Official Sony XBR4/5 Owners Thread(NO PRICE TALK) - Page 29 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 02:08 PM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picking up my 40XBR4 at Sears tonight and I'm shaking like a leaf!! They gave me a great price match on the new set and no trouble returing both my defective Samsung 4065's. I LOVE NEW TOYS!!
orfny is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 02:26 PM
Member
 
edwyun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
the delay till 9/30 and the rumor I heard from my BB sales manager are beginning to get me concerned, but right now I must assume they are rumors until I hear otherwise. It's hard to believe that SONY would release a TV and then immediately pull it.

what rumor?
edwyun is offline  
post #843 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 02:33 PM
Member
 
LetoAtreides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 46XBR4 arrived today! I've set it up and the thing is beautiful. I purchased it from Cleveland Plasma, who I understand is a sponsor. It was shipped on Tuesday and arrived on Thursday (from Ohio to Georgia) with a very low shipped price.

I have it hooked up to:
Toshiba XA2 via HDMI
Xbox 360 and Wii via component
Onkyo SR800

I will take some pictures and post them if my camera does them justice.
LetoAtreides is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 03:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHRISGEOFROMGREE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I suppose no clouding/mura/stuck/dead pixels?
CHRISGEOFROMGREE is offline  
post #845 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 03:11 PM
Member
 
lukerg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdp7 View Post

Hey John, I know you saved a good chunk of change on your set, but I ordered one from a forum sponsor, Cleveland Plasma on Monday, and it's in Boston waiting for the paperwork to catch up with it. Should be having it delivered tomorrow morning.
If the set goes sour, it will get replaced with what we assume to be an 8g. So for me, the little risk there is, has been alleviated with warranty coverage.

Good luck to you man. I know your post was the one that got me off the fence and into high gear.

I just received my 52XBR4 from CP today. Hooked it up, made sure the panel wasn't cracked, adjusted a few settings and came to work! Bummer. I know Chris at CP had a few remaining as of late last week and he's a great guy to work with so you might want to give him a try. I'll post more info on my set when I have time to play with it.
lukerg is offline  
post #846 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
pdp7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: boston, ma
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a big cheers to Chris! And here's a big thumbs down for work when toys are being delivered

ps3- pdp7 ### avs folding team- 55280
pdp7 is offline  
post #847 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 04:18 PM
Member
 
coma426's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilleyj View Post

My shipment on my KDL-52XBR4 got bumped back 'til 09/16/2007 from CDW.

Sony's website now states: "Pre-sale item available on or about 09/30/2007."

What is going on with this TV?!
Are the rumors true about them having issues with this set?
Or is it the "new" LCD panel factory cutover causing the problems?

I'm getting sick of waiting for this TV...seeing that I ordered it 07/29/2007
I sat the searching the Best Buy local store availability and saw the a store in Chicago and one in Montgomery each show one TV in stock. I bet if I call, it's BS.

AHHHHHHHHH! And today is the start of NCAA Football.
Sony, your starting to piss me off!

John

Yeah, I don't know that I believe the Sony site. It said that same 9/30 availability for the 52XBR4 when I placed my order and it shipped out the very next day. If you need the TV within a week why not call around and find someone with one on hand and have them ship it to you tomorrow and then cancel your other order?
coma426 is offline  
post #848 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 05:28 PM
Member
 
sirfergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know if the digital audio out is a bitstream copy or is it just PCM? I'd like to route all my HDMI devices to the TV and then use the digital out to my receiver.
sirfergy is offline  
post #849 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 05:58 PM
Newbie
 
TheSlider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good question sirfergy. I don't have an HDMI receiver (Yamaha V795), so I'd like to do the same setup...digitally output all audio that way. Do many people here do the same thing?
TheSlider is offline  
post #850 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 06:10 PM
Member
 
twilleyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Odessa, FL
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by coma426 View Post

Yeah, I don't know that I believe the Sony site. It said that same 9/30 availability for the 52XBR4 when I placed my order and it shipped out the very next day. If you need the TV within a week why not call around and find someone with one on hand and have them ship it to you tomorrow and then cancel your other order?

Well...I finally gave up my sweeet pricing deal with CDW and went with Cris at Cleveland Plasma. I figure a few hundred dollars more, it ships tomorrow, and I supported a Forum vendor. Chris has TEN KDL-52XBR4 TVs. Yep, 10 of 'em.

