Samsung PN50A450 Offical Owners Thread. - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 3160 Old 04-28-2008, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Zarich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 485
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I was just about to buy this set until I got a good look at the bezel. MAN I hate the silver on the bottom. I was thinking it was similar to the 550, but the 550 bezel design is so much nicer.
Zarich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 3160 Old 04-28-2008, 02:45 PM
Newbie
 
jam75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the flickering in brightness resolved on the PN50A450. Had a bad problem with that on my 5064 which i returned.
jam75 is offline  
post #63 of 3160 Old 04-30-2008, 03:32 PM
Newbie
 
ciremg01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered mine Sunday. I'll report when I get it, should be later this week.
ciremg01 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 3160 Old 05-01-2008, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
jmadott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa, On
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before I purchase this set, i'd like to ask if any users have the pn50a450 connected to a PC?

If so.....

what resolution are you running.

I've read in the manual it supports 1360x768, leaving 3 grey bars on all edges. You get 1:1 pixel map, but have to deal w/ some pixels not being used.

I assume it will it accept higher resolutions and scale, however... how does it look?


tks for any feedback!
jmadott is offline  
post #65 of 3160 Old 05-01-2008, 11:14 AM
Newbie
 
jmadott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Ottawa, On
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jam75 View Post

Is the flickering in brightness resolved on the PN50A450. Had a bad problem with that on my 5064 which i returned.

as reported earlier - yes.
jmadott is offline  
post #66 of 3160 Old 05-01-2008, 02:14 PM
Member
 
Dom2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by aboutbob View Post

cv1981,

I too am interested in you comparing the 450 to the 5080. The black levels on the Pio are fantastic to be sure. But, overall it seems to be a bit dull especially in moderate to bright lighting. In the BB and CC the 450 is set to torch and looks impressive. But, I'm not so sure about the black level and shadow detail. I am most interested in how the 450 is for movies with dark scenes and is it really true what we are reading here there isn't any judder? Nowhere can I find that the 450 has 3:2 pull down or any thing related to film/movies.

So, how does the 450 compare in the home environment? I am sure that I am not alone in anticipating your evaluation/comparison of these to plasmas. Thanks!

I just got the 450 and found the black level very good but not spectacular - I would rate the Pioneer and the new Panasonic a LITTLE higher. The Shadow detail is awesome though. I used AVIA 2 to set the brightness to the correct level and found the rise out of black was very realistic - far better than the 54 series. I did have some geen pixels (very minor complaint) so I lowered the brightness and still couldn't see any black crush.

I would have to say this plasma handles dark scenes VERY well. For test material I use the train scene near the begining of Harry Potter 3. When you first zoom in on the train in the rain there is typically some black crush - specifically on the lower right. This TV handled that scene better any other I have owned/tested. I have never seen this scene on a Pioneer though.

I also think this set does a great job on low-end digital noise - better than any I have seen other than the Pioneers.
Dom2u is offline  
post #67 of 3160 Old 05-04-2008, 05:58 PM
Member
 
harbor13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Circuit City has this for 1,399. I just exchanged my Vizio P50 for it using the CC protection plan. It was an even trade. So far I'm loving this plasma. The quality seems so much more vibrant than my Vizio was. Blacks seem solid and HD pictures truely shine.
harbor13 is offline  
post #68 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 07:26 PM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've decided that this tv is the one for me. Just a couple questions i have about it. first.... how is the picture quality on regular cable? not hd or anything? and also has anyone played their ps3's on this tv? can you play it using the entire screen? or does it cut some of the edges off?
lowpsi is offline  
post #69 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 08:53 PM
 
Viper98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the 50a450 today.... I watched cnet's review of the 50a550 and they noted the blacks weren't as deep as the best plasmas but the colors are phenomenal on it......

my question I guess would be aside from resolution is there any difference between the 450 and 550? I look at the comparison on samsung's website and it says the 450 is brighter but that's it
Viper98 is offline  
post #70 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 09:17 PM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper98 View Post

I just bought the 50a450 today.... I watched cnet's review of the 50a550 and they noted the blacks weren't as deep as the best plasmas but the colors are phenomenal on it......

