2019 Samsung Q900 Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 290Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 909 Old 11-08-2019, 01:34 PM
Senior Member
 
In The Bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by sebos13 View Post
I made a few 8K Youtube clips compatible with our Q900.
They can be read on the TV from a DLNA share or via USB. Both work fine with me.

https://my.pcloud.com/publink/show?c...blicfolderlist

More are coming, although it takes quite some time to re-encode VP9 to HEVC 10 bits !
Looks great! Tried them via USB.
In The Bay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 909 Old 11-08-2019, 02:30 PM
Newbie
 
sebos13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
Nice, thanks!

How are they accessed "from a DLNA share"? I am not familiar with the process.
I just installed the "Multimedia server" package on my Synology NAS and shared the folder containing the 8k demos.
The NAS name is then visible directly from the TV, in the "Sources" area.
Depending on your storage device, the setup may be a bit different but it's just a matter of creating a uPNP / DLNA server on any NAS or computer in order for the TV to see it and be able to play files from it.

It's just an easy workaroung to the USB stick which I find annoying, but the result is the same !
sebos13 is offline  
post #633 of 909 Old 11-08-2019, 02:41 PM
Newbie
 
sebos13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
In case you missed it, another AVS forum member posted five 8k clips a few months ago :

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/eoyafl6i7...q9j3qlm8rEMQza

The ISS 8k clip seems buggy as I have frequent freezes with it, but the four others are fine. It looks like a bitrate issue as it is way higher than the others.

I'll upload a fixed version of the ISS 8k clip along with the new ones being encoded right now. They should be ready by sunday.
sebos13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 909 Old 11-09-2019, 07:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,051
Mentioned: 89 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7475 Post(s)
Liked: 7514
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
Samsung display announced 2 weeks ago the are converting LCD factories to QD-Oled and will be investing around $10 billion. They are planning for 2021 mass production.

Here's where everything gets funny. Another report came out last week that Samsung Electronics (the tv maker side) is not happy with Samsung Displays decision to go oled and not go micro-led. Micro led is just too far away and not as realistic in the short term. The display division believes the oled route is best because it's way cheaper and can be produced faster. The QD oled uses half the materials of current oleds and Will cost much less to produce.
That is interesting, why did they such down there TV OLED production a long time ago then......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #635 of 909 Old 11-09-2019, 09:03 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 17,089
Mentioned: 266 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12883 Post(s)
Liked: 12256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
That is interesting, why did they such down there TV OLED production a long time ago then......
Yeilds and profit were terrible. They were using RGB instead of the current WRGB panels.

82Q90*X4200*55OledC8*Oppo 203/Panasonic 820*Note10+

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #636 of 909 Old 11-10-2019, 06:36 AM
Newbie
 
sebos13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here are a few other 8K HEVC encodes :

https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...jttNkERG1ZuxKK
R8tedm3 likes this.

Last edited by sebos13; 11-11-2019 at 03:46 AM.
sebos13 is offline  
post #637 of 909 Old 11-18-2019, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
In my case, I was looking to replace an OLED with severe burn-in, so I could not wait until 2020 like I wanted to. So I figured I'd upgrade now to a 75". At that size -- 2 months ago -- the difference between the 75Q900RB and 75Q90R was $500 (from eBay sellers). Yes, I knew that the Q90R was the better performing TV. But for my purposes I wanted to be somewhat future-proof for the PlayStation 5, so I went with 8K. So, the $500 difference was a nominal fee to me. (a ~14% upcharge)


That said, we are supposed to receive new One Connect Boxes free-of-charge (if it turns out that our current boxes aren't already equipped with HDMI 2.1) ... But, who the F knows at this point! It's just a wait & see game, at this point, unfortunately...
I recently contacted Samsung regarding the HDMI question and was given multiple answers from agents until I reached out via email and got this response:

Thank you for contacting Samsung Canada Customer Care.

Congratulations on purchasing the all-new 8K QLED TV! I will certainly share the required information about its features.

I am sorry for the experience you had in contacting the support teams multiple times. All the HDMI ports of the 8K QLED TV currently only support HDMI 2.0 complaint devices, and one of the ports (HDMI ARC) can be updated to 2.1 version when it is available.

So from what I can gather, there is no HDMI 2.1 atm but will be an udpate to atleast one of the ports...eventually...
iLLWiLL likes this.
JMilionair is offline  
post #638 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 01:21 PM
Super Moderator
 
DrDon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Metro Detroit, Tampa Bay
Posts: 17,615
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2506 Post(s)
Liked: 4896
Wondering where your post went?


