Official Olevia 537H, 437V & 237V Thread - Page 107 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 3216 Old 11-28-2014, 05:11 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by sage11x View Post
You're going to need to explain it a little more. When you say artifacts does it appear as noise or some other kind of interference?
You have a black area of a scene, including letterbox bars. It gets red splotches, digitized and semi-static, i.e. the edges vary bit by bit but the shape stays ~the same. Around a face, you get a similar effect but not all red.

Quote:
In the meantime you could always try resetting the TV to factory defaults. That would give you a good idea of whether or not the problem is due to a setting adjustment you made.
I had read here of some secret front-panel button sequence to put it in a test mode, but can't find that post now. I'll try the factory reset, but not until after Grimm is on!
mkfs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 3216 Old 11-28-2014, 08:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sage11x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 6,700
Mentioned: 206 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2810 Post(s)
Liked: 2833
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post
You have a black area of a scene, including letterbox bars. It gets red splotches, digitized and semi-static, i.e. the edges vary bit by bit but the shape stays ~the same. Around a face, you get a similar effect but not all red.

I had read here of some secret front-panel button sequence to put it in a test mode, but can't find that post now. I'll try the factory reset, but not until after Grimm is on!
That doesn't sound promising. I'd try the reset and see if that helps but somehow I doubt a setting could cause an issue like that.
sage11x is offline  
post #3183 of 3216 Old 11-28-2014, 08:55 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sage11x View Post
That doesn't sound promising. I'd try the reset and see if that helps but somehow I doubt a setting could cause an issue like that.
Nod..
I'm reading Black Friday ads for another set.....

I'm trying a DVD and the results look similar. The mystery is the menus, solid colors, are all stunning. But people's faces look blotchy as well.

Last edited by mkfs; 11-28-2014 at 10:01 PM.
mkfs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3184 of 3216 Old 01-08-2015, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
obeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Dahlonega, GA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Olevia 237V... still watching since Feb 2007. my original 537 died and was replaced by this under warranty It is now located in the basement as my workout TV... still using it for about 10 hours a week. BTW, this TV was made in Taiwan.

Thus far, I have had only one cheap LCD/LED TV die on me... the original 537. Since then, I have the 237, a vizio and THREE Element TVs, and all are still alive.

BTW, the worst color comes from the 50" $220 walmart Element that I got this year. No tint control... I have to go to the service menu and modify tint. The original colors were horrible and every red looked pink. If I hadn't discovered service mode, I would have returned the set. Further, it has horrible wide angle viewing!

This Olevia, OTOH, still displays beautiful color at wide angle. If I get as good a service from my other sets as I have from this early 37" set, I'll be happy.

Last edited by obeck; 01-08-2015 at 12:40 PM.
obeck is offline  
post #3185 of 3216 Old 01-09-2015, 12:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CruelInventions's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Chicago-ish
Posts: 6,595
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1235 Post(s)
Liked: 1443
When I still had the 237 several years ago, my sister made a comment about the TV that still sticks out in my mind. When she was over visiting my place and viewing the 237 from an angle, she asked, "Why does it look weird like that?". "Like what", I reply. "I don't know, sort of hazy or fuzzy, I guess", she explained.

She still had a CRT TV at that time and wasn't yet familiar with the Achilles heel of (most) LCD TV technology, the substandard off-center viewing quality. I've always been mildly fascinated by the subset of LCD owners who seem non-cognizant of this off-center picture quality degradation. While it's still a very watchable, decent picture, it's clearly diminished in quality. If this lessened color accuracy and contrast were also present when viewing from dead-center, those same people would probably flip out at how mediocre the quality was. Curious phenomenon.

Quote:
The first principle is that you must not fool yourself and you are the easiest person to fool. ~ Richard P. Feynman
CruelInventions is offline  
post #3186 of 3216 Old 01-21-2015, 03:13 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hey everyone (if anyone is still here),

I've had my 437-S11 for ages now, but the HDMI port went out (there was a bent connector inside that I couldn't get to work anymore). I considered having the HDMI port replaced, but then decided to buy a board online.

The board came in and I installed it, and when I connect the power, the blue standby light turns on and everything.

However, when I push the power button, the blue light goes out, but I don't get any sort of picture. I put my old board in, and the same thing happens except with a pic (the screen comes on) - I have the back opened so I can watch the lights on the board go on and off.

I'm thinking that the new board needs to be flashed to a different firmware (if not just the original). Is there anyway to do this now? I've found a bunch of links on this forum, but almost all of them are dead/broken, and I don't have any of the software.

Does anyone out there have the MTK software for installing the firmware, as well as the USB driver and a 437-S11 firmware file?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If this doesn't work, I'm thinking of returning the new board, and going down to a game repair shop to see if they can replace my HDMI port.

