2019 Vizio P-Series Quantum X - Owner's Thread - No Price Talk - Page 19 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 354Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #541 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Do most people on here have firmware 2.1.7.1 and does it truly make gradient banding better?

Me PX65 is still stuck on 2.1.6.3 eventhough Vizio's website says 2.1.7.1 is the latest full release.
toonj64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #542 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 10:51 AM
Member
 
The Viper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post
Do most people on here have firmware 2.1.7.1 and does it truly make gradient banding better?

Me PX65 is still stuck on 2.1.6.3 eventhough Vizio's website says 2.1.7.1 is the latest full release.
So what's the deal with us on 2.1.6.3? Is 2.1.7.1 still rolling out? Im on 2163 and there is no update available and we can't update via usb
The Viper is online now  
post #543 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 02:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Viper View Post
So what's the deal with us on 2.1.6.3? Is 2.1.7.1 still rolling out? Im on 2163 and there is no update available and we can't update via usb
Not sure if this is a new "longest delay" or par for the course from Vizio but yeah it can take a while from the first batch of firmware to the last release.
Not that releasing firmware in waves is entirely stupid but it takes way too long. After a while they should just release to all and stop foolin around.

Last edited by toonj64; 07-31-2019 at 03:32 PM.
toonj64 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #544 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NAPA, CA
Posts: 359
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Viper View Post
So what's the deal with us on 2.1.6.3? Is 2.1.7.1 still rolling out? Im on 2163 and there is no update available and we can't update via usb
i'm on 2.1.9.1... Shark week has never looked so great...

even though you all may loose your configurations set-up and apps log-in info... you may want try to do a full reset to default setting.

and go thru the initial set-up again that automatically downloads the update... it's worth a shot...

Last edited by rc-zombies; 08-06-2019 at 12:32 PM.
rc-zombies is online now  
post #545 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 02:41 PM
Member
 
TheWolf56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone seeing color banding on non-streamed stuff? I chatted with Vizio support today regarding the firmware and the color-banding and they are stating that there is no known color-banding issue. The picture I sent in they stated the color banding was from video compression. I usually use plex to watch my dvd and blu-ray rips, but that does result in some transcoding due to the subtitles. I watched the snoke's room scene (from a BD rip) on my laptop hooked up directly to the tv and did not see any banding in the red. I also looked at some gradients on a website to test for banding and didn't see it, but I have definitely seen color banding when using netflix (DV and non-DV) through the tv, through youtube, and through plex. I'm on 2.1.6.3, still (says it could be anywhere from 2 weeks to a month to receive the update), but now I'm not sure if it is compression that is causing the banding.

Xbox Live: Nt1chr1st
PS3: Nt1chr1st
TheWolf56 is offline  
post #546 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 02:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 114 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post
Do most people on here have firmware 2.1.7.1 and does it truly make gradient banding better?

Me PX65 is still stuck on 2.1.6.3 eventhough Vizio's website says 2.1.7.1 is the latest full release.
Could you PM me your serial number and I can look into this for you.
VizioService is offline  
post #547 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 114 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 129 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Viper View Post
So what's the deal with us on 2.1.6.3? Is 2.1.7.1 still rolling out? Im on 2163 and there is no update available and we can't update via usb
Could you PM me your serial number and I can look into this for you.
VizioService is offline  
post #548 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 03:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheWolf56 View Post
Is anyone seeing color banding on non-streamed stuff? I chatted with Vizio support today regarding the firmware and the color-banding and they are stating that there is no known color-banding issue. The picture I sent in they stated the color banding was from video compression. I usually use plex to watch my dvd and blu-ray rips, but that does result in some transcoding due to the subtitles. I watched the snoke's room scene (from a BD rip) on my laptop hooked up directly to the tv and did not see any banding in the red. I also looked at some gradients on a website to test for banding and didn't see it, but I have definitely seen color banding when using netflix (DV and non-DV) through the tv, through youtube, and through plex. I'm on 2.1.6.3, still (says it could be anywhere from 2 weeks to a month to receive the update), but now I'm not sure if it is compression that is causing the banding.
Compression and streaming in general can and will cause banding but we've all seen it on UHD discs as well.
I have one of the first LG UHD players (the one that sounds like a biplane taking off ) and it seems the player itself also causes banding. So the short answer is that banding has more than one cause but im convinced the TV isnt "innocent" in this whole thing.
toonj64 is offline  
post #549 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
Could you PM me your serial number and I can look into this for you.
Sure I can do that but you will do exactly as I did and look up the firmware page. It says my set should be on 2.1.6.3 but that doesnt make it ok nor right...
toonj64 is offline  
post #550 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 05:48 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0ndor View Post
Just an fyi for those who might have missed it...
to be fair, my Vizio P65-C1 has no issues whatsoever if I select 10 bit or 12 bit on the xbox and that TV.
Jesus Martinez is offline  
post #551 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by VizioService View Post
Could you PM me your serial number and I can look into this for you.
Can I send you mine as well??
Jesus Martinez is offline  
post #552 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 07:24 PM
Member
 
