just got my 82 in delivered. This thing is huge! And heavy. Panel is FA01. I have the same panels on my ks8000s so hopefully it’s a good sign.

I’m on page 75 of the thread so far. My summary: lots of non q90 posts in the beginning, and filmgate. Getting into the good parts now it seems!
Terminader likes this.
the5rivers is offline  
post #7658 of 8116 Old 02-08-2020, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,659
Mentioned: 85 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7269 Post(s)
Liked: 7296
Quote:
Originally Posted by the5rivers View Post

I’m on page 75 of the thread so far. My summary: lots of non q90 posts in the beginning, and filmgate. Getting into the good parts now it seems!
Ya most owner threads always get into comparison, which is not a bad thing.
the5rivers likes this.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #7659 of 8116 Old 02-08-2020, 08:06 AM
Senior Member
 
the5rivers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Ya most owner threads always get into comparison, which is not a bad thing.
Yup, I wasn't criticizing. Just an observation and natural as everyone waits on their sets to arrive.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
the5rivers is offline  
post #7660 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 10:06 AM
Senior Member
 
darcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Hi I am still waiting on my order of the Samsung 75Q90R. I have an entertainment stand with a rear pedestal mount. I hope without doing any modifying there is enough adjustment in the brackets so the 75Q90R will clear the center speaker.


Can someone please tell me what is the distance from the center of the bottom vesa mount hole on the 75Q90R to the bottom of the tv.


Also can someone tell me the same measurement on the 82Q90R...just in case I cant get the 75Q90R


Thanks in advance
darcman is online now  
post #7661 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I can't take these backlight issues anymore. It doesn't matter what I do, there's always unbearable amounts of bloom in dark scenes and also poor grey uniformity. 240 dimming zones on the 55inch variant is really, really poor; no amount of firmware changes are going to fix a hardware shortcoming. I'm curious to see just how much of a diffrence the 480 zones on the 65inch variant makes. Does anyone have the means to do a comparison of backlight performance between the 55inch and 65inch? If exchaging my 55inch for a 65inch reduces the issue to acceptable levels, I may be tempted to stick with the Q90R and Samsung. If not, an LG C9 OLED will be making its way into my the living room. One thing to note: Game Mode makes blooming significantly worse, which sucks because the TV is ONLY used for gaming on my Xbox One X, so I'm not willing to deal with the extra input latency turning off Game Mode would add.
StarGazerGreen is offline  
post #7662 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by darcman View Post
Can someone please tell me what is the distance from the center of the bottom vesa mount hole on the 75Q90R to the bottom of the tv.
Assuming I have the right hole, 12.25" on my 75".
thoth is offline  
post #7663 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 02:30 PM
Senior Member
 
the5rivers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Just got it on the stand. Man this thing is heavy! Default settings out of the box and here's some pics and a video testing for dse:






Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Terminader likes this.

Last edited by the5rivers; 02-09-2020 at 03:12 PM.
the5rivers is offline  
post #7664 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 03:10 PM
Member
 
JSK0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by the5rivers View Post
Just got it on the stand. Man this thing is heavy! Default settings out of the box and here's some pics and a video testing for dse:

https://youtu.be/n5Q-feqRJ2Q





Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk


Hope you got a good one! The first 65” that I received had a little more DSE than I cared for. It was minor in comparison with the old Vizio M series that I had replaced though. But my 2nd Q90 has virtually no DSE but instead has mild banding when viewing at an angle.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Terminader and the5rivers like this.
JSK0307 is offline  
post #7665 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 03:16 PM
Senior Member
 
the5rivers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by JSK0307 View Post
Hope you got a good one! The first 65” that I received had a little more DSE than I cared for. It was minor in comparison with the old Vizio M series that I had replaced though. But my 2nd Q90 has virtually no DSE but instead has mild banding when viewing at an angle.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yeah it has some DSE, and the pics and video probably exaggerate it, but I haven't noticed it outside of those test videos when watching normal content. I watched hockey and soccer highlights and didn't see much of any at all. It was more blurry than anything but need to adjust some settings still.

