The Official Pioneer 9G Elite KURO Owner's Discussion Thread - Page 1071 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 250Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #32101 of 32119 Old 11-27-2018, 06:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
js950's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Will be picking up a 151Fd in a few days. Kinda excited. My 50" 768P Panny is dull and gray now. I don't care about HDR or 4K right now a suspect a late Kuro will still have great blacks and enough brightness to hold me over for a few years.
js950 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32102 of 32119 Old 11-27-2018, 01:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
makaveddie81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,956
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 613 Post(s)
Liked: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by js950 View Post
Will be picking up a 151Fd in a few days. Kinda excited. My 50" 768P Panny is dull and gray now. I don't care about HDR or 4K right now a suspect a late Kuro will still have great blacks and enough brightness to hold me over for a few years.
It will most likely have red tint so keep a close eye on that. Unless it's very slight, red tint is incurable on 60 inch sets.

If you don't watch TV with the lights out or use bias lighting, then the red tint won't be noticeable.

Sharp Elite PRO-70X5FD (Kuro PRO-171FD) x 2
Pioneer Kuro KRP-500M
Pioneer Kuro PRO-111FD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-5020
makaveddie81 is offline  
post #32103 of 32119 Old 11-27-2018, 02:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
js950's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 411 Post(s)
Liked: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by makaveddie81 View Post
It will most likely have red tint so keep a close eye on that. Unless it's very slight, red tint is incurable on 60 inch sets.

If you don't watch TV with the lights out or use bias lighting, then the red tint won't be noticeable.
Thanks, Kuro tweaker. I may have a question or 2 for you once I get it and see how she's doing. I'm not scared of service menus but know better to use them haphazardly.
js950 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32104 of 32119 Old 12-18-2018, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
JoeBloggz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Southeast, MA
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 22
For the last few months I've started getting the dreaded 8 blue blinks. It's becoming more frequent and usually happens after set is shut off and then turned back on shortly thereafter. I've read it can the main board or voltage regulator. How can you decipher which one is the culprit.

I know there is someone on eBay that offer board repair service. Taking the back cover and boards apart seems daunting. How hard is it? And has anyone used this service before?

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

Pioneer Pro111FD viewed from 7'------>Picture mode, ISF Day(calibrated by umr)
Sony PS4
JoeBloggz is offline  
post #32105 of 32119 Old 01-04-2019, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Test Ickles View Post
PM user makaveddie81. His Kuro Command program can do all 3 I believe.
makaveddie, can you help me get into the service menu on my pro-101? Can't PM you because I'm new to AVSforum...
flyingdutch14 is offline  
post #32106 of 32119 Old 01-06-2019, 05:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
jowicrt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 202
I've asked this in the display calibration topic but maybe this is a better place. My KRP-600M (36000 hours!) was calibrated (by a pro) 4 years ago for the last time, and was fine. Last week i bought an XRite i1display pro myself, and after testing and calibrating my Dell monitor to get used to the software and process, i did a basic grayscale measurement yesterday on the Pioneer. I had to do some minor changes, but from 80/90 IRE and up, red is raising a bit and blue as a massive drop off, something i can't fix with red/blue gain/offset... The effect is offcourse that 100% white looks a bit yellowish. I can't reach the D65 point as well in the CIE graph. I must say, when watching material it is not very obvious, so i can live with it, but if it is fixable... that would be better.

Is this something that characterises an aging 9G panel? Or is there some parameters in the service menu i could change to compensate for this effect a bit?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2019-01-06 at 11.56.56.png
Views:	31
Size:	123.2 KB
ID:	2506612  

Arcam AVR850 • Pioneer KURO KRP-600M • KEF Reference Model 4/2/200c •• Velodyne DD15 •• HDI Dune 4K Solo • Logitech Squeezebox Radio/Duet • Wyrewizard Dreamcaster & Spellbinder (by Nordost) • JVC D-ILA-X7500 • HDFury Vertex
jowicrt is offline  
post #32107 of 32119 Old 01-06-2019, 10:42 AM
Senior Member
 
craigyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 319
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Quote:
Originally Posted by jowicrt View Post
I've asked this in the display calibration topic but maybe this is a better place. My KRP-600M (36000 hours!) was calibrated (by a pro) 4 years ago for the last time, and was fine. Last week i bought an XRite i1display pro myself, and after testing and calibrating my Dell monitor to get used to the software and process, i did a basic grayscale measurement yesterday on the Pioneer. I had to do some minor changes, but from 80/90 IRE and up, red is raising a bit and blue as a massive drop off, something i can't fix with red/blue gain/offset... The effect is offcourse that 100% white looks a bit yellowish. I can't reach the D65 point as well in the CIE graph. I must say, when watching material it is not very obvious, so i can live with it, but if it is fixable... that would be better.

Is this something that characterises an aging 9G panel? Or is there some parameters in the service menu i could change to compensate for this effect a bit?
36000 hours wow

craigyboy is offline  
post #32108 of 32119 Old 04-12-2019, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I can't switch to HDMI input 4 using the remote.


This just started happening this evening.


If I use the button on the side of the TV, it works.


I can use the remote to switch to any of the other inputs. If I try pressing input 4, it doesn't switch. Nothing happens.


How do I fix this?
nuraman00 is offline  
post #32109 of 32119 Old 04-13-2019, 12:10 AM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 16
If I use my Tivo remote, I can switch inputs, to all inputs, including HDMI 4.