fizban11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Screen Flicker on PX75-G1/PX65-G1

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlanetAVS View Post
All cables are certified high speed premium 18gbps? CEC is enabled in both the AVR and TV? Have you tried a factory reset? Tried downloading the latest firmware via website?

I am having the EXACT same issue with Nvidia Shield Pro (2017). My cables are all certified premium Monoprice Fiber/Hybrid and worked fine with the TV I replaced (Samsung 2015 UN65JS9500). If I enable Full UHD on HDMI 1 on the Vizio, I immediately get a screen flicker. I bought a PX75-G1 for the front room and a PX65-G1 for the bedroom. BOTH sets are doing the same thing, each with their respective NVShield Pro (2017) and Marantz AV8802A (Front Room and SR6011 AVR in the MBR.)


I am completely in shock that the latest Vizio can't seem to handle Full UHD content without flickering!

-------------------------------------------
LVR: Vizio PX75-G1, Marantz AV8802A/MM8077, Emo XPA-7 G3, NVS Pro 2017, Panasonic BDR, XB1, HDFury Vertex to Sony MDR-HW700DS (Import), B&W CM10 S2 L/R, B&W CM Centre 2 S2, B&W (4x) CI 700 Series CCM7.4 (SS/SB), B&W CCM662 (4x ATMOS), B&W DB1 Sub, MBR: Vizio PX65-G1, Marantz SR6011, NVS Pro 2017, B&W (5x) CI CCM816, SVS PB-3000 sub
fizban11 is offline  
post #553 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 07:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
toonj64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,242
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 882 Post(s)
Liked: 556
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizban11 View Post
I am having the EXACT same issue with Nvidia Shield Pro (2017). My cables are all certified premium Monoprice Fiber/Hybrid and worked fine with the TV I replaced (Samsung 2015 UN65JS9500). If I enable Full UHD on HDMI 1 on the Vizio, I immediately get a screen flicker. I bought a PX75-G1 for the front room and a PX65-G1 for the bedroom. BOTH sets are doing the same thing, each with their respective NVShield Pro (2017) and Marantz AV8802A (Front Room and SR6011 AVR in the MBR.)


I am completely in shock that the latest Vizio can't seem to handle Full UHD content without flickering!
Its a setting issue, tons of us here are using full UHD on PCs, consoles, UHD players etc. It's not as if the tv cant handle it as you imply
toonj64 is offline  
post #554 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 08:08 PM
Member
 
fizban11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by toonj64 View Post
Its a setting issue, tons of us here are using full UHD on PCs, consoles, UHD players etc. It's not as if the tv cant handle it as you imply

and yet, the flicker remains with the NVShield.

