2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 18 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 525Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:12 PM
Senior Member
 
vlad335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizzer View Post
I want to know how to do this.

To see the games? Download the Fox sports app on your Roku TV.
vlad335 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
vlad335's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Latrobe, PA
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
There has been limited devices that actually got the HDR stream. So if the TV isn't reporting it you may just be getting the 4K stream and not the HDR stream.

What other devices can get the TNF 4K stream? I thought it was just the Roku.


Nvidia Shield? That would be awesome.
vlad335 is offline  
post #513 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:28 PM
Member
 
Snoogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad335 View Post
What other devices can get the TNF 4K stream? I thought it was just the Roku.


Nvidia Shield? That would be awesome.
I read that Fox sort-of messed up last week's TNF 4K broadcast by originally stating that it would be 4K HDR on Apple TV & Roku devices, and then using the HLG HDR standard instead of HDR10 on their feed (which is crazy to me - does any TV in the last 2-3 years support anything besides HDR10 and/or DV?).

Here's the article I saw: https://www.tvtechnology.com/news/fo...broadcast-plan

In any case, I'm guessing I'm seeing 4K non-HDR, although I wish there was some way I could verify this.
Snoogins is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #514 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1516 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoogins View Post
I read that Fox sort-of messed up last week's TNF 4K broadcast by originally stating that it would be 4K HDR on Apple TV & Roku devices, and then using the HLG HDR standard instead of HDR10 on their feed (which is crazy to me - does any TV in the last 2-3 years support anything besides HDR10 and/or DV?).



Here's the article I saw: https://www.tvtechnology.com/news/fo...broadcast-plan



In any case, I'm guessing I'm seeing 4K non-HDR, although I wish there was some way I could verify this.


My two year old cheap Sammy supported hlg. Someone said it hads become the broadcast HDR standard.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #515 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:35 PM
Member
 
Snoogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizzer View Post
I want to know how to do this.
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
How to do what?
Yes, Kizzer - can you clarify? Are you talking about watching the 4K streams, or verifying the resolution of the stream you're watching? If the former, then as Vlad mentioned, grab the Fox Sports channel and install it. You'll need to specify your TV provider and sign in (e.g. Spectrum for me), and then you can access their content.
Snoogins is offline  
post #516 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:39 PM
Member
 
Snoogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
My two year old cheap Sammy supported hlg. Someone said it hads become the broadcast HDR standard.
Really? Interesting - guess I'll need to read up on this. Hadn't heard that...

I wonder if that will continue to be case going forward. When I was researching my purchase, I really wanted to make sure I got a TV that supported both HDR10 and DV thinking that I had my bases covered. I don't think I saw any 2018/2019 models in my price range that mentioned HLG.
Snoogins is offline  
post #517 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1516 Post(s)
Liked: 638
2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoogins View Post
Really? Interesting - guess I'll need to read up on this. Hadn't heard that...



I wonder if that will continue to be case going forward. When I was researching my purchase, I really wanted to make sure I got a TV that supported both HDR10 and DV thinking that I had my bases covered. I don't think I saw any 2018/2019 models in my price range that mentioned HLG.


What do you mean? This TV supports it. It's just not advertised.

If you look at the specs on the TCL site it shows support for HLG.

As far as it being the standard. Not sure that was just from a poster here so who knows.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10

Last edited by whiteboy714; 10-17-2019 at 08:07 PM.
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #518 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:51 PM
Member
 
dethpuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by samoth84 View Post
It is completely gone
any issues with crosshatching in menus of games or anything?
dethpuck is offline  
post #519 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 07:52 PM
Member
 
Kizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad335 View Post
To see the games? Download the Fox sports app on your Roku TV.
Oh, I thought he was talking about casting it from a device to the TV
Kizzer is offline  
post #520 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 08:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buckeyefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kizzer View Post
I want to know how to do this.
I am. Getting 4k through Roku on my TCL. Need to download the Fox Sports App on the TCL app search. It will show 4k. The picture is amazing for both football and baseball tonight. Heck, even my 65VT60 plasma through the Fire TV Fox Sports App looks excellent in 108p since it's native. Finally. Sports how it should be!

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
Kizzer likes this.

A man meets a genie. The genie tells him he can ask for whatever he wants, but his mother-in-law gets double of what he gets. The man says give me a million dollars and beat me till I'm half dead.
Buckeyefan is offline  
post #521 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 09:40 PM
Member
 
Snoogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
What do you mean? This TV supports it. It's just not advertised.

If you look at the specs on the TCL site it shows support for HLG.

As far as it being the standard. Not sure that was just from a poster here so who knows.
My bad - looking it up, I see that now. In my defense, I hadn't been in the market for a new TV in 5-ish years, so I was trying to catch up quickly on where HDR is at currently. Reading various articles, all the talk was about HDR10/10+ & DV as being the 2 competing formats. I probably saw that originally & overlooked it - sorry for the confusion...

