2019 Vizio M Series Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 41Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 443 Old 11-08-2019, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
ivorygate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Supposedly an Apple TV+ app is coming to the current Vizio sets, anyone have any insights as to how far out that might be?


Also, any odds about a Disney Plus app showing up on current Vizio sets in the near future (or ever)?
ivorygate is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 443 Old 11-08-2019, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
My 65in M8 Quantum comes tomorrow, I'm hyped.
Shades228 likes this.
Zenzetta is offline  
post #333 of 443 Old 11-08-2019, 09:45 PM
Member
 
daviangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivorygate View Post
Supposedly an Apple TV+ app is coming to the current Vizio sets, anyone have any insights as to how far out that might be?


Also, any odds about a Disney Plus app showing up on current Vizio sets in the near future (or ever)?
Do yourself a favor and get a Firestick 4K it already has the Apple+ app and can get for $25 atm. Been using it and my Apple TV to watch all the new Apple+ TV shows which are pretty damn good even if you don't like the content "See" or "For all Mankind" really good test of picture quality the Vizio M is capable of with plenty of blacks and high dynamic range scenes! Thing I noticed is need an actual Apple 4K TV to get best quality and Dolby Vision, Firestick only does HDR10.

Apple TV+ Offers Highest Quality 4K Streaming, Averaging Up to 29Mbps
daviangel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 443 Old 11-08-2019, 09:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by daviangel View Post
Do yourself a favor and get a Firestick 4K it already has the Apple+ app and can get for $25 atm. Been using it and my Apple TV to watch all the new Apple+ TV shows which are pretty damn good even if you don't like the content "See" or "For all Mankind" really good test of picture quality the Vizio M is capable of with plenty of blacks and high dynamic range scenes! Thing I noticed is need an actual Apple 4K TV to get best quality and Dolby Vision, Firestick only does HDR10.

Apple TV+ Offers Highest Quality 4K Streaming, Averaging Up to 29Mbps

Firestick 4k does dolby vision in Netflix and with Amazon at the very least, are you sure it doesn't with Apple?.
whatsnewsisyphus is online now  
post #335 of 443 Old 11-08-2019, 10:16 PM
Member
 
daviangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatsnewsisyphus View Post
Firestick 4k does dolby vision in Netflix and with Amazon at the very least, are you sure it doesn't with Apple?.
Yeah already a thread about it here https://www.avsforum.com/forum/39-ne...l#post58795334
daviangel is offline  
post #336 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
No one can help me put together my TV for another 6 hours.

Should I attempted to remove it from the box myself despite the instructions saying not to?

Was gonna put the box on my bed and gradually wiggle it out, attach the stand, and lift bottom center to put on my dresser.

Biggest TV til now was 48 inches which was ok by myself, 65 is a different beast.
Zenzetta is offline  
post #337 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
ivorygate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Eastern Iowa
Posts: 256
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by daviangel View Post
Do yourself a favor and get a Firestick 4K it already has the Apple+ app and can get for $25 atm. Been using it and my Apple TV to watch all the new Apple+ TV shows which are pretty damn good even if you don't like the content "See" or "For all Mankind" really good test of picture quality the Vizio M is capable of with plenty of blacks and high dynamic range scenes! Thing I noticed is need an actual Apple 4K TV to get best quality and Dolby Vision, Firestick only does HDR10.

I already have multiple playback devices, so it's not about not having a particular app on at least one of them, but as I compare a new Vizio (M558) to a TCL (R625) with Roku or a Sony (X950G) with Android, it's kind of sad that we can't just use the "Smart" features of any of these so-called "Smart" TVs since there always seems to be some drawback to their app selection and/or some stupid codec/format incompatibility. Such is life.
ivorygate is offline  
post #338 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 10:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I don't think my set is raising to 600 nits in HDR, how do I check that?
Zenzetta is offline  
post #339 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 01:42 PM
Member
 
daviangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivorygate View Post
I already have multiple playback devices, so it's not about not having a particular app on at least one of them, but as I compare a new Vizio (M558) to a TCL (R625) with Roku or a Sony (X950G) with Android, it's kind of sad that we can't just use the "Smart" features of any of these so-called "Smart" TVs since there always seems to be some drawback to their app selection and/or some stupid codec/format incompatibility. Such is life.
Yeah that's true might as well save some money and just buy a non-smart TV. I personally use my Firestick and Apple TV most of the time along with the OTA tuner when my internet is acting up or slow. Returned the first Vizio I bought 2017 because it didn't have a built-in TV tuner. But yeah that's why TCL generally get higher ratings because they use built-in Roku which is actually useable without buying separate device. But even then Roku OS isn't updated as fast as stand alone Roku from what I've read. Like you said the smart functionality of even the top end TV's like Sony are crippled by outdated or older versions of Android, Roku, etc.. they are bundled with. So I learned long ago with first purchase of smart TV not to depend on it's not so smart functionality LOL
I suspect TV makers aren't doing themselves any favors though since I"m sure plenty of people probably return an otherwise perfect TV because of the poor smart TV OS it comes with!
daviangel is offline  
post #340 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 05:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
My thought on my set.