-------------------------------------------
LVR: Vizio PX75-G1, Marantz AV8802A/MM8077, Emo XPA-7 G3, NVS Pro 2017, Panasonic BDR, XB1, HDFury Vertex to Sony MDR-HW700DS (Import), B&W CM10 S2 L/R, B&W CM Centre 2 S2, B&W (4x) CI 700 Series CCM7.4 (SS/SB), B&W CCM662 (4x ATMOS), B&W DB1 Sub, MBR: Vizio PX65-G1, Marantz SR6011, NVS Pro 2017, B&W (5x) CI CCM816, SVS PB-3000 sub
fizban11 is offline  
post #555 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 08:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizban11 View Post
and yet, the flicker remains with the NVShield.
Yeah it's not a settings issue. I have been fighting this for weeks

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
pheno69 is offline  
post #556 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
It's well documented on the older Vizios as well if you Google search.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
pheno69 is offline  
post #557 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 08:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
pheno69 is offline  
post #558 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
pmanyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 57
I’ve had my px75 for a week now, and I love it! Moved my lg c8 65 inch oled into the living room, and the px75 is in the basement theater/game room. I finally feel like I have a big tv again going from 65 to 75. It’s really nice to see more detail from 4k sources as well and not have to worry about image retention when playing games. The picture quality is fantastic, especially the small bright highlights and general color pop. As far as black levels and contrast go, it’s better than my oled 25% of the time, the same as the oled 25%, and worse than the oled 50%. That’s the best way I could describe it. When there are bigger really bright objects surrounded by continuous black, it exceeds the oled. Like that YouTube crayon demo. A lot of night scenes with bigger splotches of black look fantastic as well. The scenes it struggles with are when there are small bright objects on black backgrounds or small black parts of the screen on bright backgrounds. These scenes still look good but are shy of the precision of oled with individual pixels dimming. Overall, I am very happy with the purchase. I have two awesome tvs to enjoy now!
smarthur and Anago like this.

Last edited by pmanyon; 07-31-2019 at 09:29 PM.
pmanyon is offline  
post #559 of 1471 Old 07-31-2019, 09:27 PM
Senior Member
 
pmanyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 57
On a separate note, anyone using bias lighting with this set? Would it make a difference since the black levels are already really good?
pmanyon is offline  
post #560 of 1471 Old 08-01-2019, 01:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: California
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmanyon View Post
On a separate note, anyone using bias lighting with this set? Would it make a difference since the black levels are already really good?


I’m using the MediaLight Flex. It increases the viewing pleasure as far as I’m concerned.
I like that the MediaLight Series are compatible with my Logitech Harmony remote.

Another user commented previously to one of my posts and is using a Luminoodle.
pmanyon likes this.

Help available for [ Vizio M65-E0 TV + SB3651-E6 Sound Bar | Harmony Home Control/Companion | Xbox One X | Apple TV 4K | 2018 Mac mini w/ Plex ]
Oxyd722 is offline  
post #561 of 1471 Old 08-01-2019, 05:01 AM
Senior Member
 
pmanyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxyd722 View Post
I’m using the MediaLight Flex. It increases the viewing pleasure as far as I’m concerned.
I like that the MediaLight Series are compatible with my Logitech Harmony remote.

Another user commented previously to one of my posts and is using a Luminoodle.
Thanks, the reviews on medialight look very good. I also have a harmony remote and would want compatibility.
pmanyon is offline  
post #562 of 1471 Old 08-01-2019, 07:46 AM
Member
 
fizban11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by pheno69 View Post
Pheno69, you have actually saved the day and my TV's! This is my first Vizio, moving from Samsung, so I had no idea that the HDMI ports are not all the same. The links you sent got me researching and there was a strong hint that the HDMI ports are different. So, I dug on the Vizio website but could find no tech specs about the actual ports on the new Quantum X series.

I tried HDMI-5 which was hinted for the P-series to be designed for computers. I could do 4K/60Hz, but it would not support rec.2020 (HDR/Dolby Vision color.)

I tried HDMI-4 and it works like a charm! I have full 3840x2160p/59.940Hz, 10-bit 4:2:0, rec.2020 with the "Full UHD color" enabled on HDMI-4 AND NO FLICKER! I just played a good snippet of Sabrina on Netflix to be sure, and no flicker, no hiccup. Just very smooth picture. Now, I can try to calibrate this monstrosity!

SO FOR ALL YOU OUT THERE WITH AN NVIDIA SHIELD, VIZIO PX75-G1/PX65-G1, DON'T USE HDMI-1!

