To the people who achieved 4k@120hz - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 05-19-2020, 02:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To the people who achieved [email protected]

What HDMI cable did you use?

Brand / series / and Link will be awesome.

I tried several HDMI cables stated as 48gbps capable but the Only available resolutions that are showing on my PC are
1440p 120hz / (no 4k at all in the PC resolutions) / 8k at 30hz, Tried with the latest Nvidia drivers and with older one as well, running on Windows 10 1909 build.
My TV is Samsung Q800T
RouDeR is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 05-19-2020, 02:39 PM
Member
 
panfist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
edit: nevermind, my quest was actually limited to [email protected] 4:4:4 chroma. I never tested [email protected] Good luck with 120hz...



I needed something 12' long minimum. I needed a long cable to be able to hide my AVR in a good spot and keep the area around the TV clean. I got [email protected] full 4:4:4 chroma from this cable at 35'. https://celeritytek.com/



I started buying a bunch of 12' cables that were rated for 48gbps from monoprice. They all failed and I exchanged them from the top of the line cables from monoprice. Those also failed. Then I went and bought 4 of the higest rated cables from amazon. All of those failed.



I actually brought my PC into best buy and challenged them to sell me any cable that could do [email protected] at 12' or longer, we opened probably 6 cables, including some trash they sell for $300, all of them failed.


Celeritytek was the only thing I could get to work.

Last edited by panfist; 05-19-2020 at 04:12 PM.
panfist is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 05-19-2020, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by panfist View Post
I needed something 12' long minimum. I needed a long cable to be able to hide my AVR in a good spot and keep the area around the TV clean. I got [email protected] from this cable at 35'. https://celeritytek.com/



I started buying a bunch of 12' cables that were rated for 48gbps from monoprice. They all failed and I exchanged them from the top of the line cables from monoprice. Those also failed. Then I went and bought 4 of the higest rated cables from amazon. All of those failed.



I actually brought my PC into best buy and challenged them to sell me any cable that could do [email protected] at 12' or longer, we opened probably 6 cables, including some trash they sell for $300, all of them failed.


Celeritytek was the only thing I could get to work.
Ah it is a fiber, can you explain me what 12' and 35' mean ?
RouDeR is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 Old 05-19-2020, 03:00 PM
Senior Member
 
DannyW75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 293
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Quote:
Originally Posted by RouDeR View Post
What HDMI cable did you use?

Brand / series / and Link will be awesome.

I tried several HDMI cables stated as 48gbps capable but the Only available resolutions that are showing on my PC are
1440p 120hz / (no 4k at all in the PC resolutions) / 8k at 30hz, Tried with the latest Nvidia drivers and with older one as well, running on Windows 10 1909 build.
My TV is Samsung Q800T

No graphics card currently supports HDMI 2.1 or 4K/120Hz. Brand new video cards from AMD and Nvidia will be coming out this year, which will have HDMI 2.1 ports and DisplayPort 2.0. This cable at Amazon is a true HDMI 2.1 cable. It is offered in several lengths.



https://www.amazon.com/48Gbps-Compat...925366&sr=8-10
DannyW75 is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 05-19-2020, 04:13 PM
Member
 
panfist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by RouDeR View Post
Ah it is a fiber, can you explain me what 12' and 35' mean ?

That's a short notation for feet. 12' == 12 feet == 3.7 meters
panfist is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 05-19-2020, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 655 Post(s)
Liked: 426
I am currently using a 10m Ruipro fiber HDMI 2.1 cable to get 4K/120 on my Q90R.

82Q90R / Denon X6400H / Polk Audio LSI 7.1.4 / Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BluRay / Xbox One X / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch / Custom Gaming PC / Custom VR PC / HTC Vive Pro HMD (Wireless)
Nillaz is online now  
post #7 of 18 Old 05-20-2020, 12:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nillaz View Post
I am currently using a 10m Ruipro fiber HDMI 2.1 cable to get 4K/120 on my Q90R.
Sadly no seller in Amazon is shipping this cable to Bulgaria and on eBay shipping is 195$ which is outrageous.

Last edited by RouDeR; 05-20-2020 at 01:13 AM.
RouDeR is online now  
post #8 of 18 Old 05-20-2020, 09:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
VisionxOrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Liked: 270
No one is going to achieve it yet as computers do not have the HDMI 2.1 that can do 4k120, the cable you have might work completely fine at that resolution, but your going to have to wait later in the year for the new GPUs to drop or for the DP1.4 to HDMI 2.1 adapter to be released.

2000 watts of power and climbing

-Fred
VisionxOrb is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 05-20-2020, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Warning! <Rant>

New consoles and TV's will have HDMI 2.1 but will not be powerful enough to do 4k/120. Especially with word that the new Assassins Creed will still be 30 f^cking fps on Series X and PS5. No AVR's will have HDMI 2.1 and there's no evidence to suggest AMD or Nvidia will either. There's always one thing that gamers desperately need to satisfy their bleeding edge obsessions but manufacturers always remain a few steps behind and make people wait for what seems like an eternity to get. Display Port on TV's would have solved all these problems years ago but nope. One day TV makers just up and abandoned flexible display connections. Around the same time they decided to place speakers in the back to force people to spend more money on soundbars. I remember having a Mitsubishi Diamond 85" 1080i rear projection TV back in the early 2000's and it offered VGA, DVI and Firewire connections. Those were the days...

