Acer Predator CG437KP Reviews - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 Old 12-04-2019, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Acer Predator CG437KP Reviews

This looks like it's the only monitor that checks all of the boxes (well, almost all - no HDMI 2.1). I can't find any reviews online so I thought I would start here. Anybody own this? Anybody have any thoughts on the specs? $1500 seems a little on the cheap end. I would use this monitor exclusively for gaming (Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Switch and PC). Thank you!
DanielPlainv1ew is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 56 Old 12-04-2019, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 4,430
Mentioned: 42 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1290 Post(s)
Liked: 1370
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielPlainv1ew View Post
This looks like it's the only monitor that checks all of the boxes (well, almost all - no HDMI 2.1). I can't find any reviews online so I thought I would start here. Anybody own this? Anybody have any thoughts on the specs? $1500 seems a little on the cheap end. I would use this monitor exclusively for gaming (Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Switch and PC). Thank you!
This really should be in the HTPC/Gaming area, as this section is primarily for Home Theater LCD displays. Mods??

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #3 of 56 Old 12-05-2019, 01:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Smile

I ordered the CG437KP on Monday and it should be delivered today. After the disappointing ASUS XG438q, i hope this will be the right monitor for me
Shelby78 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 56 Old 12-05-2019, 01:33 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
The monitor is here. Made some pictures of the box. Had to turn it open upside down to get the covered monitor outside - not very good to handle like it is mentioned on the pictures at the box. The CG437K comes with many cables. 2x displayport, 1x USB-C to USB-C, 1x USB-toPC, 2x Powercords (1xUK / 1xEU), 4x LED-Stripes (2x short / 2x long), 4x LED-Connectcable, a quick-guide and warranty-papers. And a very handy remote (but with no battery... for this price.. yeah, cool..). With the remote i can easy adjust the monitor settings. No fumbling with the little joystick - but also with that, the settings are made quickly and easy. I demounted the foot and put it on the wall - there are VESA mounting holes (last picture).



I run it with a i7 8700K, 32GB RAM and GTX 1080 TI via one displayport cable at 120 Hz. Turned HDR on, which let me then only adjust the brightness. And this monitor shines like the sun - i set it for now at 42 brightness and super sharpness off. HDR fixes the other settings (contrast at 50 / black boost at 5 / blue light off / ACM off / Light Sensor off).



Text looks at scaling 125-150% very sharp. Tested till now only GTA V - had to turn some graphic settings lower. I´ve seen no issues i´ve had with the Asus XG438Q (smearing in dark scenes).
Colors looking good for me. Not oversaturated and pretty natural. But i am not a graphic designer..



Will test more games and movies.


But yeah, could be the monitor i´ve been waiting for Will use it for movies and for PC and PS4 gaming.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_165600.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	2.29 MB
ID:	2649888   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_165610.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	2.78 MB
ID:	2649890   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_165632.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	2.34 MB
ID:	2649892   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_165653.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	3.27 MB
ID:	2649896   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_165725.jpg
Views:	105
Size:	2.19 MB
ID:	2649900  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_170301.jpg
Views:	128
Size:	2.38 MB
ID:	2649902   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191205_171205.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	3.57 MB
ID:	2649906  
Shelby78 is offline  
post #5 of 56 Old 12-05-2019, 02:42 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
The monitor is here. Made some pictures of the box. Had to turn it open upside down to get the covered monitor outside - not very good to handle like it is mentioned on the pictures at the box. The CG437K comes with many cables. 2x displayport, 1x USB-C to USB-C, 1x USB-toPC, 2x Powercords (1xUK / 1xEU), 4x LED-Stripes (2x short / 2x long), 4x LED-Connectcable, a quick-guide and warranty-papers. And a very handy remote (but with no battery... for this price.. yeah, cool..). With the remote i can easy adjust the monitor settings. No fumbling with the little joystick - but also with that, the settings are made quickly and easy. I demounted the foot and put it on the wall - there are VESA mounting holes (last picture).



I run it with a i7 8700K, 32GB RAM and GTX 1080 TI via one displayport cable at 120 Hz. Turned HDR on, which let me then only adjust the brightness. And this monitor shines like the sun - i set it for now at 42 brightness and super sharpness off. HDR fixes the other settings (contrast at 50 / black boost at 5 / blue light off / ACM off / Light Sensor off).



Text looks at scaling 125-150% very sharp. Tested till now only GTA V - had to turn some graphic settings lower. I´ve seen no issues i´ve had with the Asus XG438Q (smearing in dark scenes).
Colors looking good for me. Not oversaturated and pretty natural. But i am not a graphic designer..



Will test more games and movies.


