2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 13 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 516Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizzer View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post
For those waiting for the calibration app. Go to the Play Store and use IPQ as the search term.
I went to download it but decided against it because it says;

"This app is in development" and also "Must be used with a Google Pixel phone to ensure accurate measurements"

It also says it is only compatible with 8 series and 6 series both 2018 and 2019.

lastly, it says using other than the Pixel phone "results of the TV calibration will likely be inaccurate".
Can you tell me where the app is in play store? I typed in IPQ and nothing shows up relating to TCL calaberation. Thanks
Scottt1174 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Can you tell me where the app is in play store? I typed in IPQ and nothing shows up relating to TCL calaberation. Thanks
I found it just using IPQ. However the private channel that comes along with it says use TCL iPQ Engine
rockaway1836 is offline  
post #363 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizzer View Post
I went to download it but decided against it because it says;

"This app is in development" and also "Must be used with a Google Pixel phone to ensure accurate measurements"

It also says it is only compatible with 8 series and 6 series both 2018 and 2019.

lastly, it says using other than the Pixel phone "results of the TV calibration will likely be inaccurate".
When I downloaded the app on to my Motto Z3 it did say something about it being an early version of the app. I did not see all that you saw. Before you begin the phone scans for TVs to pair with. Mine found my P series, and a 6 series which has to be the one out on my porch. Because the serial number does not match my 75. It also shows something it's calling a Hardcore device also with a long serial number that does not match my 75.

As for the private channel; It displays a screen that says " The iPQ Engine Calibration Channel pairs with iPQ Calibration app that runs on Google Pixel phones and select Apple iPhones to deliver a simple way to improve the color accuracy of select TCL Roku TVs. Before starting this channel using you Pixel or iPhone, go to the Google Play Store or Apple App Store to get the free companion mobile app- just search for the TCL iPQ Engine "

I'm pretty sure that my son has a pixel phone, So when he comes over maybe we will test it again. Because there is no way in hell that I am buying a new phone just to play around with a television.
It looks like they took the app down in play store cause I can't find it.
Scottt1174 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #364 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave in Green's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 8,511
Mentioned: 153 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3880 Post(s)
Liked: 3063
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteroMAdMAn View Post
... Not a fan of the legs, but what can you do? ...
Many different VESA tabletop mount options:



puckfreak and theboomr like this.
Dave in Green is offline  
post #365 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Can you tell me where the app is in play store? I typed in IPQ and nothing shows up relating to TCL calaberation. Thanks
I found it just using IPQ. However the private channel that comes along with it says use TCL iPQ Engine
Weird...wonder why I can't find it.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #366 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rockaway1836's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Myrtle Beach SC
Posts: 1,020
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 280 Post(s)
Liked: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Weird...wonder why I can't find it.
Maybe it has something to do with what type of phone you have ?
rockaway1836 is offline  
post #367 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SteroMAdMAn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MN
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave in Green View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteroMAdMAn View Post
... Not a fan of the legs, but what can you do? ...
Many different VESA tabletop mount options:



Oooh, not bad. Ty.

It is better to ask for forgiveness, than it is to ask for permissision - the WAF factor
SteroMAdMAn is offline  
post #368 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockaway1836 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Weird...wonder why I can't find it.
Maybe it has something to do with what type of phone you have ?
Thanks...maybe!

I have a Samsung Galaxy A10E yes I know it's not a high end phone but I should still be able to see the App in Google Play store. I even checked in the Beta Development Apps on the store and it's not there. Very odd. When I use to have the Sansumg Galexy S7 edge. I had problems with that phone to. I knew I should have gotten an iPhone lol.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #369 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
Rtings has posted their initial test results for the 6 series but you need the "Insider Access" to see them. Does anyone have this membership that can see the results? The full results and article will be posted tomorrow.


Where did you read that they would be posted tomorrow?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #370 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteroMAdMAn View Post
That is what I see in the top left of mine, but couldn't get a photo of. A single spot that covers 2 maybe 3 pixels. I also have 1 in the top right, but I'm fairly certain that one is a dead pixel.

My set as mentioned above is from BB. But otherwise fairly clean and the 2 spots aren't visible from 6 feet away.