Regards, Pheno69! I hope this info helps you with your flicker, as well. Why in the hell doesn't Vizio put this information out there and readily available??

-------------------------------------------
LVR: Vizio PX75-G1, Marantz AV8802A/MM8077, Emo XPA-7 G3, NVS Pro 2017, Panasonic BDR, XB1, HDFury Vertex to Sony MDR-HW700DS (Import), B&W CM10 S2 L/R, B&W CM Centre 2 S2, B&W (4x) CI 700 Series CCM7.4 (SS/SB), B&W CCM662 (4x ATMOS), B&W DB1 Sub, MBR: Vizio PX65-G1, Marantz SR6011, NVS Pro 2017, B&W (5x) CI CCM816, SVS PB-3000 sub

Last edited by fizban11; 08-01-2019 at 07:55 AM.
fizban11 is offline  
post #563 of 1471 Old 08-01-2019, 07:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizban11 View Post
Pheno69, you have actually saved the day and my TV's! This is my first Vizio, moving from Samsung, so I had no idea that the HDMI ports are not all the same. The links you sent got me researching and there was a strong hint that the HDMI ports are different. So, I dug on the Vizio website but could find no tech specs about the actual ports on the new Quantum X series.


I tried HDMI-5 which was hinted for the P-series to be designed for computers. I could do 4K/60Hz, but it would not support rec.2020 (HDR/Dolby Vision color.)


I tried HDMI-4 and it works like a charm! I have full 3840x2160p/59.940Hz, 10-bit 4:2:0, rec.2020 with the "Full UHD color" enabled on HDMI-4 AND NO FLICKER! I just played a good snippet of Sabrina on Netflix to be sure, and no flicker, no hiccup. Just very smooth picture. Now, I can try to calibrate this monstrosity!


SO FOR ALL YOU OUT THERE WITH AN NVIDIA SHIELD, VIZIO PX75-G1/PX65-G1, DON'T USE HDMI-1!



Regards, Pheno69! I hope this info helps you with your flicker, as well. Why in the hell doesn't Vizio put this information out there and readily available??
Glad I could help out. Mine worked great on HDMI 4 for about 2 weeks and now unfortunately the flicker is back. Im still looking for a permanent solution but unfortunately I thin ok that would have to be a vizio firmware update.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
pheno69 is offline  
post #564 of 1471 Old 08-01-2019, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1655
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizban11 View Post
Pheno69, you have actually saved the day and my TV's! This is my first Vizio, moving from Samsung, so I had no idea that the HDMI ports are not all the same. The links you sent got me researching and there was a strong hint that the HDMI ports are different. So, I dug on the Vizio website but could find no tech specs about the actual ports on the new Quantum X series.

I tried HDMI-5 which was hinted for the P-series to be designed for computers. I could do 4K/60Hz, but it would not support rec.2020 (HDR/Dolby Vision color.)

I tried HDMI-4 and it works like a charm! I have full 3840x2160p/59.940Hz, 10-bit 4:2:0, rec.2020 with the "Full UHD color" enabled on HDMI-4 AND NO FLICKER! I just played a good snippet of Sabrina on Netflix to be sure, and no flicker, no hiccup. Just very smooth picture. Now, I can try to calibrate this monstrosity!

SO FOR ALL YOU OUT THERE WITH AN NVIDIA SHIELD, VIZIO PX75-G1/PX65-G1, DON'T USE HDMI-1!

Regards, Pheno69! I hope this info helps you with your flicker, as well. Why in the hell doesn't Vizio put this information out there and readily available??
Vizio uses HDMI 5 on all Vizio models dating back to 2016 as a low latency port and no HDR support. It appeals to gamers who need lower latency. It is talked about often on the Vizio threads. I'm glad your issue is resolved.
https://www.vizio.com/px65g1.html

