2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 59 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 639Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1741 of 2008 Old 04-20-2020, 10:57 AM
Newbie
 
Van Winkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Help a simpleton like me understand: how is the TCL iPQ app able to calibrate the TV based only on pictures of a white background? Couldn't they only change white balance? IS that all they change?
Van Winkle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1742 of 2008 Old 04-20-2020, 02:38 PM
Member
 
Social Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I just got a General Warning message, but there is no explanation why?

New: TCL R625 (55")/Sony UBP-X700/Vizio SB3651-E6
Old: Sony XBR65X900E/Sony UBP-X800
Social Justice is offline  
post #1743 of 2008 Old 04-20-2020, 03:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Van Winkle View Post
Help a simpleton like me understand: how is the TCL iPQ app able to calibrate the TV based only on pictures of a white background? Couldn't they only change white balance? IS that all they change?
Two assignments:
1. Research iPQ heavily.
2. Research and get:
https://roku.en.softonic.com
Good luck

"Feels great, baby." SF 49ers QB Jimmy G.
Transistorious is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1744 of 2008 Old 04-20-2020, 08:00 PM
Newbie
 
The Real Bumbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
What should I have my backlight set too for hdr content? I see slot of people saying 90 or 100 . But I worried about burning my TV out or it dimming in a year or two. It took me 4 years to save up enough to buy my first 4k tv which is the tcl series 6 r625
The Real Bumbles is offline  
post #1745 of 2008 Old 04-21-2020, 12:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Real Bumbles View Post
What should I have my backlight set too for hdr content? I see slot of people saying 90 or 100 . But I worried about burning my TV out or it dimming in a year or two. It took me 4 years to save up enough to buy my first 4k tv which is the tcl series 6 r625
I have mine set at 56. Post the rest of your settings. There are plenty of knowledgeable guys here that can help you.

"Feels great, baby." SF 49ers QB Jimmy G.
Transistorious is offline  
post #1746 of 2008 Old 04-21-2020, 04:41 PM
Senior Member
 
JTH182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: NW Chicago suburbs
Posts: 380
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Real Bumbles View Post
What should I have my backlight set too for hdr content? I see slot of people saying 90 or 100 . But I worried about burning my TV out or it dimming in a year or two. It took me 4 years to save up enough to buy my first 4k tv which is the tcl series 6 r625
For HDR I would think it should always be 100. SDR is personal preference. Don't worry about burning out or dimming since these use LEDs.

As to whether I would buy this TV again: Well, I didn't buy it in the first place, I won it, but I would definitely buy another one if the need arose! Great TV for the price.
JTH182 is online now  
post #1747 of 2008 Old 04-21-2020, 05:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 2
So I have it set to where my TV turns on when I turn on my Apple TV. Once or twice a week, the TV will immediately freeze with “Switching to Apple TV” on the bottom and reboot itself, and sometimes it doesn’t even reboot properly and I have to unplug it. Has anyone else had this happen?
Dlincoln311 is offline  
post #1748 of 2008 Old 04-22-2020, 08:52 AM
Member
 
jgbuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgbuffs View Post
Hello everyone, I am considering the 55" TV for purchase. Read the entire thread and it is an intriguing set for sure.

Would you buy it again knowing what you know now?
What are the 1st things you would do when setting it up?

Edit: I have an Apple TV4k and an Xbox One S (which I think is 4k Capable) the Audio I have is a MacIntosh MHA100 with KEF R300 Speakers which I would output Using the Toslink or Headphone output.

Jamie
I think my post was lost at the bottom of the last page, Any advice? I did just buy it, i get it on Sunday. Wahoo!

Thanks

Last edited by jgbuffs; 04-22-2020 at 01:57 PM.
jgbuffs is offline  
post #1749 of 2008 Old 04-22-2020, 04:28 PM
Member
 
tmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dlincoln311 View Post
So I have it set to where my TV turns on when I turn on my Apple TV. Once or twice a week, the TV will immediately freeze with “Switching to Apple TV” on the bottom and reboot itself, and sometimes it doesn’t even reboot properly and I have to unplug it. Has anyone else had this happen?
Yes, when I first purchased it, I had some issues like this. Sometimes if you do too much with the remote like mash on every button in a mad fashion the entire tv will reboot. And I know external hdd video files with dolby atmos audio tracks, reboots the tv. Be careful to avoid anything that causes these reboots. I've heard a few rare bad stories where their TV became bricked at the startup Red Roku screen (Sort of like a tablet being bricked on the startup screen).

I would just set your tv to load up the Roku screen with all the apps, and leave your favorite app in the top left corner (eg. Appletv). This way you can either push enter after you power up your tv, or see all your other apps on the rokutv that might interest you more.

Last edited by tmin; 04-22-2020 at 05:09 PM.
tmin is offline  
post #1750 of 2008 Old 04-22-2020, 06:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jeff_DML's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thinking about getting a sound bar for my 65” R625.

I have read about all the ARC delay issues, is it best to just get the TCL version, alto 7+?

