2019 Samsung RU8000 Owner's Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2019, 01:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lankz View Post
Thank you for the reply, is it still worth upgrading from the KU6000 if I disregard HDR? As it looks like I'm not going to get good, bright HDR for under £1000 and I cant afford more than that for a Tv..
I don't know about the KU6000 so I can't say for sure. Seems like a 2017 model so it's not that much newer, but it is a jump from 6000 to 8000 series so the jump may indeed be a significant upgrade. I can't say for sure without looking at both sets but I would lean towards yes because the RU8000 has some of the best contrast I've seen on an LED set but apparently not as good as other current sets. The cheapest HDR TVs are the about-to-be-released Hisense H9F and the TCL 6 series so look at those if you are on a budget.
Diocletian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-08-2019, 01:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diocletian View Post
I don't know about the KU6000 so I can't say for sure. Seems like a 2017 model so it's not that much newer, but it is a jump from 6000 to 8000 series so the jump may indeed be a significant upgrade. I can't say for sure without looking at both sets but I would lean towards yes because the RU8000 has some of the best contrast I've seen on an LED set but apparently not as good as other current sets. The cheapest HDR TVs are the about-to-be-released Hisense H9F and the TCL 6 series so look at those if you are on a budget.
It's not so much i'm on a budget I just can't comprehend spending £3,000 for a Tv, haha, (The Q90R does look impressive though), i'd keep my KU6000 if it had great HDR but unfortunately that isn't the case.. I might take the plunge for this and disregard HDR until I can afford the Q90R or maybe look into the Q70R instead as that seems to have a better HDR peak brightness than this RU8000, the only problem is the Q70R isn't available at Argos yet so I may have to wait a few months and im impatient, haha..

Thanks again.
Lankz is online now  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Samsung RU8000 Firmware

Hello.


Does anyone know where to find the Release Notes for the Samsung RU8000 firmware updates?


They aren't included with the download and I can't find them on their website anywhere. I contacted Samsung to ask the question and the support guy was clueless.


Thanks.
Carob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-20-2019, 03:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carob View Post
Hello.


Does anyone know where to find the Release Notes for the Samsung RU8000 firmware updates?


They aren't included with the download and I can't find them on their website anywhere. I contacted Samsung to ask the question and the support guy was clueless.


Thanks.
https://www.samsung.com/us/support/o...mart-tv-ru8000 and click the question mark.

I highly advise you stay away from the 1303.7 firmware. It is causing my RU8000 to become unresponsive most of the time, as if it can't handle the firmware. I'm waiting for a new update.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 07-20-2019, 09:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diocletian View Post
https://www.samsung.com/us/support/o...mart-tv-ru8000 and click the question mark.

I highly advise you stay away from the 1303.7 firmware. It is causing my RU8000 to become unresponsive most of the time, as if it can't handle the firmware. I'm waiting for a new update.


I've seen that. But that doesn't tell me anything. Of course they are going to say improved this and that, but where are the specifics? What's been fixed? What are the known issues? Etc., etc. Does Samsung not actually make the Release Notes available to the public?
Carob is offline  
Old 07-20-2019, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carob View Post
I've seen that. But that doesn't tell me anything. Of course they are going to say improved this and that, but where are the specifics? What's been fixed? What are the known issues? Etc., etc. Does Samsung not actually make the Release Notes available to the public?
It's never very specific. They are usually just general descriptors. Every thread about Samsung TVs will tell you that.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 07-27-2019, 09:30 AM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked this up at Costco and mounted it on the wall.

Haven't played with the settings too much. What are the best calibration settins for this TV.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0424.jpg
Views:	181
Size:	1.16 MB
ID:	2595236  
huskydawgs is offline  
Old 07-27-2019, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Just picked this up at Costco and mounted it on the wall.

Haven't played with the settings too much. What are the best calibration settins for this TV.
Oh you already found the thread. I answered you just now in the other thread you made.

As for calibration settings, I find that Dynamic mode actually gets darker and brighter than Movie mode on this set. Turn off everything eco and auto plus motion related, contrast to 45, turn off sharpness, keep brightness and tint at 0, set color to your liking ( I do 22), turn off digital clean view and contrast enhancer, and most importantly, switch color tone to standard, I find warm2 to be too yellow. However, for HDR, I think other settings are needed, which you can find here.
https://www.rtings.com/tv/reviews/sa...u8000/settings

Last edited by Diocletian; 07-27-2019 at 12:18 PM.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 07-27-2019, 12:04 PM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here’s what I have for my settings. What would you change to calibrate it/