However, this brings up another question - if that's what the Fox Sports app is using, then why would I not get HDR? Is the Roku platform the issue? From the article I linked to above (https://www.tvtechnology.com/news/fo...broadcast-plan), they say:

"Fox said that the game would be available in HDR on Apple TV and Roku devices, but the live broadcast for the game supported the HLG HDR standard, while streaming devices like Apple TV and Roku support the HDR10 standard, making it incompatible"

Am I correct in thinking that, if it was e.g. a cable or satellite broadcast in 4K w/HLG HDR, it would work fine; but it fails since it's streaming via a Roku channel?
Snoogins is offline  
post #522 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 09:44 PM
Member
 
Snoogins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buckeyefan View Post
I am. Getting 4k through Roku on my TCL. Need to download the Fox Sports App on the TCL app search. It will show 4k. The picture is amazing for both football and baseball tonight. Heck, even my 65VT60 plasma through the Fire TV Fox Sports App looks excellent in 108p since it's native. Finally. Sports how it should be!

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
That's cool! My question is - how do you know that you're getting a 4K stream from the FS app? I can see on the app's home page that the TNF and ALCS games are available there in 4K, but once I fire up one of them, I can't verify that's what I'm seeing. It's not like they offer different links to the 4K and HD feeds.

I admit the baseball game looks great, but I want to make sure it isn't placebo effect!
Snoogins is offline  
post #523 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 09:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buckeyefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoogins View Post
That's cool! My question is - how do you know that you're getting a 4K stream from the FS app? I can see on the app's home page that the TNF and ALCS games are available there in 4K, but once I fire up one of them, I can't verify that's what I'm seeing. It's not like they offer different links to the 4K and HD feeds.



I admit the baseball game looks great, but I want to make sure it isn't placebo effect!
Because I stream sports in 1080p all the time on both a TCL 4K set and a Panny 65VT60 plasma. It's an obvious jump in clarity on the TCL. I was snapping photos with my phone at 6 feet and forwarding then to friends and they could even tell from a cell phone pic. I remember first buying a 720p Olevia LCD in the mid 2000's and watching my first college football feed in HD. It was that kind of wow factor. Like providers are finally catching up to technology with Fox Thursday Night Sports.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

A man meets a genie. The genie tells him he can ask for whatever he wants, but his mother-in-law gets double of what he gets. The man says give me a million dollars and beat me till I'm half dead.
Buckeyefan is offline  
post #524 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 10:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1516 Post(s)
Liked: 638
2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snoogins View Post
My bad - looking it up, I see that now. In my defense, I hadn't been in the market for a new TV in 5-ish years, so I was trying to catch up quickly on where HDR is at currently. Reading various articles, all the talk was about HDR10/10+ & DV as being the 2 competing formats. I probably saw that originally & overlooked it - sorry for the confusion...



However, this brings up another question - if that's what the Fox Sports app is using, then why would I not get HDR? Is the Roku platform the issue? From the article I linked to above (https://www.tvtechnology.com/news/fo...broadcast-plan), they say:



"Fox said that the game would be available in HDR on Apple TV and Roku devices, but the live broadcast for the game supported the HLG HDR standard, while streaming devices like Apple TV and Roku support the HDR10 standard, making it incompatible"



Am I correct in thinking that, if it was e.g. a cable or satellite broadcast in 4K w/HLG HDR, it would work fine; but it fails since it's streaming via a Roku channel?


It's a new thing for them and they have some struggles getting it implemented. Mine just said 4k no mention of HDR.

Just watched an inning of the alcs on my little 5 series. Didn't look all that great to me. Felt like the upscaled 1080p that it was.

I mean don't get me wrong it's nice. Just looked a tad soft.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #525 of 1336 Old 10-17-2019, 11:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 40
How does this look on the new 6. It should show stutter with 24p, the playlist has 24 50 and 60fps tests





another one



Last edited by whatsnewsisyphus; 10-17-2019 at 11:29 PM.
whatsnewsisyphus is offline  
post #526 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 08:21 AM
Member
 
