2019 Samsung Q80R Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 7 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 237Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 10:23 AM
Advanced Member
 
S_rangeBrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 955
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by gocubs418 View Post
Argggg I want to jump on the Q80 fun bandwagon but I sit so damn far away. 11.5' away is just too far for a 65".

Same exact situation for me. Proper size is the #1 most important specification of a TV. It's absolutely great that 80"+ TVs are becoming more and more common and less and less expensive. It looks like *most* of the Samsung models will be available in 82" this year. Sometimes the big sets come out later. I was very surprised when a 82" version of the Q8FN came out last year in August with absolutely no announcement.
S_rangeBrew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 10:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 320 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_rangeBrew View Post
Same exact situation for me. Proper size is the #1 most important specification of a TV. It's absolutely great that 80"+ TVs are becoming more and more common and less and less expensive. It looks like *most* of the Samsung models will be available in 82" this year. Sometimes the big sets come out later. I was very surprised when a 82" version of the Q8FN came out last year in August with absolutely no announcement.
75" is my max, 80+ will eat up my living room too much.
gocubs418 is offline  
post #183 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,913
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12739 Post(s)
Liked: 12047
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_rangeBrew View Post
Same exact situation for me. Proper size is the #1 most important specification of a TV. It's absolutely great that 80"+ TVs are becoming more and more common and less and less expensive. It looks like *most* of the Samsung models will be available in 82" this year. Sometimes the big sets come out later. I was very surprised when a 82" version of the Q8FN came out last year in August with absolutely no announcement.


Actually the 82Q8FN was known to be coming for most of the year. There was just no release date given when Samsung passed the information to some press people.
ray0414 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #184 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 12:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Anyone have any light bleed in the lower left or right corner? I appear to have some I noticed only in the loading screen while I play anthem. During gameplay or content showing darkness, it appears to not be there.
snowman757 is offline  
post #185 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 01:03 PM
Member
 
ajwprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Just got mine now and setting up!

1. Box is big and it feels good seeing the Q80 as I have never had a TV that recent.

2. To be clear some of the pics above going over that bottom edge is additional clear protective tape . At least on my set it was hard to get off but once you get one of the edges up it comes off in a single clean unit. That matched up to the photos above for me so is it possible people are seeing that?

3. My connections are going to be the following:

- HDMI (TV) to FIOS STB
- HDMI 4 - ARC to Receiver ARC
- HDMI 3 or possible directly Receiver is where I'll hook up my DVD

4. Software upgrade is avail for this unit

5. Setup is a breeze and it pairs to my Samsung Galaxy phone very easily.



Anyone have a good settings config yet?
ajwprof is offline  
post #186 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bruc3L3r0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajwprof View Post
Just got mine now and setting up!

1. Box is big and it feels good seeing the Q80 as I have never had a TV that recent.

2. To be clear some of the pics above going over that bottom edge is additional clear protective tape . At least on my set it was hard to get off but once you get one of the edges up it comes off in a single clean unit. That matched up to the photos above for me so is it possible people are seeing that?

3. My connections are going to be the following:

- HDMI (TV) to FIOS STB
- HDMI 4 - ARC to Receiver ARC
- HDMI 3 or possible directly Receiver is where I'll hook up my DVD

4. Software upgrade is avail for this unit

5. Setup is a breeze and it pairs to my Samsung Galaxy phone very easily.



Anyone have a good settings config yet?
What firmware version are you on? I'm on 1052 and there is no update available.
Bruc3L3r0y is offline  
post #187 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 01:28 PM
Member
 
ajwprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruc3L3r0y View Post
What firmware version are you on? I'm on 1052 and there is no update available.

I'm now on 1052 also.
I should have taken a pic but when I first fired it up I was on an earlier version 103x something and it patched me to the 1052.

First thing I notice that seems to be a change is that there may be less apps?
On the Q6 I had the WWE (yes wrestling is fake) installed but it's not finding it on the Q8 even when I search for the app to install.

Out of the box the pic is amazing but def needs tweaking.
ajwprof is offline  
post #188 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 01:33 PM
Senior Member
 
ANEWMadrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Upgrade from KS8000

any new owners upgrade from a KS8000/8500? Thinking about getting this in the 75"
I'm so used to the OCB though and even though all my wires are in the wall, the OCB is so easy to have all the connections going to.
But if anyone new owner had the KS, is the pic far superior? Also any PS4pro gaming reviews on this thing yet? I play Destiny2 a bunch.

thanks,

ANEW
ANEWMadrid is offline  
post #189 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 02:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Gaming Mode Pictures

This was a request in PM but figured I would share with all of you in case you have the same questions.

