2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 524Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 02:49 PM
Member
 
audionutzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogietillyapuke View Post
At least y’all received broken TVs. I received mine this morning from Amazon. Opened the box and looked for the stands to at least set it up and make sure it worked before I ripped the old 55Vizio off the wall mount and put the new one on the wall, no stands in box.

Took the big ziplock bag out with all the paperwork in it, removed quick setup guide and took a look.....Sharp Roku Tv. Looked at MFG data plate on back....Sharp TV. Box clearly is TCL 65R625.....content.....Sharp Roku. Have already talked to Amazon and TCL, we’ll see where it goes from here.
Your saying you have a sharp tv in your TCL box??
audionutzzzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 03:13 PM
Newbie
 
boogietillyapuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Yes. Sharp LC65Q7370U, Roku TV, manufactured by HiSense. No stands, no Roku remote, and wrong frikin TV.

I called TCL just to see if the 2 manufacturers shared a facility and it could have been a mix up and was told no. Still had one Fiberglas strap on it, but that could have been easily replaced with the right equipment at a warehouse. Originally shipped out of York, PA if I remember correctly.
boogietillyapuke is offline  
post #33 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 03:16 PM
Member
 
audionutzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogietillyapuke View Post
Yes. Sharp LC65Q7370U, Roku TV, manufactured by HiSense. No stands, no Roku remote, and wrong frikin TV.

I called TCL just to see if the 2 manufacturers shared a facility and it could have been a mix up and was told no. Still had one Fiberglas strap on it, but that could have been easily replaced with the right equipment at a warehouse. Originally shipped out of York, PA if I remember correctly.
What shipping company?
audionutzzzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 03:41 PM
Newbie
 
boogietillyapuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
NSD. Lots of bitching on reviews but no mention of theft, just about level of service. Final delivery was a local small box truck with something else written on the doors.
boogietillyapuke is offline  
post #35 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 04:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 352 Post(s)
Liked: 227
Quote:
Originally Posted by boogietillyapuke View Post
NSD. Lots of bitching on reviews but no mention of theft, just about level of service. Final delivery was a local small box truck with something else written on the doors.
That's extremely odd and concerning. Your whole situation I mean, not just the delivery truck.
rockaway1836 likes this.
theboomr is offline  
post #36 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 06:57 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got the right television, but trying to watch HDR10 content in the Vudu app (Deadpool 2, Booksmart) is dark and unwatchable, everything else seems to work, and even what I believe is HDR10 content elsewhere (The Grand Tour season 3 on Amazon) looks fine.

Dolby Vision HDR and non-hdr 4K video looks fine.

Anyone else having issues?
rjcc is offline  
post #37 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 08:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,928
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post
I got the right television, but trying to watch HDR10 content in the Vudu app (Deadpool 2, Booksmart) is dark and unwatchable, everything else seems to work, and even what I believe is HDR10 content elsewhere (The Grand Tour season 3 on Amazon) looks fine.



Dolby Vision HDR and non-hdr 4K video looks fine.



Anyone else having issues?


Have you adjusted the HDR and other picture settings while in HDR mode?
fbov likes this.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #38 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Have you adjusted the HDR and other picture settings while in HDR mode?
No matter which settings I choose, it's still incredibly dark and washed out. The HDR10 stuff on Prime is not as dark, but pretty washed out. Grand Tour looked ok, but I tried Late Night and it was bad.
rjcc is offline  
post #39 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 10:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fbov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bushnell's Basin, NY
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post
No matter which settings I choose, it's still incredibly dark and washed out.
Then adjust it until it looks right. I find that if I set it up for HD programing (2K?) with the backlight very low, maxing the backlight gives a pretty good result watching UHD programming.

Frank
fbov is offline  
post #40 of 1326 Old 09-27-2019, 11:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbov View Post
Then adjust it until it looks right. I find that if I set it up for HD programing (2K?) with the backlight very low, maxing the backlight gives a pretty good result watching UHD programming.

Frank
I assume I have somehow been unclear. I adjusted it. Even with all brightness and backlighting at the max, it's still incredibly and incorrectly dark.

If for some reason you believe that I don't know what settings are, or how to adjust them, then apparently I've just been lucky enough to manage setting things up correctly when viewing Dolby Vision HDR, non-HDR 4K, and HD content. It's possible that I simply have the wrong settings. It is to some degree unlikely that I merely have not tried adjusting it before posting about it.

My hope is that you have one of these TVs, so you can see if you're getting a similar experience. Do you?

Last edited by rjcc; 09-28-2019 at 12:09 AM.
rjcc is offline  
post #41 of 1326 Old 09-28-2019, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
something is happening, but I may have figured out what causes it.

If I open the Vudu app and go directly to an HDR10 source like Booksmart or Deadpool 2, it looks fine. But if I watch a Dolby Vision video like John Wick 3, then go back to HDR10 without closing the app first, it's completely darkened no matter what I do with the settings. Has this been an issue at all before?
rjcc is offline  
post #42 of 1326 Old 09-28-2019, 12:24 AM
Newbie
 
SUPERS0NICBOOM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post
something is happening, but I may have figured out what causes it.