Read the title of the thread for a clue.



Walking the fine line between jaw-dropping and a plain ol' yawn.
DrDon is offline  
post #639 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 02:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
PJL99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 871
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 539 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMilionair View Post
I recently contacted Samsung regarding the HDMI question and was given multiple answers from agents until I reached out via email and got this response:

Thank you for contacting Samsung Canada Customer Care.

Congratulations on purchasing the all-new 8K QLED TV! I will certainly share the required information about its features.

I am sorry for the experience you had in contacting the support teams multiple times. All the HDMI ports of the 8K QLED TV currently only support HDMI 2.0 complaint devices, and one of the ports (HDMI ARC) can be updated to 2.1 version when it is available.

So from what I can gather, there is no HDMI 2.1 atm but will be an udpate to atleast one of the ports...eventually...
JMilionair, getting specs like this directly from Samsung is like pulling teeth with a dentist who doesn't know much about teeth. A search found this page from March 2019 that discusses HDMI 2.1 is supported on 2019 Samsung high-end units: https://hdguru.com/hdmi-2-1-features...tvs-clarified/ as does this: https://www.techhive.com/article/339...00-review.html. I guess that's why I'm see Dolby Digital+ (not just DD) on my new Q900RBFXZA via ARC (HDMI 3) to my HDMI 2.2-capable Denon receiver. This makes use of SmartHub apps tolerable for the sound purposes.
PJL99 is offline  
post #640 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 02:41 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
^ Its also odd and confusing that everywhere I can search shows that the Q900R does not have eARC currently but the digital user manual on the tv itself shoes the capability for eARC. How could one confirm if the system has HDMI 2.1 or if it has been updated when the "update" rolls out? The misinformation shared among the interwebs as well as Samsung reps is prevalent.
JMilionair is offline  
post #641 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 02:49 PM
Member
 
iLLWiLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 30
My sources have informed me to expect a new firmware (1335.0), rolling out this week or next...
iLLWiLL is offline  
post #642 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 04:14 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
My sources have informed me to expect a new firmware (1335.0), rolling out this week or next...
I just updated the firmware a few days ago...I believe it was this version but will confirm later on. Is there a list of the updated features?
JMilionair is offline  
post #643 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
In The Bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
My sources have informed me to expect a new firmware (1335.0), rolling out this week or next...
Just checked, so far not available on my TV.

Any idea what is in this update other than "bug fixes"?
In The Bay is offline  
post #644 of 909 Old 11-20-2019, 08:52 PM
Member
 
iLLWiLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Nope, sorry I have no information on what's in the update. Although I do know that the issue of sudden picture darkness is not in this update.
In The Bay likes this.
iLLWiLL is offline  
post #645 of 909 Old 11-21-2019, 06:36 AM
tdx
Senior Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
Nope, sorry I have no information on what's in the update. Although I do know that the issue of sudden picture darkness is not in this update.
So other people are having this issue too? I thought I was the only one whose picture got dim randomly for no reason. Has Samsung indicated they're planning to fix it?
In The Bay and sushisean1 like this.
tdx is offline  
post #646 of 909 Old 11-21-2019, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 166
^^ I guess it only affects a few, as I have not had that problem.

--Carl
calentz is offline  
post #647 of 909 Old 11-21-2019, 07:51 PM
Senior Member
 
In The Bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 50
This Youtube review claims Disney+ app on Xbox One supports HDR10+ on Samsung TV. He is not not specifically talking about Q900R, but I assume IF this is true, it applies to Q900R as well?

Does Disney+ really support HDR10+ that can be viewed on Samsung TVs? I googled, searched reddit etc., but so far, the only HDR10+ content I can find are some rare Blueray releases like Alita.

Any thoughts?

In The Bay is offline  
post #648 of 909 Old 11-21-2019, 10:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,094
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 166
calentz is offline  
post #649 of 909 Old 11-21-2019, 10:24 PM
Member
 
iLLWiLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdx View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
Nope, sorry I have no information on what's in the update. Although I do know that the issue of sudden picture darkness is not in this update.
So other people are having this issue too? I thought I was the only one whose picture got dim randomly for no reason. Has Samsung indicated they're planning to fix it?
You aren't alone. Check out my thread from this week: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/#/topics/3103360
iLLWiLL is offline  
post #650 of 909 Old 11-22-2019, 09:42 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 7,096
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 920 Post(s)
Liked: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDon View Post
Wondering where your post went?


Read the title of the thread for a clue.