So why is it a problem with the Pioneer remote, right now?
nuraman00 is offline  
post #32110 of 32119 Old 05-05-2019, 07:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Any firmware update for the PRO-141FD?
avsforumrocks is offline  
post #32111 of 32119 Old 05-05-2019, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 995
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsforumrocks View Post
Any firmware update for the PRO-141FD?
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/13....html?page=207

Don't see a firmware update listed. They may have never needed an update. It's not a smart TV. They didn't need to improve it. It was already perfect?
https://www.pioneerelectronics.com/P...asma/PRO-141FD
Test Ickles is offline  
post #32112 of 32119 Old 05-12-2019, 11:40 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Ok so that looks like the manual referring to how to do a firmware upgrade just in case one ever came out? And it doesn't seem to have ever come out.
avsforumrocks is offline  
post #32113 of 32119 Old 05-18-2019, 10:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Nearing the end?

Lately when first turning on my tv I’ve noticed some blue pixels that take a few seconds to turn to white on a white screen oddly nothing static ever displays in those areas. I’ve always watched in Power Saver 2 mode. Seems to go away once the TV is warm. Sign of impending doom?

Oddly enough just bought an OLED this week.
yrly is offline  
post #32114 of 32119 Old 05-18-2019, 10:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by yrly View Post
Nearing the end?

Lately when first turning on my tv I’ve noticed some blue pixels that take a few seconds to turn to white on a white screen oddly nothing static ever displays in those areas. I’ve always watched in Power Saver 2 mode. Seems to go away once the TV is warm. Sign of impending doom?

Oddly enough just bought an OLED this week.
I've been OLED shopping but then every night I still marvel at my PRO-101 with 30K hours!

Can you share your OLED vs Kuro thoughts?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #32115 of 32119 Old 05-18-2019, 11:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
yrly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 646
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
I've been OLED shopping but then every night I still marvel at my PRO-101 with 30K hours!

Can you share your OLED vs Kuro thoughts?

bob
The difference you see with the pioneer color representation where a red actually looks like real red is nearly identical. Black levels are pure black. If you jump from a junker like I had as a filler in this room you’ll get the usual night and day, same how a pioneer still looks good against many much more modern TVs.

Basically it’s what you’re used to in 4K with a completely new menu set.

My main concern was burn in. I ended up buying through Walmart and getting their extended warranty, I know enough if there are issues you will get a store credit if someone doesn’t follow through.

I ended up with the 55” C8 they may be on clearance as they are resetting electronics right now.

My advice buy some extended warranty too many reports of the, dying inexplicably.

I’d say the picture is worth it alone.
yrly is offline  
post #32116 of 32119 Old 05-19-2019, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,400
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 420 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by yrly View Post
The difference you see with the pioneer color representation where a red actually looks like real red is nearly identical. Black levels are pure black. If you jump from a junker like I had as a filler in this room you’ll get the usual night and day, same how a pioneer still looks good against many much more modern TVs.

Basically it’s what you’re used to in 4K with a completely new menu set.

My main concern was burn in. I ended up buying through Walmart and getting their extended warranty, I know enough if there are issues you will get a store credit if someone doesn’t follow through.

I ended up with the 55” C8 they may be on clearance as they are resetting electronics right now.

My advice buy some extended warranty too many reports of the, dying inexplicably.

I’d say the picture is worth it alone.

Thanks. Good to know. The Kuro's colors are so pure; browns, yellows, skin tones, etc. I would hate to compromise that.

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #32117 of 32119 Old 05-27-2019, 01:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Elix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dungeon, Pillar of Eyes
Posts: 1,570
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 250 Post(s)
Liked: 106
Hello, guys, I'm new to the party. Purchased a 10 y.o. LX5090H 2nd hand with 8700 hours. I have some questions which I can't get a definitive answer to by just googling. I hope someone knowledgable still reads this thread.

1) How do I enter service menu of LX5090H to know my current voltage settings and how do I change them?
2) I am using this TV connected to my HTPC. Can you get 4:4:4 chroma subsampling when choosing Video in the HDMI settings? I was only able to get 4:4:4 when I chose PC but then I lose all the processing options and the possibility to calibrate! Hence my next question.
3) Can you get ISF options when you use PC in HDMI settings?
4) When I use PC in HDMI settings how does the TV treat 24 Hz content? Since I can't choose Advanced in PureCinema it doesn't interpolate to 72 Hz, does it?
Elix is online now  
post #32118 of 32119 Old 05-27-2019, 06:49 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I use my 141FD with an HTPC as well so I'm also very interested in the above.
avsforumrocks is offline  
post #32119 of 32119 Old 06-05-2019, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
nuraman00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
I can't switch to HDMI input 4 using the remote.


This just started happening this evening.


If I use the button on the side of the TV, it works.


I can use the remote to switch to any of the other inputs. If I try pressing input 4, it doesn't switch. Nothing happens.


How do I fix this?
Quote:
Originally Posted by nuraman00 View Post
If I use my Tivo remote, I can switch inputs, to all inputs, including HDMI 4.


So why is it a problem with the Pioneer remote, right now?

I replaced the batteries in April, and it started working again.


However, a few days ago, the problem came back.


I replaced the batteries again, but HDMI 4 still has problems responding. It only responds sometimes.
nuraman00 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Plasma Flat Panel Displays

Tags
Pioneer Elite , Plasma Hdtv , Pioneer Elite 50 Inch Elite Plasma Hdtv Pro111fd

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off