But yeah, could be the monitor i´ve been waiting for Will use it for movies and for PC and PS4 gaming.
Thank you so much for the info and please keep me posted as you continue trying it out with other content. Does it feel pretty responsive?
Shelby78 likes this.
DanielPlainv1ew is offline  
post #6 of 56 Old 12-05-2019, 03:21 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielPlainv1ew View Post
Thank you so much for the info and please keep me posted as you continue trying it out with other content. Does it feel pretty responsive?

Yes, it feels very responsive. Tested also PUBG at 4K. Fps at 80-90 with my graphic settings. In turning movement or sidesteps, i see for example at buildings with buttress some stair flutter (dunno how to call this in english). With v-sync on the graphics are smoother.



But i can´t change the monitor overdrive settings. It´s greyed out and i cannot change it. Turned also HDR off and other settings, but i never can change overdrive. It is fixed on normal. Must be a way to touch that - and then for sure the stair flutter will change. Maybe i contact the Acer support.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #7 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Overdrive is automatically set to Normal if Adaptive Sync is On. So, no change possible if someone will use Adaptive Sync. Thats bad, cause thats one thing which was possible with the Asus XG438Q - but which helps not at all.

So maybe Freesync or Adaptive Sync is the problem, which causes that Acer could not let users change Overdrive? Will ask Acer.

Cause GTA V looks pretty good and i didnt recognize any issues like the stair flickering on some objects in PUBG (maybe its just PUBG itself, which performs not so well), i will keep the monitor for now. Of course will do furthermore testing in my usual daily usage.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #8 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
Overdrive is automatically set to Normal if Adaptive Sync is On. So, no change possible if someone will use Adaptive Sync. Thats bad, cause thats one thing which was possible with the Asus XG438Q - but which helps not at all.

So maybe Freesync or Adaptive Sync is the problem, which causes that Acer could not let users change Overdrive? Will ask Acer.

Cause GTA V looks pretty good and i didnt recognize any issues like the stair flickering on some objects in PUBG (maybe its just PUBG itself, which performs not so well), i will keep the monitor for now. Of course will do furthermore testing in my usual daily usage.
Do you own a Xbox One X? I'm curious to see how 4k 60hz compares to 120hz 1080p on this monitor.
DanielPlainv1ew is offline  
post #9 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:23 PM
Senior Member
 
improwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Mine should be here tomorrow, especially interested in how it will handle text at 100% as I intend to use it for productivity as well. BGR has me a bit worried, if it can't handle text well it will most likely go back...
improwise is offline  
post #10 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Great Basin
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
With v-sync on the graphics are smoother.
Have you tried G-Sync or Freesync?
NTTD is offline  
post #11 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielPlainv1ew View Post
Do you own a Xbox One X? I'm curious to see how 4k 60hz compares to 120hz 1080p on this monitor.
Yes, but it's in the living room connected to my tv. I haven't played much with it. Maybe I can try it out.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #12 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by improwise View Post
Mine should be here tomorrow, especially interested in how it will handle text at 100% as I intend to use it for productivity as well. BGR has me a bit worried, if it can't handle text well it will most likely go back...
For me at 100% it looks a little bit less sharper. But so much better than on the Asus BGR display.
In some software or websites the text looks sharp, and at some others it looks greyish and less sharp.
It depends on the text which is used in the software you use for your work.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #13 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
improwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
For me at 100% it looks a little bit less sharper. But so much better than on the Asus BGR display.
In some software or websites the text looks sharp, and at some others it looks greyish and less sharp.
It depends on the text which is used in the software you use for your work.

Thats worrying, especially considering that 43" makes text a bit blocky regardless. Have you tried switching Windows (assuming you use that) to BGR mode?
improwise is offline  
post #14 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTTD View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
With v-sync on the graphics are smoother.
Have you tried G-Sync or Freesync?
The monitor runs only adaptive sync.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #15 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 02:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by improwise View Post
Thats worrying, especially considering that 43" makes text a bit blocky regardless. Have you tried switching Windows (assuming you use that) to BGR mode?
I can try it out on Sunday. Then I will be back home. But why should I switch it to BGR?
Shelby78 is offline  
post #16 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 03:03 PM
Senior Member
 
improwise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
The monitor runs only adaptive sync.

It has FreeSync and is GSync compatible.
improwise is offline  
post #17 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 03:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Great Basin
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
The monitor runs only adaptive sync.
You said V-sync made the graphics better.

FreeSync and G-Sync ARE adaptive sync.
While V-sync is not adaptive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by improwise View Post
It has FreeSync and is GSync compatible.
Correct this monitor is listed as compatible with both.
NTTD is offline  
post #18 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 03:19 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by improwise View Post
It has FreeSync and is GSync compatible.
Sorry, that's what I mean. Adaptive Sync is so to say the advanced FreeSync. And it works with Nvidia graphic cards.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #19 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 03:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTTD View Post
You said V-sync made the graphics better.