Picture Mode - Dynamic

Backlight - 50
Brightness - 0
Contrast - 50
Sharpness - 0
Color - 20
Tint - 0
Digital Clean View - Off
Auto Motion Plus Settings - Auto
Contrast Enhancer - Off
Color Tone - Standard



Contrast
huskydawgs is offline  
Old 07-27-2019, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
Here’s what I have for my settings. What would you change to calibrate it/

Picture Mode - Dynamic

Backlight - 50 (depends on your room lighting. doesn't affect picture quality)
Brightness - 0
Contrast - 45
Sharpness - 0
Color - 22 (this can be raised to your liking but don't go above 25)
Tint - 0
Digital Clean View - Off
Auto Motion Plus Settings - Off
Contrast Enhancer - Off
Color Tone - Standard
There ya go.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 07-28-2019, 10:32 AM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fast action sports on YouTube

I bought a 65” Samsung RU8000 and mounted in on the wall.

I was watching some basketball and football highlights from YouTube and noticed sometimes the ball is blurry and pixelated when there’s a long throw or shot. Anytime the ball goes fast through the air.

Is that just how it is or is there an issue with the upscaling on this tv? Would the Sony X900F handle that better?
huskydawgs is offline  
Old 07-28-2019, 04:36 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
I bought a 65” Samsung RU8000 and mounted in on the wall.

I was watching some basketball and football highlights from YouTube and noticed sometimes the ball is blurry and pixelated when there’s a long throw or shot. Anytime the ball goes fast through the air.

Is that just how it is or is there an issue with the upscaling on this tv? Would the Sony X900F handle that better?
This display is not the most expensive one out there, but it can play video at 120hz with no issues. It's made for fast motion content. The problem is Youtube and the variety of content that different channels upload to it. Youtube has a lot of low bitrate clips. Anytime there's fast motion on them, whatever is moving becomes blurry because the low bitrate can't keep up to properly display the fast moving objects. I see it on every display I have, not just the RU8000. You can't really do anything about the low bitrate content on Youtube. Confirm it for yourself by playing the same clips on your laptop. I see it on all the time when watching movie trailers on Youtube. It's just google (or sometimes the uploader) saving bandwidth by reducing the amount of data transferred whenever possible or using bad source clips.

You won't see this blurriness on any fast motion high bitrate clips, that's for sure. Here's a video to explain why this is a problem on Youtube.




Last edited by Diocletian; 07-28-2019 at 04:40 PM.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 07-29-2019, 08:55 AM
Member
 
huskydawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I’m not a gamer. What should excite me about this tv.

I really like the remote and menu system
huskydawgs is offline  
Old 07-30-2019, 03:39 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskydawgs View Post
If I’m not a gamer. What should excite me about this tv.

I really like the remote and menu system
You already own it. You should already know. It's a good all purpose TV. The only weaknesses are lack of FALD and HDR peak brightness.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 08-01-2019, 11:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lankz View Post
Thank you for the reply, is it still worth upgrading from the KU6000 if I disregard HDR? As it looks like I'm not going to get good, bright HDR for under £1000 and I cant afford more than that for a Tv..

If only I had £3000 laying around for the Q90R, haha..
I can't say for sure because I have never owned or even seen the KU6000, but I would guess, yes? If you really want bright HDR, I suggest looking at the HiSense H9F which people are saying is plenty bright. That looks like the best bang for your buck TV for this year until the new TCL 6 series is released.

In other news for this thread, I just noticed the 1312.2 update has just come out. I am now installing it and will report back if my issues (unresponsive menus, volume, etc possibly due to the 1303.7 firmware running too many processes in the background) have been resolved.

Update: Issues resolved! The TV is responsive again! I also noticed that the occasional stalling when playing a folder of videos via the built-in video player is gone.

Last edited by Diocletian; 08-04-2019 at 11:08 PM.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 08-26-2019, 03:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,186
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Just got the 55" version. It won't fit in my Corvette so gotta wait till Sat to get it home. It will just be used for OTA- HD and BD's with a OPPO83. I am getting rid of cable. I have my Sony OLED for more fancy viewing.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
Old 08-27-2019, 04:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,186
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 497
I got it coming Wends so we will see how it does. Things sure have changed since i bought my first LCD in 09.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,186
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Got the tv and took 15 mins to set it up. Seems pretty good.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
Old 08-29-2019, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHASLS2 View Post
Got the tv and took 15 mins to set it up. Seems pretty good.
How did your panel turn out? Mine had great uniformity.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 08-29-2019, 05:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,186
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 497
Seems fine.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
Old 08-30-2019, 03:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
New 1315.4 firmware just popped up. Will report back.