If I open the Vudu app and go directly to an HDR10 source like Booksmart or Deadpool 2, it looks fine. But if I watch a Dolby Vision video like John Wick 3, then go back to HDR10 without closing the app first, it's completely darkened no matter what I do with the settings. Has this been an issue at all before?
Just tried switching between a Dolby Vision movie then HDR 10 in the Vudu app and can confirm it happens to me as well

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
rjcc likes this.
SUPERS0NICBOOM is offline  
post #43 of 1326 Old 09-28-2019, 12:30 AM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUPERS0NICBOOM View Post
Just tried switching between a Dolby Vision movie then HDR 10 in the Vudu app and can confirm it happens to me as well

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Ok, so it's just a bug. It was bizarre because the HDR10 movies looked *so bad* no matter what I tried with the settings, then just now I opened the app and went directly to them, then they looked ok.
rjcc is offline  
post #44 of 1326 Old 09-28-2019, 06:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse Coane View Post
I bet the IR codes are the same as the 2018 model. Try entering that one?
I did already--it said it didn't see it on the network.
profb888 is offline  
post #45 of 1326 Old 09-28-2019, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,928
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post
Ok, so it's just a bug. It was bizarre because the HDR10 movies looked *so bad* no matter what I tried with the settings, then just now I opened the app and went directly to them, then they looked ok.


Do they look proper now or just ok?

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #46 of 1326 Old 09-28-2019, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Do they look proper now or just ok?
I need to do some more testing with different settings. Some of them look really good, some others are still a bit washed out, but it may be due to my changing settings while affected by the bug, but they're at least not *viewing through cheesecloth* dark
rjcc is offline  
post #47 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 06:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ice Cold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 356 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Word is Best Buy will have the 55” R625 this Sunday in the back for sale.
Ice Cold is offline  
post #48 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 06:40 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 8
My 65R625 was delivered by XPO yesterday morning. The uniformity actually looks pretty good (even a little better than the image suggests). It's definitely not bad enough that I want to try for an exchange. Also, I thought my previous 55P605 TCL had a built-in uniformity test screen but I couldn't find it, but I could be thinking of a different TV.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190928_134009.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	185.7 KB
ID:	2621242  
puckfreak likes this.
bearantlers is offline  
post #49 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,928
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1512 Post(s)
Liked: 638
2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice Cold View Post
Word is Best Buy will have the 55” R625 this Sunday in the back for sale.


Is that from best buy. On Friday my store had no idea. But they said they never really know stuff just shows up.

The thing I have is that the good TV's that paid for prime real estate get the good source materiel. And everything else gets the crappy best buy feed. Hard to really tell from that how good they are.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X1400h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Micca M-6S 6.5 -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #50 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 09:09 AM
Member
 
audionutzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
audionutzzzz is offline  
post #51 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Houston
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 283
I have a tiny “smudge” on the right bottom side of the tv. Almost like it s dirty inside the panel.
I called TCL and they try to troubleshoot it, soft reset, hard reset....
I tried to run color pattern, green, blue, ...
But it’s still here and only visible when the picture is bright.

What would you do? Return, and wait X weeks to get a new one? Try to ignore it ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	0D2A6A67-F69E-4C39-98F0-07DCE5A167E4.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	159.4 KB
ID:	2621302   Click image for larger version

Name:	23828E6C-AC19-4588-BC75-D38F86A041FE.jpg
Views:	173
Size:	164.4 KB
ID:	2621306   Click image for larger version

Name:	1CF7A971-0151-4364-9C87-46556AF3A999.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	168.6 KB
ID:	2621308  

Sony VPL-HW40ES / Silver Ticket 110"
Pioneer SC-97
Klipsch RP-450C / 2x RP-280F / 2x R-5650-S II / 2x F-30 / 2x CDT5800 II
Sub: Outlaw Ultra-X12
HTPC Windows 7 and Kodi (with custom Phenomenal skin) / Home Server for Media
My personal take on Acoustic Panels and Posters
xylem is offline  
post #52 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 09:59 AM
Member
 
audionutzzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by xylem View Post
I have a tiny “smudge” on the right bottom side of the tv. Almost like it s dirty inside the panel.
I called TCL and they try to troubleshoot it, soft reset, hard reset....
I tried to run color pattern, green, blue, ...
But it’s still here and only visible when the picture is bright.

What would you do? Return, and wait X weeks to get a new one? Try to ignore it ?