+Perfect uniformity, no vignetting, and no DSE AT ALL(RTings said it had some but I have ZERO)
+Great color
+Alright motion handling
-Brightness, it's not bad but maybe I should have saved for the PX Quantum(The fact I have ZERO dse and lots in the PXQ thread are screaming about DSE weakens my 2nd thoughts)
-Meh smart features, some apps are smooth(Netflix especially) but some are laggy.

I'm probably gonna keep it, just because having absolutely ZERO DSE seems to be a rarity in sets these days
Zenzetta is offline  
post #341 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just picked up a M558-G1 and was interested in getting some opinions on my panel. I know this model is bad about DSE but wasn’t sure how mine compared.

I have 15 days to return it from BB but wasn’t sure if I’d get something better
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	909C6852-2EC1-4FF1-ADAC-DA35A2251FBB_1573351267114.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	38.4 KB
ID:	2638742  
Respect21 is offline  
post #342 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Respect21 View Post
I just picked up a M558-G1 and was interested in getting some opinions on my panel. I know this model is bad about DSE but wasn’t sure how mine compared.

I have 15 days to return it from BB but wasn’t sure if I’d get something better
Posted the wrong picture the first time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4E292F26-9333-4A46-BF2F-BC3B476E0037.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	48.1 KB
ID:	2638764   Click image for larger version

Name:	21450C59-8EEA-4DA4-98AE-456B04CDC06A.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	2638766   Click image for larger version

Name:	5AB42B0F-6593-4B9E-AE9D-0D1E9DE0590F.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	57.6 KB
ID:	2638768   Click image for larger version

Name:	6934CADC-17B7-489A-885B-65396492E9D5.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	2638770  
Respect21 is offline  
post #343 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 10:41 PM
Member
 
daviangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Respect21 View Post
Posted the wrong picture the first time.
Looks way better than mine! Don't see any vertical banding also can't see it on my TV though. Only way I can see is if I take a pic from like 10 degrees or less from corner of screen then can see several dark bands must be where the dimming zones are?

Don't know what I'm supposed to be seeing here but gonna return mine due to uniformity is way off on corners compared to my older 2018 Vizio E. TBH rarely noticeable to human eye except that I use dark mode in Windows 10 now and really stands out against all black background compared to old TV
Old TV on left and first image purposely overexposed to show differences 2nd pic closer to what your eye sees in dark room as you can see old TV seamlessly blends into background. This was standard picture mode even worse in Vivid mode since brightness colors exaggerated!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20191104_142404.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	255.0 KB
ID:	2638866   Click image for larger version

Name:	20191104_142253.jpg
Views:	35
Size:	218.0 KB
ID:	2638868  

Last edited by daviangel; 11-09-2019 at 11:09 PM.
daviangel is offline  
post #344 of 443 Old 11-09-2019, 11:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by daviangel View Post
Looks way better than mine! Don't see any vertical banding also can't see it on my TV though. Only way I can see is if I take a pic from like 10 degrees or less from corner of screen then can see several dark bands must be where the dimming zones are?

Don't know what I'm supposed to be seeing here but gonna return mine due to uniformity is way off on corners compared to my older 2018 Vizio E. TBH rarely noticeable to human eye except that I use dark mode in Windows 10 now and really stands out against all black background compared to old TV
Old TV on left and first image purposely overexposed to show differences 2nd pic closer to what your eye sees in dark room as you can see old TV seamlessly blends into background. This was standard picture mode even worse in Vivid mode since brightness colors exaggerated!
Mine looks a trillion times better than that, you DEFINITELY got a trash panel.

If you're willing to try again, I doubt you'll get another that bad.

EDIT:
Are you using an M7 maybe? Because my M8 is amazing.
Zenzetta is offline  
post #345 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Have you guys seen this yet?

https://www.forbes.com/sites/johnarcher/2019/11/09/vizio-tvs-getting-great-hdr-feature-update/
gant1080 is offline  
post #346 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 08:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Can't find much on the m706-G3 model sold by Costco and Bestbuy. Can't find any reviews on it. I can squeeze a 70" into a space that is currently occupied by a Panasonic Plasma th58pz800u. Was originally considering an open box 65" B8 OLED, but not worth the risk. Anybody own this TV? Seems like there are quite a few configurations with different specs for the M series. Not sure where the M706-G3 fall in. Also do you guys think its a worthwhile upgrade from the plasma which is still functional? Seating is roughly anywhere from 12 - 17 feet. The 12 feet seating would be at an angle. 17' would be dead center. Thoughts?
Frostyboy115 likes this.
apollothedog is offline  
post #347 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 09:31 AM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by gant1080 View Post


Yes I read it. Just remember it’s only the 65”M series that will get hdr10+


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #348 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 10:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jconjason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,049
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1297 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
Yes I read it. Just remember it’s only the 65”M series that will get hdr10+


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
I've read the M55 models will get it as well.