I'm going to watch regular content and see if I notice it or not before deciding on keeping it or retuning it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
Terminader likes this.
the5rivers is offline  
post #7666 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 03:38 PM
Senior Member
 
the5rivers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Well looks like the TV is going back for an exchange. Just found a stuck pixel!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk
the5rivers is offline  
post #7667 of 8116 Old 02-09-2020, 03:38 PM
Member
 
JSK0307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by the5rivers View Post
Yeah it has some DSE, and the pics and video probably exaggerate it, but I haven't noticed it outside of those test videos when watching normal content. I watched hockey and soccer highlights and didn't see much of any at all. It was more blurry than anything but need to adjust some settings still.

I'm going to watch regular content and see if I notice it or not before deciding on keeping it or retuning it.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk


Hockey is a good test. We watch quite a bit and it looks great on the Q90. If that doesn’t reveal unacceptable flaws then it’s likely a keeper.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
the5rivers likes this.
JSK0307 is offline  
post #7668 of 8116 Old 02-10-2020, 10:33 AM
Member
 
24 dB per octave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Using Bluetooth audio with the Q90

I posted this on the Q80 forum, but since I've received no responses & because of the similarity to the Q90, I'm posting it here as well...


My wife wants to get a pair of wireless Bluetooth earbuds for use with our 75Q80 so she can watch & not disturb others when they are sleeping.

I know there are often latency issues with Bluetooth, & Samsung doesn't give any clues as to compatible earbuds in the Q80 manual. They don't even say if they support the low-latency aptX codec.

Does anyone have experience with a SUCCESSFUL pairing & no lip-sync issues on the Q90?, & if so, what earbuds are you using to achieve this?

Thanks,

--Alan
24 dB per octave is offline  
post #7669 of 8116 Old 02-10-2020, 11:48 AM
Newbie
 
islandroad83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 24 dB per octave View Post
I posted this on the Q80 forum, but since I've received no responses & because of the similarity to the Q90, I'm posting it here as well...


My wife wants to get a pair of wireless Bluetooth earbuds for use with our 75Q80 so she can watch & not disturb others when they are sleeping.

I know there are often latency issues with Bluetooth, & Samsung doesn't give any clues as to compatible earbuds in the Q80 manual. They don't even say if they support the low-latency aptX codec.

Does anyone have experience with a SUCCESSFUL pairing & no lip-sync issues on the Q90?, & if so, what earbuds are you using to achieve this?

Thanks,

--Alan
Hi Alan,

I have a Q70r 82" and have connected around 5 BT headsets to the TV from three different steel series ranging from Arctis Pro Wireless, Arctis 9X, Arctis BT, Beats Pro Wireless and Apple Air pods. I have never seen a issue with syncing or latency while watching streaming or BluRay movies. I would say get a headset that is comfortable and go from there, from my personal experience latency is not an issue. I would say my time is split with between having a headset on and going though the speakers as I use the TV for mostly gaming.
24 dB per octave likes this.
islandroad83 is offline  
post #7670 of 8116 Old 02-10-2020, 02:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
FYI if you care about HDR accuracy. Measurements on my 75" show, disappointingly, that it displays [email protected] (and [email protected]) content less accurately than [email protected] (and [email protected]) content in Movie mode with Warm2 color tone. (Measurements were done with a SpectraCal C6 HDR2000 colorimeter, VideoForge Pro hardware pattern generator, and CalMAN.) So for external sources, you're best off making sure they send 24fps HDR content through at 24fps, avoid having them upconvert to 60fps.

I found no such difference in SDR content, changes in resolution and/or frame rate had no impact on accuracy.
thoth is offline  
post #7671 of 8116 Old 02-11-2020, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by thoth View Post
FYI if you care about HDR accuracy. Measurements on my 75" show, disappointingly, that it displays [email protected] (and [email protected]) content less accurately than [email protected] (and [email protected]) content in Movie mode with Warm2 color tone. (Measurements were done with a SpectraCal C6 HDR2000 colorimeter, VideoForge Pro hardware pattern generator, and CalMAN.) So for external sources, you're best off making sure they send 24fps HDR content through at 24fps, avoid having them upconvert to 60fps.