alrdtakn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The 23.976 video has stutter with everything off, natural cinema on, led clarity on, but has no stutter with any action smoothing settings enabled. 24hz has the same results. 30hz smooth on everything, 50hz smooth on everything, 60hz smooth on everything. The 24fps with the spinning ball needs to have some action smoothing enabled for it to not have stuttering.
alrdtakn is offline  
post #527 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 08:39 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: PA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Purchased the 65R 625 from bestbuy and set it up yesterday. Still trying to get everything adjusted correctly, but the biggest issue I have now is trying to get my Comcast XR15 remote to power on and off the TV. I really don’t want to have to use the Roku remote to power on/off and use the Comcast remote for all other functions. Has anyone programmed their xr15 remote? If so, what code did you use? I have tried all the codes and none of them worked for me.
Dak60 is offline  
post #528 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 09:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1516 Post(s)
Liked: 638
For anyone with a harmony hub I got mine working today. I scanned for wifi devices and the tv appeared. I have to use ir to get the tv to wake up so I put the booster under the tv.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #529 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 09:30 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrdtakn View Post
The 23.976 video has stutter with everything off, natural cinema on, led clarity on, but has no stutter with any action smoothing settings enabled. 24hz has the same results. 30hz smooth on everything, 50hz smooth on everything, 60hz smooth on everything. The 24fps with the spinning ball needs to have some action smoothing enabled for it to not have stuttering.

Thanks for checking that. Is that using the built in youtube app or another device?


It's strange because it should not show judder with only natural cinema on. Did you try with led clarity off (that will actually cause image duplication in itself) with just the natural cinema on?
whatsnewsisyphus is offline  
post #530 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 09:39 AM
Member
 
duvy56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 15
FOMO has a shootout video.
TCL 625 vs the H9F.
duvy56 is offline  
post #531 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 10:32 AM
Member
 
alrdtakn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 22
The motion testing I did was with the built in app, I tried with all the different settings and every combination, you're right the best result was with led clarity disabled. I don't know if the honeymoon phase is wearing off, or the fact I've been playing a bunch of borderlands 3 in hdr on my ps4 slim, but I notice more noise when watching HD Netflix and Amazon prime. It's not there with uhd Amazon prime stuff though. it seems it might be some compression going on because it appears to be somewhat intermittent on the same movie.

My test movie for the softening has been 300 on Netflix. Anything above 10 on sharpness shows a lot of noise, and there's still some at that level.

Edit: the noise is still somewhat present when playing with noise reduction in the app, although at the recommendation of everyone else I'm trying to keep that to off.

Last edited by alrdtakn; 10-18-2019 at 10:42 AM.
alrdtakn is offline  
post #532 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 11:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by samoth84 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Can anyone please tell me if the R625 is worth upgrading from the R617 2018. I have the R617. So would it be worth the upgrade of Quantum Dot alone? I don't put much stock into Rtings.com as they are bias. They hate TCL product. CNET said the TCL R625 is the best TV of 2019 minus the review of the Hisense H9F since they haven't reviewed it yet. So anyone that had a TCL R17 from last year that upgraded to the R625 is it worth it? Thanks
What are you going to use the tv for? I have both.

I am satisfied with the corrections they have made on the R625 but they are mostly noticeable if you are a gamer.

I am using the tv for both gaming and movie watching. 50/50. I don't put to much stock into rtings.com . Also CNET and Rtings have completly different reviews. CNET loves the R625 and Rtings says it's a step down. Anyway would you suggest upgrading the 617 to the 625? Mostly in semi dark room with alittle light. Thanks
Scottt1174 is online now  
post #533 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 12:52 PM
Member
 
dethpuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by samoth84 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scottt1174 View Post
Can anyone please tell me if the R625 is worth upgrading from the R617 2018. I have the R617. So would it be worth the upgrade of Quantum Dot alone? I don't put much stock into Rtings.com as they are bias. They hate TCL product. CNET said the TCL R625 is the best TV of 2019 minus the review of the Hisense H9F since they haven't reviewed it yet. So anyone that had a TCL R17 from last year that upgraded to the R625 is it worth it? Thanks
What are you going to use the tv for? I have both.

I am satisfied with the corrections they have made on the R625 but they are mostly noticeable if you are a gamer.

I am using the tv for both gaming and movie watching. 50/50. I don't put to much stock into rtings.com . Also CNET and Rtings have completly different reviews. CNET loves the R625 and Rtings says it's a step down. Anyway would you suggest upgrading the 617 to the 625? Mostly in semi dark room with alittle light. Thanks

For gaming absolutely the 625. The r615 has artifacts on anything with a native 4K image. Forza 4, red dead and tomb raider look terrible on the r615 unless you change the picture size and cut off the corners of the screen. I am getting a 625 as soon as possible.
dethpuck is offline  
post #534 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrdtakn View Post
The motion testing I did was with the built in app, I tried with all the different settings and every combination, you're right the best result was with led clarity disabled. I don't know if the honeymoon phase is wearing off, or the fact I've been playing a bunch of borderlands 3 in hdr on my ps4 slim, but I notice more noise when watching HD Netflix and Amazon prime. It's not there with uhd Amazon prime stuff though. it seems it might be some compression going on because it appears to be somewhat intermittent on the same movie.

My test movie for the softening has been 300 on Netflix. Anything above 10 on sharpness shows a lot of noise, and there's still some at that level.