FreeSync and G-Sync ARE adaptive sync.
While V-sync is not adaptive.

Quote:
Originally Posted by improwise View Post
It has FreeSync and is GSync compatible.
Correct this monitor is listed as compatible with both.
Misunderstanding. I mean, I set V-sync On in the graphic settings of the game PUBG.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #20 of 56 Old 12-06-2019, 03:38 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: The Great Basin
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shelby78 View Post
Misunderstanding. I mean, I set V-sync On in the graphic settings of the game PUBG.
That's what I figured you meant.
Since you had mentioned that, I wondered if you tested Freesync or G-Sync performance.

It's my understanding that you want to turn off V-sync when using adaptive sync.

Last edited by NTTD; 12-06-2019 at 03:43 PM.
NTTD is offline  
post #21 of 56 Old 12-07-2019, 02:44 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by NTTD View Post
That's what I figured you meant.
Since you had mentioned that, I wondered if you tested Freesync or G-Sync performance.

It's my understanding that you want to turn off V-sync when using adaptive sync.
Yeah, but I changed a lot in the graphic settings of the game and sometimes it can help to turn on V-sync.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #22 of 56 Old 12-07-2019, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
RedHarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like I have found my PS5 monitor.
Can you run a dimming zone test video to verify the amount of dimming zones??


Still waiting for CES2020 neverless.
I would also appreciate a front picture. Dankeschön.😉

Last edited by RedHarlow; 12-07-2019 at 11:07 AM.
RedHarlow is offline  
post #23 of 56 Old 12-08-2019, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
@RedHarlow : I think i can do that have to find a software or how i can run the test.

Front picture follows! Bitte schön
Shelby78 is offline  
post #24 of 56 Old 12-08-2019, 11:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
And surprise, the monitor has a BGR subpixel layout. I was wrong, cause the text looked so much better. Made a macro photo with my Huawei P30.

Also made two screenshots at 125% scaling. First with Windows ClearType activated. Second with Windows ClearType deactivated.
Did they improved the display or software so much? With the regular Windows settings it looks pretty good at 125% scaling.

And at least a screenshot with 100% scaling ClearType on and off.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SubpixelBGR.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	2651066   Click image for larger version

Name:	TextSampleClearTypeOn.JPG
Views:	135
Size:	60.0 KB
ID:	2651068   Click image for larger version

Name:	TextSampleClearTypeOff.JPG
Views:	123
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	2651070   Click image for larger version

Name:	TextSample100%ClearTypeOn.JPG
Views:	118
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	2651072   Click image for larger version

Name:	TextSample100%ClearTypeOff.JPG
Views:	109
Size:	41.6 KB
ID:	2651074  


Last edited by Shelby78; 12-08-2019 at 12:01 PM.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #25 of 56 Old 12-08-2019, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
RedHarlow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@ Shelby

Here is a video for the dimming zones.

RedHarlow is offline  
post #26 of 56 Old 12-08-2019, 12:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHarlow View Post
@ Shelby

Here is a video for the dimming zones.
Thanks, i also found one from rtings. But i can´t make a useable video to show how it performs. The picture gets always to bright and there is no detail. But i can say, there is very much less glow around the white dots.

How much dimming zones does he have? I can´t find any infos.
Shelby78 is offline  
post #27 of 56 Old 12-09-2019, 07:06 AM
Member
 
kallek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
How does it work with 4k 144 hz? Do you need to use 2 displayport cables or does it use one cable with compression? If it uses two cables, does it work with HDR and gsync?
kallek is offline  
post #28 of 56 Old 12-09-2019, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallek View Post
How does it work with 4k 144 hz? Do you need to use 2 displayport cables or does it use one cable with compression? If it uses two cables, does it work with HDR and gsync?
Yes, for 4K with 144 Hz you need two displayport cables. Also you have to change the monitor settings to get the overclocked 144 Hz (System -> 4K-144Hz Mode: On).
In that case the manual says:

DP1 + DP2: AMD Gfx card can support max Timing resolution (3840x2160-144Hz), Not Support (AdaptiveSync & HDR).

I also attached the manual for you all.

Attached Files
File Type: pdf User Manual_Acer_1.0_A_A_English_.pdf (953.2 KB, 50 views)
Shelby78 is offline  
post #29 of 56 Old 12-09-2019, 12:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedHarlow View Post
I would also appreciate a front picture. Dankeschön.😉
As ordered ;-) That suits?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191209_200746.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	577.5 KB
ID:	2651656  
Shelby78 is offline  
post #30 of 56 Old 12-09-2019, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
@shelby Thanks for info, i just registered on forum to thank You

I want to buy it but im not sure. Could You say more about it?
1. What's the blacks?
2. Is there a ghosting?
3. What about motion blur?
Anno Nymus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off