Not terrible excited that it does not support any advanced audio codecs but I guess soundbars are stereo only anyways.

https://www.tclusa.com/ca/products/s...und-bar-ts7010
Jeff_DML is offline  
post #1751 of 2008 Old 04-23-2020, 09:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,536
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1893 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_DML View Post
Thinking about getting a sound bar for my 65” R625.

I have read about all the ARC delay issues, is it best to just get the TCL version, alto 7+?

Not terrible excited that it does not support any advanced audio codecs but I guess soundbars are stereo only anyways.

https://www.tclusa.com/ca/products/s...und-bar-ts7010
There are plenty of soundbars that are not stereo. How well the center performs is debatable I suppose, but when you get over the
$200 mark it seems about half are not stereo.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #1752 of 2008 Old 04-23-2020, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
Jay Stephen Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Will the TCL get EARC update? What do you guys turn on and off for motion like Natural cinima or action smoothing?
Jay Stephen Christian is offline  
post #1753 of 2008 Old 04-23-2020, 07:36 PM
Member
 
tmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Stephen Christian View Post
Will the TCL get EARC update? What do you guys turn on and off for motion like Natural cinima or action smoothing?
That update is supposed to come later this year with vrr for pc monitors/gaming, but delayed till maybe mid to late summer if we are lucky. Natural Cinema is the preferred setting for everything. Occasionally you can try action smoothing medium for sports, live Events, or video games, but many people avoid that setting.
tmin is offline  
post #1754 of 2008 Old 04-24-2020, 06:42 AM
Member
 
jgbuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is this issue with DV crushing Blacks been fixed? this is a video from last November I assume it has been.

[
jgbuffs is offline  
post #1755 of 2008 Old 04-24-2020, 07:55 AM
Member
 
tmin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgbuffs View Post
Is this issue with DV crushing Blacks been fixed? this is a video from last November I assume it has been.

[https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Yw0KZLs3c4
It may have been improved a little in past 2 or 3 updates between Nov and Jan.
Really it's not that bad at all. Nearly everyone who owns this tv loves how this tv handles local dimming achieving perfect Black. Some people say local dimming set to medium is ok for content that's too dark(I figured that helps). Most of us keep it at local dimming high a majority of the time.
I can see local dimming High turning about 5% of the programs too dark, like the review mentioned, but I use brighter hdr/dv bright mode most of the time for greatest pop & that seems to compensate for most complaints of crushing blacks.
He has a more recent review comparing vizio m8 vs tcl6 and he still sees dark crush.

The reviewer likes darker settings like dv dark or hdr dark so sure his content will look too dark on local dimming high. So he claims Vizio handles local dimming algorithm better, but that tv only has 600nits peak brightness while this one gets between 675 & 900+ nits. I still respect Vizio models like pq or pqx since they have brighter screens and more local dimming zones, and All The Vizios are rated slightly higher than this Tcl6. But it's all very close.

Last edited by tmin; 04-24-2020 at 08:11 AM.
tmin is offline  
post #1756 of 2008 Old 04-24-2020, 09:45 AM
Member
 
jgbuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmin View Post
It may have been improved a little in past 2 or 3 updates between Nov and Jan.
Really it's not that bad at all. Nearly everyone who owns this tv loves how this tv handles local dimming achieving perfect Black. Some people say local dimming set to medium is ok for content that's too dark(I figured that helps). Most of us keep it at local dimming high a majority of the time.
I can see local dimming High turning about 5% of the programs too dark, like the review mentioned, but I use brighter hdr/dv bright mode most of the time for greatest pop & that seems to compensate for most complaints of crushing blacks.
He has a more recent review comparing vizio m8 vs tcl6 and he still sees dark crush.

The reviewer likes darker settings like dv dark or hdr dark so sure his content will look too dark on local dimming high. So he claims Vizio handles local dimming algorithm better, but that tv only has 600nits peak brightness while this one gets between 675 & 900+ nits. I still respect Vizio models like pq or pqx since they have brighter screens and more local dimming zones, and All The Vizios are rated slightly higher than this Tcl6. But it's all very close.
Thanks for the info, I feel like that reviewer had a slight slant against TCL for whatever reason.
jgbuffs is offline  
post #1757 of 2008 Old 04-24-2020, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 4
fix for bright and brighter HDR mode?

anyone else notice it gets brighter and then dims on and off while watching on brighter and bright HDR mode?
bobbis888 is offline  
post #1758 of 2008 Old 04-25-2020, 05:33 PM
Newbie
 
Eddielx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just pick this 55 up today for the bedroom.It seems grainy on cable box but ok on roku Netflix and Amazon video. Any adjustments I should make.
I have the Sony x950h in another room and that picture is near flawless.
I tried IPQ.
Eddielx is offline  
post #1759 of 2008 Old 04-25-2020, 06:55 PM
Member
 
Social Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddielx View Post
I just pick this 55 up today for the bedroom.It seems grainy on cable box but ok on roku Netflix and Amazon video. Any adjustments I should make.
I have the Sony x950h in another room and that picture is near flawless.
I tried IPQ.
I agree, SDR is lackluster on this set, but HDR is amazing.