I cannot tell from your pictures.. But mine was pretty bad. And i am still using it. But amazon is picking it up Tuesday. Overall it is a nice unit..But i am going to give tcl one more shot but with the 65 8 series.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tcl 1.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	2621342  
audionutzzzz is offline  
post #53 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 10:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Houston
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 377 Post(s)
Liked: 283
here, small spot.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tv.PNG
Views:	198
Size:	2.95 MB
ID:	2621352  

Sony VPL-HW40ES / Silver Ticket 110"
Pioneer SC-97
Klipsch RP-450C / 2x RP-280F / 2x R-5650-S II / 2x F-30 / 2x CDT5800 II
Sub: Outlaw Ultra-X12
HTPC Windows 7 and Kodi (with custom Phenomenal skin) / Home Server for Media
My personal take on Acoustic Panels and Posters
xylem is offline  
post #54 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 11:59 AM
Member
 
mjconnor10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by xylem View Post
here, small spot.
I can barely see that with an all-white screen, I can't imagine seeing it during it normal viewing. Personally, I'd be fine with it, as I don't have time to mess with returning something that minor. I know some people are a little pickier and wouldn't settle for anything but a perfect screen.
mjconnor10 is online now  
post #55 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fbov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bushnell's Basin, NY
Posts: 1,644
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post
I assume I have somehow been unclear. I adjusted it. Even with all brightness and backlighting at the max, it's still incredibly and incorrectly dark....
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcc View Post
I need to do some more testing with different settings. ...
What picture modes does the display activate when you're happy vs. unhappy?

As you probably know, every picture mode has unique contrast/brightness settings. The display may be switching picture modes without your knowledge, perhaps to modes where you have not yet adjusted contrast/brightness, et al. This is the kind of thing that might happen when changing UHD programming formats or using different streaming services.

I've seen five picture modes in SD/HD, and three each for Dolby Digital and HDR. Each time I find a new one, I have to adjust contrast/brightness, et al. You may find it's as simple as finding all the modes that the display activates, and setting one of each of them up right. Not all modes can be calibrated on my R615's. QLED may be different.

There's only one set of CMS values for all modes, so only one calibration is possible (through the ap). I watch very little 4K, so I calibrate to HD standards, Rec 709 and BT 1886 using an X-rite colorimeter and freeware. I have not explored UHD-specific calibration, choosing to use HD settings with Backlight upped from 12 to 100 for the few times we view DD or HDR program.

Let us know!
Frank
fbov is offline  
post #56 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I’m looking into different sound bars with Rolby Atmos to utilize the Dolby Vision, any suggestions/what’re you using?
STDOOM is offline  
post #57 of 1326 Old 09-29-2019, 10:50 PM
Senior Member
 
rjcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbov View Post
I've seen five picture modes in SD/HD, and three each for Dolby Digital and HDR. Each time I find a new one, I have to adjust contrast/brightness, et al. You may find it's as simple as finding all the modes that the display activates, and setting one of each of them up right. Not all modes can be calibrated on my R615's. QLED may be different.
I am aware that it has different picture modes, and settings for regular HD, Dolby Vision HDR and HDR10. It isn't as simple as correctly setting them up, it is broken when you activate the app in a particular order.

Please stop.
SaskCanesFan likes this.
rjcc is offline  
post #58 of 1326 Old 09-30-2019, 07:26 AM
Newbie
 
zak28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I got mine Friday and even though the box was a bit beat up, the TV itself is fine. No issues with the panel it seems and I have been playing with it for a little over the weekend. Haven't had the time to set up each picture mode properly, hopefully someone else with more knowledge will post their settings.

It's the first time I am using the ROKU OS and I am having the issue that movies and shows both on Amazon and Netflix have the audio out of sync and the delay is very significant to the point it's not watchable. I am using ARC to get the sound to my receiver and when I change the sound setting to PMC/Stereo as was suggested on the TCL support site, I only have stereo sound output, which is silly. Does anyone have any suggestions how to solve it? Plan B would be using my shield, but it sounded easier to just use one interface.
zak28 is offline  
post #59 of 1326 Old 09-30-2019, 08:03 AM
Member
 
DDK65JAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@zak28

Try unplugging your set for 10-15 secs, then turn the set on with the remote so it will
reboot. I've had a repeat issue with OTA a couple of times. The delay must be nearly a
second long,each one at the same volume and as they layer it sounds like several people
speaking at the same time. The above procedure has fixed my 5 series the 2 times it's
happened.


Good luck
DDK65JAG is offline  
post #60 of 1326 Old 09-30-2019, 09:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
p3trol_h3ad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by zak28 View Post
I got mine Friday and even though the box was a bit beat up, the TV itself is fine. No issues with the panel it seems and I have been playing with it for a little over the weekend. Haven't had the time to set up each picture mode properly, hopefully someone else with more knowledge will post their settings.

It's the first time I am using the ROKU OS and I am having the issue that movies and shows both on Amazon and Netflix have the audio out of sync and the delay is very significant to the point it's not watchable. I am using ARC to get the sound to my receiver and when I change the sound setting to PMC/Stereo as was suggested on the TCL support site, I only have stereo sound output, which is silly. Does anyone have any suggestions how to solve it? Plan B would be using my shield, but it sounded easier to just use one interface.
I'm assuming you have surround sound since you have an AVR. You don't want to use PCM because ARC/Toslink don't have enough bandwidth to send more than 2 channels (stereo) of PCM. You need to use Dolby or DD. I can't think of any reason that Dolby/DD should delay (a significant amount) if you're using an internal app on the TV.. so I'd say that's certainly an issue with the TV. GL!

Sony MASTER Series | harman/kardon AVR | Klipsch Reference Premiere | KEF UniQ | PlayStation | Mohu Leaf | Hue Play | MediaLight | logitech Harmony | CyberPower PFC UPS
p3trol_h3ad is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off