Thanks in advance!!
farner is offline  
post #3187 of 3216 Old 01-22-2015, 01:11 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by obeck View Post
Olevia 237V... still watching since Feb 2007. my original 537 died and was replaced by this under warranty It is now located in the basement as my workout TV... still using it for about 10 hours a week. BTW, this TV was made in Taiwan.

Thus far, I have had only one cheap LCD/LED TV die on me... the original 537. Since then, I have the 237, a vizio and THREE Element TVs, and all are still alive.

BTW, the worst color comes from the 50" $220 walmart Element that I got this year. No tint control... I have to go to the service menu and modify tint. The original colors were horrible and every red looked pink. If I hadn't discovered service mode, I would have returned the set. Further, it has horrible wide angle viewing!

This Olevia, OTOH, still displays beautiful color at wide angle. If I get as good a service from my other sets as I have from this early 37" set, I'll be happy.
Hey obeck,

Do you still happen to have the software and firmware for the 237? I've read that it's compatible w/ the 437.

Anything would help really.
farner is offline  
post #3188 of 3216 Old 01-23-2015, 09:54 AM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by farner View Post
Hey everyone (if anyone is still here),

I've had my 437-S11 for ages now, but the HDMI port went out (there was a bent connector inside that I couldn't get to work anymore). I considered having the HDMI port replaced, but then decided to buy a board online.

The board came in and I installed it, and when I connect the power, the blue standby light turns on and everything.

However, when I push the power button, the blue light goes out, but I don't get any sort of picture. I put my old board in, and the same thing happens except with a pic (the screen comes on) - I have the back opened so I can watch the lights on the board go on and off.

I'm thinking that the new board needs to be flashed to a different firmware (if not just the original). Is there anyway to do this now? I've found a bunch of links on this forum, but almost all of them are dead/broken, and I don't have any of the software.

Does anyone out there have the MTK software for installing the firmware, as well as the USB driver and a 437-S11 firmware file?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. If this doesn't work, I'm thinking of returning the new board, and going down to a game repair shop to see if they can replace my HDMI port.

Thanks in advance!!
Send me PM. I have the flash for 537-s11 firmware and also have the 237T firmware and instructions. Everything you need will be there. I need an email address that accepts zip files. Gmail usually bounces.
Bernie
berniez is offline  
post #3189 of 3216 Old 07-01-2015, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
Send me PM. I have the flash for 537-s11 firmware and also have the 237T firmware and instructions. Everything you need will be there. I need an email address that accepts zip files. Gmail usually bounces.
Bernie
Could I also get the firmware from you? I pm'd you my email address. There are links in this thread but they are all dead now bc Olivia is out of business.
Anderhan is offline  
post #3190 of 3216 Old 07-04-2015, 03:45 PM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderhan View Post
Could I also get the firmware from you? I pm'd you my email address. There are links in this thread but they are all dead now bc Olivia is out of business.
You need to send me private mail through this forum. I did not get it. Make sure it is not a gmail address as sometimes zip files bounce. Just click on my name in blue. It will open a link to send private mail
Bernie
berniez is offline  
post #3191 of 3216 Old 07-08-2015, 10:55 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
You need to send me private mail through this forum. I did not get it. Make sure it is not a gmail address as sometimes zip files bounce. Just click on my name in blue. It will open a link to send private mail
Bernie
Its anderhan at yahoo. I cant sent a PM bc I dont have 15 posts. Thanks
Anderhan is offline  
post #3192 of 3216 Old 07-08-2015, 11:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by guffy1 View Post
Can anyone tell me if the 237V accepts qam signals?
See the last line below from the 1st post is this thread:



Some points:
V and H are the designations for Vertical and Horizontal speaker placement respectively.
The Chipset for all of these models is MTK MDDI Technology.
The 537H has the better warranty of the three. It carries a One year On-Site Warranty.
The 237V and 437V both have a One year exchange, one year parts and labor warranty. I was told by an Olevia CSR the shipping cost one-way is your responsibility.
Also from the CSR, the 537H has more menu "settings" (See Below).
The 537H has a different remote (universal), but I don't know the details.
The 237V, 437V, and 537H all have QAM tuners.
Anderhan is offline  
post #3193 of 3216 Old 07-11-2015, 06:21 PM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderhan View Post
Its anderhan at yahoo. I cant sent a PM bc I dont have 15 posts. Thanks
Need to tell me which model you need firmware for. I will send it to anderhan at yahoo if I have it
berniez is offline  
post #3194 of 3216 Old 07-11-2015, 06:42 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Mine is a 437V. If I could get both it would be great.