Edit: everything has been running just fine. No issues at all with this one. Same idle CPU usage as before.

Last edited by Diocletian; 09-03-2019 at 03:37 AM.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 08-30-2019, 05:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,186
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1107 Post(s)
Liked: 497
I need some more hours on it and i will adjust some things. I don't hook my TV's up to the net.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
Old 08-31-2019, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I've been doing some shopping and I'm looking to pick up the 82" version of the TV. I was all set to get it until I checked rtings review and they rate last years model (NU8000) higher and says it's an all around better TV than the RU8000. Sams has some NU8000's in stock for the same price as the RU so I'm wondering for those that have them can they confirm if this is correct or are they basically the same.
bigmixx is offline  
Old 09-01-2019, 02:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
I've been doing some shopping and I'm looking to pick up the 82" version of the TV. I was all set to get it until I checked rtings review and they rate last years model (NU8000) higher and says it's an all around better TV than the RU8000. Sams has some NU8000's in stock for the same price as the RU so I'm wondering for those that have them can they confirm if this is correct or are they basically the same.
I don't have the NU8000 but rtings is basically saying that, yes. I suggest looking at their direct comparison to see if the NU8000 is better for your specific needs or not. Some people want better uniformity, some people want better motion handling, etc

https://www.rtings.com/tv/tools/comp...&threshold=0.1

I went with the RU8000 because it was the same price and the RU had the same black uniformity, better motion handling and more accurate color. The main weakness with the RU8000 is that HDR brightness is on the weak side but I don't care for HDR anyway.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 09-01-2019, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
I've been doing some shopping and I'm looking to pick up the 82" version of the TV. I was all set to get it until I checked rtings review and they rate last years model (NU8000) higher and says it's an all around better TV than the RU8000. Sams has some NU8000's in stock for the same price as the RU so I'm wondering for those that have them can they confirm if this is correct or are they basically the same.

I actually had both versions of the 82 inch TVs and much prefer the RU8000 due to the better black levels. Had to return the NU8000 due to severe backlight bleed issues. Rtings has rated the NU8000 higher and if you win the panel lottery then I guess that is true. As mentioned several times here, if HDR is important to you then you need to look at an upgrade like the Q70R. For my viewing purposes, the RU8000 is fine for now.
bac2040 is offline  
Old 09-01-2019, 02:55 PM
Senior Member
 
bigmixx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 406
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diocletian View Post
I don't have the NU8000 but rtings is basically saying that, yes. I suggest looking at their direct comparison to see if the NU8000 is better for your specific needs or not. Some people want better uniformity, some people want better motion handling, etc

https://www.rtings.com/tv/tools/comp...&threshold=0.1

I went with the RU8000 because it was the same price and the RU had the same black uniformity, better motion handling and more accurate color. The main weakness with the RU8000 is that HDR brightness is on the weak side but I don't care for HDR anyway.
Ok cool. Thanks for the info. This will be a secondary TV for my basement and will be used primarily for watching football and gaming (Ps4 & Xbox) so good HDR is not a priority.
bigmixx is offline  
Old 09-01-2019, 07:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmixx View Post
Ok cool. Thanks for the info. This will be a secondary TV for my basement and will be used primarily for watching football and gaming (Ps4 & Xbox) so good HDR is not a priority.
You have basically the same use case as I do for this TV so I think you will be very pleased! It's a good movie TV but it's an even better sports and gaming TV and everybody who has watched it or hooked up their gaming console has loved it.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:15 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello all.

Samsung newbie here. I'm happy with my RU8000 but I've found one annoyance and it's to do with subtitles / captions.

I play lots of stuff off a hard drive and the captions is defaulted to ON. I'd love to default it to OFF but I can't seem to find how to do it. Means I need to do it manually whenever I play something off of the drive.

I'd appreciate any help - can't seem to find anything on how to achieve this so I thought another owner might be able to help me out.


Thanks.

--Scott
Scott Lambeth is offline  
Old 09-24-2019, 02:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott Lambeth View Post
Means I need to do it manually whenever I play something off of the drive.
I've tried what you're asking for several times and there's just no way to have them default to off. They just always default to on no matter what. Only things you can do are to ask Samsung to add such a setting that sticks between sessions or use a 3rd party device like a FireTV which uses a 3rd party player like Kodi, VLC or Nova which actually has such a setting.
Diocletian is offline  
Old 09-26-2019, 02:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by flargosa View Post
Anyone know the service menu code for this model?
I've entered the service menu on this TV and I can confirm the way to do it is:

Turn the power off. On the remote, press Mute followed by 1, 8, 2, Power in sequence.
Diocletian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off