Last edited by skschatzman; 08-01-2019 at 12:05 PM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #565 of 1471 Old 08-02-2019, 06:50 AM
Member
 
fizban11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by skschatzman View Post
Vizio uses HDMI 5 on all Vizio models dating back to 2016 as a low latency port and no HDR support. It appeals to gamers who need lower latency. It is talked about often on the Vizio threads. I'm glad your issue is resolved.
https://www.vizio.com/px65g1.html
skschatzman, I followed your link. I’m older, so maybe I’m just not seeing the technical info for each port. All I see is, “Inputs HDMI 5 - (2 side / 3 bottom)”)

-------------------------------------------
LVR: Vizio PX75-G1, Marantz AV8802A/MM8077, Emo XPA-7 G3, NVS Pro 2017, Panasonic BDR, XB1, HDFury Vertex to Sony MDR-HW700DS (Import), B&W CM10 S2 L/R, B&W CM Centre 2 S2, B&W (4x) CI 700 Series CCM7.4 (SS/SB), B&W CCM662 (4x ATMOS), B&W DB1 Sub, MBR: Vizio PX65-G1, Marantz SR6011, NVS Pro 2017, B&W (5x) CI CCM816, SVS PB-3000 sub
fizban11 is offline  
post #566 of 1471 Old 08-03-2019, 06:52 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Anyone get the AirPlay 2 update? I’ve had my 75x for about 2.5 weeks and it’s updated once, but no airplay 2 yet.
Jlats is offline  
post #567 of 1471 Old 08-03-2019, 10:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JKR1963's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 334 Post(s)
Liked: 151
I ordered the 75" inch X from Costco.ca today (price in Can $ is equivalent to the previous US Low Price). I could not resist trying one even though my Quantum P659-G1, that has terrible uniformity, has been awaiting pickup. The 65" did not even stay in living room for 24 hours before I boxed it up. I hope the 75" X is better......if issues, I may try the panel lottery over and over at that price as that is the tv I really want to have.
JKR1963 is online now  
post #568 of 1471 Old 08-04-2019, 09:55 AM
Member
 
cmoses's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I upgraded from 65" to 75". I really liked the 65" and it's picture quality and pop. While the 75" was still on sale at Costco.com I pulled the trigger and ordered it. It arrived this week and I will be returning the 65" to the local store.

When I hooked up the 75" I initially went in to demo mode just to watch and see it on the bigger screen and in my home. It looked amazing. One thing I noticed though is the viewing angle issues we're almost non existent while running the demo. Is this due to it being in Vivid mode and backlight being pumped way up? I setup the TV per ratings.com spec and I could see the viewing angle issues were present again. Although I think the 75" has better viewing angles than the 65" did, maybe due to being bigger?

Any thoughts on the demo mode viewing angles and also the difference between the size?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
cmoses is offline  
post #569 of 1471 Old 08-04-2019, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1655
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmoses View Post
So I upgraded from 65" to 75". I really liked the 65" and it's picture quality and pop. While the 75" was still on sale at Costco.com I pulled the trigger and ordered it. It arrived this week and I will be returning the 65" to the local store.

When I hooked up the 75" I initially went in to demo mode just to watch and see it on the bigger screen and in my home. It looked amazing. One thing I noticed though is the viewing angle issues we're almost non existent while running the demo. Is this due to it being in Vivid mode and backlight being pumped way up? I setup the TV per ratings.com spec and I could see the viewing angle issues were present again. Although I think the 75" has better viewing angles than the 65" did, maybe due to being bigger?

Any thoughts on the demo mode viewing angles and also the difference between the size?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Nobody buys this TV for viewing angles. Almost every review for this TV explains it thoroughly. It is like you didn't look at a single review before buying or posting here. I'm not sure what you are trying to accomplish, but the viewing angles can't be improved as it is inherent with the panel technology.
smarthur likes this.

Last edited by skschatzman; 08-04-2019 at 10:12 AM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #570 of 1471 Old 08-04-2019, 10:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2838 Post(s)
Liked: 1655
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizban11 View Post
skschatzman, I followed your link. I’m older, so maybe I’m just not seeing the technical info for each port. All I see is, “Inputs HDMI 5 - (2 side / 3 bottom)”)
If you go to the support tab, then click on the product guide all technical information is listed.

https://cdn.vizio.com/images/pdp/201..._RG-online.pdf
skschatzman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off