New TV time - I don't want a "smart" TV - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 65Likes
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theandies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
New TV time - I don't want a "smart" TV

My 42 inch Panasonic Plasma is starting to fail so I'm in the market for a new TV. Damn I wish plasma's were still made.......anyway looking at my options it seems that I cannot buy a panel without "smart" features. I don't want any of that Alexa crap or even connect to the internet. I know some will answer "just don't connect it" but that is not an option. All I want it to connect my devices to the panel and use them. There had to be a panel out there like this. I'm looking for a good NON-SMART 4k HDR panel for $1000 or under.
Thanks
theandies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2839 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
My 42 inch Panasonic Plasma is starting to fail so I'm in the market for a new TV. Damn I wish plasma's were still made.......anyway looking at my options it seems that I cannot buy a panel without "smart" features. I don't want any of that Alexa crap or even connect to the internet. I know some will answer "just don't connect it" but that is not an option. All I want it to connect my devices to the panel and use them. There had to be a panel out there like this. I'm looking for a good NON-SMART 4k HDR panel for $1000 or under.
Thanks
You are looking for an answer that doesn't exist. All 4k TVs in your price target are smart capable.

The answer you don't want to hear is the only answer anyone has to offer. Just don't connect it to the internet. You can still connect your media devices to it.

I fail to see a valid issue.
PlanetAVS, seggers, rlb and 3 others like this.

Last edited by skschatzman; 10-17-2019 at 02:55 PM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #3 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theandies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
There has to be a panel that fits my wants. There has to be others that don't trust these big corporations and their "privacy" policies. I don't trust any of them. I guess I'll have to go with a computer monitor with HDMI inputs.
theandies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 01:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2839 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
There has to be a panel that fits my wants. There has to be others that don't trust these big corporations and their "privacy" policies. I don't trust any of them.
If you don't connect the TV to the internet, then there is no way they can collect your information.

As I said before, I fail to see a valid issue.
jddesigned and vkamicht like this.

Last edited by skschatzman; 10-17-2019 at 02:55 PM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #5 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 02:10 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2214 Post(s)
Liked: 1461
All 4K TV's are SMART now. And unfortunately the easiest answer is not to connect to ethernet or WiFi. That's a pretty simple solution.
jddesigned and pilotart like this.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #6 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
There has to be a panel that fits my wants. There has to be others that don't trust these big corporations and their "privacy" policies. I don't trust any of them. I guess I'll have to go with a computer monitor with HDMI inputs.
The only TVs I've seen that aren't smart models are low-end standard HD sets 32" or smaller. We're talking house brands for the most part (like Insignia) and most are 720p rather than 1080p. It's unfortunate, but it is the reality of the modern TV business.

However, smart TVs have an End User License Agreement (EULA) to which you have to agree before the smart features are activated. If don't accept the EULA, the TV won't run its smart features, even if you're connected to the Internet.
theandies and pilotart like this.
cpmusic is offline  
post #7 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 02:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 6
You will probably have to go with a lower-tier brand to avoid 'smart' functionality. I, too wish the major manufacturers would get rid of their smart functions and use that cost to making their tvs better for the same price. I just use a Roku or FireTV on all of my tvs regardless of whether they are smart or not. Oh, well.....it is what it is.

However, check Walmart's website and look at Sceptre tvs. They are pretty basic models but some do have have HDR (without smart functionality). I have had a 55" 4k (non-hdr) model for just over a year. It is used at my bedroom TV and it works fine. It probably cannot compete picture quality-wise with the top and mid tier manufacturers but my picture quality is decent enough and the pricing on their tvs is low enough that you don't have to sell a kidney to buy one. It did take me awhile to get the color and tint setting to where my wife was happy with them (she's a BIG Samsung fan) but eventually I did get them set to our liking.

Talked a 'frugal' buddy into getting a Sceptre 1080P model over 5 years ago after his 32" CRT tv died and the Sceptre is his main TV. He hasn't had any problems with that one, either.
theandies likes this.
Frostyboy115 is offline  
post #8 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 02:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 347
If you search for "Industrial 4K Monitor" you can find some non-smart monitors AKA no tuner available.

Be prepared for $TICKER $HOCK" and there won't be any reviews available. The non-SMART TV market is too small to justify the vendors spending R&D, testing and inventory dollars on.