Dr. Don - historically, the 'No Price Talk' does not apply to actual MSRP/manufacturer price changes. If the policy has changed, so be it, but that's not the way it's always been. And I've been here a very, very long time.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #651 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iontyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Does the no-gap wall mount that comes with the 82 inch model allow for any lateral movement left or right? I need to be able to center on a wall and the studs are slightly to the right of center on my wall.

Proud Galactic Imperialist
iontyre is offline  
post #652 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 06:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by iontyre View Post
Does the no-gap wall mount that comes with the 82 inch model allow for any lateral movement left or right? I need to be able to center on a wall and the studs are slightly to the right of center on my wall.
I have the 82”. The wall mount is made up of 2 “wall mounts”. One for the left side and one for the right.

The wall mount has several holes. I put 6 screws in each of the two mounts. 2 in the center, 2 to the left of center, and 2 to the right of center.

When I hung mine the left one lined up perfectly with my studs so that all 6 screws went into studs. The right mount, only 2 screws lined up, I used toggle bolts for the other 4 screws.

The mounts are super secure this way.

Two words of advice, don’t bother with the anchors that come with the tv, they don’t stay in place and push through the wall, I tried these before deciding to go with the toggle bolts. Also, be careful with the screws that come with the tv will going into studs. One of mine stripped. Be sure to use an impact drill!

Hope this helps. Best of luck.
Polirer is offline  
post #653 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
iontyre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polirer View Post
I have the 82”. The wall mount is made up of 2 “wall mounts”. One for the left side and one for the right.

The wall mount has several holes. I put 6 screws in each of the two mounts. 2 in the center, 2 to the left of center, and 2 to the right of center.
...
Thanks. But what I really need to know is can the TV itself be shifted left or right on the mount?

Proud Galactic Imperialist
iontyre is offline  
post #654 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: New York
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by iontyre View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polirer View Post
I have the 82”. The wall mount is made up of 2 “wall mounts”. One for the left side and one for the right.

The wall mount has several holes. I put 6 screws in each of the two mounts. 2 in the center, 2 to the left of center, and 2 to the right of center.
...
Thanks. But what I really need to know is can the TV itself be shifted left or right on the mount?
So on the back of the tv the mount screws into holes. There is no “play” to move the mounts on the back of the tv.

With that said each piece of the wall mount is about 18” wide. With standard spacing of studs. You should be able to get at least 2 screws into studs on each of the mount pieces.
Polirer is offline  
post #655 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by iontyre View Post
Thanks. But what I really need to know is can the TV itself be shifted left or right on the mount?

My 75" has one mount so its able to level out after hanging. I would think that two points of contact wouldn't allow the swivel effect that the single mount does.
JMilionair is offline  
post #656 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 12:42 PM
tdx
Senior Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 56
what happened to the firmware update that was supposed to enable EARC? Wasn't it supposed to be available already?
In The Bay likes this.
tdx is offline  
post #657 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 12:47 PM
Senior Member
 
In The Bay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 190 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdx View Post
what happened to the firmware update that was supposed to enable EARC? Wasn't it supposed to be available already?
https://www.samsung.com/levant/suppo...A65Q900RBRXTW/

Is this the update? The date shows 11/22, so must be new?
In The Bay is offline  
post #658 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 12:50 PM
tdx
Senior Member
 
tdx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 492
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by In The Bay View Post
https://www.samsung.com/levant/suppo...A65Q900RBRXTW/

Is this the update? The date shows 11/22, so must be new?
Interesting. Where is this from? The US site doesn't show this update for the Q900s. I'll try it when I get home...
tdx is offline  
post #659 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 02:07 PM
Member
 
iLLWiLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by iontyre View Post
Thanks. But what I really need to know is can the TV itself be shifted left or right on the mount?
No. It can be angled upward and downward. And pulled away from the wall, or closer to the wall. (I am not able to get it flush to wall, so not exactly "no-gap".) But no angling left or right.
iLLWiLL is offline  
post #660 of 909 Old 11-26-2019, 02:13 PM
Member
 
iLLWiLL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLWiLL View Post
My sources have informed me to expect a new firmware (1335.0), rolling out this week or next...
Quote:
Originally Posted by In The Bay View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdx View Post
what happened to the firmware update that was supposed to enable EARC? Wasn't it supposed to be available already?
https://www.samsung.com/levant/suppo...A65Q900RBRXTW/

Is this the update? The date shows 11/22, so must be new?
That's the new update. Looks like the US product site has not been updated with this information yet.
iLLWiLL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off