2019 Samsung Q70R QLED Owner's Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 67 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 338Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1981 of 2056 Old 06-20-2020, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Samsung Local Dimming with subtitles - can't turn off

Hi,

Samsung Q70R. Whenever I watch Netflix with subtitles and there is a shift from a bright to dark scene - the whole picture and subtitles get very dimmed. For example the movie Gravity.
During the scenes with space station in the background - no issue. But once the scene changes and there's only dark space in the background - it gets very, very dimmed (both picture and subtitles).

I don't have any video of this but check this scene so you know what I mean:


5:36-5:45 no issues. But once there are no bright object the whole image gets very dimmed. It brightens up around 5:50 once the white shuttle appears in the background.

I did get into the service menu and set:

PWM MAX - 100
PWM_INI_2D - 100
PWM_MOVIE_INI - 100
PWM Mid - 100
PWM Min - 100

It didn't help. Setting ECO sensor to off didn't help either. I cannot find any "Local Dimming" option that I could set to 0. Any ideas?

Last edited by MemQ; 06-20-2020 at 12:17 PM.
MemQ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1982 of 2056 Old 06-20-2020, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Kadajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Best to set tv to film mode but it's Samsung, u can't disable dimming in 100%.

Wysłane z mojego POCOPHONE F1 przy użyciu Tapatalka
Kadajo is online now  
post #1983 of 2056 Old 06-20-2020, 06:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemQ View Post
Hi,
It didn't help. Setting ECO sensor to off didn't help either. I cannot find any "Local Dimming" option that I could set to 0. Any ideas?
It is possible to turn local dimming off completely but in that case you could buy cheaper tv from the beginning
madbrain, 60SXRD and crownrai like this.
Dimon.Zorg is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1984 of 2056 Old 06-21-2020, 02:26 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimon.Zorg View Post
It is possible to turn local dimming off completely but in that case you could buy cheaper tv from the beginning
How to turn it off completely?
MemQ is offline  
post #1985 of 2056 Old 06-21-2020, 04:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemQ View Post
Hi,

Samsung Q70R. Whenever I watch Netflix with subtitles and there is a shift from a bright to dark scene - the whole picture and subtitles get very dimmed. For example the movie Gravity.
During the scenes with space station in the background - no issue. But once the scene changes and there's only dark space in the background - it gets very, very dimmed (both picture and subtitles).

I don't have any video of this but check this scene so you know what I mean:

https://youtu.be/46g7OxVdZY0?t=336

5:36-5:45 no issues. But once there are no bright object the whole image gets very dimmed. It brightens up around 5:50 once the white shuttle appears in the background.

I did get into the service menu and set:

PWM MAX - 100
PWM_INI_2D - 100
PWM_MOVIE_INI - 100
PWM Mid - 100
PWM Min - 100

It didn't help. Setting ECO sensor to off didn't help either. I cannot find any "Local Dimming" option that I could set to 0. Any ideas?
no problem on my 55 inch
Bamaboi89 is offline  
post #1986 of 2056 Old 06-21-2020, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
artshotwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Anacortes, Wash
Posts: 958
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemQ View Post
Hi,

Samsung Q70R. Whenever I watch Netflix with subtitles and there is a shift from a bright to dark scene - the whole picture and subtitles get very dimmed. For example the movie Gravity.
During the scenes with space station in the background - no issue. But once the scene changes and there's only dark space in the background - it gets very, very dimmed (both picture and subtitles).

I don't have any video of this but check this scene so you know what I mean:

https://youtu.be/46g7OxVdZY0?t=336

5:36-5:45 no issues. But once there are no bright object the whole image gets very dimmed. It brightens up around 5:50 once the white shuttle appears in the background.

I did get into the service menu and set:

PWM MAX - 100
PWM_INI_2D - 100
PWM_MOVIE_INI - 100
PWM Mid - 100
PWM Min - 100

It didn't help. Setting ECO sensor to off didn't help either. I cannot find any "Local Dimming" option that I could set to 0. Any ideas?
I have a 49” Q70R and haven’t noticed your problem.

Art Shotwell
Anacortes, Wash.
artshotwell is offline  
post #1987 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 03:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemQ View Post
How to turn it off completely?
In service menu
Dimon.Zorg is online now  
post #1988 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 10:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,515
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4219 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Set you Brightness above Factory, and LD doesn't kick in. (Why you never want to do this if wanting better Blacks)

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #1989 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 02:38 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Set you Brightness above Factory, and LD doesn't kick in. (Why you never want to do this if wanting better Blacks)
Will try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimon.Zorg View Post
In service menu
Could you be more specific... ? I wrote that the abovementioned settings did not help.
MemQ is offline  
post #1990 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 04:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 355 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by MemQ View Post
Will try.


