2020 Samsung Q90T Owners Thread - No Price Talk - Page 45 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 364Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1321 of 1535 Old 06-29-2020, 06:07 PM
Member
 
Dan Daigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by esk1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
Oh its probably because I have the Xbox going through the AV receiver. Good to know if I plug it in directly it will automatically do it.


All the Denons over the last few years got ALLM updates but not all brands. This is working With my 730h on all three consoles. Obviously a hdmi 2.1 receiver will have it when those exist.
Cool. I currently have a sony dn1080. Bought it 3 months ago.... Just before Denon announced their new receivers with 2.1 hdmi, HDR10+, and handling 4k/120kHz gaming with VRR, QFT, QMS, and ALLM. I have a feeling ill be selling my receiver soon for the new Denon.
Dan Daigle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1322 of 1535 Old 06-29-2020, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys, my first post on the forum. I'm a noob buying my first TV on my own.
I'm still considering between this and CX. I'm looking for a TV dedicated for next gen Xbox Series X, netflix and anime.
I play lots of RPG with static HUD so I'm afraid of burn-in.

Here are some questions, please help me.

1) Although the ghosting is fixed, are there still any issues especially when gaming with game mode on? Heard that the screen automatically get dimmer...

2) The Xbox Series X does not have optical port but my 5.1 sound system only has opitical. If I connect it directly to Q95T via opitical port, is there any audio delay? I only want dolby digital 5.1.

3) Any recommended settings for gaming and netflix/anime?

Much appreciated!
Quý Trọng is offline  
post #1323 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 09:13 AM
Member
 
Stany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Here's how to enter the debug menu on the Q90T (use a virtual remote with your smartphone if you only have a smart remote)

With TV on, press MUTE+1+1+9+ENTER+1+2+3+4
Stany is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1324 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 10:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stany View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJPapi1977 View Post
Here's how to enter the debug menu on the Q90T (use a virtual remote with your smartphone if you only have a smart remote)

With TV on, press MUTE+1+1+9+ENTER+1+2+3+4
Sadly this doesn't work, the 0000 on the advanced option will not bring up the menu you need.
aschmitty6 is offline  
post #1325 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 11:39 AM
Member
 
grassright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: US
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Anyway to tell whether the tv is showing SDR or HDR (HDR10+) content? Is there any on-screen indicator?
grassright is online now  
post #1326 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 26,442
Mentioned: 92 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7652 Post(s)
Liked: 7714
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
EARC is not broken dolby atmos works flawlessly with my Sony AVR 5.1 system. Never had audio drop out with hard disk or stream. The only issues I've seen on this forum is with sound bars but haven't heard a thing about people having this issue with AV receivers.
In the receiver part of the forum, I have heard of a few complaints but not many.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #1327 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 11:45 AM
Member
 
Dan Daigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by grassright View Post
Anyway to tell whether the tv is showing SDR or HDR (HDR10+) content? Is there any on-screen indicator?
Yes. When playing content go to settings and you will see your picture mode quick setting. If you're playing HDR or HDR 10 plus it will show there.
Dan Daigle is offline  
post #1328 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The game mode dimming issue is now being reported across the board for the following TVs: Q80T, Q90T, Q95T, and Q800T. This is clearly a software bug as it’s happening on 3 different panels. If you have the issue with game motion turned off, please head over to the official Samsung forum thread and drop a comment.
FlattyLCDees is online now  
post #1329 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 12:53 PM
Member
 
Stany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Prime Video app has suddenly stopped working. Any idea?
Stany is offline  
post #1330 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 01:12 PM
Member
 
Dan Daigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stany View Post
Prime Video app has suddenly stopped working. Any idea?
Works for me but I use to have issues with that app on the tv. It would take me a few tries to get it going. Since the last update I haven't had any issues so far. Does the app load but can't play anything? That's what was happening with me.
Dan Daigle is offline  
post #1331 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 01:53 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I have a liitle problem with subtitles On HDR content.

If I watch a movies in HDR without subtitles, the picture is clear and I don't have any problems.

But the problem is appear when I turn on the subtitles in HDR content. When the subtitles appears on the screen, the whole picture is dimming, and when the subtitles has gone, everything back to normal.

Can somebody have the same problem?
I don't recognise it when watching a SDR content...
Sławek Slaviola is offline  
post #1332 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 01:56 PM
Member
 
Stany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
Works for me but I use to have issues with that app on the tv. It would take me a few tries to get it going. Since the last update I haven't had any issues so far. Does the app load but can't play anything? That's what was happening with me.
No it doesn't open, weird.
Stany is offline  
post #1333 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 02:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SÅ‚awek Slaviola View Post
I have a liitle problem with subtitles On HDR content.

If I watch a movies in HDR without subtitles, the picture is clear and I don't have any problems.

But the problem is appear when I turn on the subtitles in HDR content. When the subtitles appears on the screen, the whole picture is dimming, and when the subtitles has gone, everything back to normal.

Can somebody have the same problem?
I don't recognise it when watching a SDR content...
Set your local dimming to low.
aschmitty6 is offline  
post #1334 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 02:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by aschmitty6 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SÅ‚awek Slaviola View Post
I have a liitle problem with subtitles On HDR content.

If I watch a movies in HDR without subtitles, the picture is clear and I don't have any problems.

But the problem is appear when I turn on the subtitles in HDR content. When the subtitles appears on the screen, the whole picture is dimming, and when the subtitles has gone, everything back to normal.

