2019 Samsung Q70R QLED Owner's Thread - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 272Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 09:42 AM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
How often does Samsung release firmware updates?
gsindela is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,576
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Thanks. Did you decide to extend the warranty even further ? If you use the Costco credit card for this TV, do they add extra time ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #843 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 11:37 AM
Member
 
NotShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks. Did you decide to extend the warranty even further ? If you use the Costco credit card for this TV, do they add extra time ?
2 extra years with Costco Citi card.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
NotShorty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 01:11 PM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks. Did you decide to extend the warranty even further ? If you use the Costco credit card for this TV, do they add extra time ?
I did NOT extend it further. But holy cow! I wasn't aware that I got an extra two years with my Costco credit card. 7 years! I'll take it!
gsindela is offline  
post #845 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 02:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsindela View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks. Did you decide to extend the warranty even further ? If you use the Costco credit card for this TV, do they add extra time ?
I did NOT extend it further. But holy cow! I wasn't aware that I got an extra two years with my Costco credit card. 7 years! I'll take it!
My 82" from Costco, came with 5yrs manufacturers warranty, but I bought the Squaretrade plan from them for $99 because the manufacturers don't cover much. I never heard about two extra for using the Visa card.
Allan Blissett is offline  
post #846 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 06:18 PM
Member
 
NotShorty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsindela View Post
I did NOT extend it further. But holy cow! I wasn't aware that I got an extra two years with my Costco credit card. 7 years! I'll take it!
That's my understanding, please correct me if I'm wrong.
https://www.costco.com/concierge-two...-warranty.html

Also hopefully someone will give a heads-up here if a firmware update adds HDMI-eARC...

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
NotShorty is offline  
post #847 of 1236 Old 11-29-2019, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,576
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan Blissett View Post
My 82" from Costco, came with 5yrs manufacturers warranty, but I bought the Squaretrade plan from them for $99 because the manufacturers don't cover much. I never heard about two extra for using the Visa card.
So your plan(if there is a problem) is to use the Squaretrade plan instead ? You're not required to use the manufacturer's warranty first ?

Thanks.
Jim McC is offline  
post #848 of 1236 Old 11-30-2019, 05:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allan Blissett View Post
My 82" from Costco, came with 5yrs manufacturers warranty, but I bought the Squaretrade plan from them for $99 because the manufacturers don't cover much. I never heard about two extra for using the Visa card.
So your plan(if there is a problem) is to use the Squaretrade plan instead ? You're not required to use the manufacturer's warranty first ?

Thanks.
That's correct, the manufacturer's is very limited, and I am sure Squaretrade will be more responsive.
Allan Blissett is offline  
post #849 of 1236 Old 11-30-2019, 08:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 25,270
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7036 Post(s)
Liked: 7070
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
No clue. Only possibility I can think of was I had to move it away from the wall slightly to plug in a usb stick, so moved out the side with the connections. However the crack happened on the opposite side of the screen. Did not get it replaced. Everyone denied any coverage.
So it sounds like the screen just cracked spontaneously? I had that happen to a client with a NEC plasma, emailed a NEC rep and they ended up swapping the screen as my approach was, hey lets say he did it, where is the impact damage on the screen, why does the frame not have any damage? I would call Samsung again and try that approach, reach out to your Samsung dealer and ask them for help. Did you happen to use a card that covers damage for 90 days?
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #850 of 1236 Old 11-30-2019, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What's the latest ideal calibration settings for this fella?? Any submissions appreciated- calibrating for a family relative so they can unbox and setup with for watching the Irishman on Netflix



Many thanks!
Robinhood203 is offline  
post #851 of 1236 Old 11-30-2019, 12:02 PM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robinhood203 View Post
What's the latest ideal calibration settings for this fella?? Any submissions appreciated- calibrating for a family relative so they can unbox and setup with for watching the Irishman on Netflix



Many thanks!
Google the settings for both CNET and Rtings. They are very similar. Note I used the CNET setttings and had major stuttering issues with Auto Motion Plus turned on. I turned AMP off, and it solved my issues.

