Official Hisense H9F series 55" & 65" Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 12 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 290Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #331 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 01:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
*UFO*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,188
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 800 Post(s)
Liked: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
Don't ever connect your network. I connected mine briefly during a reset and it updated automatically without asking.
When I had this tv, the firmware update did nothing to color. No negative effect on picture quality. I think you may be experiencing the placebo effect after watching a certain propaganda spreading youtuber.
Diehardfan, VisionxOrb and js950 like this.
*UFO* is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #332 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 03:32 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by *UFO* View Post
When I had this tv, the firmware update did nothing to color. No negative effect on picture quality. I think you may be experiencing the placebo effect after watching a certain propaganda spreading youtuber.
I think the saying goes a picture is worth a 1000 words? So either I'm experiencing a placeboo effect or the thing was broken to begin with? Either way, HDR on my set is awful. Any insight you may have to help me rectify the situation is appreciated as I'd love for this TV to be perfect.

I must apologize - the only source I have for HDR is my firestick and upon further viewing it seems HDR is fine on Amazon Prime Video and Netflix via the firestick but godawful on the firestick youtube app. So it seems the issue is with the firestick and or the firestick youtube app.

On a related note, I am not able to get the TV's native youtube app to play in HDR so cannot test that.

Pictures uploaded.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7084.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	975.6 KB
ID:	2610550   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7085.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	892.6 KB
ID:	2610552  
gondey99 likes this.

Last edited by hawaiiguy; 09-06-2019 at 03:46 PM. Reason: Incorrect Information
hawaiiguy is offline  
post #333 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,834
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1440 Post(s)
Liked: 589
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
I think the saying goes a picture is worth a 1000 words? So either I'm experiencing a placeboo effect or the thing was broken to begin with? Either way, HDR on my set is awful. Any insight you may have to help me rectify the situation is appreciated as I'd love for this TV to be perfect.



Pictures uploaded.


I don't understand those picture modes. Is that fake Dolby vision? Like fake HDR mode many TV's have?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #334 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 08:12 AM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
I think the saying goes a picture is worth a 1000 words? So either I'm experiencing a placeboo effect or the thing was broken to begin with? Either way, HDR on my set is awful. Any insight you may have to help me rectify the situation is appreciated as I'd love for this TV to be perfect.

Pictures uploaded.
This might sound like a dumb question, but how do you access the Dolby Vision picture mode?
jrossh21 is offline  
post #335 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 09:34 AM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
I think the saying goes a picture is worth a 1000 words? So either I'm experiencing a placeboo effect or the thing was broken to begin with? Either way, HDR on my set is awful. Any insight you may have to help me rectify the situation is appreciated as I'd love for this TV to be perfect.

Pictures uploaded.
Not usually recommended to force Firestick to push out a Dolby Vision stream with non-Dolby Vision content. Can you go into calibration settings and push the reds in the regular HDR mode? I actually have the opposite issue with oversaturation of reds and flesh tones (before and after the firmware updates), especially with the recommended warm color balance set in the HDR and Vision modes. I was able to correct in calibration -- however, some of the older HDR titles (2016ish) on Netflix and Prime are hopeless, but I'm assuming that's a source issue with post-production people still new to the technology.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #336 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 11:03 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyondpluto View Post
Not usually recommended to force Firestick to push out a Dolby Vision stream with non-Dolby Vision content. Can you go into calibration settings and push the reds in the regular HDR mode? I actually have the opposite issue with oversaturation of reds and flesh tones (before and after the firmware updates), especially with the recommended warm color balance set in the HDR and Vision modes. I was able to correct in calibration -- however, some of the older HDR titles (2016ish) on Netflix and Prime are hopeless, but I'm assuming that's a source issue with post-production people still new to the technology.
I'd like to fix it the proper way in calibration but haven't researched yet how to get that done. Did you do yours in the 2 point or 20 point mode? (White Balance)
hawaiiguy is offline  
post #337 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 11:05 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrossh21 View Post
This might sound like a dumb question, but how do you access the Dolby Vision picture mode?
It's only accessible when the TV sense's a Dolby Vision signal and it's automatically selected. The way I'm accessing it is via my firestick, by selecting "Always HDR"
hawaiiguy is offline  
post #338 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 03:21 PM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
I'd like to fix it the proper way in calibration but haven't researched yet how to get that done. Did you do yours in the 2 point or 20 point mode? (White Balance)
Yeah, set the Firestick back to adaptive dynamic range so you're getting the right setting over to the tv to match the content. I used two point and as well as color tuner. If it's just reds, you can play around with increasing the red saturation/brightness. Or you can increase the red gain and/or offset in white balance - or some combination of saturation and white balance adjustments.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #339 of 848 Old 09-03-2019, 11:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Decided to buy another 1 of these and see if the DSE is gone or atleast better on new set.