The set shuts off within 40 minutes or goes to a half screen and at times has also had that loud screaching noise. All the bad things this set can have. LOL

I want to try a firmware update before I fool with replacing any boards..... if its even worth the time and money.
Anderhan is offline  
post #3195 of 3216 Old 07-12-2015, 05:47 AM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderhan View Post
Mine is a 437V. If I could get both it would be great.

The set shuts off within 40 minutes or goes to a half screen and at times has also had that loud screaching noise. All the bad things this set can have. LOL

I want to try a firmware update before I fool with replacing any boards..... if its even worth the time and money.
I will look and see if I have the 437V firmware. It might be the same as other that I have emailed. Give me a day or so to check. If I have it I will email it to you
Bernie
berniez is offline  
post #3196 of 3216 Old 07-13-2015, 06:36 AM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
I will look and see if I have the 437V firmware. It might be the same as other that I have emailed. Give me a day or so to check. If I have it I will email it to you
Bernie
I looked everywhere. I have the install instructions but do not have the exact firmware you need. I have a lot of other Olevia firmware but if you install it and it is wrong, you will brick the tv.
Bernie
berniez is offline  
post #3197 of 3216 Old 07-13-2015, 11:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
I will look and see if I have the 437V firmware. It might be the same as other that I have emailed. Give me a day or so to check. If I have it I will email it to you
Bernie
Send both if you can. Thanks. I really appreciate it.
Anderhan is offline  
post #3198 of 3216 Old 08-08-2015, 07:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
I looked everywhere. I have the install instructions but do not have the exact firmware you need. I have a lot of other Olevia firmware but if you install it and it is wrong, you will brick the tv.
Bernie
Thanks for looking. You dont have 237? I was under the impression that it would work for a 437. It is already a brick at this point... and I am not about to buy a board for $100. Id like to try some kind of firmware upgrade before it goes to my recycle guy.
Anderhan is offline  
post #3199 of 3216 Old 08-09-2015, 11:56 AM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anderhan View Post
Thanks for looking. You dont have 237? I was under the impression that it would work for a 437. It is already a brick at this point... and I am not about to buy a board for $100. Id like to try some kind of firmware upgrade before it goes to my recycle guy.
Yes, I do have firmware for the 237t. I can send you that if you want. I do not know if it works with the 437. Maybe. I will send it to you.
Bernie
berniez is offline  
post #3200 of 3216 Old 08-10-2015, 04:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 1
All of these links are now dead. I know its been a while but if you have the steps to do the firmware upgrade I would be very grateful. Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Samgotit View Post
So many new people are going to be receiving (or already have) the 537H, 237V or 437V after the Thanksgiving/Black Friday sales. These models are somewhat similar so I'd like to put them all up for discussion here.

Please post your impressions, settings, problems, tips, and tweaks here.
Please remember there is NO price talk aloud on this forum.

Thanks,
Sam

P.S. If you find any errors with the information here, please PM me or post.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This thread has a lot of information on these models, but the thread is now very long and it's not model specific:
https://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...4&page=1&pp=30

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Olevia product pages:
237V
http://www.olevia.com/jsp/products/detail.jsp?pid=237V
437V
http://www.olevia.com/jsp/products/detail.jsp?pid=437V
537H
http://www.olevia.com/jsp/products/detail.jsp?pid=537h

Olevia comparison pages:
237V vs. 537H
http://www.olevia.com/jsp/products/c...37v&pidTo=537H
437V vs 537H
http://www.olevia.com/jsp/products/c...37v&pidTo=537H

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some points:
V and H are the designations for Vertical and Horizontal speaker placement respectively.
The Chipset for all of these models is MTK MDDI Technology.
The 537H has the better warranty of the three. It carries a One year On-Site Warranty.
The 237V and 437V both have a One year exchange, one year parts and labor warranty. I was told by an Olevia CSR the shipping cost one-way is your responsibility.
Also from the CSR, the 537H has more menu "settings" (See Below).
The 537H has a different remote (universal), but I don't know the details.
The 237V, 437V, and 537H all have QAM tuners.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fast Manual Downloads:

237V Manual - Thanks to Geograhper:
http://warcraft.gotdns.com/UM-En_MTK...242_060824.pdf
537H Manual - Thanks to blastmotor:
http://www.topguncomputing.com/olevia/5_series.pdf

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to update Firmware 537H 237V 437V (There are more than one step within each document):

STEP 1
STEP 2
STEP 3
STEP 4
STEP 5
STEP 6

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
537H vs. 237V Menu "settings" differences

I hope these two screen shots from the 237V and 537H manuals can clear up the menu "setting" differeces that the CSRs have refered to between the two models:



Anderhan is offline  
post #3201 of 3216 Old 08-15-2015, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
allyourblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, berniez, do you think you could e-mail the 537_B11_061218A firmware (and any files or utilities necessary to flashing it) to me? ([email protected])

We have been using our 537H for years (nine or ten, in fact!) in our bedroom and I just realized that there are new IR functions available for it, but only with an updated firmware. I also realize that there are risks involved in updating the FW, but with a set this old (and feature-starved), if I brick it, I'll recycle it and have an excuse to buy a new one (ha ha)!