Here is a good start:
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sa...-qled/settings
NotShorty likes this.
gsindela is offline  
post #852 of 1236 Old 11-30-2019, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey does anybody know what type of remotes, other than the smart remote that came with it, work on this tv?
ERICB73 is offline  
post #853 of 1236 Old 11-30-2019, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,576
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by gsindela View Post
Have not tried DVDs so cannot comment thereon. 720 and 1080 look excellent subjectively, and IIRC, Rtings.com said those standard high definition resolutions do very well on this set. Read here...

https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/samsung/q70-q70r-qled

BTW: tough to beat the 5 year warranty from Costco on this set.
Thanks. I assume 1080 and 4k streaming from Netflix looks good too ?

Would anyone be willing to measure how far apart the legs are on the 75" Q70 ?
Jim McC is offline  
post #854 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 09:00 AM
Member
 
mcw53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Tennessee, USA
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone tell me the width of the stand on a 55" Q70R? Thanks in advance.
mcw53 is offline  
post #855 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 09:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Does anyone know if the Freesync on the Q70r is the newer freesync2 version or the older normal freesync?
ArinoSeb is offline  
post #856 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 10:05 AM
Member
 
marcel2552's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_42 View Post
Are the viewing angles really that bad? My dealer says they are good. At the store I can see a difference but not much and on the Q80 I see the same difference. I have posted a picture of our setup. Would the Q70 work for us or would it end up being really washed out?

I had a Q80 before that worked fine with the angles until the screen cracked.
Is the screen made from glass with the Q80r? the Q70r isnt right?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mcw53 View Post
Can someone tell me the width of the stand on a 55" Q70R? Thanks in advance.
Its about 97cm
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also i found this on the german community page for the 1335 update, its google translated fyi.
link
mcw53 likes this.

Last edited by marcel2552; 12-01-2019 at 10:10 AM.
marcel2552 is offline  
post #857 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 10:37 AM
Member
 
wheeler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERICB73 View Post
Hey does anybody know what type of remotes, other than the smart remote that came with it, work on this tv?
Good question. Myself, I would appreciate a single button shortcut to get to Settings!

For years, I've been using Roomie Remote/ Simple Control universal remote. RR/SC uses virtual remotes for all your devices and controls multi-layered Activities, switching inputs across devices, etc. The structure of the platform has changed quite a bit in the last couple years. The current product involves an annual subscription and lacks direct developer support. When RR/SC is setup and working, it's magical, but it's not for everybody. FYI, I'm still sorting an effective power off toggle for the Samsung TV, which I think is related to ARC.

Below are screen caps of the virtual remote control for my new 82" Q7.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Simple Control_2.png
Views:	57
Size:	357.1 KB
ID:	2648074   Click image for larger version

Name:	Simple Control.png
Views:	42
Size:	925.9 KB
ID:	2648076  
wheeler is offline  
post #858 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 12:27 PM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks. I assume 1080 and 4k streaming from Netflix looks good too ?

Would anyone be willing to measure how far apart the legs are on the 75" Q70 ?
Netflix looks outstanding. I have the 65", so I cannot answer your second question.
gsindela is offline  
post #859 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 6,576
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 522 Post(s)
Liked: 137
Thanks gsindela. Does anyone know how far apart the legs are on the 75" Q70 ?
gsindela likes this.
Jim McC is offline  
post #860 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 02:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
hiperco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: "Greater Binghamton Area"
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks gsindela. Does anyone know how far apart the legs are on the 75" Q70 ?
This info can be easily found by a few minutes of searching on the web.
hiperco is offline  
post #861 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 05:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim McC View Post
Thanks gsindela. Does anyone know how far apart the legs are on the 75" Q70 ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by getbigg21 View Post
Looking at possibly purchasing the 75 inch model and I'm not sure if it's going to fit on my tv stand. Can someone tell me the measurements/distance between the legs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark maeda View Post
49.4"

I'm conducting same research.
SLUDGE is offline  
post #862 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 05:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
SLUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 506
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I'm trying to determine the distance for the 85". I found conflicting information from the Best Buy website and AVS.