It's best to go with a sure thing (I'm impatient) instead of having my shipping date keep getting pushed back by Sony.

Maybe sitting here watching the first NCAA football game on a 36 inch CRT put me over the edge... ;-)

I'll post my review mid-week if all goes well!

.
twilleyj is offline  
post #851 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 06:30 PM
Newbie
 
motion120's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought Sony XBR4 TV. I don't have a HDMI output device to test XBR4 HDMI input. I just tied my DVI output from Radon 9600 into XBR4 HDMI input by a DVI-HDMI cable. Nothing is showed on screen.
But, after I put a DVI-to-HDMI connector into Radon 9600 DVI output and used a pure HDMI cable, I saw the wonderful picture on XBR4 screen.
is it supposed to connect the connector? Does Sony XBR4 HDMI take DVI with HDCP only?
motion120 is offline  
post #852 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 07:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by motion120 View Post

I just bought Sony XBR4 TV. I don't have a HDMI output device to test XBR4 HDMI input. I just tied my DVI output from Radon 9600 into XBR4 HDMI input by a DVI-HDMI cable. Nothing is showed on screen.
But, after I put a DVI-to-HDMI connector into Radon 9600 DVI output and used a pure HDMI cable, I saw the wonderful picture on XBR4 screen.
is it supposed to connect the connector? Does Sony XBR4 HDMI take DVI with HDCP only?

I use a DVI to HDMI cable for my Geforce 6800GT and that isn't HDCP.

65C8P l 65B6P l P55-C1 l Shockwafe Ultra 9.2 & Elite 7.2 l XB1 X l PS4 Pro l Switch
bpmurr is offline  
post #853 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 07:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 24,032
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6410 Post(s)
Liked: 6405
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilleyj View Post

Well...I finally gave up my sweeet pricing deal with CDW and went with Cris at Cleveland Plasma.

Hey now that is Chris...........
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #854 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 07:13 PM
Senior Member
 
ny888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by twilleyj View Post

Well...I finally gave up my sweeet pricing deal with CDW and went with Cris at Cleveland Plasma. I figure a few hundred dollars more, it ships tomorrow, and I supported a Forum vendor. Chris has TEN KDL-52XBR4 TVs. Yep, 10 of 'em.

It's best to go with a sure thing (I'm impatient) instead of having my shipping date keep getting pushed back by Sony.

Maybe sitting here watching the first NCAA football game on a 36 inch CRT put me over the edge... ;-)

I'll post my review mid-week if all goes well!

There you go !!! Are you ready for some Football ?
ny888 is offline  
post #855 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 07:26 PM
Member
 
sirfergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is what the manual says about the digital out:
"Dolby Digital Audio signal from HDMI input will be output as PCM"

Does PCM == 2 Channel?
sirfergy is offline  
post #856 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 07:44 PM
Newbie
 
DBC Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Davis, CA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSlider View Post

Good question sirfergy. I don't have an HDMI receiver (Yamaha V795), so I'd like to do the same setup...digitally output all audio that way. Do many people here do the same thing?

I'd also be interested in the same issue. My 46 XBR4 will be delivered in three weeks (new AV cabinet comes first), and I'd be interested in experience and recommendations by XBR 4/5 owners as to HDMI-capable AV equipment. Sky is not the limit (already blew the budget on the Sony). Please also direct me to the appropriate thread if I mis-posted to this one, since this is my first post after lurking for a few months!
DBC Steve is offline  
post #857 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 09:01 PM
Member
 
sirfergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI 1.3 allows for 7.1 PCM, so I wonder if that's what the XBR4 is doing.
sirfergy is offline  
post #858 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 10:05 PM
Member
 
orfny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I unpacked my 40XBR and set it up tonight and found no stuck pixels, clouds or flashlights. I really like the sharpness, vivid colors, internal sound system, low reflectivity of the screen, high contrast, shadow detail and smooth motion. I played a blu-ray from my PS3 at 60fps and 24fps - what a huge difference! I'm not to keen on the floating glass design but I think it will grow on me (my wife seems to like it). I still have some tweeking to do before I post in the calibration thread (so many settings so little time). Coming from 2 bad Samsung 4065's I feel very lucky to have found such a great set without any issues!!
orfny is offline  
post #859 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 10:27 PM
Member
 
purell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what's the consensus on blur/lag -- is there any on this tv? When watching sports or playing games? Compared to let's say a Sharp lcd?
purell is offline  
post #860 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 10:54 PM
Newbie
 
selder0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Does anyone know what video processor chip Sony is using in the XBR4/XBR5 to process (de-interlace and upconvert) 480i sources? The specs says "BRAVIA Engine PRO Full Digital Video Processor". However, this appears to be some fancy marketing term.