Alternatively you can talk to some A/V specialty houses that do custom installs but again be prepared for "$TICKER $HOCK".
theandies likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #9 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sk373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
I know some will answer "just don't connect it" but that is not an option.
Why is this not an option?

My humble main system:
Vizio M75-E1; Oppo 203 universal UHD player; Denon 4300H AVR, Dual PSA S1801's; Monitor Audio Silver RX-6 mains, RX center, and RX surrounds; one pair NHT mini Atmos speakers; Home-built HTPC (Xeon E1230, 16gb RAM, Crucial M500 480gb SSD, GeForce 980Ti, Corsair CX600, CoolerMaster mini-ITX case); Roku Premiere+; Amazon 4K Fire TV
sk373 is online now  
post #10 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sk373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,523
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 808 Post(s)
Liked: 1150
Anyway, here is a 50" RCA UHD TV with no smart features. Have no idea if it's any good though.
theandies likes this.

My humble main system:
Vizio M75-E1; Oppo 203 universal UHD player; Denon 4300H AVR, Dual PSA S1801's; Monitor Audio Silver RX-6 mains, RX center, and RX surrounds; one pair NHT mini Atmos speakers; Home-built HTPC (Xeon E1230, 16gb RAM, Crucial M500 480gb SSD, GeForce 980Ti, Corsair CX600, CoolerMaster mini-ITX case); Roku Premiere+; Amazon 4K Fire TV
sk373 is online now  
post #11 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theandies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by sk373 View Post
Why is this not an option?

I do not trust any of these companies "privacy policies" and don't even trust them enough that even if I turn WiFi off (if possible in the settings) that how do I really know it's off. My bother has a Alexa device and we were just stitting there talking when all of a sudden Alexa started giving us information on the topic we were talking about even though we never asked Alexa anything. I don't want big corporations in my living room. I'm probably being too paranoid but it's better to be paranoid than have your identity stolen and get ads on your TV. No thank you.

Thanks for the link to the RCA, seems to get good reviews.
theandies is offline  
post #12 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Lol wow. Yeah, you're just really paranoid.


I'd go on craigslist and look for an old Plasma or a big LCD. Problem solved. Save money and no smart features. Look for USED TV's because that's what you need.


If you have WiFi, then you're going against your beliefs. You're on the internet. You probably have a smartphone yeah? Your information is already out there in some way. Just roll with it.



You can get a new TV and not connect it to your internet connection. That is an actual thing and is possible. It can't magically connect to your internet without a password or any kind of verification. Unless you have an open network, which, well, DEFINITELY goes against your beliefs.

Last edited by TwayneP; 10-17-2019 at 03:19 PM.
TwayneP is online now  
post #13 of 45 Old 10-17-2019, 03:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2839 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
I do not trust any of these companies "privacy policies" and don't even trust them enough that even if I turn WiFi off (if possible in the settings) that how do I really know it's off. My bother has a Alexa device and we were just stitting there talking when all of a sudden Alexa started giving us information on the topic we were talking about even though we never asked Alexa anything. I don't want big corporations in my living room. I'm probably being too paranoid but it's better to be paranoid than have your identity stolen and get ads on your TV. No thank you.

Thanks for the link to the RCA, seems to get good reviews.
It doesn't matter if the wifi is enabled or disabled. The TV can't communicate online if it isn't connected to a network. If you do not connect the TV to a network, then there is no way for it to be online. It blows my mind how people are so paranoid, they completely throw common sense logic out the window.
Funciona, osu fan, rlb and 10 others like this.
skschatzman is offline  
post #14 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pilotart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,222
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 663 Post(s)
Liked: 518
@theandies I bought the last Samsung w/o "smart" ability (2013), problem was since it was 'entry level', PQ was unacceptable and I had to return it. My reason for dumb TV was that my Blue-Ray had better 'smarts' than my existing smart Sony. If you intend to 'stream' 4K, source must supply HDMI-2 or you're limited to HD or less.

Once you've given your new TV your WiFi password. it will remember it forever (even across a "Factory" Reset), so an Ethernet connection has an advantage in being able to be disconnected. For WiFi, just establish a "guest-account" for it, that you can easily control or remove at will.
Art
Cheddarhead likes this.
pilotart is online now  
post #15 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
DJR662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 641 Post(s)
Liked: 418
I wish they would still make "dumb" TVs.