Edit: the noise is still somewhat present when playing with noise reduction in the app, although at the recommendation of everyone else I'm trying to keep that to off.
Sharpening should typically be off for 1080p and 4K sources as it can exacerbate grain and small featured textures appearing like noise, It’s more useful with interpolation or specifically soft sources. If it’s intermittent, it could simply be that you are dropping streaming quality due to internet connection fluctuation.
whatsnewsisyphus is offline  
post #535 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 01:17 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,247
Mentioned: 73 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9539 Post(s)
Liked: 6226
Quote:
Originally Posted by dethpuck View Post
For gaming absolutely the 625. The r615 has artifacts on anything with a native 4K image. Forza 4, red dead and tomb raider look terrible on the r615 unless you change the picture size and cut off the corners of the screen. I am getting a 625 as soon as possible.
I can't say I've ever noticed anything like that with my 2018 6 Series.
The only artifacts I've seen is if action smoothing is on. But then every TV made does that with motion interpolation on. I leave it off on all my TVs.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #536 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 01:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I was having a lot of trouble with motion on my 65" set, with what looks like judder and frame drops to my (admittedly untrained) eye, from external HDMI sources – specifically a PS4 Pro and a Roku Ultra (used for testing). I got in touch with TCL's support regarding this, as well as lip sync issues over ARC to my Yamaha YAS 108 soundbar (I tried switching the output to PCM STEREO, didn't work), and they asked me to send them a couple of videos of the problem. I made them the following two using the PS4, although the same issues arose on the Roku:
Into the Spiderverse on the Netflix app: https://imgur.com/IfiwiIB
Undone on Amazon Prime: https://imgur.com/KEReEF5
They were very friendly and responsive and told me that they escalated the issue to their engineers, and yesterday I got another email from them, telling me that Roku should be releasing an update sometime next week to address both issues. I also experienced a similar situation as someone else posted on here, where Game Mode for some reason helped with the motion issues, even on the external Roku Ultra, and notified TCL of it, although I didn't get much response on that.
Anyway, don't know if this is helpful info for anyone out there. I personally hope that it gets resolved because I'd hate to return the set. Love the colors and haven't been totally sold on the H9F for that same reason, although that's obviously a just a personal preference.
aaronwt likes this.
Gabriel Bier Gislason is offline  
post #537 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 02:08 PM
Newbie
 
ttboy80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thank you to everyone in this thread. You've been a huge help with my TV. I'm really enjoying it, but occasionally get a freak.out moment where I'm getting DSE or banding, though it could me in my head

Is this bad enough to contemplate returning?
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9u9Bh6gN3kVdlFuZl9GUC1ITklEbGtHQjRiaGZfWEs1U2NN/view?usp=sharing

I don't watch sports. I mostly game and watch films.

Thanks!
Tyler
ttboy80 is offline  
post #538 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 02:15 PM
Member
 
Kizzer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 115
The more I learn about this TV and the more I get it tweaked, the more I am loving it!

If anyone is concerned about the minimalist faults on this set, you are truly missing out.

But, hey, if you want to spend double or even triple the money for another TV that has it's own set of problems, go for it!

This thing rocks. The colors are so deep and vibrant and the motion flow is VERY good for what I watch like NHL hockey and other fast moving sports.

Maybe someone with a trained eye who is anal about the finest of detail will notice something, but for us average Joe's, this TV is spot on.
Kizzer is offline  
post #539 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,933
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1516 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by alrdtakn View Post
The motion testing I did was with the built in app, I tried with all the different settings and every combination, you're right the best result was with led clarity disabled. I don't know if the honeymoon phase is wearing off, or the fact I've been playing a bunch of borderlands 3 in hdr on my ps4 slim, but I notice more noise when watching HD Netflix and Amazon prime. It's not there with uhd Amazon prime stuff though. it seems it might be some compression going on because it appears to be somewhat intermittent on the same movie.

My test movie for the softening has been 300 on Netflix. Anything above 10 on sharpness shows a lot of noise, and there's still some at that level.

Edit: the noise is still somewhat present when playing with noise reduction in the app, although at the recommendation of everyone else I'm trying to keep that to off.
Don't forget that per TCL 20=0. Meaning no sharpening is happening at 20, reducing it will make the picture softer.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #540 of 1336 Old 10-18-2019, 03:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LongRufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,029
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak60 View Post
Purchased the 65R 625 from bestbuy and set it up yesterday. Still trying to get everything adjusted correctly, but the biggest issue I have now is trying to get my Comcast XR15 remote to power on and off the TV. I really don’t want to have to use the Roku remote to power on/off and use the Comcast remote for all other functions. Has anyone programmed their xr15 remote? If so, what code did you use? I have tried all the codes and none of them worked for me.
I have the XR11 remote so i am not sure if it will work for you, but the code I used was 11756.
LongRufus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off