Is it a Faroudja or Reon? Or is it some Sony propriety video processor?

Although this question has been asked at least three times in this thread, I have yet to see it answered. Just where does the "Bravia Engine Pro" fall in the spectrum of processors?
Comments regarding the SD performance of the XBR4 lead me to assume that the "Bravia Engine Pro" ain't such a much. I believe someone ran the HQV tests with less than perfect results. I don't know how fair HQV is....
To me this is more important than how black the blacks are.
Thanks and have fun,
Steve
selder0 is offline  
post #861 of 12030 Old 08-30-2007, 11:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bplewis24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 7,641
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by selder0 View Post

Although this question has been asked at least three times in this thread, I have yet to see it answered. Just where does the "Bravia Engine Pro" fall in the spectrum of processors?
Comments regarding the SD performance of the XBR4 lead me to assume that the "Bravia Engine Pro" ain't such a much. I believe someone ran the HQV tests with less than perfect results. I don't know how fair HQV is....
To me this is more important than how black the blacks are.
Thanks and have fun,
Steve

Sony's processing has always been it's strong point. It is usually what separates it from other tvs that have similar specs and the same panels. So far, I've seen nothing from my XBR4 to indicate that trend is changing. There are other sets out there with better black level performance when the end credits are rolling in a movie, but that fail to give a better picture during the majority of typical source viewing material.

Where did you see less than perfect results from HQV? From my testing, the set only failed when certain extra processing features were enabled. Namely, "DRC" Mode 1.

Anyhow, I watched the LSU-Miss. St. NCAA football game this evening and it was excellent. The game was on ESPN with a 1080i feed from my Motorola 3416 STB. With Motionflow set to Off and High I couldn't notice much of a difference. The picture was very crisp either way, and either my eyes aren't great at picking up motion blur or there wasn't much there.

Brandon
bplewis24 is offline  
post #862 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 05:29 AM
Member
 
speed08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do any of you guys have green push in light grey shadows when viewing SD material and some HD? I'm trying to see if I have bad set or not.



speed08 is offline  
post #863 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 05:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by speed08 View Post

Do any of you guys have green push in light grey shadows when viewing SD material and some HD? I'm trying to see if I have bad set or not.




Have you tried adjusting your white balance? Under some conditions I noticed it but it can be cleaned up pretty quickly playing with the settings. I see you have darker corners as well.

65C8P l 65B6P l P55-C1 l Shockwafe Ultra 9.2 & Elite 7.2 l XB1 X l PS4 Pro l Switch
bpmurr is offline  
post #864 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 06:25 AM
Member
 
R.MnTnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well just got my 40XBR4 yesterday and just my luck the PQ is bad in all settings, inputs and adjustments. Even after calibrating it with Avia and my Colorfacts Pro, nothing helped. Tried watching The Matrix on my Xbox 360 through component and it looks horrible. Snowy and grainy blacks and flesh tones. I'm exchanging it today for another of the same kind. I just hope it was just this one that was bad.



Well as an update to this. I went exchanged it and sure enough the newer one is much better. This TV is awesome. Even watching my son's Tigger Movie with Motionflow made the cartoon POP out of screen. It looks so cool!.
R.MnTnA is offline  
post #865 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 07:12 AM
Member
 
essentialjpm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone, this is my first post. I’ve read the entire locked thread, and I’m on page 12 of this thread, but I’ve run out of time. After work today I am buying an XBR4. What I haven’t decided on is the size, either the 32 or the 40 inch.

They seem to be the same TV except the size of course, and the 32 doesn’t support 1080p, and there is about a $1000 price difference (I will be paying pretty much MSPR at BB).

