Official Hisense H9F series 55" & 65" Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 216Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Joydivision84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by rapidturtle View Post
I'm not sure, as I am no video file, but I swear that I recall reading an article in my search for T.V's that no T.V.'s are capable of 12 bit color. I'm not sure about 10 bit.
Yeah you're exactly right. No TV on the market right now shows anything in 12 bit. 10 bit though is inherently HDR bandwidth, so the hisense should absolutely support that for HDR content.

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk
theboomr likes this.
Joydivision84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 02:20 PM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joydivision84 View Post
Yeah you're exactly right. No TV on the market right now shows anything in 12 bit. 10 bit though is inherently HDR bandwidth, so the hisense should absolutely support that for HDR content.

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk
I know 12 bit isn't supported. But FireStick 4K is looking better set to 8 bit than putting it to 10. Weirdly, the TV source info shows 12 bit for all non-Dolby Video (which shows up as an 8-bit RGB wrapper) whether the Firestick is set to 8 or 10. But the picture quality actually looks better when it's set to 8... even if it firestick is outputting it at 12 bit anyway. I think there's something wrong with the handoff from Firestick to the TV when set above 8 in the settings. When set to 10 or 12, a lot of HDR content is giving me out of control pinks/reds on skin tones and a lot of grain in low-light scenes.
tomanystraydogs and theboomr like this.

Last edited by beyondpluto; 09-19-2019 at 02:24 PM.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #423 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Joydivision84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyondpluto View Post
I know 12 bit isn't supported. But FireStick 4K is looking better set to 8 bit than putting it to 10. Weirdly, the TV source info shows 12 bit for all non-Dolby Video (which shows up as an 8-bit RGB wrapper) whether the Firestick is set to 8 or 10. But the picture quality actually looks better when it's set to 8... even if it firestick is outputting it at 12 bit anyway. I think there's something wrong with the handoff from Firestick to the TV when set above 8 in the settings. When set to 10 or 12, a lot of HDR content is giving me out of control pinks/reds on skin tones and a lot of grain in low-light scenes.
Yeah I absolutely believe you man. It's weird. It could be a similar thing to the xbox one x, where you can set the color space to 8,10, or 12 on the dashboard, but it's absolutely recommended to choose 8 no matter your TV. As the console will automatically recognize HDR content anyway and instantly use/change to 10 bit, while all other content in sdr will stay native and look 'better' than being forced to project in 10 bit. That's what I've heard anyway!

Sent from my Pixel 3a XL using Tapatalk
theboomr likes this.
Joydivision84 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #424 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 08:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New firmware for the 55 inch old is J0430, new one is J0615.
elzeus is online now  
post #425 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 08:54 PM
Member
 
Diehardfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hanover Park, Illinois
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by elzeus View Post
New firmware for the 55 inch old is J0430, new one is J0615.
I have the 55" and the latest firmware is J0730....it came with Amazon's Prime Video in it.
tomanystraydogs and theboomr like this.
Diehardfan is offline  
post #426 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 09:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diehardfan View Post
I have the 55" and the latest firmware is J0730....it came with Amazon's Prime Video in it.
lol wth do they stagger updates then?
elzeus is online now  
post #427 of 559 Old 09-19-2019, 11:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 347 Post(s)
Liked: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by elzeus View Post
lol wth do they stagger updates then?
I think most TV manufacturers do, yes.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
theboomr is online now  
post #428 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 06:17 AM
Member
 
Smiller4128's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Does anyone else have a problem with the level of noise that these TVs exhibit? I went from a 55” Sony X900E to this Hisense 65” H9F and I think it blows everything else on the market out of the water except that I notice a lot of noise. But it’s weird because only certain things I watch on Netflix show it. Most of the time, I don’t see any noise. My movies, video games, etc show no noise. I watch everything through my Apple 4K TV. Anyone else experience a big amount of noise in tv shows?
Smiller4128 is online now  
post #429 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 07:13 AM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiller4128 View Post
Does anyone else have a problem with the level of noise that these TVs exhibit? I went from a 55” Sony X900E to this Hisense 65” H9F and I think it blows everything else on the market out of the water except that I notice a lot of noise. But it’s weird because only certain things I watch on Netflix show it. Most of the time, I don’t see any noise. My movies, video games, etc show no noise. I watch everything through my Apple 4K TV. Anyone else experience a big amount of noise in tv shows?
I haven't noticed any. Have you messed with the noise settings to try to get a different result? Do you have the "4K" Netflix account ($15.99 I think)?
jrossh21 is offline  
post #430 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 09:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diehardfan View Post
I have the 55" and the latest firmware is J0730....it came with Amazon's Prime Video in it.
Wonder if updates are region based.

I'm in Cali and still on 615.

You're in Illinois and have the latest, 730.

Any idea of the changes 730 brings besides Prime? I have searched Hisense high and low and can find no changelog.
tomanystraydogs is online now  
post #431 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 09:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiller4128 View Post
Does anyone else have a problem with the level of noise that these TVs exhibit?
I notice it, varies by content. Noisy HD upscaled to 4K means lots of noise.