New: TCL R625 (55")/Sony UBP-X700/Vizio SB3651-E6
Old: Sony XBR65X900E/Sony UBP-X800
Social Justice is offline  
post #1760 of 2008 Old 04-25-2020, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
Transistorious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 287 Post(s)
Liked: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddielx View Post
I just pick this 55 up today for the bedroom.It seems grainy on cable box but ok on roku Netflix and Amazon video. Any adjustments I should make.
I have the Sony x950h in another room and that picture is near flawless.
I tried IPQ.
Please post your TV settings. Have you downloaded the Roku remote?

"Feels great, baby." SF 49ers QB Jimmy G.
Transistorious is offline  
post #1761 of 2008 Old 04-25-2020, 07:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddielx View Post
I just pick this 55 up today for the bedroom.It seems grainy on cable box but ok on roku Netflix and Amazon video. Any adjustments I should make.
I have the Sony x950h in another room and that picture is near flawless.
I tried IPQ.

You can try mine, in my signature.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
Social Justice likes this.
HD-Master is online now  
post #1762 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 07:42 AM
Member
 
jgbuffs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there a way to get the picture info with a button press on the remote? I know when play DV or HDR that displays but I am looking to know if the regular 4k content on youtube is in fact play 4k.
jgbuffs is offline  
post #1763 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 10:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgbuffs View Post
Is there a way to get the picture info with a button press on the remote? I know when play DV or HDR that displays but I am looking to know if the regular 4k content on youtube is in fact play 4k.
No, but the native Youtube app shows you the resolution of the video being played.
lng101010 is offline  
post #1764 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 01:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,536
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1893 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgbuffs View Post
Is there a way to get the picture info with a button press on the remote? I know when play DV or HDR that displays but I am looking to know if the regular 4k content on youtube is in fact play 4k.
If you are using an external source you can hit "ok" to see the resolution, but this doesn't work with internal apps.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #1765 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
whiteboy714's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7,536
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1893 Post(s)
Liked: 813
Anyone know if this remote is only IR?

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/roku-vo...?skuId=6367484

I want a second like the one that comes with this tv, that doesn't need to be line of sight.

TCL 65R625 -- Denon X3500h -- Klipsch RP600m -- RP450C -- Ascend HTM 200 SE -- Dual Klipsch RW-10
whiteboy714 is online now  
post #1766 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NuSoardGraphite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,661
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 559 Post(s)
Liked: 516
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Real Bumbles View Post
What should I have my backlight set too for hdr content? I see slot of people saying 90 or 100 . But I worried about burning my TV out or it dimming in a year or two. It took me 4 years to save up enough to buy my first 4k tv which is the tcl series 6 r625
100 is probably the correct setting for your tv. HDR, especially Dolby Vision, uses the maximum output of the TV's light capability. The light output of these TVs is about 700 nits full screen and around 1000 nits for highlights that use 10% to 25% of the screen. To achieve these light output levels, you need the backlight at maximum.

In general you don't have to worry about burning out the LEDs in your tv. You wont be watching HDR content all the time and even HDR content won't be driving the backlight at maximum most of the time.

The HDR and SDR settings are applied separately, so you can tune your SDR settings and reduce the backlight (I have my backlight at 20 for SDR viewing) and when it switches to HDR mode, it will change the settings for HDR viewing and it defaults to 100 backlight. If you want to reduce it, you can, but if you watch a lot in the daytime or with lights on, you probably want to keep it between 90 and 100.

Stand tall and shake the heavens...
NuSoardGraphite is offline  
post #1767 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 02:56 PM
Member
 
Social Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD-Master View Post
You can try mine, in my signature.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
I know every TV is different, but your WB settings should at least be better than the factory default settings?

New: TCL R625 (55")/Sony UBP-X700/Vizio SB3651-E6
Old: Sony XBR65X900E/Sony UBP-X800
Social Justice is offline  
post #1768 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 03:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HD-Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bronx
Posts: 1,513
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 890
2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 (55" & 65") Owners Thread (No Price Talk)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Social Justice View Post
I know every TV is different, but your WB settings should at least be better than the factory default settings?

Mine are fully calibrated with a meter and software. Far more accurate than default, on my display.


My 2019 TCL 6-Series QLED R625 Calibrated Settings
HD-Master is online now  
post #1769 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 03:42 PM
Senior Member
 
getbigg21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by whiteboy714 View Post
Anyone know if this remote is only IR?

https://www.bestbuy.com/site/roku-vo...?skuId=6367484

I want a second like the one that comes with this tv, that doesn't need to be line of sight.
That should do it.
getbigg21 is offline  
post #1770 of 2008 Old 04-26-2020, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Social Justice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 2
When streaming HDR or DV content the Roku app only allows the following picture modes: low power, movie, normal, vivid, sports. However, in the TV settings, it allows me to select dark hdr/dv picture mode?

New: TCL R625 (55")/Sony UBP-X700/Vizio SB3651-E6
Old: Sony XBR65X900E/Sony UBP-X800
Social Justice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off