Samsung 65" KS8000
Denon AVR 6300H
Klipsch 5.1.2
HSU VTF-3 MK5 HP
jconjason is offline  
post #349 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 11:15 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
Yes I read it. Just remember it’s only the 65”M series that will get hdr10+


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
? Not according to Vizio

2019 P-Series Quantum and P-Series Quantum X models, 2018 P-Series and P-Series Quantum models, and 55- and 65-inch 2019 M-Series Quantum models. The following models will receive the update: PX75-G, PX65-G, P759-G, P659-G, PQ65-F, P75-F, P65-F, P55-F, M658-G, M558-G, M657-G, M557-G.
whatsnewsisyphus is online now  
post #350 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by whatsnewsisyphus View Post
? Not according to Vizio



2019 P-Series Quantum and P-Series Quantum X models, 2018 P-Series and P-Series Quantum models, and 55- and 65-inch 2019 M-Series Quantum models. The following models will receive the update: PX75-G, PX65-G, P759-G, P659-G, PQ65-F, P75-F, P65-F, P55-F, M658-G, M558-G, M657-G, M557-G.


I didn’t mention the P series because this thread is only for M series.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #351 of 443 Old 11-10-2019, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by jconjason View Post
I've read the M55 models will get it as well.


Yes you are right I missed that.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #352 of 443 Old 11-11-2019, 02:23 PM
Member
 
daviangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenzetta View Post
Mine looks a trillion times better than that, you DEFINITELY got a trash panel.

If you're willing to try again, I doubt you'll get another that bad.

EDIT:
Are you using an M7 maybe? Because my M8 is amazing.
Yeah thinking the 43" might be using an IPS panel instead of VA hence the really bad bleed around the corners. At least that's what someone posted at rings dunno how I'd check for that?
Anyways, really like to see someone else with the 43" M post their pics before I decide to try for better panel.
https://www.rtings.com/tv/discussion...ampling-issues

I'd return and get the M558-G1 with more zones/nits if I had the space since it's only a bit more than the 43" now with all the sales, actually seen the 43" selling for more $500, on Ebay LOL
or might try a 43" TCL, Samsung, Sony with all the sales going on right now since they all similarly priced atm it seems

Last edited by daviangel; 11-11-2019 at 02:27 PM.
daviangel is offline  
post #353 of 443 Old 11-11-2019, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Dr Pepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 211 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Got a firmware update this morning. Haven’t noticed anything different but still no Apple TV app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Dr Pepper is offline  
post #354 of 443 Old 11-11-2019, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Shades228's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
Got a firmware update this morning. Haven’t noticed anything different but still no Apple TV app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I wouldn’t want to use any of the built in apps compared to using a real Apple TV.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Shades228 is offline  
post #355 of 443 Old 11-11-2019, 04:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shades228 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Pepper View Post
Got a firmware update this morning. Haven’️t noticed anything different but still no Apple TV app.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


I wouldn’️t want to use any of the built in apps compared to using a real Apple TV.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I was running the app on a roku ultra b4 I returned it. It was gorgeous
saludgrind is offline  
post #356 of 443 Old 11-11-2019, 04:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Got the update. Hdr 10+ works on fire stick 4k
whatsnewsisyphus is online now  
post #357 of 443 Old 11-12-2019, 09:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Why can't I cast Disney+ to my M8?
Zenzetta is offline  
post #358 of 443 Old 11-12-2019, 10:02 AM
Member
 
toografik4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenzetta View Post
Why can't I cast Disney+ to my M8?
Wondering this myself. I have Tweeted them asking about it. It works just fine on my Gen1 Chromecast on another TV. I have another I could hook up (can't remember if it is the Ultra or just the newer basic one), but that would mean swapping out another input. A big draw was the Chromecast built in, since I have 4 other HDMI sources I no longer need an HDMI switch. Think this is probably a Disney+ issue and not Vizio, but still a pain.
toografik4u is offline  
post #359 of 443 Old 11-12-2019, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by toografik4u View Post
Wondering this myself. I have Tweeted them asking about it. It works just fine on my Gen1 Chromecast on another TV. I have another I could hook up (can't remember if it is the Ultra or just the newer basic one), but that would mean swapping out another input. A big draw was the Chromecast built in, since I have 4 other HDMI sources I no longer need an HDMI switch. Think this is probably a Disney+ issue and not Vizio, but still a pain.
I hope this is fixed soon, I don't got the cash for a Firestick or anything until next month lol.
Zenzetta is offline  
post #360 of 443 Old 11-12-2019, 10:20 AM
Member
 
toografik4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zenzetta View Post
I hope this is fixed soon, I don't got the cash for a Firestick or anything until next month lol.
https://www.reddit.com/r/VIZIO_Offic...dv5qyf/disney/

Apparently it IS a Vizio issue. They need to update the Cast Firmware Version on the TV.
toografik4u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off