I found no such difference in SDR content, changes in resolution and/or frame rate had no impact on accuracy.

Since you got colorimeter. May I ask one strange question? May be I am wrong .
I am using movie mode with disable most image processing options is off include Digital Clean View, Auto Motion Plus, and Contrast Enhancer. I found others tv mode like natural mode, IF I change the setting like contrast Enhancer on or off will affect the my movie mode . I prefer the natural mode with contrast value 45, contrast Enhancer is off. Dynamic mode with contrast Enhancer is low better than off. This make my movie mode picture quality better.
kkthen is offline  
post #7672 of 8116 Old 02-12-2020, 01:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkthen View Post
I found others tv mode like natural mode, IF I change the setting like contrast Enhancer on or off will affect the my movie mode .
I measure no changes to Movie mode on my 75" after changing Contrast Enhancer in other picture modes.
thoth is offline  
post #7673 of 8116 Old 02-12-2020, 01:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
MASKOAA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 122 Post(s)
Liked: 43
An oddity I found is when watching an hdr movie with t built in apps if you pull up the color space option and change it to native then back to auto the whole image becomes slightly desaturate until you leave hdr and come back
MASKOAA is offline  
post #7674 of 8116 Old 02-12-2020, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Hey guys! I just got the 82” but I’m finding the colors super flat with HDR is there a UHD color option somewhere? Or do I need to turn on each hdmi ?
llep64 is offline  
post #7675 of 8116 Old 02-12-2020, 03:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
thoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post
Hey guys! I just got the 82” but I’m finding the colors super flat with HDR is there a UHD color option somewhere? Or do I need to turn on each hdmi ?
General->External Device Manager->Input Signal Plus
thoth is offline  
post #7676 of 8116 Old 02-12-2020, 05:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
llep64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Thank you!! Could you please point me to the most used HDR settings? I’ve looked and there’s just so many out there lol
llep64 is offline  
post #7677 of 8116 Old 02-12-2020, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 375
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by the5rivers View Post
Just got it on the stand. Man this thing is heavy! Default settings out of the box and here's some pics and a video testing for dse:
Pink tint on border of screen is really an issuie?
Dimon.Zorg is offline  
post #7678 of 8116 Old 02-13-2020, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 0
This TV is an absolute joke. It should cost £500 max, and even then I'd probably not get one. Just look at this video...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ecs-upmQCt8

Samsung should be ashamed, but they won't because reviewers keep licking their behinds.

QLED is just another marketing buzzword. OLED is objectively superior. Burn-in is basically a non-issue. Bye, Samsung, you've fooled me one too many times.
StarGazerGreen is offline  
post #7679 of 8116 Old 02-13-2020, 08:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 626 Post(s)
Liked: 411
Quote:
Originally Posted by StarGazerGreen View Post
This TV is an absolute joke. It should cost £500 max, and even then I'd probably not get one. Just look at this video...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ecs-upmQCt8

Samsung should be ashamed, but they won't because reviewers keep licking their behinds.

QLED is just another marketing buzzword. OLED is objectively superior. Burn-in is basically a non-issue. Bye, Samsung, you've fooled me one too many times.

Nope, not gonna watch anything from Quantum. He's just not trustworthy.


Sorry it didn't work out for you though. I hope the OLED is more satisfactory for your needs.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is offline  
post #7680 of 8116 Old 02-13-2020, 09:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
hiperco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: "Greater Binghamton Area"
Posts: 883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 249 Post(s)
Liked: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by llep64 View Post
Thank you!! Could you please point me to the most used HDR settings? I’ve looked and there’s just so many out there lol
I find I like Dynamic for HDR. Lots of color pop and contrast. (It's terrible for SDR though, lol)
hiperco is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off