Still lovely picture but sheesh all white scenes or pictures are so bad.Some DSE is expected and darker corners but not like this.I could deal with it but why lol.We shall see with next set in a day
leafybean likes this.
wallyesquire is offline  
post #340 of 848 Old 09-04-2019, 12:39 PM
Member
 
B Feelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyesquire View Post
Decided to buy another 1 of these and see if the DSE is gone or atleast better on new set.

Still lovely picture but sheesh all white scenes or pictures are so bad.Some DSE is expected and darker corners but not like this.I could deal with it but why lol.We shall see with next set in a day
Please do keep us updated on your replacement set as I am tempted to try exchanging my current set for another one as well for the same issue.
leafybean likes this.
B Feelgood is offline  
post #341 of 848 Old 09-04-2019, 08:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
Please do keep us updated on your replacement set as I am tempted to try exchanging my current set for another one as well for the same issue.
I will as soon as I get it up and running.Very anxious about it.If it's the same or worst I will probably keep the 1st set.However the edges are really bad.

its just how crazy the colors and picture is outside of this.Literally the only issue I have with it.Besides android os but that is ass and laggy on all sets imo
wallyesquire is offline  
post #342 of 848 Old 09-04-2019, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
These recent and growing number of complaints regarding DSE and panel inconsistencies is making me think I should just stick with my original choice, the 900F.
leafybean is online now  
post #343 of 848 Old 09-04-2019, 10:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by leafybean View Post
These recent and growing number of complaints regarding DSE and panel inconsistencies is making me think I should just stick with my original choice, the 900F.

Its a great Tv,it really is buddy.These tvs have to cut corner and it shows up in some way.I still haven't even touch settings on the H9F which says something

No lie,I have probably change or altered settings on my 900f over 1000 times.I have it dialed in now but It took a ton of patience.Nothing beating Sony in the Natural look.It is gorgeous at times at displaying reality and realistic scenes and settings even if its just espn
wallyesquire is offline  
post #344 of 848 Old 09-05-2019, 06:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by leafybean View Post
These recent and growing number of complaints regarding DSE and panel inconsistencies is making me think I should just stick with my original choice, the 900F.
It certainly has me waiting until the new TCL 65R625 is released...
troopa138 is offline  
post #345 of 848 Old 09-05-2019, 09:51 AM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by leafybean View Post
These recent and growing number of complaints regarding DSE and panel inconsistencies is making me think I should just stick with my original choice, the 900F.
Keep in mind the people with problems are much more likely to post than people who don't. The only issue with my 65" H9F is the usual vignetting that I don't notice during normal viewing. No DSE beyond that on my set. Android OS is laggy from my playing around with it, but I use a Firestick 4K anyway.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #346 of 848 Old 09-05-2019, 11:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Welp Tv number 2 is worse lol.

Much more dirtier.Might keep 1st or go with Vizio M series.Have to see some things today
leafybean likes this.

Last edited by wallyesquire; 09-05-2019 at 11:23 AM.
wallyesquire is offline  
post #347 of 848 Old 09-05-2019, 07:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyondpluto View Post
Keep in mind the people with problems are much more likely to post than people who don't. The only issue with my 65" H9F is the usual vignetting that I don't notice during normal viewing. No DSE beyond that on my set. Android OS is laggy from my playing around with it, but I use a Firestick 4K anyway.


Sure, I understand that.

However, considering how few outlets there are to get the H9F (compared to the bigger brands), it’s a bit unnerving to continuously read about panel uniformity/quality related issues.
wallyesquire likes this.
leafybean is online now  
post #348 of 848 Old 09-05-2019, 08:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Returning the new H9F that I received today.I ordered from bestbuy so they do return pickups from the house when its an online order.

I have no idea what I will do with the first set.Going to view a couple tvs tomorrow.
wallyesquire is offline  
post #349 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Have any of you had issues with game mode?


There's a noticeable difference in quality between Game mode and Standard mode! when in game mode everything looks dull/washed out, is this normal?