Could you be more specific... ? I wrote that the abovementioned settings did not help.
Look at the picture
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3232323.jpg
Views:	133
Size:	406.7 KB
ID:	2747144  
Dimon.Zorg is online now  
post #1991 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just got my 55 Q70R 3 days ago and ive noticed dirty screen effect on grey scale tests as well as banding. I can also see the led backlighting grid in some of the tests. Im not sure if I should replace the model. I've had such bad panel luck in the past and really just want a good one. Am I being too picky or is this worth sending back?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200622_003024_1592869466643.jpg
Views:	197
Size:	2.91 MB
ID:	2747146   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200622_175728_1592869497540.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	1.32 MB
ID:	2747148   Click image for larger version

Name:	20200619_204947_1592869602622.jpg
Views:	124
Size:	2.52 MB
ID:	2747152  
MattGten is offline  
post #1992 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 06:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Test it with actual content movies, games with most background is grey like that.. if still the same i believe it would bother you. Then change, not worth leaving this thing inside our head.. haha
SirVoltus is online now  
post #1993 of 2056 Old 06-22-2020, 07:02 PM
Member
 
Player2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 13
With next gen consoles coming out in a few months I believe both the PS5 and Xbox say they will be able to do 120 FPS.

Will this TV handle that. Reading the specs it seems as though it will, but I have read some stuff about TVs having other issues supporting this and what is advertised not being totally accurate.
Player2 is offline  
post #1994 of 2056 Old 06-23-2020, 01:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Player2 View Post
With next gen consoles coming out in a few months I believe both the PS5 and Xbox say they will be able to do 120 FPS.

Will this TV handle that. Reading the specs it seems as though it will, but I have read some stuff about TVs having other issues supporting this and what is advertised not being totally accurate.
The Q70R can do 1440p at 120fps.
Cam1977 likes this.
Spewdom is offline  
post #1995 of 2056 Old 06-25-2020, 12:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimon.Zorg View Post
Look at the picture
The thing is, I don't have this option. What firmware version do you have?
MemQ is offline  
post #1996 of 2056 Old 06-25-2020, 07:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wildfire99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Wet Northwest
Posts: 1,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can anyone confirm or deny if the Q70r supports custom ultrawide PC resolutions, like 3440x1440 @ 100hz or 3860x1660-ish?
wildfire99 is offline  
post #1997 of 2056 Old 06-26-2020, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
Ann Sagarese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Costco had 82” clearanced online last week (sold out in hours) and if lucky enough to find in store was even better priced. Had to travel 2 hours but did get one in the box to replace our 8 yr old Sony 70” KDL520 (Some dse, good motion handling, decent pic quality for older edge lit).

First impressions...unlike some here and CNETs review model, bottom frame is not 2 strips but rather one solid piece with samsung logo and control pad molded in center underside (pics attached). An improvement there IMHO.

Brightness is far better than older Sony it replaced and while in a super bright open floor-plan Suite of rooms In Florida with sliders off to side, 13’ ceilings, light paint, no blinds, and viewing it from different seats ranging from 11-25’ it seems plenty bright with settings posted here. It is however a bit reflective, but has the same semi matte type screen older Sony did (also pretty reflective) so not a big change/improvement with refections.

Mild DSE and vertical banding, but looking close on many kinds of bright content, 1080, 4k, HDR, never noticed it til I did the screen test (wish I could undo having done test lol...We don’t watch hockey ever)! Have seen plenty worse and some better. No more of this model at close to price paid so need to enjoy it, pay more for same model elsewhere, or pay way more for 2020 equivalent Sony or new Samsung Q80T...and maybe get worse. (?)

Haven’t noticed any of the overall screen dimming others have had with subtitles and local dimming. Firmware is 1356. Does anyone have newer firmware?

Contrast, detail, highlights in both 4k and HDR have been more than pleasing..Color is also nice in 4k and HDR and with other good content. BluRay of The Hobbit DOS, revealed plenty of detail that I had never seen and impressed for non 4k. Direct TV however not so much. Colors oversaturated, weird artifacts with lower resolution channels and plenty of junk in junk out results.

Ambient mode is really cool and so much better than the black slab. Taking pic of my wall and matching texture and color is very close in person...while pic here seems to show color and brightness very differently (see oic). It does look great in person.

GUI is lightning fast compared to what I’m used to, but it would be nice to have one button to get right to pic adjustments. Little universal remote trying to do too much with too many sources gets frustrating. While I’m not a fan of voice assistants, Bixby doesn’t seem to be better and maybe worse. Haven’t tried with any other Voice assistants It is compatible with so cant comment on that. Sound from speakers was surprisingly clear and loud. Most listening is done with Home Theatre set up. But better built in sound than expected.

Will update when I’ve had time to view more content.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3F97D2D4-6E07-4B98-93CB-56466F35DB39_1593229198965.jpeg
Views:	110
Size:	328.1 KB
ID:	2749638   Click image for larger version

Name:	82100C60-A5FA-47CA-986C-156B7853E541_1593229418132.jpeg
Views:	115
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	2749648   Click image for larger version

Name:	DCC73A27-732A-4B9F-A2D6-E02DCF0F5F9A_1593229553245.jpeg
Views:	106
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	2749650  
Ann Sagarese is offline  
post #1998 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 03:29 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Why are people (mostly Americans?) hanging their TVs so high up?