BestBuy
Q:
Question
How many inches TV stand table for 85" tv
Asked 5 months ago by Gamal
A:
Answer
I did a rough "scale" calculation on the screen vs the given dimensions of the TV, the stand width is *about* 58.24 inches wide, give or take an inch or 2 for error.

AVS
Quote:
Originally Posted by stitch1
Could someone with an 85" tell me how far apart the legs of the stand are? I looked on Samsung's website but it have that spec listed.

NotShorty
66 1/4". There's an optional narrower setting that's about 18" less than that but I like the wider one for more stability.


If anyone can provide the distance between legs on the 85" as I'm hoping to place it on a 60" wide stand.

Thank you
SLUDGE is offline  
post #863 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the info but I just found out that the remote from my 55" Samsung from 2016 works on the q70.
ERICB73 is offline  
post #864 of 1236 Old 12-01-2019, 10:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Picture quality with DirecTV

I just got a 65" Q70R from Best Buy and have DirecTV. The picture quality from DirecTV is very hit and miss. Some football games I've gotten pixelation around the players primarily during the zoomed out view. On TV shows I've noticed usually where the camera is focused looks pretty good, but anything out of focus or was just watching a Hawaii Five-O where they were stuck in a tunnel and any scenes in that tunnel look absolutely terrible. Very pixelated. The brighter scenes look ok but not great. My old 55" Samsung 1080P TV looked way better on any of these DirecTV programs than the new Q70R. I've watched some 4K Youtube videos and it looks great, even Netflix streaming looks pretty good. Are there any settings I can change to make it look better with DirecTV? I do not have the 4K DirecTV receiver since there are only 3 channels with 4K, but would that box perform better even for non-4K content? Thanks!
b-bartel is offline  
post #865 of 1236 Old 12-02-2019, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I just recently did a fw update to 1335,
not sure if its related or just coincidence but i can no longer enable auto game mode
iv also lost the ability to change the sound in advanced settings from pcm2.0 to dolby digital.

I performed a factory reset on the tv but no change.

I plugged my xbox one x directly into hdmi 1 and the option is still greyed out. (xbox set to allm)
extended port functionality for hdmi 1 for hdr, allm and vrr
Before picture reset xbox could turn on and off game mode on hdmi 1
vrr option on xbox was a selectable option pre reset and now is greyed out post reset / fw update

i purchased a denon avr x3600 and plugged it into hdmi 4 for arc
set enhanced HDMI
extended port functionality on TV for hdmi 1 & 4 (forgot the setting name)
I cant enable auto game mode on hdmi 4

Iv done a hard xbox reset multiple times when switching HDMI ports.

So basically:
purchased new AV
moved all devices to it
updated firmware as it prompted me to install
Tested ALLM by playing a game
game mode didn't turn on
auto game mode greyed out in options on hdmi 4
fix appeared to be a tv reset
reset tv
auto game mode still greyed out
moved xbox one x back to port 1
auto game mode still greyed out
extended ports
auto game mode still greyed out
Sound hard set to pcm 2.0 on hdmi 1
xbox sound settings also stuck in pcm stereo and errors when i try to change it

I tried changing the AV name to PC
no change
Changed to Game
no change

I am stumped here. Ideally want ALLM on port 4 (the arc port) but i cant even get it back on how it was set prior to the tv reset / fw update on hdmi 1.
Mark Townley is offline  
post #866 of 1236 Old 12-02-2019, 09:08 AM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by b-bartel View Post
I just got a 65" Q70R from Best Buy and have DirecTV. The picture quality from DirecTV is very hit and miss. Some football games I've gotten pixelation around the players primarily during the zoomed out view. On TV shows I've noticed usually where the camera is focused looks pretty good, but anything out of focus or was just watching a Hawaii Five-O where they were stuck in a tunnel and any scenes in that tunnel look absolutely terrible. Very pixelated. The brighter scenes look ok but not great. My old 55" Samsung 1080P TV looked way better on any of these DirecTV programs than the new Q70R. I've watched some 4K Youtube videos and it looks great, even Netflix streaming looks pretty good. Are there any settings I can change to make it look better with DirecTV? I do not have the 4K DirecTV receiver since there are only 3 channels with 4K, but would that box perform better even for non-4K content? Thanks!
Hopefully this will help you: I had severe stuttering on live sports with the recommended CNET settings. The culprit was the Auto Motion Plus setting. Once I turned that setting off, the stuttering went away. BTW, I am using both antenna and YTTV, so I cannot comment specifically on DirecTV.
gsindela is offline  
post #867 of 1236 Old 12-02-2019, 09:10 AM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Townley View Post
I just recently did a fw update to 1335,
not sure if its related or just coincidence but i can no longer enable auto game mode
iv also lost the ability to change the sound in advanced settings from pcm2.0 to dolby digital.