Can somebody have the same problem?
I don't recognise it when watching a SDR content...
Set your local dimming to low.
Local dimming should not be on low for HDR content. If you have to do that just to get around a dimming issue with subtitles, something is wrong on the algorithm side.
FlattyLCDees is online now  
post #1335 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlattyLCDees View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by aschmitty6 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by SÅ‚awek Slaviola View Post
I have a liitle problem with subtitles On HDR content.

If I watch a movies in HDR without subtitles, the picture is clear and I don't have any problems.

But the problem is appear when I turn on the subtitles in HDR content. When the subtitles appears on the screen, the whole picture is dimming, and when the subtitles has gone, everything back to normal.

Can somebody have the same problem?
I don't recognise it when watching a SDR content...
Set your local dimming to low.
Local dimming should not be on low for HDR content. If you have to do that just to get around a dimming issue with subtitles, something is wrong on the algorithm side.
Local dimming on low won't affect how HDR is utilized. If that darkens the picture, contrast can be set to high along with shadow detail and the gamma.
aschmitty6 is offline  
post #1336 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 04:10 PM
Member
 
Dan Daigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stany View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
Works for me but I use to have issues with that app on the tv. It would take me a few tries to get it going. Since the last update I haven't had any issues so far. Does the app load but can't play anything? That's what was happening with me.
No it doesn't open, weird.
Damn! It was fine last night and now it's not working! What did you do?? 😂
venus933 likes this.
Dan Daigle is offline  
post #1337 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 04:18 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 23
^go to apps and reinstall!
FlattyLCDees is online now  
post #1338 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Dan Daigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlattyLCDees View Post
^go to apps and reinstall!
That did the job! Thanks!
Dan Daigle is offline  
post #1339 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 04:55 PM
Member
 
Stany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
Damn! It was fine last night and now it's not working! What did you do?? 😂
I had to factory reset the TV, I'm not sure what happened but has started to behave really strangely. I saved the picture settings before the reset and now it seems everything is working fine.

Quick question, is there a way to delete pre-installed apps? As someone suggested, I tried to find a way to delete Prime Video, but I just can't delete it.
Stany is offline  
post #1340 of 1535 Old 06-30-2020, 06:19 PM
Member
 
Dan Daigle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 101 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stany View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
Damn! It was fine last night and now it's not working! What did you do?? 😂
I had to factory reset the TV, I'm not sure what happened but has started to behave really strangely. I saved the picture settings before the reset and now it seems everything is working fine.

Quick question, is there a way to delete pre-installed apps? As someone suggested, I tried to find a way to delete Prime Video, but I just can't delete it.
You have to go to apps and search for the app you're looking for. Then click on it but hold the click until the window opens and the option to reinstall is there. Click on reinstall and all is good.
Dan Daigle is offline  
post #1341 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 02:10 AM
Member
 
Stany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Italy
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Daigle View Post
You have to go to apps and search for the app you're looking for. Then click on it but hold the click until the window opens and the option to reinstall is there. Click on reinstall and all is good.
Thank you!
Stany is offline  
post #1342 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 04:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Does anyone know how many dimming zones the 85” Q90t has pls?
Zooiez123 is offline  
post #1343 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 05:58 AM
Member
 
funky_drummer20's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by grassright View Post
Anyway to tell whether the tv is showing SDR or HDR (HDR10+) content? Is there any on-screen indicator?
if you press on the home screen and navigate to the picture settings you'll see the hdr10+ logo next to your chosen picture mode
funky_drummer20 is offline  
post #1344 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 06:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
denpom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,906
Mentioned: 28 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1419 Post(s)
Liked: 1239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stany View Post
Quick question, is there a way to delete pre-installed apps? As someone suggested, I tried to find a way to delete Prime Video, but I just can't delete it.
default preinstalled apps (chosen by Samsung) can't be uninstalled.
denpom is offline  
post #1345 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 08:40 AM
Member
 
esk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Vincent just posted his Q95T vs CX video, Nothing too surprising here.

esk1 is online now  
post #1346 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 09:18 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Are you guys using DCI-P3 or BT.2020 color gamut for your HDR/SDR games? Using the DCI with the rtings settings looks a little washed out, although they say it's the most accurate...
aschmitty6 is offline  
post #1347 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 10:15 AM
Member
 
esk1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by aschmitty6 View Post
Are you guys using DCI-P3 or BT.2020 color gamut for your HDR/SDR games? Using the DCI with the rtings settings looks a little washed out, although they say it's the most accurate...


I mentioned this awhile back, but I had to use 1886 and turn it down to -2 or -3. Unfortunately it doesn’t seem like you can use a separate gamma for sdr vs sdr game mode so I had to adjust my base sdr gamma according instead of using 2.2 which was unfortunate.
esk1 is online now  
post #1348 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 02:50 PM
Member
 
GWilling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zooiez123 View Post
Does anyone know how many dimming zones the 85” Q90t has pls?
15 across and 12 down. A total of 180.
GWilling is offline  
post #1349 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NJPapi1977's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,038
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 114
Very disappointing that this tv is only 8 bit with dithering to reach 10bit.... I am liking a lot about the tv but if this is the high end 4k samsung set why would they include an hdmi 2.1 input and give us an 8 bit panel....
NJPapi1977 is offline  
post #1350 of 1535 Old 07-01-2020, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 61
85” owners, is the picture fantastic at 85”?
Zooiez123 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off