I played The Martian 4k UHD with HDR through Movies Anywhere on the FireStick 4K.

1st Picture is with Standard HDR, Warm2 Temp

2nd Picture is with Game Mode, Standard Temp

3rd Picture is with Game Mode, Warm2 Temp

So, as you can see there is some immediate "greying" of the Black but I believe it can be minimized quite a bit with proper calibration. Warm2 took a lot of the grey out.

I also attached a picture of my Q80 mounted above the fireplace. The picture is outstanding with the proper content being displayed. Camera pictures do not do this TV justice.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Standard-Warm2.jpg
Views:	347
Size:	533.0 KB
ID:	2539604   Click image for larger version

Name:	Game Mode - Standard Temp.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	641.3 KB
ID:	2539606   Click image for larger version

Name:	Game Mode - Warm2.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	690.2 KB
ID:	2539608   Click image for larger version

Name:	Mounted Q80.jpg
Views:	324
Size:	747.9 KB
ID:	2539610  
ray0414, Antarius and samovies10 like this.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #190 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ANEWMadrid View Post
any new owners upgrade from a KS8000/8500?



ANEW

I’m upgrading from the KS8000 - will let you know how the improvement is once I get the Q80 delivered.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ANEWMadrid likes this.
Noxn38 is offline  
post #191 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 02:26 PM
Member
 
ajwprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
This was a request in PM but figured I would share with all of you in case you have the same questions.

I played The Martian 4k UHD with HDR through Movies Anywhere on the FireStick 4K.

1st Picture is with Standard HDR, Warm2 Temp

2nd Picture is with Game Mode, Standard Temp

3rd Picture is with Game Mode, Warm2 Temp

So, as you can see there is some immediate "greying" of the Black but I believe it can be minimized quite a bit with proper calibration. Warm2 took a lot of the grey out.

I also attached a picture of my Q80 mounted above the fireplace. The picture is outstanding with the proper content being displayed. Camera pictures do not do this TV justice.

Looking good!!!

Willing to share your settings to this point?
I'm focusing on finishing wiring and properly measuring out my speakers then I will start posting.

Until a better theory comes along I was going to base off of this which is the RTINGS settings for the Q8FN: https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sa...-2018/settings
ajwprof is offline  
post #192 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
tvhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Since this is my first Smart TV I’m pretty clueless about how cable will work. Mine won’t be delivered until next Friday but wanted to be prepared so I ordered some previously recommended monoprice premium 4K cables. The guy at Xfinity said I should have gotten 4K 120Hz rather than the 60Hz cables. Agree or disagree?

Next, I grabbed a 4K cable box but same guy said I don’t need one since I can just connect the the Xfinity Streaming app that comes with the TV and stream cable that way and just use the TV’s remote to change the channel. Is that how y’all watch cable on these things?

And would upgrading my Ethernet cable from the existing blue one make any difference?
tvhunter is offline  
post #193 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 03:32 PM
Member
 
ajwprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Talking to Samsung live support now due to the WWE app not showing up for install.

Going off this list it should be there unless there is a specific reason that this model line doesnt have it, I know that the Q6 had it: https://www.digitbin.com/samsung-smart-tv-apps/
ajwprof is offline  
post #194 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 03:42 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,723
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6757 Post(s)
Liked: 6757
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
Found the first shortcoming, off-angle vertical banding. It is quite severe at 30-45 degrees in SOME content, not ALL. Nowhere near as obvious straight on viewing, almost nonexistent.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
I wouldn't be put off by it. I had some very slight vertical banding on my ju7100 but not severe enough to press the issue with Samsung.
As you already know, most TV's will have banding to some degree, seems like it is not a dealer killer for you which is good.....
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #195 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bruc3L3r0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvhunter View Post
Since this is my first Smart TV I’m pretty clueless about how cable will work. Mine won’t be delivered until next Friday but wanted to be prepared so I ordered some previously recommended monoprice premium 4K cables. The guy at Xfinity said I should have gotten 4K 120Hz rather than the 60Hz cables. Agree or disagree?

Next, I grabbed a 4K cable box but same guy said I don’t need one since I can just connect the the Xfinity Streaming app that comes with the TV and stream cable that way and just use the TV’s remote to change the channel. Is that how y’all watch cable on these things?