I ditched Netflix a few months ago, only have Prime and Vudu now.

Early seasons of Stargate SG1 look awful but later seasons look really good.

Looking at the tech specs on IMDB early seasons were shot with Super 16, later seasons HDCAM.

I have Die Hard in 4K on Vudu. Lots of film noise or is it called grain, I'm not sure.

Are any consumer products able to reduce noise without softening the image?

Last edited by tomanystraydogs; 09-20-2019 at 09:47 AM.
tomanystraydogs is online now  
post #432 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 11:11 AM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrossh21 View Post
Just curious, is it just me, or is anyone else NOT getting the 5.1 logo on shows in the native Netflix app? I'm connected to my AVR via HDMI1 (ARC) and I've tried sending PCM, DD, and DD+. The native Netflix app will NOT display the 5.1 logo on any show.
Anyone??? If so, please list your TV settings and how you are connecting to your AVR.
jrossh21 is offline  
post #433 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 11:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
BAMAVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I just got the 55” and when using Comcast 4K box and turn game mode on in the TV everything turns green...any ideas why and how to fix? No other mode does this and game mode works right with games. Thanks
BAMAVADER is offline  
post #434 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
Craigslue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I think I would check and try changing the color space setting on the TV?
Craigslue is offline  
post #435 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 01:13 PM
Member
 
Diehardfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Hanover Park, Illinois
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomanystraydogs View Post
Wonder if updates are region based.

I'm in Cali and still on 615.

You're in Illinois and have the latest, 730.

Any idea of the changes 730 brings besides Prime? I have searched Hisense high and low and can find no changelog.
Hard to say.....it DL'd the update during my original setup. Never got a chance to see what I had before the update. I'm assuming Prime Video was part of it as everyone was complaining that the panel didn't come with it.
tomanystraydogs likes this.
Diehardfan is offline  
post #436 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
BAMAVADER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mars
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craigslue View Post
I think I would check and try changing the color space setting on the TV?
Game mode works with every source except 4K cable and it turns everything green...works normal when cable is changed to 1080p resolution.
BAMAVADER is offline  
post #437 of 559 Old 09-20-2019, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
tomanystraydogs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 990
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Help / Signal Info

I notice that when I turn auto-adjust display refresh rate / frame rate matching on with either the Roku Premiere or Fire Stick 4K the H9F shows it as 24Hz, no matter what the content is.
tomanystraydogs is online now  
post #438 of 559 Old 09-21-2019, 05:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
So I got this 55” version this week. I already that the H8E plus 65” from last year. The setups are the same. However the H9F is noticeable quicker through the menus etc.

My question is about the firmware that is available. My unit downloaded an update right away. However I didn’t get Prime Video so I’m thinking that I didn’t get the latest. Is there is way to force the update


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
david.farnham.5 is offline  
post #439 of 559 Old 09-21-2019, 09:45 AM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomanystraydogs View Post
Help / Signal Info

I notice that when I turn auto-adjust display refresh rate / frame rate matching on with either the Roku Premiere or Fire Stick 4K the H9F shows it as 24Hz, no matter what the content is.
Mine runs the full range from 24 to 60 on those settings with Firestick 4k.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #440 of 559 Old 09-21-2019, 05:58 PM
Member
 
theagent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just picked up the 55" of this TV. The yellowing is really bad. Colors look fine, but the yellowing is totally unacceptable. The reason I went with the H9F was because rtings rated it 9.9 for flicker-free. Do you guys know of any alternatives? I get headaches and eye strain from LCD tv's, but I need something for gaming aside from my projector which I use for movies/tv.
theagent is offline  
post #441 of 559 Old 09-22-2019, 04:04 PM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Just curious, is it just me, or is anyone else NOT getting the 5.1 logo on shows in the native Netflix app? I'm connected to my AVR via HDMI1 (ARC) and I've tried sending PCM, DD, and DD+. The native Netflix app will NOT display the 5.1 logo on any show.
Anyone??? If so, please list your TV settings and how you are connecting to your AVR.
jrossh21 is offline  
post #442 of 559 Old 09-22-2019, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
Dimon.Zorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 248 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by theagent View Post
The reason I went with the H9F was because rtings rated it 9.9 for flicker-free. Do you guys know of any alternatives?
Sony TVs and LG OLEd
Dimon.Zorg is online now  
post #443 of 559 Old 09-22-2019, 10:03 PM
Member
 
jrob23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrossh21 View Post
Anyone??? If so, please list your TV settings and how you are connecting to your AVR.
I find that shows, especially Netflix Marvel shows and "originals" tend to have that intentional film grain which when viewed in 4K is very distracting. I hate it with a passion. I've only seen it on Netflix or 4k blu ray movies for older movies.
jrob23 is offline  
post #444 of 559 Old 09-22-2019, 10:16 PM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrob23 View Post
I find that shows, especially Netflix Marvel shows and "originals" tend to have that intentional film grain which when viewed in 4K is very distracting. I hate it with a passion. I've only seen it on Netflix or 4k blu ray movies for older movies.
Did you mean to quote a different post? I'm trying to figure out the 5.1 surround sound issue in the native Netflix app.
jrossh21 is offline  
post #445 of 559 Old 09-23-2019, 07:48 AM
Member
 
theagent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimon.Zorg View Post
Sony TVs and LG OLEd