I performed a factory reset on the tv but no change.

I plugged my xbox one x directly into hdmi 1 and the option is still greyed out. (xbox set to allm)
extended port functionality for hdmi 1 for hdr, allm and vrr
Before picture reset xbox could turn on and off game mode on hdmi 1
vrr option on xbox was a selectable option pre reset and now is greyed out post reset / fw update

i purchased a denon avr x3600 and plugged it into hdmi 4 for arc
set enhanced HDMI
extended port functionality on TV for hdmi 1 & 4 (forgot the setting name)
I cant enable auto game mode on hdmi 4

Iv done a hard xbox reset multiple times when switching HDMI ports.

So basically:
purchased new AV
moved all devices to it
updated firmware as it prompted me to install
Tested ALLM by playing a game
game mode didn't turn on
auto game mode greyed out in options on hdmi 4
fix appeared to be a tv reset
reset tv
auto game mode still greyed out
moved xbox one x back to port 1
auto game mode still greyed out
extended ports
auto game mode still greyed out
Sound hard set to pcm 2.0 on hdmi 1
xbox sound settings also stuck in pcm stereo and errors when i try to change it

I tried changing the AV name to PC
no change
Changed to Game
no change

I am stumped here. Ideally want ALLM on port 4 (the arc port) but i cant even get it back on how it was set prior to the tv reset / fw update on hdmi 1.
Holy cow! And I thought I did a lot of work to get this set working right. My condolences to you! I hope you get it working!
gsindela is offline  
post #868 of 1236 Old 12-02-2019, 09:14 AM
Member
 
gsindela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Just spent a couple of days at the folk's house for Thanksgiving and reset their picture on their Samsung JS7000 4k from 2016. That set definitely looks decent, but man, it sure made me appreciate this set as the picture is far superior.
gsindela is offline  
post #869 of 1236 Old 12-02-2019, 02:04 PM
Newbie
 
Hunter1671's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I've recently purchased a 75in Q70R and I love it for the most part but I have noticed pixilation around people as they move also stuttering when streaming and this is through my xbox one x wired connection not wireless. I'm wondering if this is due to the size of the tv or not. Movie watching is incredible. Game mode is also very good however I do also get that pixilation around characters as they move, happens mostly at the top of the tv.

any advice?
gsindela likes this.
Hunter1671 is offline  
post #870 of 1236 Old 12-02-2019, 02:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Incindium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 247
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Finally pulled the trigger and ordered a 75" Samsung Q70R from Amazon with delivery scheduled for Dec 9th (next Monday).

I'm hoping to be able to run this as a G-Sync compatible display with my PC which has a NVidia 2080 Super GPU although I've been seeing reports that it may not be currently working or not working correctly.

However Rtings did just added a note on 11/28 for the Samsung Q70R, Q80R, and Q90R reviews saying they are G-Sync compatible via manually enabling it in NVidia Control Center.

Even if there are currently issues I'm hoping they will eventually get resolved and I wanted to have purchased my 4k display in time to enjoy it for my time off work at the end of this month. Also wanted to take advantage of the current sales prices before they were gone.

I've been using a 70" Sharp 1080p TV from 2013 so am expecting this to be a big step up.
gsindela likes this.

Last edited by Incindium; 12-02-2019 at 02:22 PM.
Incindium is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off