I have no use for Netflix, Youtube or any apps on my TV whatsoever. Further more, I don't like to be spied on either. So I just leave my TVs disconnected from the Internet at all times.
DJR662 is online now  
post #16 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotart View Post
@theandies I bought the last Samsung w/o "smart" ability (2013), problem was since it was 'entry level', PQ was unacceptable and I had to return it. My reason for dumb TV was that my Blue-Ray had better 'smarts' than my existing smart Sony. If you intend to 'stream' 4K, source must supply HDMI-2 or you're limited to HD or less.

Once you've given your new TV your WiFi password. it will remember it forever (even across a "Factory" Reset), so an Ethernet connection has an advantage in being able to be disconnected. For WiFi, just establish a "guest-account" for it, that you can easily control or remove at will.
Art
Good call, do a DHCP reservation for the TV on your wi-fi router then configure the firewall to block all outbound traffic for the associated IP address.

Alternatively configure a "guest-network", connect the TV to the guest network and then block the guest network from the Internet.

Multiple ways to prevent a "Smart TV" from accessing the internet.

You just have to be smarter than the average bear or maybe TV. Right Boo-Boo.
pilotart likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #17 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 11:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
acefr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 853
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 532
The only way the TV is able to spy on you and send the data to an evil person is through the internet. If you never put in your wifi password to your TV, you TV is not smart enough to figure out what your password is. If it does not know what your wifi password is, then it cannot connect to the internet and send any traffic outbound even if it "hears" what you say. Just don't connect your TV to wifi, and you will turn your "smart TV" into a "dumb TV".
acefr is offline  
post #18 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 11:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 2,386
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 826 Post(s)
Liked: 1958
"Ask the Editors: What’s the Best Non-Smart 4K UHD TV"

https://www.avsforum.com/ask-editors...art-4k-uhd-tv/

Matt2026, Funciona, MRAYB and 1 others like this.

Panasonic TC65CX850U Yamaha RX-V1079 Technics SU-V650 Panasonic DMP-UB900 Sony UBP-X800 Polk Audio SDA-2B

"I watch a lot of movies, I know what I'm doing." - Daniel Lugo
Panson is offline  
post #19 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 03:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Here is a little history on smart TVs. The price of HD TVs was dropping like crazy and the manufacturers were wondering what they could do to increase the price of the TVs. A light bulb went off why dont we just throw some unnecessary apps on it and call it smart that is a cool buzz word that could justify a price increase and the smart TV era was born.
Matt2026 likes this.
picturequality is offline  
post #20 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 04:39 PM
Newbie
 
jadams2484's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
I do not trust any of these companies "privacy policies" and don't even trust them enough that even if I turn WiFi off (if possible in the settings) that how do I really know it's off.

1. Put your wifi in WPA2 mode with a password
2. Never enter the password so it cannot connect


I have one of the VIZIO TVs that was infamous for leaking information years ago. I've never connected it to the internet and my router has never recorded a transmission from the TV's MAC address in the several years I've had it.


Hope this helps
jadams2484 is offline  
post #21 of 45 Old 10-18-2019, 04:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
MRAYB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: Miami County, Ohio
Posts: 616
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 281 Post(s)
Liked: 599
I would be more worried about browsing the Internet and participating in forums. Oh wait. That is what you are doing now.
pilotart, Funciona and Matt2026 like this.
MRAYB is online now  
post #22 of 45 Old 10-21-2019, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
theandies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Wow, I just wanted some honest answers and not get flamed because I don't like being spied on. I guess I'll take my question elsewhere since all the "experts" here think I'm crazy for asking.
theandies is offline  
post #23 of 45 Old 10-21-2019, 03:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
skschatzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3,750
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2839 Post(s)
Liked: 1656
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
Wow, I just wanted some honest answers and not get flamed because I don't like being spied on. I guess I'll take my question elsewhere since all the "experts" here think I'm crazy for asking.
The issue is paranoia and contradiction over something you don't have a full grasp with.

You are worried about your TV spying on you, but not worried about external devices connected to the TV that are connected to the internet. Even posting in an online forum requires an internet connection from a device that could potentially spy on you. A hypocritical double standard. Even watching cable or Satellite TV is tracked by the service provider. I don't understand the logic that the TV is your only concern. If you really are that paranoid about it, then your only option is physical media.

You are looking for a quality TV around $1000 that doesn't have smart functionality. They just simply do not exist. The TVs that do not have smart functionality are not very impressive spec wise compared to the smart capable ones.