Yeah it was rather difficult to get a picture. I have 39 spots in total all over the panel, most of them are not single pixels but rather a "splash" of them.
Trueweltall is offline  
post #371 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:14 AM
Newbie
 
SUPERS0NICBOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I ended up having to get a replacement because of some dead/stuck pixels and my replacement has a purple hue coming from the right hand side of the TV. Any idea what could be causing this?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
SUPERS0NICBOOM is offline  
post #372 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
Rtings has posted their initial test results for the 6 series but you need the "Insider Access" to see them. Does anyone have this membership that can see the results? The full results and article will be posted tomorrow.


Where did you read that they would be posted tomorrow?
Rtings said the review was supposed to drop on the 14th yesterday and it never did. It was Columbus day at least in US and they are in Canada so not sure if they decided to not post yesterday. So will see if they post today. They usually post a review by 3pm EST.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #373 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Rtings said the review was supposed to drop on the 14th yesterday and it never did. It was Columbus day at least in US and they are in Canada so not sure if they decided to not post yesterday. So will see if they post today. They usually post a review by 3pm EST.


Cool thanks. The only place I know to look is Twitter and all I saw was "early next week".

I have been refreshing the site though. Looking forward to they're thoughts and settings.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #374 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Rtings said the review was supposed to drop on the 14th yesterday and it never did. It was Columbus day at least in US and they are in Canada so not sure if they decided to not post yesterday. So will see if they post today. They usually post a review by 3pm EST.


Cool thanks. The only place I know to look is Twitter and all I saw was "early next week".

I have been refreshing the site though. Looking forward to they're thoughts and settings.

Haha...I hear ya. I think Rtings is doing this so new people go-to there site. I think they know people are waiting for the review and they are hyping it up as much as possible. I have heard from people with early access that the review is slightly better then the R617 2018 version which is what I have so I am debating to buy the 2019 version or maybe I will pick up the Hisense H9F not sure yet.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #375 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUPERS0NICBOOM View Post
So I ended up having to get a replacement because of some dead/stuck pixels and my replacement has a purple hue coming from the right hand side of the TV. Any idea what could be causing this?

LEDs without the phosphor coating have a blue/purple tint to them. I have a VIZIO where the coating came off of the LEDs and made the screen look blue/purple.
SUPERS0NICBOOM likes this.
Trueweltall is offline  
post #376 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:32 AM
Newbie
 
SUPERS0NICBOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trueweltall View Post
LEDs without the phosphor coating have a blue/purple tint to them. I have a VIZIO where the coating came off of the LEDs and made the screen look blue/purple.
Well, I guess I should set up a return. This is my 3rd R625. I have the absolute worst luck

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
SUPERS0NICBOOM is offline  
post #377 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Houston
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trueweltall View Post
So I just received my 65R625 from Electronic Express and the screen has junk -ALL- over it. The box was in perfect condition so I can only assume it came out of the factory like this. I just made an account to share my experience and see if anyone else has had the same problem?


The picture below was taken with my cell phone while viewing text pictures from rtings. Everything circled in yellow seems to be patches of dead pixels, this is just the upper right corner of the screen but in reality it is all over the screen and really noticeable viewing anything with a light background.



I have the same but one major spot on the right bottom corner. I am returning it to amazon and just ordered a new one from BB.
The problem with such spot is, it s not a "major issue" but since you know it's here, you can only see that!

Sony VPL-HW40ES / Silver Ticket 110"
Pioneer SC-97
Klipsch RP-450C / 2x RP-280F / 2x R-5650-S II / 2x F-30 / 2x CDT5800 II
Sub: Outlaw Ultra-X12
HTPC Windows 7 and Kodi (with custom Phenomenal skin) / Home Server for Media
My personal take on Acoustic Panels and Posters
xylem is online now  
post #378 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Glad I am not the only one who has a bunch of dead pixels all over the screen. Now I can show my wife this and tell her I am not crazy since she doesn't notice it.
Trueweltall is offline  
post #379 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 10:53 AM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Saw this review for the new 8 series. He mentions that sharpness at 20 is actually 0 and going below 20 will soften the image. I had turned my R625 to 0 assuming the opposite. Think it's true for the 6 series as well?

Jesse Coane is online now  
post #380 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trueweltall View Post
Glad I am not the only one who has a bunch of dead pixels all over the screen. Now I can show my wife this and tell her I am not crazy since she doesn't notice it.
I ran through some slides of all the primary colors and black and white from my main seating position and didn't see anything. I am not going to sit up against the screen to find any little flaw because I know once I see it I can't unsee it.
puckfreak, rockaway1836 and Kizzer like this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #381 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 11:16 AM
Member
 
B Feelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
Rtings has posted their initial test results for the 6 series but you need the "Insider Access" to see them. Does anyone have this membership that can see the results? The full results and article will be posted tomorrow.