Skickat från min SM-T830 via Tapatalk
stuk is offline  
post #1999 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 06:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Easier to see when laying down on the couch
troopa138 is offline  
post #2000 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 09:00 AM
Senior Member
 
60SXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuk View Post
Why are people (mostly Americans?) hanging their TVs so high up?

Skickat från min SM-T830 via Tapatalk
Not me!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200628_085640.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	93.7 KB
ID:	2750240  
stuk and Cam1977 like this.

Cheers,
Jeff
LG 65UHD/Denon/OppO/HTPC/PS4/NHT/HSU/7.1
PSN: Krondorian
XBL: Midkemian
Twitter: @Krondo_jd
60SXRD is offline  
post #2001 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 09:22 AM
Senior Member
 
Skyeclad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jshillin View Post
Do you have the HDMI cable plugged into the ARC HDMI connection on both devices and do you have it enabled on both devices? I have my Onkyo setup that way and it turns on/off with the TV.
Yes, I have HDMI connected to the HDMI ARC inputs. The issue is power on as power off does work as expected. I can get it to power on as well but it's not automatic, I have to force it to by clicking on additional menu options which defeats the purpose.
Skyeclad is offline  
post #2002 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 696
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by 60SXRD View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuk View Post
Why are people (mostly Americans?) hanging their TVs so high up?

Skickat från min SM-T830 via Tapatalk
Not me!
Yeah, mine is eye level. I need to get something to angle the center speaker up a tad, even though it still sounds good. The TV stand was going to be temporary until I wall mounted the TV, but everything looks and sounds good to me so I put off doing a wall mount for now.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200523_155430-1_1593366888646.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	124.5 KB
ID:	2750298  
60SXRD, stuk and Cam1977 like this.
Spewdom is offline  
post #2003 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 11:32 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,515
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4219 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
Yeah, mine is eye level. I need to get something to angle the center speaker up a tad, even though it still sounds good. The TV stand was going to be temporary until I wall mounted the TV, but everything looks and sounds good to me so I put off doing a wall mount for now.
All my sets are on their come with stands and sit at eye level. Wall mounted - great at my dentist's office.
(No kids to tip them over ! (or throw remotes!))
Cam1977 likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #2004 of 2056 Old 06-28-2020, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
Ann Sagarese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 60SXRD View Post
Not me!
Just where we had the TV niche done when building..This TV is viewed from Living area, dining and island/Banquette area. So a compromise between dining counter height stools and other seating. More of an issue was not making it wide enough as some viewing is 28’ away...couldn't do an 85”...82 was the limit. 😒
Cam1977 likes this.
Ann Sagarese is offline  
post #2005 of 2056 Old 06-29-2020, 06:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
Yeah, mine is eye level. I need to get something to angle the center speaker up a tad, even though it still sounds good. The TV stand was going to be temporary until I wall mounted the TV, but everything looks and sounds good to me so I put off doing a wall mount for now.
These work great and are cheap
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6156kPEgagL._SX425_.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	2750602  
Frostyboy115 likes this.
troopa138 is offline  
post #2006 of 2056 Old 06-29-2020, 09:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,515
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4219 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ann Sagarese View Post
Just where we had the TV niche done when building..This TV is viewed from Living area, dining and island/Banquette area. So a compromise between dining counter height stools and other seating. More of an issue was not making it wide enough as some viewing is 28’ away...couldn't do an 85”...82 was the limit. 😒
Oh for the ability of foresight !

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #2007 of 2056 Old 06-29-2020, 12:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Could replacing my panel help eliminate/fix some of the uniformity issues on my Q70R or would I have to replace the whole tv?
MattGten is offline  
post #2008 of 2056 Old 06-29-2020, 06:14 PM
Senior Member
 
60SXRD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
Yeah, mine is eye level. I need to get something to angle the center speaker up a tad, even though it still sounds good. The TV stand was going to be temporary until I wall mounted the TV, but everything looks and sounds good to me so I put off doing a wall mount for now.
Very nice! I put a couple of wine corks under my center channel to angle it up, works great.

Cheers,
Jeff
LG 65UHD/Denon/OppO/HTPC/PS4/NHT/HSU/7.1
PSN: Krondorian
XBL: Midkemian
Twitter: @Krondo_jd
60SXRD is offline  
post #2009 of 2056 Old 07-01-2020, 10:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuk View Post
Why are people (mostly Americans?) hanging their TVs so high up?

Skickat från min SM-T830 via Tapatalk
It is the trend to put them as high as possible. Many people will put them over their fireplaces.

It is there TV so they can mount it however they see fit, but it would drive me crazy.

Mine is as low as I could get it.
mellofello808 is online now  
post #2010 of 2056 Old 07-02-2020, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
mastacow53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 365
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 20
This may be blasphemy to say this, but I avoid native 4K/HDR whenever possible on my 55 Q70R. In most cases, to me, the 1080P version of a given program looks better than the 4K/HDR version. I can get the 1080P content as bright as I like, but with 4K, even with contrast & brightness settings pretty much maxed out, it's still barely bright enough. YMMV
mastacow53 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off