my question I guess would be aside from resolution is there any difference between the 450 and 550? I look at the comparison on samsung's website and it says the 450 is brighter but that's it

from what i understand. the picture is basically the same on both sets. but you will pay $1000 more for the 550 because it is 1080p.
lowpsi is offline  
post #71 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 09:22 PM
 
Viper98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowpsi View Post

from what i understand. the picture is basically the same on both sets. but you will pay $1000 more for the 550 because it is 1080p.


good

glad I decided to go with the 450 now even happier it was a great deal($1440 canadian)
Viper98 is offline  
post #72 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 09:35 PM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper98 View Post

good

glad I decided to go with the 450 now even happier it was a great deal($1440 canadian)

where did you get this deal? i am from canada, and i am going to pick this tv up this week. i am paying $1660 with a Samsung home theatre system thrown in there.
lowpsi is offline  
post #73 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 09:37 PM
 
Viper98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowpsi View Post

where did you get this deal? i am from canada, and i am going to pick this tv up this week. i am paying $1660 with a Samsung home theatre system thrown in there.



best buy had it for that tonight for their customer appreciation sale.... it's still on until 10am EST

http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/prodde...52&catid=23249

only problem is since the stores are closed you'd have to order online.... shipping is like $50 or somewhere around there
Viper98 is offline  
post #74 of 3160 Old 05-05-2008, 09:39 PM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viper98 View Post

best buy had it for that tonight for their customer appreciation sale.... it's still on until 10am EST

http://www.bestbuy.ca/catalog/prodde...52&catid=23249

only problem is since the stores are closed you'd have to order online.... shipping is like $50 or somewhere around there

not bad. future shop has it on for $1799 with a home theatre system. but i did some price matching, and bad boy is going to give it to me for much cheaper. killer deal.
lowpsi is offline  
post #75 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 03:43 AM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmadott View Post

Before I purchase this set, i'd like to ask if any users have the pn50a450 connected to a PC?

If so.....

what resolution are you running.

I've read in the manual it supports 1360x768, leaving 3 grey bars on all edges. You get 1:1 pixel map, but have to deal w/ some pixels not being used.

I assume it will it accept higher resolutions and scale, however... how does it look?


tks for any feedback!

IMO This is a PC monitor, very good power features & Burn protection.

It scales great with Radeon 3000 series (i dont use nvidia)
plus it has 18bit color processing (highest out there),at least when i bought it 1st of april.

I run 1365x768 (Sat DVB) , 1920x1080p (HD/BR) , 1028x768 or 848x480(web)

Once you calibrate your GPU settings & Samsung settings for "each" resolution, you wont get a better picture from any other TV....imo

and youll have some extra cash for mounts ,cables(monoprice.com) etc.
shayking is offline  
post #76 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 05:38 AM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by shayking View Post

I run 1365x768 (Sat DVB) , 1920x1080p (HD/BR) , 1028x768 or 848x480(web)

this tv doesnt have 1080p....
lowpsi is offline  
post #77 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
shayking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada,ON
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
it scales it, which still displays more information....(good for video only).
shayking is offline  
post #78 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 02:36 PM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how is the standard definition picture on this tv?
lowpsi is offline  
post #79 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Dom2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChevyIIMan View Post

Questions for owners, on my Sony it had a FULL mode that would strech 4:3 content to fit 16:9 perfectly. Cant seems to find a setting on this one that doesnt cut off parts of the image to fill the entire screen.

Almost all plasmas have a 16:9 mode that stretches 4:3 content horizontally to fill the screen. If you are talking about 4:3 letter box content - the zoom1 mode stretches just vertically so that the original aspect ratio is regained. I use this when watching Widescreen format on SD channels.
Dom2u is offline  
post #80 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 03:51 PM
Member
 
Dom2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowpsi View Post

how is the standard definition picture on this tv?