I'd also be happy to host these on my site for anyone who might be looking for them in the future.
allyourblood is offline  
post #3202 of 3216 Old 08-16-2015, 10:05 AM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by allyourblood View Post
Hey, berniez, do you think you could e-mail the 537_B11_061218A firmware (and any files or utilities necessary to flashing it) to me? ([email protected])

We have been using our 537H for years (nine or ten, in fact!) in our bedroom and I just realized that there are new IR functions available for it, but only with an updated firmware. I also realize that there are risks involved in updating the FW, but with a set this old (and feature-starved), if I brick it, I'll recycle it and have an excuse to buy a new one (ha ha)!

I'd also be happy to host these on my site for anyone who might be looking for them in the future.
I can email them to you. I will send you the firmware and instructions. Good luck.
berniez is offline  
post #3203 of 3216 Old 08-16-2015, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
allyourblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
I can email them to you. I will send you the firmware and instructions. Good luck.
Thank you! It's very much appreciated. Once I've attempted the update, I'll post back right away with the results. My e-mail is as listed above ([email protected]).

Thanks again!
allyourblood is offline  
post #3204 of 3216 Old 08-18-2015, 03:44 PM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by allyourblood View Post
Thank you! It's very much appreciated. Once I've attempted the update, I'll post back right away with the results. My e-mail is as listed above ([email protected]).

Thanks again!
I just wanted to let you know. I sent the files you needed but your mail server bounced the attachments. This is quite common. I need another email address that will take attachments, especially zip formats
Bernie
berniez is offline  
post #3205 of 3216 Old 08-18-2015, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
allyourblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by berniez View Post
I just wanted to let you know. I sent the files you needed but your mail server bounced the attachments. This is quite common. I need another email address that will take attachments, especially zip formats
Bernie
Not sure why that would be. I can accept zips just fine. I just sent a zip file to myself (from a separate account), with a size of 4.5MB. Came through with no problems. Are the files you're trying to send particularly large?

If it's not too much trouble, simply rename the ".zip" extension to ".piz" and send it to my gmail address, allyourblood AT gmail DOT com. That slips through Google's executable filter just fine.

Thank you berniez, and sorry for the trouble!
allyourblood is offline  
post #3206 of 3216 Old 08-21-2015, 08:08 AM
Member
 
berniez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western NY
Posts: 146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by allyourblood View Post
Not sure why that would be. I can accept zips just fine. I just sent a zip file to myself (from a separate account), with a size of 4.5MB. Came through with no problems. Are the files you're trying to send particularly large?

If it's not too much trouble, simply rename the ".zip" extension to ".piz" and send it to my gmail address, allyourblood AT gmail DOT com. That slips through Google's executable filter just fine.

Thank you berniez, and sorry for the trouble!
Let me try to send it in 2 separate emails first
berniez is offline  
post #3207 of 3216 Old 09-30-2015, 11:12 AM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
He's dead, Jim!

Not my set.. But suddenly the remote has most functions dead, but not all. I'll see if I can find a cracked trace or such but need a Plan B. Anyone here have experience with so-called Universal remotes? I've tried them in other cases and been underwhelmed; never finding the right code, etc.

ps: If your Olevia just died, I have an adoption opportunity.

Last edited by mkfs; 09-30-2015 at 11:18 AM.
mkfs is offline  
post #3208 of 3216 Old 09-30-2015, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deezul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post
Not my set.. But suddenly the remote has most functions dead, but not all. I'll see if I can find a cracked trace or such but need a Plan B. Anyone here have experience with so-called Universal remotes? I've tried them in other cases and been underwhelmed; never finding the right code, etc.

ps: If your Olevia just died, I have an adoption opportunity.
I've used a Logitech remote with my Olevia and never had problems.

Xbox: Deezul
Sony XBR-65X900E, Sony XBR-49X900E
Go Jackets!
Deezul is offline  
post #3209 of 3216 Old 09-30-2015, 02:16 PM
Member
 
mkfs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Inside the Beltway
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deezul View Post
I've used a Logitech remote with my Olevia and never had problems.
Model? Were you able to get all the functions you needed?
mkfs is offline  
post #3210 of 3216 Old 10-10-2015, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Deezul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 1,123
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkfs View Post
Model? Were you able to get all the functions you needed?
Harmony 520.

Xbox: Deezul
Sony XBR-65X900E, Sony XBR-49X900E
Go Jackets!
Deezul is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off