What should I get? I’ve read that you can’t really tell 1080p unless the size of the TV is well over 40 inches. I’m also weary of clouding since it seems the bigger size TV you get, the better the chance of clouding.

Hooked up to the TV I will have:

Time Warner Digital cable box (I need to get an HD box, but I assume it will be a SA8300, which I was excited about because of HDMI output, but now after all I’ve read I guess I will have to use Components.)

PS3 & PS2

Computer

What would you do? Is it worth the extra money for the 40 inch over the 32 inch?

Also, my viewing distance will be about 4 feet.

Thanks.
essentialjpm is offline  
post #866 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 07:27 AM
Senior Member
 
poiv3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: TN
Posts: 352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by essentialjpm View Post

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I've read the entire locked thread, and I'm on page 12 of this thread, but I've run out of time. After work today I am buying an XBR4. What I haven't decided on is the size, either the 32 or the 40 inch.

They seem to be the same TV except the size of course, and the 32 doesn't support 1080p, and there is about a $1000 price difference (I will be paying pretty much MSPR at BB).

What should I get? I've read that you can't really tell 1080p unless the size of the TV is well over 40 inches. I'm also weary of clouding since it seems the bigger size TV you get, the better the chance of clouding.

Hooked up to the TV I will have:

Time Warner Digital cable box (I need to get an HD box, but I assume it will be a SA8300, which I was excited about because of HDMI output, but now after all I've read I guess I will have to use Components.)

PS3 & PS2

Computer

What would you do? Is it worth the extra money for the 40 inch over the 32 inch?

Also, my viewing distance will be about 4 feet.

Thanks.

Get 40 inch if you can afford it. Especially if it is your main tv, in the long run you will be glad to have something bigger. 32 is just too small for a main tv nowadays.
poiv3 is offline  
post #867 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 07:31 AM
Newbie
 
billybill1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Essential, I would go with the 32XBR4... Only 4 feet of viewing distance would make that an easy decision for me.
billybill1 is offline  
post #868 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bpmurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,325
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by essentialjpm View Post

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I've read the entire locked thread, and I'm on page 12 of this thread, but I've run out of time. After work today I am buying an XBR4. What I haven't decided on is the size, either the 32 or the 40 inch.

They seem to be the same TV except the size of course, and the 32 doesn't support 1080p, and there is about a $1000 price difference (I will be paying pretty much MSPR at BB).

What should I get? I've read that you can't really tell 1080p unless the size of the TV is well over 40 inches. I'm also weary of clouding since it seems the bigger size TV you get, the better the chance of clouding.

Hooked up to the TV I will have:

Time Warner Digital cable box (I need to get an HD box, but I assume it will be a SA8300, which I was excited about because of HDMI output, but now after all I've read I guess I will have to use Components.)

PS3 & PS2

Computer

What would you do? Is it worth the extra money for the 40 inch over the 32 inch?

Also, my viewing distance will be about 4 feet.

Thanks.

If you can swing for the 40" do it. If not the 32 is still a good set. However you might want to take a look at the 32" Sharp which is 1080P.

65C8P l 65B6P l P55-C1 l Shockwafe Ultra 9.2 & Elite 7.2 l XB1 X l PS4 Pro l Switch
bpmurr is offline  
post #869 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 07:36 AM
Member
 
edwyun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


(I will be paying pretty much MSPR at BB).

WHY???

Quote:


Time Warner Digital cable box (I need to get an HD box, but I assume it will be a SA8300

When I went to TWC last week to get their HD boxtop for the 46XBR, I was expecting the same but instead got a Samsung unit with HDMI.

Quote:


Is it worth the extra money for the 40 inch over the 32 inch?

Get the biggest screen you can afford.
edwyun is offline  
post #870 of 12030 Old 08-31-2007, 07:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Alex the Great's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by speed08 View Post

Do any of you guys have green push in light grey shadows when viewing SD material and some HD? I'm trying to see if I have bad set or not.


I am sorry, but from the pics posted I could not see this green push you talking about. Would you please zoom/crop into the screen area this push is mostly noticeable.
Alex the Great is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply LCD Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Sony , Sony Bravia Xbr Kdl 52xbr4 52 Inch 1080p Lcd Hdtv , Lcd Hdtv

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off