Until Nvidia or AMD open up about their plans I have no hope they will provide HDMI 2.1 this year. Seems silly for TV makers to support massive resolutions and frame rates just to have the source of the content be bottle-necked. Opposite of how things use to be. But I did pre-wire long lengths of Fiber HDMI cables that are supposedly 8K ready for the day we can actually have all our devices on the same page.

Last edited by wookiegr; 05-20-2020 at 09:44 AM.
wookiegr is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 05-21-2020, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
@panfist

On what bits did you mange to do [email protected] 4:4:4

My HDMI cable is doing it on 8bit
RouDeR is online now  
post #11 of 18 Old 05-21-2020, 09:23 AM
Member
 
panfist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 23
8bit.
panfist is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 05-21-2020, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Europa
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 710 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by RouDeR View Post
What HDMI cable did you use?

Brand / series / and Link will be awesome.

I tried several HDMI cables stated as 48gbps capable but the Only available resolutions that are showing on my PC are
1440p 120hz / (no 4k at all in the PC resolutions) / 8k at 30hz, Tried with the latest Nvidia drivers and with older one as well, running on Windows 10 1909 build.
My TV is Samsung Q800T

Currently [email protected] is only possible at 4:2:0 SDR because this is within the 18Gbps bandwidth of HDMI 2.0. So all you need is a "Certified Premium" (HDMI 2.0) cable. I use these.

You might have to create a custom resolution on your PC to get it to work. Also be sure you are connected directly from the PC to TV and not thru an AVR or soundbar.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 05-21-2020, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryantc View Post
Currently [email protected] is only possible at 4:2:0 SDR because this is within the 18Gbps bandwidth of HDMI 2.0. So all you need is a "Certified Premium" (HDMI 2.0) cable. I use these.

You might have to create a custom resolution on your PC to get it to work. Also be sure you are connected directly from the PC to TV and not thru an AVR or soundbar.
I tried everything with my GTX 1080ti
I use certified HDMI 2.1 full 48gbps

Even on 4:2:0 I cannot pass [email protected], but I have no problems with [email protected] 4:4:4 or [email protected] at 4:2:0

Seems like some samsung software limitation on my new Q800T.

Basically I cannot even get 61hz on 4k
And I can't achieve 120hz at anything above 1440p, tried with many resolutions between 1440p and 2160p in all of them the picture becomes black if they exceed 60hz.

And yes I tried with 3 other HDMI cables it is the same shet..
RouDeR is online now  
post #14 of 18 Old 05-21-2020, 11:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryantc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Europa
Posts: 1,005
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 710 Post(s)
Liked: 643
It might be that there is a setting on the TV as well. I don't have a Samsung so I can't really help there.

Honestly I would just wait for HDMI 2.1 video cards before doing [email protected] The current implementation is compromised anyway.

Media: LG 88" 8K OLED Z9 / Denon AVR-X8500H 7.1.4 / Oppo UDP-203 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / Sony 4K FMP-X10 / Gaming PC (Threadripper 1950X / 2x GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SLI) / PlayStation 4 Pro with PS VR / PlayStation (original)
Family: Sony 85" 4K XBR-85X900F / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K / C64 Mini - Game: LG 77" 4K OLED C8 / Denon AVR-X3400H 5.1 / Nvidia SHIELD (2017) / Apple TV 4K
bryantc is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 05-22-2020, 07:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I achieved it with a Nvidia GTX980 and an old HDMI cable, but it's using a 420 chroma.
But I prefer to use 4K60 in full RGB instead (only 8bpp though)
Kabassan is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 05-23-2020, 03:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did it, the problem was in the stupid Windows, I used program called CRU to enable 4:2:0 for all resolutions in the windows registry. I`ll make a video about it it should work with all PC users that have TVs which have 4k/120hz panels (or 8k/120hz like in my case)
RouDeR is online now  
post #17 of 18 Old 05-23-2020, 04:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by DannyW75 View Post
No graphics card currently supports HDMI 2.1 or 4K/120Hz. Brand new video cards from AMD and Nvidia will be coming out this year, which will have HDMI 2.1 ports and DisplayPort 2.0. This cable at Amazon is a true HDMI 2.1 cable. It is offered in several lengths.

Can you back up your assertion that the cards will have DisplayPort 2.0, because no one has confirmed this at all and there haven't even been any serious rumors to this yet.

Yes, DisplayPort 2.0 has been announced, but if you know anything about how releases for these sort of tech typically works, it's a year or even two after it's finalized before it gets into hardware. Just take a look where we're at with HDMI 2.1, and even still the somewhat messy DP 1.4.

Could it be in the cards? Yes, it's certainly doable, but don't just say it is... no one is going to believe it and you'll look silly for stating it.
Techtree101 is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old Yesterday, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Here is the guide for enabling [email protected] on capable displays.
RouDeR is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off