And would upgrading my Ethernet cable from the existing blue one make any difference?
Is there even such a thing as 120Hz HDMI cables? You just need high throughput cables. I'm using the ultra slim 18Gbps Monoprice cables and they work great. Besides, I believe HDMI 2.0 only support [email protected]

I am keeping my FIOS STB for the DVR since I have multiple boxes throughout the house. I also just upgraded to Verizon's FIOS One TV boxes. Supposedly they are 4K capable even though there are no channels that broadcast in 4K. It's mostly for the few movies on demand that are in 4K and the new STBs upscale content to 4K.

As for the ethernet cables, take a look at the cable itself. If it says Cat 5e or Cat 6, then you do not need to upgrade.
Bruc3L3r0y is offline  
post #196 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 03:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bruc3L3r0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by snowman757 View Post
Anyone have any light bleed in the lower left or right corner? I appear to have some I noticed only in the loading screen while I play anthem. During gameplay or content showing darkness, it appears to not be there.
Can't say I have noticed any light bleeding. I game quite a bit and have not seen it.
Bruc3L3r0y is offline  
post #197 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 04:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
As you already know, most TV's will have banding to some degree, seems like it is not a dealer killer for you which is good.....
I actually received this set as a review from a group my wife is a member of. I paid $840 for it and I can definitely live with some issues. Plus, I get to review it to hopefully help Samsung improve.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #198 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 04:22 PM
Member
 
ajwprof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 17
So the answer I got from Samsung Chat support on WWE and other apps that I had on the Q6 missing is "The Q80 is so new we have no compatibility list for it yet and your best bet is to check every few weeks."
ajwprof is offline  
post #199 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 05:41 PM
Senior Member
 
tvhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southern New Hampshire
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruc3L3r0y View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvhunter View Post
Since this is my first Smart TV I’m pretty clueless about how cable will work. Mine won’t be delivered until next Friday but wanted to be prepared so I ordered some previously recommended monoprice premium 4K cables. The guy at Xfinity said I should have gotten 4K 120Hz rather than the 60Hz cables. Agree or disagree?

Next, I grabbed a 4K cable box but same guy said I don’t need one since I can just connect the the Xfinity Streaming app that comes with the TV and stream cable that way and just use the TV’s remote to change the channel. Is that how y’all watch cable on these things?

And would upgrading my Ethernet cable from the existing blue one make any difference?
Is there even such a thing as 120Hz HDMI cables? You just need high throughput cables. I'm using the ultra slim 18Gbps Monoprice cables and they work great. Besides, I believe HDMI 2.0 only support [email protected]

I am keeping my FIOS STB for the DVR since I have multiple boxes throughout the house. I also just upgraded to Verizon's FIOS One TV boxes. Supposedly they are 4K capable even though there are no channels that broadcast in 4K. It's mostly for the few movies on demand that are in 4K and the new STBs upscale content to 4K.

As for the ethernet cables, take a look at the cable itself. If it says Cat 5e or Cat 6, then you do not need to upgrade.
ok sounds like I’m good with my HDMI cables and need to upgrade my ethernet cable.
tvhunter is offline  
post #200 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 05:52 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bruc3L3r0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvhunter View Post
ok sounds like I’m good with my HDMI cables and need to upgrade my ethernet cable.
That depends on the type of router you have and whether it supports gigabit ethernet.
Bruc3L3r0y is offline  
post #201 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 05:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4902
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
This was a request in PM but figured I would share with all of you in case you have the same questions.

I played The Martian 4k UHD with HDR through Movies Anywhere on the FireStick 4K.

1st Picture is with Standard HDR, Warm2 Temp

2nd Picture is with Game Mode, Standard Temp

3rd Picture is with Game Mode, Warm2 Temp

So, as you can see there is some immediate "greying" of the Black but I believe it can be minimized quite a bit with proper calibration. Warm2 took a lot of the grey out.

I also attached a picture of my Q80 mounted above the fireplace. The picture is outstanding with the proper content being displayed. Camera pictures do not do this TV justice.
The stars on the third pic are far dimmer than on the 2nd pic (and maybe fewer of them as well). Would be great to see a pic of an OLED or plasma showing that same scene so we can get a sense of which pic is right...
fafrd is online now  
post #202 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Antarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 141 Post(s)
Liked: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
2nd Picture is with Game Mode, Standard Temp
Big thanks for posting these photos! Very useful information that no reviewers check for. Just one more question. Does photo #2 look same as what you actually see? It is definitely not as good as first photo, but it looks like it got overexposed to some degree.
wildgator25 likes this.
Antarius is offline  
post #203 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antarius View Post
Big thanks for posting these photos! Very useful information that no reviewers check for. Just one more question. Does photo #2 look same as what you actually see? It is definitely not as good as first photo, but it looks like it got overexposed to some degree.
It is not exactly that exaggerated but it is in line with the difference the photos show.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #204 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 06:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruc3L3r0y View Post
Is there even such a thing as 120Hz HDMI cables? You just need high throughput cables. I'm using the ultra slim 18Gbps Monoprice cables and they work great. Besides, I believe HDMI 2.0 only support [email protected]

I just purchased some Belkin Ultra HD High Speed HDMI cables.