Asking for advice in an open forum and claiming that anyone who shares a different point of view than you is just there to flame you. Where is the logic in that?
osu fan, THX1720, Funciona and 2 others like this.

Last edited by skschatzman; 10-21-2019 at 03:18 PM.
skschatzman is offline  
post #24 of 45 Old 10-21-2019, 06:39 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 27,722
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2214 Post(s)
Liked: 1461
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
Wow, I just wanted some honest answers and not get flamed because I don't like being spied on. I guess I'll take my question elsewhere since all the "experts" here think I'm crazy for asking.
You got honest and logical answers. You just don't like what you're being told.
THX1720, Funciona and vkamicht like this.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #25 of 45 Old 10-21-2019, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
Wow, I just wanted some honest answers and not get flamed because I don't like being spied on. I guess I'll take my question elsewhere since all the "experts" here think I'm crazy for asking.
Yes, you got flamed a bit BUT you also got some honest and helpful answers. We can't help it that you don't like the answers.
THX1720 likes this.

Current system:
Sony 75X900e/Sony STR-DN-1080, CS-3/CS-8/CS5
Sony X800 4K blu-ray player/Dish Hopper3
Roku 4 Premier/Sony PS-4
Cheddarhead is online now  
post #26 of 45 Old 10-23-2019, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
if you dont want the TV do be smart, just dont buy a TV. look out for displays instead, because all TVs now are smart


f.e. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07SY4KBCM...11&s=pc&sr=1-8
OberLui is offline  
post #27 of 45 Old 10-24-2019, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 9
No "good" non-smart TVs out there...I don't believe there are any HDR non smart TVs either (not quite sure about 4k, only non smart I see is 1080p)...I haven't seen any non smart over 50 inches either (now that I think about it, I believe there is a 55 inch 1080p Insignia)...these are okay-ish TVs that are okay for people who don't really care about video quality to any great degree...I would buy a smart TV and disable smart features from the start (say no to all agreements)...try it for a few days (within return period) to make sure it doesn't connect anyway


Other option is a display as stated above or you could just go for size and get a projector (if you can deal with projector management issues)


I understand why you just don't want yet another device spying on you regardless of you surfing the internet
movingonup is offline  
post #28 of 45 Old 10-24-2019, 06:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Central
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 468
There are a lot of people in this thread who need to learn some basics about technology.


No device can connect to the internet unless:


A: You plug in an ethernet cable
B: You explicitly give it your Wifi password
C: It has a cellular connection (unheard of on a TV, and someone has to pay for it and activate it)


If you don't do any of these then you can keep the tinfoil hats off.
THX1720 and Funciona like this.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #29 of 45 Old 10-24-2019, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
There are a lot of people in this thread who need to learn some basics about technology.


No device can connect to the internet unless:


A: You plug in an ethernet cable
B: You explicitly give it your Wifi password
C: It has a cellular connection (unheard of on a TV, and someone has to pay for it and activate it)


If you don't do any of these then you can keep the tinfoil hats off.
True...I have had it reconnect after turning wifi off but I forgot I initially gave it the password
movingonup is offline  
post #30 of 45 Old 10-24-2019, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: College Station, Texas
Posts: 2,220
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1062 Post(s)
Liked: 596
Quote:
Originally Posted by theandies View Post
My 42 inch Panasonic Plasma is starting to fail so I'm in the market for a new TV. Damn I wish plasma's were still made.......anyway looking at my options it seems that I cannot buy a panel without "smart" features. I don't want any of that Alexa crap or even connect to the internet. I know some will answer "just don't connect it" but that is not an option. All I want it to connect my devices to the panel and use them. There had to be a panel out there like this. I'm looking for a good NON-SMART 4k HDR panel for $1000 or under.
Thanks
As others have said your really looking for something that doesn't really exist anymore. You could look for a large format 4k computer monitor. Unfortunately your being a bit overly paranoid, if you don't connect it to the internet it's impossible for them to collect and info on you, but thats not enough apparently. If you can find one, like that RCA someone linked to, your going to end up with a picture that is HOT GARBAGE, and coming from that Panasonic Plasma you will NOT be happy. You could look here but your limited to a max size of 43" https://www.newegg.com/p/pl?N=100160...87%20601318856 Personally I say suck it up buttercup and get a smart tv and just don't set it up. Even if you don't get one now you won't have a choice soon enough anyway.
liffie420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off