Where did you read that they would be posted tomorrow?
I messaged them via FB yesterday and that's the response that I got 👍
B Feelgood is offline  
post #382 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
I messaged them via FB yesterday and that's the response that I got 👍
Great thanks for sharing.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #383 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 11:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
Saw this review for the new 8 series. He mentions that sharpness at 20 is actually 0 and going below 20 will soften the image. I had turned my R625 to 0 assuming the opposite. Think it's true for the 6 series as well?

Yes below 20 does soften the image on the TCL cause why would they have defualt settings at 20. I keep it at 20 but on HDR and DV I turn the sharpness to 0. We shouldn't have to do this though it's BS. Also once my settings are setup I shouldn't have to go in and change my TV brightness. TV brightness doesn't save with your settings.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #384 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 11:41 AM
Member
 
Jesse Coane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Yes below 20 does soften the image on the TCL cause why would they have defualt settings at 20. I keep it at 20 but on HDR and DV I turn the sharpness to 0. We shouldn't have to do this though it's BS. Also once my settings are setup I shouldn't have to go in and change my TV brightness. TV brightness doesn't save with your settings.
If below 20 is softening the image, why do you set it to 0 for HDR?
theboomr likes this.
Jesse Coane is online now  
post #385 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Got the morning off a decided to watch John Wick 3. Picture looks amazing, really enjoy the lighting in this movie along with the deep blacks of the TV.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #386 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Yes below 20 does soften the image on the TCL cause why would they have defualt settings at 20. I keep it at 20 but on HDR and DV I turn the sharpness to 0. We shouldn't have to do this though it's BS. Also once my settings are setup I shouldn't have to go in and change my TV brightness. TV brightness doesn't save with your settings.
If below 20 is softening the image, why do you set it to 0 for HDR?
I don't know I just do. Maybe I should keep it at 20 I guess. Lol
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #387 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 12:11 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by B Feelgood View Post
Rtings has posted their initial test results for the 6 series but you need the "Insider Access" to see them. Does anyone have this membership that can see the results? The full results and article will be posted tomorrow.


Where did you read that they would be posted tomorrow?
I messaged them via FB yesterday and that's the response that I got 👍

You are right. Rtings just tweeted me back. Tomorrow it is.
theboomr likes this.
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #388 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 12:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I got the audio dropping out fixed by using the optical cable. I must have not had it set up right before. I still have volume control using ARC thankfully. Other than that, I'm pretty happy with this TV and think I ended up getting a pretty good panel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjoel View Post
Hi all. Long time lurker and finally have a question I can't figure out so I decided to finally register and post. I've been looking at the TCL 6 series since last year and kept waiting for prices to come down. After I saw that the 2019 had QLED and for basically the same price I would've paid for for the 2018 model w/ tax at best buy I ended up jumping on it. I now have the 65" 65R625.

With all of that said, very happy with my panel and the picture in general. I do though have some issues with audio and the TV. I have a Yamaha RX-V475 paired with this TV and have been trying to use both ARC and also have purchased an optical audio cable to see if it works any better. Here's what I'm hearing:

* YouTube app only outputs 2.1.
* Over the air TV audio is fine.
* Amazon Video works but I sometimes get the audio cutting out very briefly (like I'll miss a syllable in a sentence).
* I have to set the output on the TCL to one of the Dolby's, the auto-select audio doesn't work for me.

I think I've read that TCL is pretty good about releasing software updates so hoping that these are just the preliminary bugs that I get to experience owning a TV that's only been released for a couple months now.

I appreciate any input you experts can offer me
fbov and Kizzer like this.
jjoel is offline  
post #389 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Here is the review from HDTV on the series 8 TV. Enjoy!

https://youtu.be/dAibMm-rjnU
Scottt1174 is offline  
post #390 of 1292 Old 10-15-2019, 12:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,924
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1511 Post(s)
Liked: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjoel View Post
I got the audio dropping out fixed by using the optical cable. I must have not had it set up right before. I still have volume control using ARC thankfully. Other than that, I'm pretty happy with this TV and think I ended up getting a pretty good panel.


I also use optical for the internal apps and have had no issues with lip sync or drop outs.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off