Yeah, unfortunately they're double the price of this one. I was considering the Sony X850G, but blacks are pretty terrible.
The H9F would have been great if not for the yellow edges. The software's buggy as hell too, but I could always just get a 4k firestick or something, so that wasn't a deal breaker.
Another problem is that it's far too bright for me. Lowering the brightness to 0 just crushes the colors.
theagent is offline  
post #446 of 559 Old 09-23-2019, 09:06 AM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by theagent View Post
Yeah, unfortunately they're double the price of this one. I was considering the Sony X850G, but blacks are pretty terrible.
The H9F would have been great if not for the yellow edges. The software's buggy as hell too, but I could always just get a 4k firestick or something, so that wasn't a deal breaker.
Another problem is that it's far too bright for me. Lowering the brightness to 0 just crushes the colors.
Why don't you just reduce the backlight? That's usually the first place to go to reduce brightness... not the brightness control. And yes, the built-in Android is laggy. But I've never seen a TV that I don't want to replace the built-in OS with an Apple TV or Firestick as the first step after buying. I also think the vignetting around the edges fades away when you stop looking for it.

Last edited by beyondpluto; 09-23-2019 at 09:10 AM.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #447 of 559 Old 09-23-2019, 09:15 AM
Member
 
theagent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyondpluto View Post
Why don't you just reduce the backlight? That's usually the first place to go to reduce brightness... not the brightness control. And yes, the built-in Android is laggy. But I've never seen a TV that I don't want to replace the built-in OS with an Apple TV or Firestick as the first step after buying. I also think the vignetting around the edges fades away when you stop looking for it.



I didn't realize I could reduce the back light. How would I do that? I'm going to test it out for a few more days, but really I shouldn't have to live with the yellow edges. I haven't had any other TV or monitor that has that kind of a flaw. That's something they should have worked out, and it's sad that this is where we are, that it's okay for a $600 TV to have such discolored edges, and we're to just be okay with that.
theagent is offline  
post #448 of 559 Old 09-23-2019, 04:31 PM
Member
 
beyondpluto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by theagent View Post
I didn't realize I could reduce the back light. How would I do that? I'm going to test it out for a few more days, but really I shouldn't have to live with the yellow edges. I haven't had any other TV or monitor that has that kind of a flaw. That's something they should have worked out, and it's sad that this is where we are, that it's okay for a $600 TV to have such discolored edges, and we're to just be okay with that.
There's the word BackLight at the top of your Picture settings menu. Click on that and you'll be taken into the backlight menu where you'll see a greyed out Backlight Level bar. You need to turn off Local Dimming from the backlight memu, which will then let you change the backlight level. Once you do that, you can go back to Local Dimming and re-enable it.

Why you have to temporarily disable local dimming to adjust backlight level is a bit of a Hisense mystery.

Regarding that brightness control you were adjusting earlier, you're going to want to keep that close to 50% and optimize the backlight level to work best with a 50% brightness level. Brightness level on just about all TVs just crushes blacks when you go lower and turns blacks grey when you go higher,
theagent and theboomr like this.

Last edited by beyondpluto; 09-23-2019 at 04:37 PM.
beyondpluto is offline  
post #449 of 559 Old 09-23-2019, 09:40 PM
Member
 
theagent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by beyondpluto View Post
There's the word BackLight at the top of your Picture settings menu. Click on that and you'll be taken into the backlight menu where you'll see a greyed out Backlight Level bar. You need to turn off Local Dimming from the backlight memu, which will then let you change the backlight level. Once you do that, you can go back to Local Dimming and re-enable it.

Why you have to temporarily disable local dimming to adjust backlight level is a bit of a Hisense mystery.

Regarding that brightness control you were adjusting earlier, you're going to want to keep that close to 50% and optimize the backlight level to work best with a 50% brightness level. Brightness level on just about all TVs just crushes blacks when you go lower and turns blacks grey when you go higher,

Thanks, that helped. And yeah, I noticed that about the brightness setting. I ended up setting the backlight to 5, and then turning the local dimming back on. That seemed to be a good compromise for me. Now I need to figure out how to reduce the saturation. I played around with contrast and brightness, but my results weren't great.
theagent is offline  
post #450 of 559 Old 09-24-2019, 09:19 AM
Member
 
jrossh21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Just curious, is it just me, or is anyone else NOT getting the 5.1 logo on shows in the native Netflix app? I'm connected to my AVR via HDMI1 (ARC) and I've tried sending PCM, DD, and DD+. The native Netflix app will NOT display the 5.1 logo on any show.
Anyone??? If so, please list your TV settings and how you are connecting to your AVR.
jrossh21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
5.1 , hisense h9f , Netflix , plex

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off