I would rate it significantly better than the Samsung 54 series. It seems to de-interlace extremly well. How it compares to other brands - I have no clue.
Dom2u is offline  
post #81 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 05:48 PM
Member
 
Laxguy023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any more feedback on the "buzz" with this set compared to last years model? I had 3 Sammy's 4254's that would buzz terribly the brighter the image on the screen. Could hear it faintly from 10 feet away. How has the buzz been with the 450 series? Anyone tell a difference?
Laxguy023 is offline  
post #82 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
lsdlcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've played Ratchet and Clank on it. Its phenomenal !
Full screen. PS3 detects the best resolution for the set when connected via HDMI.
lsdlcd is offline  
post #83 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 07:02 PM
Newbie
 
lsdlcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowpsi View Post

not bad. future shop has it on for $1799 with a home theatre system. but i did some price matching, and bad boy is going to give it to me for much cheaper. killer deal.

Got mine at Golden Electronics.....$1550 tax in, and the free Bobby Orr hand signed picture. Just a suggestion- forget the HT in a box. Wait till the new\\more receivers with HDMI 1.3a become available.

Cheers!
lsdlcd is offline  
post #84 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 07:46 PM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsdlcd View Post

Got mine at Golden Electronics.....$1550 tax in, and the free Bobby Orr hand signed picture. Just a suggestion- forget the HT in a box. Wait till the new\\more receivers with HDMI 1.3a become available.

Cheers!

thanks for the suggestion. i went to future shop today and said that the HT system that was coming with the tv wasnt up to standards. so they are now throwing this HT in for me. it has dual HDMI inputs. http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...83&catid=19701
lowpsi is offline  
post #85 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 09:30 PM
Newbie
 
stustler68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laxguy023 View Post

Any more feedback on the "buzz" with this set compared to last years model? I had 3 Sammy's 4254's that would buzz terribly the brighter the image on the screen. Could hear it faintly from 10 feet away. How has the buzz been with the 450 series? Anyone tell a difference?

FWIW the "buzz" is barely noticeable on my 450. I have to be right up beside it to hear anything. Overall I am very pleased with this TV. I was going to hold out for the 800 series Panny but I am glad I cheaped out and went with this.
stustler68 is offline  
post #86 of 3160 Old 05-06-2008, 11:05 PM
Member
 
jondeak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNGoDLyBXR View Post

ok if you play COD4 i recommend playing team deathmatch hardcore most of the time theres no HUD what so ever, i played 5 minutes of halo 3 and i had a IR of the radar in the lower left corner of my tv so i quickly switched it to whitewash and let it sit for about 10 minutes and it fully went away... if i had played halo for 30 minutes i dunno how easily it wouldnt came out???


I just Noticed some seriously bad IR...i did what you did and put the white screen on for about ten minutes and looks like it went away...ill keep you posted......that scared the crap out of me !! ALSO..Could someone please explain to me what IR stands for and what it means?? thanks
jondeak is offline  
post #87 of 3160 Old 05-07-2008, 04:59 AM
Member
 
lowpsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does this tv have the "handshaking" problem that some tvs have while connected to the ps3?
lowpsi is offline  
post #88 of 3160 Old 05-07-2008, 06:40 AM
Member
 
Laxguy023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondeak View Post

I just Noticed some seriously bad IR...i did what you did and put the white screen on for about ten minutes and looks like it went away...ill keep you posted......that scared the crap out of me !! ALSO..Could someone please explain to me what IR stands for and what it means?? thanks


IR stands for Image Retention.
Laxguy023 is offline  
post #89 of 3160 Old 05-07-2008, 06:41 AM
Member
 
Laxguy023's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by stustler68 View Post

FWIW the "buzz" is barely noticeable on my 450. I have to be right up beside it to hear anything. Overall I am very pleased with this TV. I was going to hold out for the 800 series Panny but I am glad I cheaped out and went with this.


How close do you have to be to the TV to till you start hearing it. I could hear the buzz faintly from like nine feet away and it drove me crazy.
Laxguy023 is offline  
post #90 of 3160 Old 05-07-2008, 07:51 AM
 
Viper98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jondeak View Post

I just Noticed some seriously bad IR...i did what you did and put the white screen on for about ten minutes and looks like it went away...ill keep you posted......that scared the crap out of me !! ALSO..Could someone please explain to me what IR stands for and what it means?? thanks


IR is image retention
basically it's retaining a portion of the image that was on the screen i.e. the outline of a scoreboard.
This actually happens on both my DLP tvs too :]


i'm super happy though my 450 is in get to pick it up after work

I'll be sure to have impressions + pics tonight
Viper98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off