I've tried to play around with the settings but, does not seem to improve things


any ideas?
TVnoob1 is offline  
post #350 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 12:34 PM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVnoob1 View Post
Have any of you had issues with game mode?


There's a noticeable difference in quality between Game mode and Standard mode! when in game mode everything looks dull/washed out, is this normal?


I've tried to play around with the settings but, does not seem to improve things


any ideas?
It does the same thing on my TV, so I assume that's by design. I think the only advantage to using Game Mode is for the ms drop. Have you tried playing in Standard Mode and seen a noticeable difference in monitor lag? If not, I'd say just use Standard Mode from now on.
jrossh21 is offline  
post #351 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 12:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyesquire View Post
Returning the new H9F that I received today.I ordered from bestbuy so they do return pickups from the house when its an online order.

I have no idea what I will do with the first set.Going to view a couple tvs tomorrow.

Well, that answers my questions. I just can't commit to the H9F due to the DSE. It would drive me nuts. A Damn shame really! *waits impatiently for new TCL 6 series*
TwayneP is offline  
post #352 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
I think the saying goes a picture is worth a 1000 words? So either I'm experiencing a placeboo effect or the thing was broken to begin with? Either way, HDR on my set is awful. Any insight you may have to help me rectify the situation is appreciated as I'd love for this TV to be perfect.

Pictures uploaded.
Looks like the HDR mode is faulty.
qoopy is online now  
post #353 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 01:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwayneP View Post
Well, that answers my questions. I just can't commit to the H9F due to the DSE. It would drive me nuts. A Damn shame really! *waits impatiently for new TCL 6 series*
Yea might check it out but always hear of banding issues galore with TCL.I might be down to try we owe nothing to any of these brands
wallyesquire is offline  
post #354 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrossh21 View Post
It does the same thing on my TV, so I assume that's by design. I think the only advantage to using Game Mode is for the ms drop. Have you tried playing in Standard Mode and seen a noticeable difference in monitor lag? If not, I'd say just use Standard Mode from now on.
yup, I've tried standard mode, and there's definitely too much lag for a first person shooter.


it's weird cause it almost feels as though the tv drops the resolution down to 720p in game mode



I will try playing with my PS4 setting tonight to see if there's a difference


are you using PS4?
TVnoob1 is offline  
post #355 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 03:14 PM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by TVnoob1 View Post
yup, I've tried standard mode, and there's definitely too much lag for a first person shooter.


it's weird cause it almost feels as though the tv drops the resolution down to 720p in game mode



I will try playing with my PS4 setting tonight to see if there's a difference


are you using PS4?
No, I don't have any console plugged in. But I've tried all the display modes and noticed how washed out some of the modes were - including Game Mode. And I know about the ms drop in Game Mode because I read about it on another page online. I hope there's a solution to your problem! I'm still dealing with Netflix not sending 5.1 surround sound to my receiver.
jrossh21 is offline  
post #356 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by wallyesquire View Post
Welp Tv number 2 is worse lol.

Much more dirtier.Might keep 1st or go with Vizio M series.Have to see some things today
I had 2 M series TV's and both had awful jailbar problems - the best buy manager also told me later all the new M and even P series Vizio's have the issue. They had to go through 4 TV's as their display model to get one with minimal jailbar.
hawaiiguy is offline  
post #357 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoopy View Post
Looks like the HDR mode is faulty.
I've edited my posts to reflect the fact that it looks like the issue is with my firestick rather than the TV. My apologies.
theboomr and leafybean like this.
hawaiiguy is offline  
post #358 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 201 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Good to know you have isolated the issue.
theboomr likes this.
qoopy is online now  
post #359 of 848 Old 09-06-2019, 09:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by hawaiiguy View Post
I had 2 M series TV's and both had awful jailbar problems - the best buy manager also told me later all the new M and even P series Vizio's have the issue. They had to go through 4 TV's as their display model to get one with minimal jailbar.
TCL for the win maybe lol.I have until october 11th lol
wallyesquire is offline  
post #360 of 848 Old 09-07-2019, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 9
I put together a little overview/review of the Hisense Q9/H9F if anyone is interested in watching.

Video link: https://youtu.be/dwKZZNlqNBg
Diehardfan and Frostyboy115 like this.
Qwazyd0gg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
5.1 , h9f bootloop , hisense h9f , Netflix , plex

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off