I’m sure they are overkill but I figured I’d treat myself with the new TV lol. I have FiOS also with the Quantum set top box... which I don’t even think supports 4K.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Noxn38 is offline  
post #205 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by fafrd View Post
The stars on the third pic are far dimmer than on the 2nd pic (and maybe fewer of them as well). Would be great to see a pic of an OLED or plasma showing that same scene so we can get a sense of which pic is right...
This is from my LG OLED C7 on Movie Mode through Movies Anywhere on the AppleTV4K. I would have to do more finagling and take more pictures in Standard Mode on the OLED to try to compare apples to apples. Once again, camera photos do not do TVs justice as it's very difficult to compensate for the HDR image.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OLED65.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	443.4 KB
ID:	2539700  
wildgator25 is offline  
post #206 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 07:06 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Bruc3L3r0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 251
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 146 Post(s)
Liked: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noxn38 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruc3L3r0y View Post
Is there even such a thing as 120Hz HDMI cables? You just need high throughput cables. I'm using the ultra slim 18Gbps Monoprice cables and they work great. Besides, I believe HDMI 2.0 only support [email protected]

I just purchased some Belkin Ultra HD High Speed HDMI cables.

I’m sure they are overkill but I figured I’d treat myself with the new TV lol. I have FiOS also with the Quantum set top box... which I don’t even think supports 4K.





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
If it's the Arris STBs then no they do not support 4K. You would need to upgrade to their TV One boxes. VZ says they're 4K ready. Mine are due to arrive tomorrow. Will let you know how they are.
Bruc3L3r0y is offline  
post #207 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 07:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildgator25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Graniteville, South Carolina
Posts: 1,081
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 694 Post(s)
Liked: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by FabioC View Post
Would you mind posting a picture showing the vertical banding?
VERY difficult to see with a camera photo but here you go!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20% Grey.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	437.4 KB
ID:	2539720   Click image for larger version

Name:	40% Grey.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	371.8 KB
ID:	2539722  
Cuthalu and Antarius like this.
wildgator25 is offline  
post #208 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 07:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruc3L3r0y View Post
If it's the Arris STBs then no they do not support 4K. You would need to upgrade to their TV One boxes. VZ says they're 4K ready. Mine are due to arrive tomorrow. Will let you know how they are.


Ok thanks! I’d be curious to know if the picture quality improves. Yes, I currently have the Arris VMS1100.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Noxn38 is offline  
post #209 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 08:30 PM
Senior Member
 
thomase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruc3L3r0y View Post
If it's the Arris STBs then no they do not support 4K. You would need to upgrade to their TV One boxes. VZ says they're 4K ready. Mine are due to arrive tomorrow. Will let you know how they are.
One problem with Verizon's 4k STB (the VMS4100) is that it doesn't seem to support native pass-through. That is, if you set the output to 2160p/4k, ALL content will be upscaled to 4k by the STB rather than your new TV's fancy AI upscaler. The only native 4k content available with this box is some VOD and Netflix, the latter of which you can get through your Smart TV Netflix app.

If anyone has experience with this, or a solution, I'm listening...

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
thomase is offline  
post #210 of 1029 Old 03-15-2019, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
fafrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 13,331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 4902
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildgator25 View Post
This is from my LG OLED C7 on Movie Mode through Movies Anywhere on the AppleTV4K. I would have to do more finagling and take more pictures in Standard Mode on the OLED to try to compare apples to apples. Once again, camera photos do not do TVs justice as it's very difficult to compensate for the HDR image.
Wow, thanks!

The space of picture #3 looked black compared to picture #2 , but compared to the OLED, not quite.

I'll be very interested in how these Samsung 2019 QLEDs measure up against the LG 2019 WOLEDs in this year's shootouts...

And I agree, pictures don't compare with eyeballs (viewing both screens side-by-side...).
fafrd is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off